Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 06/14/2015 - 06/21/2015

Saturday 20 June 2015

Nigerian man who stabbed his mother to death in the UK sentenced to Life imprisonment

Emmanuel Kalejaiye, the 21 year old Nigerian man who stabbed his own mother, 41 year old Tolu Kalejaiye, to death at their home in the UK has been sentenced to life imprisonment. Emmanuel who has been diagnosed with a mental ailment, stabbed his mother 40 times in the head, face, neck, upper limbs & hands during a frenzied knife attack in Sept2013. His mum until her death was an accountant with the Camden Council in England. When interrogated, Emmanuel admitted to killing his mother .
"I admit killing my mother by stabbing her. I did this because she subjected me to a lifetime of physical and mental abuse. She used the Bible to rationalize what she did to me. I believe she manipulated and brainwashed me. I have been very depressed for a long time. I have tried to overcome it but I couldn’t take it anymore”.

Photos: Sick lady lying on the streets in Surulere has been resecued

Remember the unidentified woman that laid on Amichi street in Surulere Lagos for days? I shared her photos here. Well, the good news is that she has been rescued by the Lagos state Emergency service and will be given proper medical care. That's the woman above receiving medical attention after she was rescued. Hopefully she gets well soon. See more photos after the cut...

Amber Rose shares cute pic with her new man, Machine Gun Kelly!

She looks happy. Hope this works out for her...

Photos from Charly Boy's birthday party

His family threw him a small, private birthday party today. More photos after the cut....

The 1st kiss: More photos from Osas & Gbenro Ajibade's traditonal wedding

I got some exclusive photos from Osas Ighodaro and Gbenro Ajibade's wedding. Above, the bride and groom share their first kiss at the wedding. More photos after the cut...

Ben Murray-Bruce flies Arik..business class...Nigerians react! :-)

The businessman and Senator shared photos of himself in the business class section of Arik Air...and Nigerians reacted. They reacted because the last time he shared photos of himself in a plane, he was in premium economy and he said he doesn't fly First Class (Read here). See Nigerians reaction after the cut...

Ladies what would you do if your man damages your car like this?

According to Twitter user @DoyeLagos: his friend 'allegedly' did this to his babe's new car on his way back from a night Club. If you were the girl, what would be your reaction?

Popular Northern musician, DanMaraya Jos dies at 69, buried (photo)

One of Northern Nigeria's most popular musicians, Adamu Wayya also known as DanMaraya Jos has died. He died today June 20th in Jos, Plateau state after a protracted illness. He will be remembered for his well composed songs that speak on many societal issues. May his soul rest in Peace, Amen. He has since been buried according to Islamic rites. See photo from his burial after the cut...

Check out the condition of an Estate in Lekki after heavy downpour

Wow! This is Friend's Colony Estate in Lekki, Lagos after heavy rainfall. Residents say water is even entering some houses! They say the problem is the canal built at the back of the estate which is now blocked and is preventing the rain water to flow out of the estate...

Ijeoma Mang weds celeb photographer Paul Ukonu (Photos)

Celebrity photographer Paul Ukonu married the love of his life, Ijeoma Mang, today June 20th. Big congrats to them.

Finally! Wande Coal shows us his son (photos)

I've never seen a photo of his son. He's about six or so and looks just like his dad. Cute!

Photos: Pres. Buhari leaves Katsina for Abuja after his short visit

President Buhari left his home state Katsina for Abuja today after a short visit. More photos after the cut ...

Is Your Job/Career Putting a Crimp in Your Social Life?

As absolutely everyone knows, life in Lagos can be summed up in three words: hustle, hustle, hustle (oh, and traffic.) Being ambitious and success-driven is a universally admired trait, but building your dream or climbing the professional ladder often translates to long hours in front of a laptop, or in meetings, followed by even more hours in unending Lagos traffic – leaving no time for love or a social life in general. 

Rihanna and rumoured new beau Karim Benzema arrive at the same nightclub as Chris Brown

Riihanna was seen making a rather eye-catching appearance at Hooray Henry's nightclub in West Hollywood with rumoured beau Karim Benzema.

Turning heads as she entered the venue, the American songstress was dressed to impress in a chic pinstriped blazer and tiny matching shorts, which drew heaps of attention to her ample cleavage and slender legs.

Kelly Rowland steps out with her cute son (photos)

34-year-old Kelly Rowland was seen leaving a studio in Hollywood carrying her seven-month-old son Titan on Friday. It's been seven months since Kelly gave birth to Titan in November, but the new mother has already sprung back into shape. She put the results of her grueling workouts on show in a soft white tank top and ripped jeans. More photos after the cut..

Photos: Former actress Sandra Achums and her adorable kids

Former Nollywood actress Sandra Achums who relocated to Germany some many years ago, shared photos of herself and her adorable children. More photos after the cut..

President Buhari and his son, Yusuf at his farm in Duara earlier today

President of Nigeria, President Buhari and his son,Yusuf seen at his farm in Duara today. More photos after the cut..

Twitter users mock Kylie Jenner over her Father's Day tweet....

Lol...well she started it with this tweet. She forgot she now has two mums? The 17 year old tweeted that she had to make it home on time for Father's Day and twitters users mocked her, asking her what father she was referring to. More tweets after the cut....

First photos from Osas and Gbenro Ajibade's traditional wedding

Osas Ighodaro and Gbenro Ajibade pictured at their traditional wedding today. More photos after the cut...

Photos from actress Chita Agwu's white wedding

Some photos from actress Chita Agwu's wedding to her man Johnson which is happening today. More photos after the cut..

D'banj birthday special holds today at XO in Abuja

Saturday the 20th of June, 2015, the lifestyle haven, XO hosts Africa's most celebrated entertainer, business man, fashion icon and all round superstar, DKM and DB Records CEO, D'banj; birthday special. Accompanying D'banj are a host of celebs, sports icons, top models from far and wide and of course, super sexy divas.

Reality star Draya & Orlando get engaged a month after announcing they'd split

On May 13th reality star Draya Michelle announced on instagram that her two year relationship with NFL player - Dallas Cowboy Orlando Scandrick was over. Just when people thought they were done Draya announced on instagram yesterday that not only are they back together, Orlando proposed with a huge rock. Happy for her...

Ruggedman 'transitions' into woman...and he's stunning! Lol (photo)

Now tell me that is not a beautiful woman. Lol. That's Michelle, formerly known as Ruggedman.

Pics: Stephanie Uche & footballer Kalu Uche host friends to wedding anniversary dinner

Footballer Kalu Uche and his beauty queen wife, Stephanie Uche hosted friends and family members to a dinner to celebrate their 4th wedding anniversary. They got married on June 18th 2011 and have two children together. More pics after the cut...

Video: We Go Walk by Dr. Paul ft. Anastasia and Franklyn George

We Go Walk (The love song) by Dr. Paul ft. Anastasia and Franklyn George and directed by Tom Robson. It breaks all the charts. Enjoy...

Former actress Regina Askia Williams shares new pics of herself

The former beauty queen and actress is now living happily in the US with her husband and children. More photos after the cut...

Rihanna surpasses Beyonce

Not only has Rihanna sold more records than Beyonce (She's in the top5 highest selling female artists of time) she has now surpassed Beyonce with the most No.1 hits on Billboard's Dance Club chart

From Billboard Magazine
Rihanna reigns atop Billboard's Dance Club Songs chart (dated June 27) for the 23rd time with "Bitch Better Have My Money" (2-1). With her latest leader, she eclipses Beyonce (22 No. 1s), who last topped the chart in February with "7/11." 
Rihanna now trails only Madonna (45) for the most No. 1s in the chart's nearly 39-year history, dating to its inception as a national survey in 1976.

Pics of Osas & Gbenro getting ready for their big day + Watch their wedding live on HipTv

The traditional wedding of TV gal/actress Osas Ighodaro and her man Gbenro Ajibade is happening today in Benin. Above are photos of Osas getting ready for her big day. You will find pics of Gbenro after the cut. Meanwhile, y'all can watch their wedding live on HipTv today by 2pm, so tune in.

Photos: Gov Ambode, his deputy, Oba of Lagos attend Special Thanksgiving Jumaat

Governor Akinwunmi Ambode, his deputy Dr. (Mrs.) Oluranti Adebule and the Oba of Lagos, Oba Rilwan Akiolu attended a special Thanksgiving Jumaat service to mark the commencement of his administration at the Central Mosque Alausa Ikeja yesterday June 19th. Continue to see more photos

Introducing the World Trade Center Abuja…(photos)

For those of you who haven’t heard of the World Trade Center (WTC) Abuja, being developed by the Churchgate Group, this is an opportunity to get firsthand knowledge of a project that is already changing the skyline of Abuja and attracting global business to Nigeria. See the amazing photos of the residential show apartment after the cut...

Man kills police officer, then 'commits suicide by cop' after leaving last post on Facebook

A 21-year-old man from Cincinnati named Trepierre Hummons (pictured left) fatally shot Sonny Kim, 48 (pictured right) after posting on Facebook that he loved all of his friends and family and then called 911 on himself.

Tre twice called the police, telling them that a man with a gun was acting erratically & then described himself in the conversation. The first person to respond to the call was officer Kim, Tre then shot him dead.

Photos: Ras Kimono and daughter perform on stage together

Legendary reggae artiste Ras Kimono performed alongside his daughter, Oge Kimono last night at Afropolitan Vibe, a live music concert series held in Lagos. The 'Under Pressure' crooner is a father of five children. Oge is his first daughter. Another pic after the cut..

Foreign media drags Nigeria's female team coach, Edwin Okon...

After Nigeria lost to the United States 1–0 in a Group D Women’s World Cup match on Tuesday night, Falcon coach Edwin Okon apparently refused to shake hands with American coach Jill Ellis.

Now he's being dragged by foreign media. I saw one in particular titled 'Meet Nigeria's handshake snubbing, no scouting, all praying embarrassment of a coach" which I found hilarious...though a little disrespectful which was published on Slate. Read after the cut...

Outrage after Charleston judge tells relatives of murdered churchgoers that the killer's family are also victims

The judge who arraigned Dylann Roof sparked outrage when he referred to the 21-year-old's family as 'victims' and urged the community to 'rally round them'. Charleston County Magistrate James Gosnell Jr told the court on Friday:
 'We have victims - nine of them. But we also have victims on the other side. There are victims on this young man's side of the family.'
The bizarre statement prompted outcry from the victims' families in the public gallery, and a torrent of complaints branding him 'insensitive' and 'racist'.

Photo: Gov El-Rufai pictured giving Polio vaccination drops to his little daughter

Photo shows Governor Nasir El-Rufai giving Polio vaccination drops to his daughter Nafisa-Nasreen El-Rufai as his wife assists. Photo credit: Mashkur24

It’s today! 100 young leaders meet Prof. Attahiru Jega courtesy of EbonyLife TV

Africa’s first Global Black Entertainment and Lifestyle network, EbonyLife TV, is set to host 100 young leaders to an exclusive meeting with Professor Attahiru Jega, Chairman Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on Saturday, June 20, 2015, at the Wheatbaker Hotel, in Ikoyi, Lagos.

Invited guests are drawn from a selective pool of leading young professionals from various occupational sectors, and they will be conversing with Jega about his experience as Nigeria's most powerful electoral official.

Pastor calls for jail term for women who call God's name during sex

Dr. John Hagee, the founder and senior pastor of the Cornerstone Church in San Antonio, Texas, not only agrees with what the Bible says, but also takes the faith to a higher level.

One of the things that the Bible has consistently denounced is the taking of the Lord’s name in vain. Speaking exclusively with Newslo, Hagee stated that ;in this world of crimes and deaths that
surround us, a simple blasphemy does not get that much attention when it should.”

Romantic way to propose? Man collapses on his engagement day (photos)

I don't think I want to be proposed to in this manner. Lol. Give me a heart attack before you present the ring? Might be romantic sha! Anyway, a LIB reader proposed that way to his longtime girlfriend on May 29 and everything went well. He narrates how it went down below...
My baby was about going for NYSC camp (Jos) and I invited her over to Port Harcourt, picked her on arrival and drove straight to the venue where friends and colleagues were already waiting. She wondered and demanded to know what was going on, I just told her a friend invited us. While we were eating and drinking, I signaled the venue owners to play a CD which had songs mixed for the event. My friend Wale came in and was told what was about going down, Wale immediately changed the whole game plan. I was asked to do a role in 'Nigerian movie'. Lol. Had to play along. Wale asked me to walk past her, call her name and collapse for 3 seconds, see naija movie.

Nigerians react angrily after man fakes his own death on twitter

Some people have a lot of time on their hands sha but maybe this is even too much as a joke? Let me explain what happened. Yesterday, this twitter handle @It'sDolapo tweeted what you see above and said he was going to take a nap. A few hours later, his sister announced on Twitter that he had died in his sleep. His friends and people who didn't even know him began praying for his soul, sending out RIP tweets, only for his sister to come back on twitter to claim her account had been hacked and the boy wasn't dead. This got Nigerian twitter angry and they lambasted the siblings, some even wished the young man real death. See all the tweets after the cut...

Pics: Iggy Azalea goes wedding dress shopping, says Demi Lovato is her bridesmaid

Rapper Iggy Azalea went wedding dress shopping with James Corden of the late-night TV talk show The Late Late Show with James Corden. Corden asked the rapper during an interview on his show if he could officiate her wedding to Nick Young, to which Iggy agreed, if he became ordained.

Iggy admitted she had already had a meeting with a wedding planner to start organizing the biggest day of her life.
"Do you think you're going to become a Bridezilla?" Corden asked his guest. "No," she replied before spilling some serious details about what she and Young have planned for their big day!