Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 11/08/2009 - 11/15/2009

Saturday 14 November 2009

Adaeze Igwe and Joseph Yobo engaged

Wow, that didn't take very long. The footballer and the beauty queen were introduced sometime this year and they've been inseparable ever since. The news now is that the very talented footballer asked his very gorgeous girlfriend to marry him. And she said yes.

If you don't believe it, check out her pretty expensive diamond engagement ring below...

She's already showing off...lol. That's a man who knows what he wants and believes he has found it.
Congrats to them.

The effects of cold water

A cardiologist says to share this with my readers...hope it helps.

For those who like to drink cold water, this article is applicable to you. It is nice to have a cup of cold drink after a meal. However, the cold water will solidify the oily stuff that you have just consumed. It will slow down the digestion.. Once this "sludge" reacts with the acid, it will break down and be absorbed by the intestine faster than the solid food. It will line the intestine. Very soon, this will turn into fats and lead to cancer. It is best to drink hot soup or warm water after a meal.

A serious note about heart attacks - You should know that not every heart attack symptom is going to be the left arm hurting. Be aware of intense pain in the jaw line.

You may never have the first chest pain during the course of a heart attack Nausea and intense sweating are also common symptoms. 60% of people who have a heart attack while they are asleep do not wake up. Pain in the jaw can wake you from a sound sleep. Let's be careful and be aware. The more we know the better chance we could survive.**

Alicia Key's Album cover

Check out the cover for Alicia Key’s latest album - The Element of Freedom.

This marks her fifth album and was originally slated for a December 1, 2009 release, but the MBK Entertainment/J Records project is now set for a simultaneous worldwide release on December 15, 2009.

I'm sure this new album like the others will rock...I just don't like the album cover. Doesn't look like Alicia at all. What do you think?

Friday 13 November 2009

Photo of the day

Actress Dakore Egbuson and her beau Olu Akande at a wedding recently.
Have you seen anything more beautiful? Too cute :-)
Pix thanks to Bellanaija

Strip clubs in Nigeria: A strip dancer's account of how they operate.

Last week, men of the Lagos State Environmental and Special Offences Task Force raided strip/nude clubs in Lagos, arresting managers, patrons and the dancers. Encomium Weekly writer, Sunday Adebayo, tracked down one of the strippers and had an interview with her.
An eye-opener. Read it below

What are the requirements for recruiting dancers?
Stripper "The major requirements are: you must be at least 18 years old. You must have a very good shape and have to be able to carry yourself well. Your breasts must be intact. They won't employ you when you have sagged breasts and you must be clean up to your private area. And you must be a good dancer."

Do they employ you full time or you do freelance?
"At Ocean Blue where I work, we are employed, but we are not on salaries. You have to be very good and have to canvass for people very well, so that you will get enough money for yourself."

How then do you girls get your money?
"Normally we do lap dance, and three tracks of music will make a session of a lap dance. It's N1, 000 per session. If you are very sexy and have men who like you, you may be very lucky to get up to 20 people to lap dance for in just one day. The lap dance in the VIP section is more expensive. You pay N3, 000. At timew when we want to do it, we still charge some people more, and some below the price."

What makes the VIP section different from the regular?
"In the VIP, it's a private closet where we can do anything. So once the customer has paid, you can do anything for him. You can help masturbate him or even insert his manhood into your mouth to make him happy. But you can't have sex in the club."

What if the customer wants sex and is willing to pay for it?
"We don't do it at the club. But if anyone among the girls likes the person or can do it, you may go with him to a hotel to do whatever he wants to do."

How much do you charge them for that?
"It depends. At times we charge up to N10, 000 for the fun, depending on how the person approaches us."

Then can we call this a more professional prostitution?
"We are not prostitutes. We only entertain our clients and customers"

Like how many people come into the club on a daily basis?
"Most times, the space doesn't even take people, especially at weekends. From Thursday night through Sunday night. But on average, not less than 200-250 people daily."

Is any of your family aware of the kind of business you do?
"They don't need to know, because I give them what they want at the right time. So, no problems."

Now that the State Govt has closed down the clubs, how do you girls hope to survive?
"Life goes on. We will get something doing. And besides they will soon re-open the clubs. This is not the first time they are closing us down. We shall wait for what happens next"

All the girls have since been granted bail.
Please feel free to share your opinion on this...

Pics credit: Saharareporter.com

Lil Wayne gets fourth baby

Lil Wayne's fourth baby mama, Singer Nivea, gave birth to his fourth child yesterday 12th Nov.

Nivea with first husband, The Dream

The new mom, Nivea, was married to R&B singer and producer Terius "The-Dream" Nash for three years (2004-07) . Their daughter Navy Talia was born in 2005, and their twin sons born in 2006. The couple divorced in 2007.

She met Lil Wayne in 08 and now has a baby by him.

Nollywood actor, Kenneth Okonkwo, becomes a lawyer

Pioneer Nollywood actor, Kenneth Okonkwo, has completed his law programme. The actor who first read Business Administration in University of Nigeria, Nsukka, proceeded to law school and is now ready to be called to the bar. He’s said to have finished his law programme with flying colours.

Congrats to him.

Nigerian footballer gets 40 lashes for drinking in Sudan

A Nigerian football star who plays for a Sudanese club has been sentenced to 40 lashes for having consumed alcohol, and ordered to pay a fine of 50 Sudanese pounds (20 dollars) for the alcohol consumption and 200 Sudanese pounds (80 dollars) for driving under the influence a judicial source said on Wednesday 11th Nov.

Stephen Worgu, 20, (pitured above) who plays for first division outfit al-Merreikh of Omdurman, Khartoum's twin city, was found guilty on Tuesday of drinking alcohol and driving under the influence.

Article 78 of the penal code forbids alcohol consumption.

"I am finding it hard to adapt (in Sudan). It's a different culture, different religion, different language, everything," Worgu told the BBC in April.

"They have this Sharia law, and it's really affecting me, also because you don't feel free to do the things you need to do."**

Eh Stephen, you are actually very free to come back home and play for Enyimba of Aba...or any of the other local clubs. They don't flog in Nigeria for drinking :-)

Is Sudan not a war-torn country?

Story credit: Saharareporter.com

Thursday 12 November 2009

Chimp attack victim unveils horrific injuries on Oprah

*Warning: Readers may find the pics below disturbing.

In Feb 2009, 55 year old Charla Nash was viciously attacked by her friend Sandra Herold's pet chimp Travis. Travis had been living with Sandra as a pet. She treated the chimp like a child. The attack happened when Sandra called Charla to help with Travis, but when Charla arrived at Sandra's house that night, Travis turned on her.

The animal broke most of the bones in her face and ripped off her hands, nose, lips and eyelids during the vicious assault in Stamford, Connecticut. Doctors removed her eyes due to an infection, and only recently did she learn she'll no longer be able to see.

A large part of her scalp is missing, she only has one thumb and is fed fluids through a straw in a hole in her face specially created by doctors.

Charla marked her 56th birthday by speaking about the incident for the first time, by appearing on The Oprah Winfrey Show yesterday Wednesday 11th 2009. She normally wears a veil in front of her face to cover her injuries but agreed to lift it on the programme.

"People are going to say what they're going to say," she said. "I need to move forward and get better and stronger." She added: "I'm the one who has to look like this. Not them. So it doesn't matter what they say."

Now brace yourselves...and remember there was a warning sign at the beginning of this post....

Charla Nash before the attack

Charla after the attack

The police shot Travis dead after the attack on Charla.
Charla is suing Sandra for $50m over the chimp attack.

What a tragic thing to happen to her. May God give her the strength she needs to cope with this.

German goalkeeper, Robert Enke, commits suicide

German international goalkeeper Robert Enke has committed suicide. He threw himself in front of a busy commuter train. Enke was hit by the train which was travelling at 100mph as it passed through a crossing near Hanover on Tuesday Nov 10th.

He had been suffering from depression. Enke first sought treatment in 2003, when he lost his starting place at Barcelona and developed anxieties and fear of failure.

"He called off all therapy appointments for the next few weeks, until further notice, because he said he was feeling better," said the doctor treating his depression.

Candles lit for Enke

He lived in the shadow of Oliver Kahn and Jens Lehmann for almost a decade and it was only after the latter's international retirement last year that Enke emerged as a leading contender for the position.

Enke, 32, was set to travel with the Germany squad to next June's 2010 World Cup in South Africa.

Enke played his last match for Hannover 96 in Sunday's 2-2 draw with Hamburg.

He leaves behind his wife Teresa (pictured above) and 18-month-old daughter Leila, whom the couple adopted in May, three years after their two-year-old daughter Lara died from a heart infection.

Dressed in black, his wife Teresa said: "I tried to be there for him. When he was acutely depressive it was a very difficult time because he lacked motivation and any hope of improvement."*

A really sad thing to happen.
Committing suicide because of fear of failure. Someone recently told me that if it was possible to kill himself, he would have done so...'cos he felt like a failure. How do you help people with such problems? What do you say to them to help them find their way back?

Wednesday 11 November 2009

United States of Nigeria to air soon

The much awaited TV series from producer/director Ayo Shonaiya starts in 3 weeks on the Hi Nolly channel in Nigeria and on HiTV in the UK (Sky 204). Watch this space for what times to catch the show every week from December. Episode 1 features the exclusive one day out and about town with the dynamic duo of Peter and Paul Okoye of P Square.

The show is presented by Seun Maduka. Produced by R70 Television.

Alexander Amosu brings World's Most Expensive Suit to Nigeria

ALEXANDER AMOSU LAUNCHES HIS LUXURY BESPOKE SUIT LINE IN ASSOCIATION WITH MTN

Exquisite platinum & gold suits made with Vicuna, Pasmina & Qiviuk, the finest wools in the world, to launch in Lagos, with the unveiling of the World’s Most Expensive Suit

Alexander Amosu – a young but globally-renowned entrepreneur who is responsible for creating the world’s most expensive phones, pens, and suit. Amosu, 34, is an all-round businessman who started in business at age 12, and has dipped his hands in diverse industries such as: music, media, fashion, IT and hospitality.

Amongst a string of firsts: he’s the first person in Europe to create Urban ringtones; he created the first ringtones book and software (called Polywap 2.1) which allows users send ringtones around the world from a PC; he started the world’s first mobile video community site (called Mobsvideo.com) where users can upload and share content.

He also created the world’s most expensive phones (diamond-encrusted Blackberry pearl and Apple iPhone) and the limited edition diamond Mont Blanc handcrafted pen.

On April 22, 2009, in Pall Mall, London, he unveiled his latest creation: the world’s most expensive suit (made with gold and platinum threads, rare clothes and precious stones) which costs £70,000 (about $103,000). He immediately attracted global headlines, with his fresh luxury line amassing rave reviews from some of the world’s biggest media organisations. Next, he’s taking orders from some of the world’s biggest spenders; hopping on chartered flights to take measurements and ensure client specifications (current clients include Tycoons Duncan Bannatyne and James Caan; as well as Formular One driver Adrian Sutil).

Next, he secures a place in the Guinness Book of World records!

Now, with a pouch full of achievements, and a resume packed with accolades, Mr. Amosu is heading to his motherland, to reconnect with family, friends and clients, while hoping to introduce his range of offerings to select patrons. The respected entrepreneur has partnered MTN Nigeria to Launch the world’s most expensive suit, at a secret location in Lagos, Nigeria on December 5, 2009.

Apart from London and Lagos, the world’s most expensive suit will also be launched in New York and Abu Dhabi.
Amosu’s success story, his devotion to charity, and infectious can-do spirit is expected to influence millions of Nigerian youths, hoping to discover themselves and use innate skills and abilities to triumph over the difficult Nigerian situation.

The 34 year-old ‘self-made millionaire’ arrives Lagos on Tuesday November 17.

Rihanna is Glamour Magazine 'Woman of the year'

Rihanna with Iman at the awards yesterday

Rihanna won the 'Woman Of The Year' trophy at the star-studded Glamour magazine awards yesterday evening at Carnegie Hall, New York City.

Rihanna was honoured by the U.S. edition of the women's magazine for her career, fashion sense, charity work and her bravery following her assault by ex-boyfriend Chris Brown.

You think it's well-deserved?

Pictures from the Hollywood film - Ije

Feature film IJE prepares to meets and exceeds Hollywood’s expectations at all exclusive screening

The time has come for Nollywood films to be taken seriously, for them to be able to compete with international films, and have lasting value. Change has been brewing for since the inception of film-making in Nigeria, and for 14 months an incredible woman has been working on making the film that will undoubtedly make Nigerian films a force to be reckoned with. Her name is Chineze Anyaene, and IJE: The Journey is what we've all been waiting for.

Chineze Anyaene, Nigerias's director and producer is changing the face of Nollywood and she is here to stay. With a production company that can rival any of its kind, Chineze Anyaene is bringing Nollywood what it needs: professionalism, quality, creativity and class. Anyaene is the youngest female director coming out of Nigeria, and also the first woman to film a Nollywood film on 35mm.

Genevieve Nnaji, who was recently profiled by American media mogul Oprah Winfrey as one of the most famous people in the world, and Nigeria’s sweetheart Omotola Ekeinde play lead roles in the movie, a rare occurrence which sets the tone for an incredibly captivating story full of twists and turns.
IJE is creativity, IJE is entertainment, IJE captures the essence of Nollywood and Hollywood.

Some pictures from the film...

The exclusive screening of IJE: THE JOURNEY will be held at Warner Bros. on November 14, 2009 in Burbank, CA. For more information, interviews, sponsorship and promotional opportunities please contact ijethemovie@gmail.com.

Tuesday 10 November 2009

2009 Celebrity Takes 2 Contestants

The second edition of the celebrity dance TV show, Celebrity Takes 2 is happening again. The show is organised by The Spirit of David dance club and sponsored by Skye Bank.

This year's celebrity contestants include...
Fred Amata, Yinka Davies, Fathia Balogun, Kel Ohia, Yemi Blaq, Stella Damasus, Faze, Dakore Egbuson, Zakki Adzay and Obiwon

What do you guys think of this year's contestants and who do you think will win?

Monday 9 November 2009

Nkem Owoh Kidnapped

The president of the Actors Guild of Nigeria, Segun Arinze, has announced the kidnapping of one of Nigeria's most talented actors, Nkem Owoh. He was kidnapped today along Enugu-Port Harcourt express way.

The kidnappers are reported to have demanded 15 million naira ransom from Mr. Owoh’s family.

Too sad. My God when will this end?

Photo of the day

Ghanaian actor Van Vicker
Is this a painting or a picture?
Kinda looks scary...:-)

Mercy Johnson pursues a music career

Nollywood star, Mercy Johnson is set to become a music star. The beautiful actress is presently in the studio working on debut album scheduled to hit the market in the second quarter of 2010. Mercy is said to be working with some top music producers such as ID Cabasa and Don Jazzy.

Two of her singles will be released around Christmas, to be followed by a music video.

Source: City People Magazine

Agatha Amata turns 40

Talk show queen, Agatha Amata turned 40 on Wednesday Nov 4th and celebrated it with family and friends at a lavish birthday party held in Lagos.

At the party, the mother of two launched her NGO - Foundation for effective socio-economic change in Africa - and her new magazine 'The real Inside Out'.

Agatha on turning 40 "I thought 40 was very old, then I turned 40 and I start to wonder when exactly did I become 40. It's just a number. I don't feel any different than I felt when I was 21. In fact I feel much younger right now."

Style Me Season III - Episode 3 Update

This episode features 19 year old Mabel. Mabel is a student but she is not your average teenager.
She spends most of her time running errands for her parents and siblings. While that is noble, its very important for her social development to integrate with her peers. Also, Mabel has some body image issues as she perceives her arms as 'muscular' and legs as 'bow'....even though that is not the case!

Mabel is madeover by the StyleME team but its not all about the exterior! She also received counselling and coaching to help her build her confidence and help her excel in all her endeavours!

Demi @ 47

Demi on the November issue of W magazine.
This woman is really 47?
Wow! No wonder Ashton can't let go ...lol

Ginger Ur Swagger event

The event is all about Music, Fashion and Comedy. with performances by Wande Coal, M.I, Omawumi, Bigiano, Terry G, Adaz [zarokome king], Maleke, And a special appearance by the first ever Nigerian to win 10million on the WHO WANTS TO BE A MILLIONAIRE GAME SHOW. Mr Aroma. A fashion show and energetic dance performance by Kaffy and her group

The event will hold on Dec 4th '09 at the FAME DELA HALLS opposite woodridge hotel along P.T.I Express Road, Warri, Delta State.

Sunday 8 November 2009

Naija Celeb Love Match

It's Sunday! Let's have fun!
This is absolutely not a serious post - you all know how we have fun sometimes. So please no abuses...no one should take this post serious ejo :-).

What we are going to do is play love - match. You know you see some people (Colleagues, friends, strangers) and you wonder what it will be like if they were actually dating.

I have a list below of people who I think will make a really hot couple/great match. Some of them are actually dating (couples in the same pic), most of them aren't. And I'm also sure most of the people in my list are in relationships - so their partners shouldn't take this serious.
We're just being naughty having fun :-)

Ok, check out my list and tell me which couple you think really match and please feel free to change partners - just dont change my own sha ...lol
Enjoy...

Kel and Ruggedman

Ebuka Obi-Uchendu and Omawumi Megbele

Joseph Yobo and Adaeze Igwe

Dakore Egbuson and Olu Akande

Kalu Ikeagwu and Rita Dominic

Ikechukwu and Sarah Ofili

Uche Eze (Bella Naija) and Obiwon

Isio Wanogho and Jim Iyke

Genevieve Nnaji and Matthew Mensah

Stephanie Okereke and Chidi Mokeme

Munachi Abii and Peter Okoye

Banky W and Omowunmi Akinnifesi

Dbanj and Mercy Johnson

Sasha and Naeto C

And last but not least...

Alex Okosi and Linda Ikeji
....awwww, don't they look so cute together? lol

So which couple would have been the ideal couple/match if they were actually dating? I'm thinking Linda and Alex Stephanie and Chidi! What do you say?