Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 06/15/2008 - 06/22/2008

Saturday 21 June 2008

Chief Oliver De Coque is DEAD!

Highlife King, Chief Oliver De Coque, (born Oliver Sunday Akanite) is dead.

I just got the news from a family member that he died in the wee hours of this morning…around 4am, at R Jolad Hospital in Gbagada.
Cause of death: low blood pressure.
He was 60.

King (Dr.) Chief Oliver de Coque released his first album in 1976 after learning to play music from a Congolese guitarist. Since that time he has released 73 albums which demonstrate his "Ogene" style of Nigerian highlife.

Read more about him here...http://www.onlinenigeria.com/links/coqueadv.asp
May his soul rest in peace…Amen!

Too many people are dying these days; death seems to be looking for the smallest excuse to take people…please let’s all get closer to God…
May we all live to see our children’s children…Amen.

Friday 20 June 2008

Naija Entertainment News

I'm going to quickly give you entertainment gist courtesy Encomium magazine. Will get you the City People gist later...

"2face's African Queen is my song"...Orlando Julius
Veteran musician Orlando Julius, one of the pioneers of Afro high life music in Nigeria recently spoke to Rebecca Akinkunle of Encomium about 'African Queen' controversy...
It's a long interview but I'll extract the part of where he says tuface's song is kinda his...
2face's song, African queen, we learnt that the tune is originally yours?
Orlando "Part of the melody pf my song called 'Igbeyin Adara' which was first recorded in 1960 in Ibadan. OJB Jezreel, a producer was working with my wife, Latoya Aduke. I was able to meet him. He had been close to us, he loved a lot of my music, being oldies, Nigerian music and Afro highlife. He used some of the music of Igbeyin Adara to produce African Queen for 2face. I don't even think 2face knows it, but it's true. If it's in America, with that happening, he will give the American artiste that has that music credit on the particular song"

Did OJB Jezreel take permission from you before using it?
Orlando "No, but after he used it, he confessed to me that he used it. He didnt lie. Even at that I like him, he's a nice boy, he didnt give me credit for it, though he didnt steal it. The same B flat that I used to write Igbeyin Adara and the same guitar used for the intro was used for African Queen"

How do you feel about it?
Orlando "I feel good about it, but the only thing is for the kids to acknowledge whatever beats they take from the music of elders. So that the world can know you got this from this. We are not calling lawyers to sue anyone. Maybe if 2face finds out, he will probably feel very bad..."
And wife speaks..."That's the song that gave 2face the big break..."
2face buys N37m house in Festac
2face has acquired a new house on 23 Road, Festac Town, Lagos, which insiders allege is the fourth property of the singing star. He moved into the house last month. before now, the singer lived in a popular hotel, Comfort suites. The management gave him a permanent suite for free which in turn increased patronage and popularity due to the caliber of visitors 2face received whenever he was in the country.
Aside the new duplex he just acquired, he also rented a five bedroom duplex for his brothers and PA. The green duplex is on 6th Avenue, close to Comfort Suites...

Daddy Showkey Survives spinal cord operation in Germany
King of Galala music, Olorogun John Odafe Asiemo populary known as Daddy Showkey is one of the happiest beings on earth at the moment. He is also lavishing praises on God for successfully undergoing a spinal cord operation in Germany. Showkey had been in Germany for the past six months due to his deteriorating health. His health started failing as a result of three auto accidenst he had towards the end of last year. He sudden;y realised that walking was becoming difficult by the day. And family had to fly him to Germany when his condition was getting out of hand...

Marriage proposals drown Eucharia Anunobi...by Azuh Arinze
Audacious actress, Eucharia Anunobi cannot believe her luck. Barely days after I exclusively informed you that she has filed for a divorce, marriage proposals have been flooding her Ikeja Lagos home. The problem however is that she is hopelessly inlove with her new man, Enugu born Kelvin (huh? Kelvin? I thought his name was Gerald?). And again, she's not sure about the sincerity of those professing their undyiny love since that publication hit town...
Toyin Saraki honored in US...Azuh Arinze
First lady of Kwara State, Mrs. Toyin Saraki was on Sat, June 14th, honored in Georgia, US. Mrs. Saraki bagged 'The Woman of Valour Award' courtesy Nigerian Women Association of Goergia. The award is in recognition of the pretty dresser's contribution to the welfare of women and children in Nigeria, particularly Kwara State where nearly all the women love and respect her...

Charles Okafor dedicates daughter
All roads will lead to the Okota Lagos home of star actor, Charles Okafor on Sun. June 29th. It is the dedication of his daughter Ifeatuchukwu. The event will begin with a church service at the Anglican Church of the Messiah, beside AP petrol station, GSK B/stop Ago Okota Palace Way, before terminating later at his home...

Hip Hop International
Its the D day for the qualifiers to Las Vegas to represent Nigeria at the Hiphop international competition. The 'Dare to Drop' competition by TMG holds tonight at the exclusive studio 868 and its going to be daring. The teams are hotting up. Popping and Locking. All is set and the whole of studio 868 looks just like what you will find in the dance clubs in America. The galleries, the clear dance pfloor, the lights rolling and the people will surely be scream. 50 IVs to be picked at the gate between 12 and 1 by the first 50 people. Do you dare to watch??? Be there before game over! Tickets are free.

The guys behind these event are a group of energic and inspiring young people.

Alex Yangs who is an information technologist and was one of the pioneer members of Spirit of David. A music producer and Musician himself, worked in Oil for a while then came back to music and then found the HHI competition.He had always hoped that what ever brings him back to dance must be taking Nigeria to the world stage. He is the CEO of Testify Music Group (TMG)
James thompson is also a pioneer member of Spirit of David and he has gone on to teach dance in schools all around Nigeria. He is currently running a copmpetition amongst secondary schools being sponsored by mirinda called 'Bring it on'

Nosa Omoreige is a lawyer and he loves music and dance. He works with TMG and is excited to be part of this project.

Segun Fasika is the guy with the creatives and desins he runs one of the most dynamic multi media solutions and design companies called . He loves dance and expresses his passion in the great designs.

Adebola Williams is a director at RedSTRAT Communications organisers of The Future Awards and producers of Rubbin' minds on Channels network amongst others. He is a producer with Nigeria International, Living it on Mnet, CNBC amongs others. His passion for dance comes from way back, following but not dancing up untlil recently when he started doing salsa.

The judges for this competition cut across with different experiences with dance and music. From Isio Wanogho of the Salsa challenge to Gbemi of cool fm, Denrele Edun the enigmatic tv host, Ini Mbang the man behind the league of extraordinary dancers 'MASK'.

Supporting these event are Hip TV, Lucozade Boost, Nigeria International, Veive theory, Studio 868 and chocolate city.
Home Service
For fixing of nails nails(all types), false eyelashes, manicure & pedicure, bridal hair&make-up(home service). Call Funmi on:08085860356 or 07027055263

Just something intriguing? Freaky? Unsettling?...to stare at...till I see you guys again...

Later people...

Monday 16 June 2008

My dress: flashy or trashy?

Hi people, what's going on? I want to report my parents to you guys o...lol
See, I'm 27 years old, a graduate, almost 10years modeling experience, I run a company, I publish a magazine, I employ people, I pay salaries! Some people call me madam sef...lol
I'm a big girl right? RIGHT!
But then, I have to sneak out of my house to wear a dress to an event.

I was invited to Mode Men Black Night2 show that held on Saturday 14th June at Lagoon Restaurant. So I went and bought me a dress I felt was classy and sexy. My sisters loved it, but when my parents saw the dress..hmmm...my friends, it was not funny o. They complained the whole day. My mum said 'You're a decent girl, but anybody who sees you now in this dress will think you're one of those girls...it's too tight, it's too short...".
Whatever mum...lol. I kept saying, I'm a grown ass woman, I can wear whatever I like...not in my house my mum replied. I was practically 'forbidden' to wear the dress... so I had to sneak it out of the house and dressed up at my sister's place (where this pictures were taken)
I guess you never 'grow up' to your parents.
So people, this is the dress in contention
Flashy or trashy?

See dem boobs...when I'm ready to pack dem things, I pack them well...
lol...
See y'all later with Naija ent. news
Kate&Stella, thanks for making the Modemen show a memorable one
Will bring you gist and pictures from the show later
Kisses