Saturday, February 28, 2009

Intrigue + Tunde and Wunmi Obe's Cupid Ball pix

For those who believe in things like this...

Enjoy...

Relax and answer the following.
Don't cheat, If you are honest, this tells the truth.
It's pretty good. Write your answers on a piece of paper, and NO cheating!!
The answers are at the bottom.

1. Which is your favourite colour out of: red , black , blue , green , or yellow ?
2. Your first initial?
3. Your month of birth?
4. Which colour do you like more, black or white?
5. Name of a person of the same sex as yours.
6. Your favorite number?
7. Do you like Flying or Driving more?
8. Do you like a lake or the ocean more?
9. Write down a wish (a realistic one).

When you're done, scroll down. (Don't cheat!)

Answers
1. If you choose:
Red - You are alert and your life is full of love.
Black - You are conservative and aggressive.
Green - Your soul is relaxed and you are laid back.
Blue - You are spontaneous and love kisses and affection from the ones you love.
Yellow - You are a very happy person and give good advice to those who are down.
2. If your initial is:
A-K You have a lot of love and friendships in your life.
L-R You try to enjoy your life to the maximum & your love life is soon to blossom.
S-Z You like to help others and your future love life looks very good.
3. If you were born in:
Jan-Mar: The year will go very well for you and you will discover that you fall in love with someone totally unexpected.
April-June: You will have a strong love relationship that will not last long but the memories will last forever.
July-Sep: You will have a great year and will experience a major life-changing experience for the good.
Oct-Dec: Your love life will not be great, but eventually you will find your soul mate.
4. If you chose:
Black: Your life will take on a different direction, it will seem hard at the time but will be the best thing for you, and you will be glad for the change.
White: You will have a friend who completely confides in you and would do anything for you, but you may not realize it.
5. This person is your best friend.
6. This is how many close friends you have in your lifetime.
7. If you chose:
Flying: You like adventure.
Driving: You are a laid back person.
8. If you chose:
Lake: You are loyal to your friends and your lover and are very reserved.
Ocean: You are spontaneous and like to please people.
9. This wish will come true only if you send this to five people in one hour. Send it to ten people, and it will come true before your next birthday...
Ok, that's me writing lol.
Seriously these things amuse me...

Anyway, here are pictures from Nigeria's No.1 most talked-about Valentine's Day event, hosted by Tunde and Wunmi Obe, powered by Kopykats Entertainment.

Tunde and Wunmi

T.W.O with Denrele

Wunmi and Lady Di

Charly boy and Yvonne

Segun Obe...

The host...Jedi

The live band

Angela & Theo Emuwa

Sir & Lady John Okeke

Uche & Kene Ejikeme

Pix thanks to Wunmi Obe

Photo of the day

18yr old Linda at the 1999 Silverbird International Fashion show. On my left is Tunji Oni and my right is Funmi Amusan. The top male models at the time...
Those were the days ;)
Have a great weekend y'all.
Kisses

Thursday, February 26, 2009

Press Releases + Future Awards After Party pix

DAREY DROPS NEW VIDEO
Sophomore Album- Undareyted to follow

Thanks to Darey Art Alade’s new direction, the media, critics and fans now have a lot to talk about; a lot to look forward to. And as the release of his second effort ‘Undareyted’ gets closer, it even gets more exciting and unpredictable
Although only due for official release in March 2009, the album has been on a test run since 2008, and has over time gained momentum as one of Nigeria’s most anticipated album. Following the release of videos for ‘With this woman’, ‘Carry dey go’ and ‘Not the girl’, Darey is back with ‘More’, a song that takes us back memory lane, then brings us back to the present leaving us with our mouth agape.
‘More is a dance track, but I didn’t want a regular club setting video, that was how More video came about and so far, the response have been over whelming’ Darey says
The last in the chain of videos to be dropped before the release of his second solo album, ‘More’ was directed by Mark and Gwydion, and the song was produced by fast rising producer Tee Y Mix.

Darey has been in the music industry for a while now, starting up his music career with accapella group ‘Chord webs’ before embarking on a solo career which birthed his debut album ‘from me 2 u’. One of the songs off his debut album ‘Original Naija’ was used as the theme song for the first edition of the Big brother Nigeria reality show.
His forthcoming album will be released on Soul Muzik

9ICE SIGNS NEW ACTS
ALAPOMEJI RECORDS SIGNS NEW ACTS
4 NEW ACTS JOIN 9ICE AT ALAPOMEJI

9ice is gradually beginning to plot his way into another sphere of the entertainment industry.
The singer who first got mainstream attention with Gongo Aso has signed four artistes to his record label- Alapomeji records; officially kicking off his career as a label executive and entrepreneur
They are Ajayi Brothers, Snow, Kayefi and Street wise.
To start off in the chain is Ajayi brothers made up of the duo of Emmanuel and Peter Ajayi whose album is due for an April release.
‘We started off singing when I was 10, and my brother was 12, our father was the choir leader, so music was like a compulsory thing for us to do’ Emmanuel, the younger of the duo says
Their single little mama is presently enjoying airplay in the media ‘all we can do is thank God, we met 9ice in 2008, and that song was just like an experiment, and I am glad that we didn’t fall below expectation, there is still more to come’ Peter says
The graduates of the university of Ilorin have sure found a place in 9ice’s heart ‘Ajayi brothers are talented, and I couldn’t just resist bringing them on board’ 9ice says.
To follow is female singer- Kayefi, young energetic singer- Snow and street wise. ‘These folks are still underground, but when they come out, I can assure you they will hold the industry spell bound’ 9ice discloses on a final note

The 09 Future Award winners had their after party at the Miccom Golf Resort, ADA, Osun State
It was a funfilled weekend at the beautiful, 90 rooms golf resort. Great parties. Visits and wild trips round tourist sites in town.
The pictures...

Pix thanks to Adebola Williams...

Later...

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Teenage Sex + Vlisco Urban Beat Fashion Event

Everytime I see a pregnant teenage girl, the first thing that comes to my mind is; what kind of a man sleeps with a teenage girl? After that I start to wonder...what do teenagers want with sex?

Aren't there other things they can do with their time? Like school...growing up?

Reports that several teenage boy are claiming paternity of baby born to a 15yr old girl

Teenage parents. 13yr old father and 15yr old mother

Pix thanks to my sis Vera. You can check out her blog here http://veraikeji.blogspot.com/ to read the full story

There's so much I want to say about this but I'm kinda in a hurry so let me ask questions instead. Here are my questions...

1. Can a 12 yr old boy impregnate a girl? Really? I know puberty starts from age 11, but there's theory and there's practical. How does this happen?

2. How do we re-orientate these teenagers? Make them understand the need to wait till they're much older and can deal with the consequences of pre-marital sex?

3. When is the best age to start having sex?

Please share your thoughts...

Meanwhile check out pictures from the Vlisco Urban Beat Fashion Event that took Sunday Feb 22nd at Expo Centre, Victoria Island, Lagos

Adesuwa Onyenekwe

Wildchild (left)

Timi with organisers of the event

Pix thanks to the very talented Timi Dakolo

Photos of the day...
The two looks of Cynthia Omorodion, the winner of Nigeria's Next Super Model 2008.

Her elle south africa shoot january issue

Her Anglo Gold Show Cape Town, South Africa

Stunning huh?

Later...

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

Question + Ikechukwu's Album Launch Party + Kel's Birthday Party

Another reader needs your advise...
I'm getting married in May, But I don't want children right away (I am only 23). My husband to be wants a family immediately. What should I do?
Please advise her.

Meanwhile check out pictures from Ikechukwu's Album Launch Party which held over the weekend at Volar Club, Jade Palace VI
Ikechukwu and D'Banj

Eldee

Babadee, Zakky Adzay, Dekunle Fuji, Dare 'undareted' Art Alade

Timi Dakolo

Sauce Kid

Ikechukwu

Lamide Akintobe
Sasha

Chris Inegbedion and Bobby Taylor
Bobby Taylor

Lola Talabi
Pix thanks to Ojedokun Adeola

From that to another party. This time it's the sensational female rap artist, Kel. She had her birthday party over the weekend. Check out pictures from the party...
Rapper, Kel
With friends
With Blackky

MI and Kelly Handsome

Osagie Osarenkhoe, MI Abaga

Jay Martins, Kel Ohia

Kelly Handsome, TeeA Adewale, Kel Ohia, Noble Igwe

Kel and Kelly Handsome

Adebola Williams, Kel Ohia, Mai Atafo, Funmi Fatona

Wale Dizzy Akinjogbin, Funmi Fatona, TeeA Adewale, Tosyn Bucknor

Ajibola Ayana Anthonia, Tosyn Bucknor

Kel Ohia, Kaffy DanceQueen

Pix thanks to Ajibola Ayana Anthonia

Catch y'all later.

Kisses!!!

Monday, February 23, 2009

09 Oscar Award winners + Hip Hop Awards 09 + Change A Life pix

2009 Oscar Winners

The cast of Slumdog Millionaire - * 8 Oscar awards

BEST PICTURE
* Slumdog Millionaire

BEST ACTOR
* Sean Penn, Milk

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR
* Heath Ledger, The Dark Knight

BEST ACTRESS
* Kate Winslet, The Reader

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS
* Penelope Cruz, Vicky Cristina Barcelona

BEST DIRECTOR
* Danny Boyle, Slumdog Millionaire

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY
* MilkFrozen

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY
* Simon Beaufoy, Slumdog Millionaire
BEST ANIMATED FEATURE FILM
* Wall-E

BEST ART DIRECTION
* The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY
* Slumdog Millionaire
BEST COSTUME DESIGN
* The Duchess
BEST DOCUMENTARY
* Man on Wire
BEST FILM EDITING
* Slumdog Millionaire
BEST FOREIGN FILM
* Departures, Japan
ACHIEVEMENT IN MAKEUP
* The Curious Case of Benjamin ButtonThe Dark Knight Hellboy II: The Golden Army
BEST ORIGINAL SCORE
* Slumdog Millionaire
BEST SONG
* Jai Ho, Slumdog Millionaire

BEST SOUND EDITING
* The Dark Knight
BEST SOUND MIXING
* Slumdog Millionaire
BEST VISUAL EFFECTS
* The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

CATEGORIES FOR HIP HOP WORLD AWARDS 2009

HHWA1- Album of the Year
Best album (solo or group) in year under review that meets judges’ requirements of excellence (in every realm: song writing, production, rendition, promotion and acceptability (sales, popularity)

HHWA 2- Artiste of the Year
Most critically and commercially adjudged artiste in the year under review. Overall most successful artiste for the year under review.
HHWA 3- Song of the Year
Most popular song from an album in year under review. Decided by voting

HHWA4- Recording of the Year
Best single recording (on-air only or released) by artiste or group in year under review. Originality and production very essential

HHWA 5- Producer of the Year
The individual responsible for producing the most acclaimed album in the year under review. His CV for the year includes top notch tracks and production credits no one can fault.

HHWA6- Best Music Video (Award goes to Director)
Best conceptualist, best edited, best directed and most exciting video in year under review as voted by fans and decided by the jury.

HHWA7- Best Reggae/Dancehall Album
Best reggae or dancehall album in year under review

HHWA 8- Best R ‘n’ B/ Pop Album
Best R&B or pop album in year under review (by single individual or group)

HHWA9- Best Rap Album
Best album by a rap artiste or group in year under review

HHWA10- Best Collabo
Best R&B, Pop or hip hop collaborative track (including cameos) in year under review

HHWA11- Best Rap Single
Best single released on-air recording of a rap song

HHWA12- Best Vocal Performance (Male)
Single male artiste with most outstanding vocal performance on a single song or album

HHWA 13- Best Vocal Performance (Female)
Single female act with most outstanding vocal performance on a single song or album
HHWA 14- Next Rated
Most promising upcoming officially unreleased act in the year under review

HHWA 15- Hip Hop World Revelation
Best new artiste in the year under review

HHWA 16- African Artiste of the Year (Non Nigerian Category)
Special award for an individual African artiste with the most outstanding album and astonishing achievements in year under

HHWA 17- Lyricist on the Roll
Rap Artiste with best lyrical depth and performance on a single song or album

HHWA 18- HIPHOP WORLD HALL OF FAME
Non competitive category

HHWA 19- BEST SPECIAL EFFECTS
Music video with the best and innovative special effects which helped push the concept of the video

HHWA 20- BEST STREET HOP
The most popular street-hop single in year under review

HHWA 21- BEST DIASPORA ACT
The most successful Nigerian artiste outside Nigeria in year under review

Funmi Iyanda's Change A Life
The project, which is championed by Ms. Funmi Iyanda, began in 2002 with the support of the former governor of Lagos State, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu. The first edition of the project, which aired on January 1, 2002, saw 68 people awarded grants of N10, 000 each for micro-businesses and educational projects.
Seven years on and Change-A-Life has been intervening in the lives of people at their most desperate hour of need.
The 7th Edition of the Change A Life Project was broadcast Live on NTA Network & LTV on Saturday February 21, 2009 at 7pm...
Check out pix from the event...
Funmi Iyanda
Funmi, ex-governor Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, wife and Lagos State Dep. Gov.

Ali Baba and Asiwaju Bola Tinubu

Deputy Governor, Lagos State

Jeremiah Gyang

Timi Dakolo

Tokunboh Afikuyomi and Ali Baba

Pix thanks to Ali Baba
Later...

Sunday, February 22, 2009

All you need to know about CANCER...

TV Star, Jade Goody, has concer.

She was diagnosed in August 08
Doctors say she has only a few months to live
Jade is only 27...
Just 27.

Read her story below.

The reality television star has now begun drawing up a will and making plans for the future care of her two children, Bobby, five, and Freddy, four.

Goody, 27, had hoped there would be further treatment she could have to fight the disease, but her oncologist has said there is little more that can be done to prolong her life.

A source close to her told The Mirror: "This is the news she has been dreading.
"No matter how bad things seemed before there was always some hope. Now even that has been taken away from her.
"She now has to face up to the full horror that she is going to die – and that she is going to die soon."

It is believed that Goody, who was diagnosed with cervical cancer in August, was with her boyfriend Jack Tweed, 21, when she was told she had lost her fight.
He is understood to be involved with discussions about her will, financial wishes and plans for the upbringing of her sons.

A close friend told The Mirror: "She had hoped doctors could hold the cancer at bay for far longer. Now her biggest regret is that she won't see the boys grow up.
"Not surprisingly there have been lots of tears but Jack has been giving her all the support he can.
"Once the news has sunk in Jade will pick herself up and make the most of the time she has left with the boys. That's all she can do."

Sad huh?
We all need to be cancer aware. People are really dying from it. I went to the guys at STAND UP TO CANCER NAIJA to get more info...and here's what they think we should all know about cancer.

Key Facts About Cancer.
* Cancer is a leading cause of death worldwide: it accounted for 7.9 million deaths (around 13% of all deaths) in 2007.
*Lung, stomach, liver, colon and breast cancer cause the most cancer deaths each year.
*The most frequent types of cancer differ between men and women.
*About 30% of cancer deaths can be prevented. Tobacco use is the single most important risk factor for cancer.
*Cancer arises from a change in one single cell. The change may be started by external agents and inherited genetic factors.

Cancer is a generic term for a large group of diseases that can affect any part of the body. Other terms used are malignant tumours and neoplasms. One defining feature of cancer is the rapid creation of abnormal cells that grow beyond their usual boundaries, and which can then invade adjoining parts of the body and spread to other organs. This process is referred to as metastasis.

Metastases are the major cause of death from cancer.

Global burden of cancer
Cancer is a leading cause of death worldwide. The disease accounted for 7.9 million deaths (or around 13% of all deaths worldwide) in 2007. The main types of cancer leading to overall cancer mortality each year are:
.lung (1.4 million deaths/year);
.stomach (866,000 deaths)
.liver (653,000 deaths)
.colon (677,000 deaths)
.breast (548,000 deaths).

About 72% of all cancer deaths in 2007 occurred in low- and middle-income countries.

Deaths from cancer worldwide are projected to continue rising, with an estimated 15 million deaths globally in 2015.

The burden of cancer in Nigeria is appreciable also. According to the World Health Organisation, there are an estimated 100,000 new cancer cases in the country each year although observers believe the figure could become as high as 500,000 new cases annually before 2010The most frequent types of cancer worldwide (in order of the number of global deaths) are:

.Among men - lung, stomach, liver, colorectal, oesophagus and prostate
.Among women - breast, lung, stomach, colorectal and cervical.

What causes cancer?
Cancer arises from one single cell. The transformation from a normal cell into a tumour cell is a multistage process, typically a progression from a pre-cancerous lesion to malignant tumours. These changes are the result of the interaction between a person's genetic factors and three categories of external agents, including:

.physical carcinogens, such as ultraviolet and ionizing radiation
.chemical carcinogens, such as asbestos, components of tobacco smoke, aflatoxin (a food contaminant) and arsenic (a drinking water contaminant)
.biological carcinogens, such as infections from certain viruses, bacteria or parasites.

Some examples of infections associated with certain cancers:

.Viruses: hepatitis B and liver cancer, Human Papilloma Virus (HPV) and cervical cancer, and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and Kaposi sarcoma.
.Bacteria: Helicobater pylori and gastric cancer.
.Parasites: schistosomiasis and bladder cancer.

Ageing is another fundamental factor for the development of cancer.

The incidence of cancer rises dramatically with age, most likely due to a buildup of risks for specific cancers that increase with age. The overall risk accumulation is combined with the tendency for cellular repair mechanisms to be less effective as a person grows older.Tobacco use, alcohol use, low fruit and vegetable intake, and infections from hepatitis B, hepatitis C and the human papilloma viruses are leading risk factors for cancer in low- and middle-income countries. Cervical cancer, which is caused by HPV, is a leading cause of cancer death among women in low-income countries. In high-income countries, tobacco use, alcohol use, and being overweight or obese are primary causes of cancer.

How can the burden of cancer be reduced?
Knowledge about the causes of cancer, and interventions to prevent and manage the disease is extensive. Cancer can be reduced and controlled by implementing evidence-based strategies for cancer prevention, early detection of cancer and management of patients with cancer.

About 30% of cancer could be prevented by modifying or avoiding key risk factors, according to a 2005 study by international cancer collaborators.Key risk factors for cancer:

1.tobacco use
2.being overweight or obese
3.low fruit and vegetable intake
4.physical inactivity
5.alcohol use
6.sexually transmitted infections, such as HIV and HPV
7.urban air pollution
8.indoor smoke from household use of solid fuels

Prevention strategies:
.increase avoidance of the risk factors listed above
.vaccinate against human papilloma virus (HPV) and hepatitis B virus (HBV) infection .control occupational hazards
.reduce exposure to sunlight

Early detection:
About one-third of the cancer burden could be decreased if cases were detected and treated early. Early detection of cancer is based on the observation that treatment is more effective when cancer is detected earlier.
The aim is to detect the cancer when it is localized (before metastasis).

There are two components of early detection efforts:
.Education to help people recognize early signs of cancer and seek prompt medical attention for symptoms, which might include: lumps, sores, persistent indigestion, persistent coughing, and bleeding from the body's orifices.

.Screening programmes to identify early cancer or pre-cancer before signs are recognizable, including mammography for breast cancer, and cytology (a "pap smear") for cervical cancer.

Treatment and care:
Treatment aims to cure, prolong life and improve quality of life for patients. Some of the most common cancer types, such as breast cancer, cervical cancer and colorectal cancer, have high cure rates when detected early and treated according to best practice. Principal treatment methods are surgery, radiotherapy and chemotherapy. Fundamental for adequate treatment is an accurate diagnosis through imaging technology (ultrasound, endoscopy or radiography) and laboratory (pathology) investigations. Relief from pain and other problems can be achieved in over 90% of cancer patients through.
Please let's stand up to cancer...

Friday, February 20, 2009

Naija Entertainment News + Nigerian Models rocking the international scene

Globacom Splashes Millions on new Ambassadors - Seun Apara
Telecoms giant, Globacom's interest in picking ambassadors from the entertainment industry seems to be increasing by the day. Aside signing on music stars late last year for over N300 million, the company has taken it to another level by signing ten movie stars, splashing all of N500 million on them.

The lucky actors are, Rita Dominic, Jim Iyke, Ramsey Nouah, Uche Jumbo, Monalisa Chinda, Nonso Diobi, Funke Akindele, Chioma Chukwuka Akpotha, Mike Ezuronye and Desmond Elliot. We were reliably informed that the names of Emeka Ike, Genevieve and Omotola were formally on the list, before they were later dropped for reasons best known to the company.

Congrats to the new ambassadors.

OJB, African China, Kefee become UN peace ambassadors
The trio of OJB Jezreel, African China and Kefee were on Sat. 14th Feb, honoured as the International Young Ambassadors for peace in Lagos. The ambassadors for peace is an initiative of the Universal Peace Forum (UPF) an NGO.
Remi Desalu goes to NIPSS - Azuh Arinze (Encomium)
Dr. Remi Desalu, the bearded Perm Sec, Lagos State Ministry of Health, is off to the National Institute for Policy and Strategy Studies, Kuru, Plateau State. Desalu is on a nine-month senior officers course.

Mandy Brown Ojugbana Joins Brila FM - Azuh Arinze
Beautiful 'Taxi Driver' crooner, Mandy Brown Ojugbana is now an on-air personality with renowned sportscaster Larry Izamoje's Brila FM. Sweet looking Mandy anchors Brila's Morning belt, which lasts between 9:30 and 1pm daily.

Danfo Drivers release new album - Daisy Omojola
Remember the monstrous hit 'Danfo Drivers', which got all of us nodding our heads and dancing in 2003? It was from them. Now they are back with a third album. A single from the 9track album 'Holy Water, is already receivibng massive air play.

Isis Models at New York Fashion Week
Isis Models is the brain child of Joan Okorodudu, the Lagos Ageless Beauty Clinic Boss. The modeling agency which is less than two years in the industry, is one of the hottest in Johannesburg, South Africa, where it is based. It has captured it's SA scene with it's sensational models and is now moving to NYC.

Nigerian models, Bryan Okwara, Isi Atagamen and Bunmi Ademokoya participated in the Mercedes Benz Fashion week in New York...
Check out pictures of Nigerian Models at the fashion week...

Bryan and Bunmi

Bryan, Joan Okorodudu and Isi
Isi, Bryan and Bunmi

Pix thanks to Odilile Elumelu

Photo of the day

This can't be real...right? Chris Couldn't have done this to Rihanna. Somebody tell me it's photoshop...

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

The problem with kissing

I read something in a recent issue of the international men's magazine, Menshealth, that freaked me out just a little...
This is what I read...

The problem with kissing...

The singles scene can seem like a minefield. That's because just kissing can lead to three types of sexually transmitted infections. You stand a medium risk of being infected with Herpes, Syphilis and Gonorrhoea....

Getoutofhere!!! These Oyibo people have come again...lol
Is this for real or are they just trying to scare people off kissing?

What do you guys think?

Monday, February 16, 2009

Right or Kind...

A few years ago some of my dad’s town’s men came to visit. They laughed, talked and argued. They argued about the Biafran war. A particular uncle argued the loudest and told the most stories. I noticed my father hardly said a word.

After they left, my mum turned to my dad and said; you fought in the Biafran war, when (that particular uncle) was saying all that nonsense about the war why didn’t you say something?
My dad replied; I fought in the war with his older brother. He was seventeen when the war ended. If I’d said anything, he would have looked stupid in front of everyone…there was no point!

I learnt a valuable lesson that day. NEVER CREATE ENEMIES; it serves no purpose.

This piece is for all the young people out there looking for guidance. I’m young myself but I can say I’ve experienced enough to be able to give advise to people younger than I am.

Listen, I used to be a bitch, maybe not the worst kind, but the most annoying kind. I was so nasty I wouldn’t even acknowledge a greeting. I didn’t know people’s faces or names…I wasn’t interested. Looking down on people was something I knew how to do well.

But then I grew up. I saw and experienced a lot of things that shaped my thinking and made me a better person. I’m still learning, but now I can say I’m wiser than I was many years ago.

Sometimes in life you will find yourself in a quarrel, either caused by you or other people. Who started it is not the issue; it all boils down to how you handle it. One of the things I’ve learnt, not that long ago, is; when you’re arguing or having a misunderstanding with someone; you’re either RIGHT OR KIND!

Let me explain it better…

Right: Being RIGHT means that you will keep arguing to prove yourself right and the other person wrong. You will complain or report to everyone who cares to listen, you will make your arguments till people start to side with you. You will find ways to make the other person look foolish or bad. You will never admit you’re wrong even if you eventually realize that you are. Apologizing is not an issue here; instead you will find ways to discredit the other person.

Kind: Being kind means that when there’s a misunderstanding, instead of the power struggle, you look at the person and say; you’re right, I’m wrong. I apologize. Whether you are right or wrong is not an issue in this situation. You don’t try to make the other person look foolish and yourself wise. You take the blame and let the other person win…that’s kindness.

Being RIGHT makes you right; being KIND makes you the bigger person. It will get you people’s admiration and respect, but above that, it will strengthen your self-respect.

Imagine you’re with someone and you see a blue ball, then you say to the person, that blue ball is nice. The person looks at the ball and says; that’s a red ball.
You say; no it’s a blue ball. They say; are you blind? That’s a red ball.
You look at the ball, you have absolutely no doubt it’s a blue ball but instead of arguing you say, you’re right, that’s a red ball, my bad! The person will look at the ball again, knowing it’s really a blue ball and wondering why you agreed with them. They will probably end up feeling foolish.

Your colleague is trying to make you look bad in front of boss and instead of arguing or shouting to prove yourself right, you tell your boss; I don’t want to argue with her, she’s right, I’m wrong. If you’re right, your boss knows it. If you’re wrong, your boss will admire you for admitting it. Either way, you win.

Don’t dwell in negative things. Find a way to quickly wash your hands off it and move on to better things. I’m not saying don’t talk back or respond to negative talk, just don’t dwell on it. Just say your piece and move on and if they try to draw you back, dust the dirt off your shoulders, smile, and tell them you’re not interested.

In life, you have to know when to walk away, when to run and when to stay and fight. Of course there are times to fight, but never over trivia issues. It’s not worth it. Instead, channel your energy towards positive things

Like I always tell my friends, I don’t try to be the best in everything. I only try to do my best in everything. So in every situation I find myself, I do my best and hope it’s enough

When it comes to being Right or Kind, I chose to be Kind…what about you?

You don’t have to follow my advice but please think about what I said. Hopefully it makes sense to you.

May God guide you in all your actions.
Stay blessed
L

Saturday, February 14, 2009

Question + Kosibah at the Screen Nations Awards + Dare Art Alade's Birthday Party

A reader of this blog wants to know this....
Is it advisable for a woman to let a man know her true financial status before or during marriage?
Please share your thoughts.

Kosibah at the Screen Nations Awards
Incredibly talented designer, Yemi Oshunkoya of Kosibah Creations dressed the female co-host, TV personality Josie D’Arby and participated alongside designer Samantha Cole in a fashion Show at the Screen Awards as Goodwill Ambasadors of CatWALK the WORLD.
Check out pix from the show

Yemi and Josie D'Arby
Also check out pictures from Dare Art Alade's birthday party which held yesterday, Friday 13th in Lagos.
Dare and wife, Deola
D'Banj and Ubi Franklin
Ubi, Kenny Ogungbe and Dekunle Fuji
Julius Agwu and Ayo Animashaun
Ruggedman
Kelly Handsome, Ubi and Dayo Adeneye

Julius Agwu
Weird MC and Dayo Ephraim of Hip on TV
Dayo and Dare

Banky W, Dare and Deola

Debola Williams and Ebuka

Sound Sultan

Guests

Noble Igwe and Ubi
Pix thanks to Ubi-franklin Ekapong Ofem
Happy Val's day...
Stay blessed.

Happy Valentines Day

Happy Valentines day everyone
Hope you have the best Valentine ever.

Goodluck in your all
L

Thursday, February 12, 2009

Naija Entertainment News

Let me start by apologising to my bossom friend, Niyi Tabiti. I absolutely didn't mean to rubbish him or anyone else like he thinks, with what I wrote on my blog yesterday. I love people too much to want to rubbish anyone. I really didn't mean it that way. Just gossipping ;) You know, I talk too much and sometimes I'm a careless talker...my apologies sweets.

I already called to apologise and we are cool. I have mad love for him and he knows it.

Niyi writes "I can tell you for free that she rarely attends up to five events in a year." lol
Is it up to five? I have a problem with dressing up and going to social events...but don't worry, I'll up it to 6 this year...lol

Anyway, let's move to the gossip post of the day. Not much 'cos I'm really tired. I come back home too late nowadays. It's about 1 am and I'm up blogging. What a life I have...lol
Enjoy

2009 African Footballer of the Year

Togo’s Emmanuel Adebayor
Well deserved.

Soul E back to Nigeria
He’s been living abroad for the last year or so. He returned to Nigeria on the 4th of Feb and he is said to be lying low.

Ex-beauty queen, Chinenye Ochuba gets N6m Mercedes Benz gift from hubby – Adegbola Oni (Encomium)
The beautiful former Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria, Chinenye Ochuba, now Mrs Akinlade, is having a blast and a rave in matrimony. Her hubby, Adekunle Akinlade dazzled her with a wondrous automobile, a C-class Mercedes Benz, 2008 edition. The hubby is a business man and Chinenye works with Exxon mobile Nigeria. The couple got married in Nov 08.

Ayo Badmus looses mum – Tade Asifat
Hunky actor in the Yoruba movie genre, Ayo Badmus, is bereaved. He lost his beloved mother to death recently after a brief illness. Alhaja Adunni Oredola Edun has since been buried. May her soul rest in peace.

Onyinye Igwe leaves Soundcity – Rebecca Akinkunle
TV hostess, Onyinye Igwe, has resigned from Soundcity. The gorgeous girl whose resignation is generating ripples here and there. This is what she had to say about leaving Soundcity.
OnyinyeI left Soundcity because I was done. There was nothing else for me to do there. If I wasn’t of good value to Soundcity, my departure wouldn’t mean anything, but the fact that I made an impact there means that whatever is going on now has to go on. I’ve gotten millions of messages on facebook, people say you were so good, why did you leave? You need to tell us the channel you’re going to so that we can move to that place. I didn’t realize it was going to be that bad, because I wanted to leave quietly and move back to England and decide what I want to do next. I’m not glad that I left Soundcity in a way but I have to move on with my life.”

Happy belated birthday Blackky
Thorough bred reggae act Edward Inyang, aka Blackky turned 40 on Feb 1st 2009. Been friends with him for many years and I totally adore him. Happy belated birthday man.

Entertainment briefs - Seun Apara
-Ara has dropped a new single entitled Dun mi ninu (Make me happy)
- Ikechukwu plans album launch Feb 13th
- Soul Snatcher of Rooftop MC’s survives auto crash from Ibadan to Lagos.
- Kefee added another year Feb 5th.

News of the day
Lagos State Government launches 1, 500 surveilance cameras – Abiola Aloba (Encomium)
In line with the objective of turning Lagos into a mega city, with a fantastic road network, beautiful environment and responsive governance, the action Governor of the fastest growing city in the world Barrister Babatunde raji Fashola, has launched about 1, 500 cameras on the Island just like it’s obtained in other civilized parts of the world.
These cameras, installed discreetly at strategic points will help improve security in the State. The 1, 500 cameras are said to be part of the expected 10, 000 which would be installed in all the dark spots of Lagos.

News Briefs
-Appeal court in Port Harcourt affirms Theodore orji as Governor of Abia state.
-President Yar’adua slashed salaries of political office holders
- Senate committee recommends refund of N5billion by former aviation minister Babalola Aborishade and others
-Zimbabwean opposition leader sworn in as prime minister
-Ten people die as Taliban attack government building in Afghanistan
-Guss Hiddink joins Chelsea as their new coach
-Kanye West apologises to MTV over threatened boycott.
-Malta Guinness Street Dance Africa season 2 starts in April

Photo of the day

God bless.

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

Screen Nation Awards pix + 09 Grammy Award winners

Chris Brown arrested, assaults Rihanna
Singer Chris Brown was arrested and charged with making criminal threats on Sunday for an early morning attack on an unidentified woman widely thought to be his girlfriend, pop star Rihanna. The Los Angeles Times is reporting that the woman in the incident is Rihanna....

This is not true right? Read the full story here...http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/29088387/

Omowunmi denies dating Dele Fasan
It's kinda sad when people see you with a guy, and the next thing you read in the press is that you're dating him. That recently happened to Omowunmi Akinnifesi, ex-MBGN 05. I'm sure some of you read the story about her dating a Dele Fasan pictured with her at the Future Awards...well, none of that is true. She spoke with Shade Wesley Metibogun of Encomium magazine, to clarify the issue

Omowunmi “I know no person like that. The guy came to me as a fan and we took shots together at the Future Awards. He is a stranger and an impersonator. I just took pictures with him. I had never seen him before until that day. In fact, the Future Awards was the first event I attended since the Genevieve Turquise Ball. I am really disappointed in this kind of story"

Dele Fasan's response
"It is not true, we just met on the red carpet at the Future Awards. I know her as an ex-beauty queen, but not as a friend. I am one of her fans, there's no form of a relationship between us"
Check out the red carpet pix that started the dating rumour here http://www.gistmaster.com/gist32.aspx
I'll give you more entertainment news later...too tired right now.

For now enjoy pictures from the 2009 Screen Nation Awards, Bafta London

Ashanti Power, Siam Hurlock

Matthew Mensah, Madonna Momoh and Charles Thompson (CEO Screen)

Pix thanks to Madonna Momoh

2009 Grammy Award winners

Pop male vocal performance
John Mayer, Say

Record of the year
Robert Plant and Allison Krauss, Please Read the Letter

New artist
Adele

Rock album
Coldplay, Viva La Vida

Song of the year
Coldplay, Viva La Vida

R&B album
Jennifer Hudson, Jennifer Hudson

Male country vocal
Brad Paisley, Letter to Me

Traditional pop vocal album
Natalie Cole, Still Unforgettable

Female R&B vocal performance
Alicia Keys, Superwoman

Male R&B vocal performance
Ne-Yo, Miss Independent

R&B duo/group
Al Green featuring John Legend, Stay with Me (By the Sea)

Traditional R&B vocal performance
Al Green featuring Anthony Hamilton, You've Got the Love I Need

Best Rap Solo Performance
Lil Wayne-A Milli

Best Rap Performance By A Duo Or Group
Swagga Like UsJay-Z & T.I. Featuring Kanye West & Lil Wayne

Best Rap/Sung Collaboration
Estelle Featuring Kanye West American Boy
Best Rap Song
Lil Wayne - Lollipop
Best Rap Album
Lil Wayne -Tha Carter III
R&B song
Ne-Yo, Miss Independent

Contemporary R&B album
Mary J. Blige, Growing Pains

Spoken-word album
Al Gore, An Inconvenient Truth

Female pop vocal performance
Adele, Chasing Pavements

Pop duo/group
Coldplay, Viva La Vida

Pop vocal album
Duffy, Rockferry

Rock song
Bruce Springsteen, Girls in Their Summer Clothes
*The end*

Red Carpet at the 09 Grammy's
Kate Beckingsale

Audrina Patridge

Lisa Rinna

Jennifer Hudson
Paris Hilton

Miley Cyrus

Katy Perry

M.I.A.
Naijagal thinks this is Ankara...is it?

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

RIP Mrs. Alaere Alaibe

For those who don’t know her, she was the wife of Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) Chairman, Timi Alaibe and the boss of top Cosmetics Store.Pretty Woman, on Toyin Street Ikeja. She was also the founder of award winning NGO, Family Re-orientation Education and Empowerment (FREE), an NGO designed to help the women of the Niger Delta region resolve the development dilemma confronting them and also help them become literate and empowered. FREE won the UNESCO Confucious Prize for literacy in 2007.

The 45year old mother of five died on Saturday, January 31, 2009 in a UK hospital. Her death, according to the doctors who attempted to save her life, was caused by Renal Cell Carcinoma, a kind of cancer that is not unusual but very dangerous.

We need to address this cancer issue on this blog. A lot of people are dying from different kinds of cancer. We will address it, but not on this post.

This is strictly for Alaere, a woman who has left her footprints on the sands of time. A woman who touched and changed lives through her NGO. It’s really true, bad things do happen to good people.

May her soul rest in perfect peace and May God guide and protect those she left behind, especially her young children…amen.

Mrs. Alaere Alaibe was also a blogger. You can check her blog here...http://freefoundationafrica.blogspot.com/

Monday, February 9, 2009

Long or short hair?

People always complain that I hardly change my hairstyle. It's usually long weaves parted in the middle, the side or all back. So I decided to do something different for a change. I did something that I usually don’t do…a short hairstyle.

I usually avoid short hairstyles because I feel it makes me look like a beautiful boy instead of a pretty lady…but judge for yourself…how do I look in short hair?

This is me in my usual long center-parting hairstyle (at the future awards, that's my lil sis Sandra behind me)
I'm hot huh? I’m an ex-top model, what do you expect? Lol

Now here I am in a short hairstyle...
(This picture was taken today in my office)

What do you guys think? Short or long hair?

Photos of the day
I have a four room office space somewhere in surulere. My guys share three rooms, I have one to myself ;)
Check me out in my office…

No, I wasn’t blogging. I usually do that at home...lol

Getting some work done.
Getting some work done indeed! How can you do that when there's a camera in front of you ;)
Just posing for the camera...lol

On the phone with Soundcity’s Bee.

Hey y’all…
That's my white H&M bag on the floor. This one no be dash o, I buy am myself...lol

So what's your verdict? Please tell me to stick to my long weaves...lol

Saturday, February 7, 2009

Jim Iyke: Nigeria's Sexiest Actor? + Guess the beauty queen

Is Jim Iyke Nigeria's sexiest actor?

A poll was recently conducted by an independent media group; and Jim Iyke beat 16 other actors to emerge sexiest Nigerian actor with over 12thousand votes.
Here's how people voted...
1. Jim Iyke

2. Desmond Elliot

3. Emeka Ike
4. Nonso Diobi
5. Ramsey Noah
6. Pat Attah
7. RMD
8. Chidi Mokeme
9. Yemi Blaque
10. Kalu Ikeagu

For the ladies...
1.Genevieve Nnaji
2. Ini Edo
3. Mercy Johnson

So what do you guys think? Is Jim the sexiest?
What do I think? I think RMD is the sexiest Nigerian actor of all time...

Guess who...
This little girl beat 24 other girls to become Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria some years ago...
Who is she?

Photos of the day
Police woman: Madam stop this vehicle this minute!
Driver: For what? Pls get out of my way...
Police woman: You're not going anywhere today
Driver: Watch me....
Voooooooooom....

Oh dear...
Madam driver, that wasn't very nice
Remember, the police is your friend...indeed!
Pix thanks to Ebi Johaan
I'm out.
Be blessed!

Friday, February 6, 2009

419 Pastor: What a fool!

My sisters and I almost died of laughter yesterday after reading this story. It's the most hilarious thing I've read in a long time. If you have a healthy sense of humour, this story will kill you...LMAO

Can you guys believe this clown? The things people do for money...oh dear...I can't stop laughing...lol

It's about a Nigerian pastor who tried to scam a church in the US and they made an idiot out of him....lol

Read the story below as told by Ifeanyi N.

419 Pastor Disgraces us all in Naija

419eater, is an anti-scam person who specializes in helping people being scammed by Nigerian Pastors by simply pretending and assuming the person being scammed, takes over the entire negotiations/discussions with the scammer with the sole aim of exposing him to the world on the Internet.
Pastor Samuel Eze of God Love Bible Ministry in Apapa, approaches the Church of Bread and Wine abroad with the aim of helping them spread the work here in Nigeria, however he has a shortcoming: He needs funds. Thus he asked the Church to provide him with $74,000 to to foster a joint venture between the two churches...

419eater is contacted and takes over and poses as Father Ted Chilly of the Bread and Wine Church. He immediately responds to Samuel Eze's email requesting the funds ($74,000)

This is a picture of the "Church of Bread and Wine" and its Photoshop!! To fool Pastor Samuel!!

Says "Father Ted" (419eater) to Pastor Samuel in his email reply to him: "You have come to the right place. We have over 300 churches world-wide and love to help upcoming churches like yours. We don't, however send funds without recourse to our due procedures, in order to be sure of where our funds are being sent. You must follow the formal steps to identify yourself with our Church before u can claim the money.

They are as follows: You must identify with the symbols of our Church, which are BREAD and WINE."

1. You must send us a picture of yourself holding our Church name printed on a banner. You must be sitted.
2. You must send a picture of yourself holding a bottle of WINE to your ear.
3. You must send a picture of yourself carrying a loaf of BREAD on your head.

Here is Pastor Samuel doing as he was asked: Holding the banner of the Church!

Next, he has to hold a bottle of wine to his ear...

Just look at this mugu of a Pastor! Actually held a bottle of wine to his ear! Not knowing this is all to expose his fraud!

Next, carry a loaf of bread on your head!

CAN U BEAT THIS PEEPS??? ABSOLUTELY BLINDED BY GREED!!! Lord help us!!! LOOOOOOL!!!!!

Look at the picture Pastor Samuel sent to Father Ted claiming it is his Church...is this not the Vatican? Oh dear me, is this how potent greed can be?

Now "Father Ted" creates an imaginary Nigeria character to discredit Pastor Samuel. This too is Photoshop!! He superimposes him in front of a pic of the Vatican, using Photoshop, hold a Corel draw generated banner reading a message warning about Pastor Samuel.

419eater created a dummy email address with a Nigerian name and pretends those emails come from this non-existent person in this pic!! Clever! He used this dummy profile and name now sends damaging emails to Pastor Samuel asking him to refrain from his dubious work.

Samuel gets furious and this is where every thing is opened up on him...419eater now tells him who he really is, that he (419eater) and Father Ted are one and the same person! And also the imaginary Nigerian character in the pic....shameless mugu of a Pastor!

This is what Pastor Samuel claims is his Nigeria passport!!! Sent this to Father Ted...is this not normal plain sheets for typing? Real pity....
The end***

My people, can you guys imagine this silly man? He actually carried the bread on his head.
Wetin person dey see for this world.
lol

Photos of the day
Check out pictures of other scammers

These people are so greedy, they can't see how daft they are...
Who's supposed to believe these images are real?
Linda shakes head.
You can read more about this scams here...http://419eater.com/

Thought of the day
You can educate a fool, but you cannot make him think

Have a ball laughing and have a FAB weekend.
Cheers

Thursday, February 5, 2009

Top 10 Religious Soundbites + P-Square chilling

I read this piece and totally loved it. Quite real and hilarious.
It's the Top Ten Nigerian Religious Soundbites: The Countdown
Written by Ayo Shonaiya and DJ Abass
Check it out...

10. "We must pray and fast"In Yoruba, "e kun fun aduaa".
Commonly used in times of tribulation such as Police/EFCC cases, looking for a husband or applying for a UK or US visa.

9. "This is my year of breakthrough"A new year's eve special.
The ready-made lazy man's annual prayer whether or not he has put in an honest day's work the year before, and a popular headline at most money spinning end-of-year religious crusades.

8. "I thank God for your life"
Usually an acknowledgement or appreciation of a benefactor but you scratch your head to find a real meaning to this one. People just drop it anyhow, eg. "I saw Pastor Kososhi drive past me in his Hummer yesterday on Allen Avenue", Reply: "Oh, I thank God for his life".

7. "...but he's a Man of God"As in the old 'over-the-hill'
Brother Jero Pastor who doesn't know how to toast women but secretly lusts after your wife/girlfriend in church. These are the "close your eyes, let us pray" guys who's always around to help or advice, waiting and hoping to take advantage of any misfortune to console his way into your woman's life.

6. "J.E.S.U.S."
Now very popular at Christian weddings across Nigeria as the newly-wed couple cut their cake. This has taken over from the evergreen "3,2,1...". Speaking of weddings, some wack MCs now blackmail the wedding guests by saying "If you want to live to see the new year, let me see your hands up", thus punishing them for not laughing at his dry jokes. Fear has become our God.

5. "I bind you..." (AKA "Holy Ghost Fire! Fire!! Fire!!!")
As in, put a curse on you, or threaten you with the wrath of God if you're deemed to be disturbing them for whatever reason. For example, against jobless guys who are proposing marriage, or the Landlord who has come to collect the rent after 8 months!

4. "The Devil is a liar!"
Often used right after surviving a ghastly auto accident, general misfortune, tripping over your children's toys or mistakenly dripping peppersoup on your favourite pink T.M. Lewin shirt!

3. "In the name of Jesus..."
Also abbreviated on Facebook as "IJN" or for maximum effect "in the MIGHTY name of Jesus!". Favourite end-of-sentence soundbite for most Prosperity Pastors on television.

2. "To God be the glory"
The last line of 99.9% of Nollywood films, and fast rising closing remarks at government / corporate seminars (usually just before they share the 'gbemu' in Ghana-must-go bags)

1. "It is well"
Self explanatory enough. Classic soundbite even if it is VERY OBVIOUS that it is not well.

And don't forget "It is not my portion" and "No weapon fashioned against me shall proser".
LOL
Any religious soundbite you know? Do share with us...

Meanwhile check out pictures of the Okoye brothers, popularly known as P-Square, chilling with family and friends at Caliente, Lagos.

Ha, Paul no gree o...lol

Peter with Segun Akinborewa

Jude 'Engees' Okoye

Pictures thanks to Emem Udoh

Story of the day

A man, fired from his job, shot and killed his wife, 8-year-old daughter and two sets of twins, 2-year-old boys and 5-year-old girls, before shooting himself. Read the very sad story here…http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/28952291/

News Joke of the day
Gaddafi calls for a United States of Africa
Libyan leader and new AU chairman, Colonel Muammar Gaddafi has called for the creation of a United States of Africa and raised the prospect of a single currency for the continent.
United States of Africa? He needs to get off his crack pipe…lol
You can read the full story...http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/425929.stm

Photo of the day

World's smallest body builder...

Catch y'all later
MUAH!!!

Wednesday, February 4, 2009

How fulfilled are you? + Inspire Africa Concert Pictures

I had a conversation with a much older woman yesterday that I just had to bring here to discuss.
She has a boutique very close to my office and occasionally I go there to pick up one or two things.

When I went there yesterday she looked at me and said “Linda, every time I see you you're always bubbling with life. You always seem very happy"

"I'm generally a happy person." I said "I think it’s because I take pleasure in the smallest, simplest things in life. I don’t have much but I’m thankful for the little I have. I guess I'm fulfilled"

"You're fulfilled? Most people don't know what fulfillment is" She said

I didn't know how to react to that so I said nothing.

She looked at me for a bit without saying anything, then suddenly asked "How often do you pray linda?"
"Every day" I replied
"And when you pray, do you ask God for changes in your life?" she asked
"Of course I do." I replied "Who doesn't? That's the essence of praying isn't it?"
She smiled, shook her head and said "There was a time in my life that when I go down on my knees to pray, I ask God not to change anything in my life. I ask him to keep things exactly the way they are. That's what you do when you're fulfilled"

I left the boutique a few minutes later with a million thoughts in my head. Fulfillment is when you ask God not to change anything in your life?

Who asks God for no changes in their lives? No matter how much we have, we still want more right?

I’m not married, so obviously I can’t ask God to keep things exactly the way they are ;). I am happy where I am right now, but I also want to be more than I am now, so I talk to God about it...

Most of us are happy with our lives, but we do ask for changes...does it mean we're not fulfilled?

What is fulfillment then? Is there a difference between fulfillment and happiness?

Does anyone even have everything they want?
What do you guys think?

To other things...

Ade Bakare Couture presents Young Designers Creative Competition 2009

As part of his initiative to give back to society, Ade Bakare Couture London once again presents the Young designers creative competition. This initiative has not only encouraged creativity amongst the young in Nigeria, it has successfully created a trend in supporting potential talent across the land.
The event will take place in Lagos this March. So watch out for it!

News of the day

Gaddafi is new AU Chairman

Libyan leader Muammar Gaddafi has been elected as the new chairman of the 53-nation African Union. He was elected by delegates at the AU summit in Addis Ababa Ethiopia on Monday 2nd Feb 09.

Erykah Badu gives birth to 3rd child

Singer, Erykah Badu recently gave birth to her 3rd child, a girl, romoured to be named 'Twitty Milk'. Erykah also has children with rappers Andre 3000 of Outkast, and west coast rapper The D.O.C. The latest addition is for her current Beau Jay, pictured with her above.

For Nigerian news...

Go here...http://thepmnews.com/

Pictures from the Inspire Africa Benefit Concert

Dbanj on stage

Banky W with Henry Buchi Mbagwu

International sensation, Carl Thomas, in the middle

Henry and Tuface

Christy Essien Igbokwe

Asa and Banky W
Pix thanks to Lori Tosan
Will get you more pix later...

Photo of the day

Sean “Diddy” Combs new ad for his “Unforgivable” cologne..
You like?

Thought of the day
People take different roads seeking fulfillment and happiness. Just because they're not on your road doesn't mean they've gotten lost.”
~H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

Later.

Monday, February 2, 2009

Modenine VS Ruggedman

We gossip on this blog, right?
Right!

Half the time we don't mind our business, right?
Right!

This is a place where you read everything and anything, right?

Right!

I say we, 'cos we are all in this together, right?
Right? No one's answering me o...
Right? ;)

I gossip. You read. So we're all culprits.
LOL

Oh dear, this is such a naughty naughty post. With absolutely no malice intended here. This is just a fun post, please no one should take it personal or think there's any ulterior motive to this. It's just my usual gossipy self...lol

Modenine and Ruggedman on stage

I'm sure some of you know there's a beef going on between two of Nigeria's most respected rap artistes; Rugged man and Modenine. The beef has been going on for a while now, but Mode recently took the whole thing to another level when he dedicated a whole song to Rugged on his new album Paradigm shift, titled Death Blow pt 1.

I read the lyrics of Mode's song to Rugged in Encomium magazine this weekend...I had to bring it here...lol. Of course Encomium used the words with permission from Redeyed Records.

These two fellas are my friends, known them for many years so it's nothing personal and I'm not taking sides. And no one should either, just read, smile, laugh, be amused, do whatever...and move on ;)
Enjoy...

Modenine to Ruggedman

I didn't want to do this, 'cos your career's already thru
Now see what you did to you
Ama hop back in the lab and bring the ether to you
I got more respect for your dancers than you

Heard you sacked a few cos they refused to sleep with you
No wonder there's no one left in your crew
Suave Nomoreloss, Jafar and T boi all left you
Now you wanna pull a p-boy (plan b) coming at me

Boy you're getting destroyed
I'm talking to you, the track was a decoy
Take my advise, read boy, stop faking
You said I'm lame, but I go take you out

You're pitiful, ridiculed, stop making noise, listen and learn
My fire go burn, my tire go turn individual lyrical
Shut up you little ass worm
You claiming that you have dough, you still skinny,

Cocoa yam head, long neck like a guinea fowl
I told you before una go bow, I vowed not to blast you
I rap pass you.
I’m bringing a wrecking ball for your sand castle
Built to out spit, out wit and out last you

My delivery bangs like letter bomb parcels,
Spit in your face and shake the hands of KENNIS
Now you’re contemplating suicide like Ayeni

Look Napoleon get ready for your waterloo today
Ama prove it mic wise, you got nothing to say
Wild like a baboon under the moon…nothing to say

You’re going ape shit right now you don’t want it
The joint you did with nice was nice ‘cos 9ice was on it
Boys don’t spit, boy dey vomit, boy are sick
Boys are not smiling we no well oh

SWATROOT, baby those are tight rappers hello
You rap for mechanics, I rap and you panic
You’re manic depressed damn it, I’m too nice.

I expose you, now your covers compromised
Shames on you now pull your head warmer over your eyes.
Take it off, eh hen!! Modenine is with the prize

I’m bigger than you lyrically, forget about size
Heard your third album is gonna be your last album…bye bye
Hustling to sell it to shoe makers, dem no buy
Waka waka waka was a track nobody felt

OJB rap better than you, you need help
Know your secrets but I won’t hit below the belt
Huuuuu @, do I hear a sigh of relief?
Too easy I thought son was nice with the beef

I’m the rap pugilist, knock the plaque out ya teeth
You ain’t banging, you’re a firecracker
I’m the shit man, you’re the shit packer

Rasqie was wack, but your new shit’s wacker
Ama Rhymzo that ass, you’re a boomboclot
Head warmer in the sun, what you are
Don’t let me 50 Jah you
End your already ending career and discard you

Let me help you out, you got a little money
Maintain got more money than you, ain’t that funny
No, the funny thing is you’re a dancer now
Trying to compete with Kaffy and Suzie howww

Mr Penguin, happy feet just got served,
Banging didn’t bang, no nice words
It was wacker than your freestyle for Silverbird’s 25th anniversary
Daddy Showkey took you to the nursery, mercy me
Now you wanna kick a verse for me

No courtesy, I just aired him out
Tysonized him, with his ear in my mouth
I got more verses dude, I no fit shout
We can make it personal, you know what I’m talking about

I got some info on you, incriminating no doubt
Many former close friends and they all ratted you out!!

Talk till fade…

Ruggedman's Response to Modenine

"Now lets check the Ruggedman he is talking about. I have done more for myself and the industry than he can only dream to do. Last year alone I won the awards for best rap album,best rap artist and best indiginous video concept. What did he get? I have more awards than he can ever dream of. I have rocked more shows than him, I have made more money than him.

I have more popular songs and albums than him. I have touched and helped more artistes. I am and will for ever be more relevant to the Nigerian music industry than he will ever be. If he continues making the kind of music he does and continues with this type of attitude, he will not get anywgere.

Acts bigger and richer than him are humble to a fault. He says I claim to have dough and I am skinny. Its funny really Coming from someone that has no car or home of his own. He has been squatting with different people till date since he came to Lagos and I will say their names later if need be. It's mad funny I tell you.

Meanwhile I have run through a BMW 3 Series, A Nissan Murano, A Mercedes Benz C Class, A Volkswagen Toureg and I dedicate my new Chrysler Crossfire to mode9, its to inpsire him not to give up, he still fit make am."

If you want to read Rugged's full interview, go here...

Thought of the day
When you find peace within yourself, you become the kind of person who can live at peace with others.

That's the end of my amebo...lol
Don't tell anyone you read it here o...
I'm out.
Peace!

Sunday, February 1, 2009

News headlines + Dj Abass/Ace B'day bash pix + Quess who?

News Headlines
Some stories I found interesting; thought to share...

Enjoy...

Iraq sculpture honoring Bush shoe-thrower removed.
Read full story here...http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090131/ap_on_re_mi_ea/ml_iraq_shoe_sculpture

Tour bus crash near Hoover Dam kills 7
A tour bus carrying Chinese nationals overturned on a highway near the Hoover Dam on Friday, killing seven people and injuring at least 10 others, authorities said. Read here…http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/28941142/

Russian newspaper mourns another murdered reporter.

Frozen body found in Detroit elevator shaft
It took three calls to Detroit authorities over two days before they recovered the body of a man frozen in ice in the elevator shaft of a vacant warehouse, a newspaper reported Thursday. Read full story here…http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/28916090/

3 boys killed in California police chase crash
Car reaches 90 mph, flips and kills driver and passengers: 15, 11 and 9.

Read here…http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/28911338/

Man freed 23 years after wrongful conviction.

Read here…http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/28938985/

Ex-pastor jailed for sex with 10-year-old 'wife'
Prosecutor: Canadian has 'no remorse' over acts with girl 38 years his junior. Read here…http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/28872042/

Ace Adegoke and Dj Abass Red&Black Birthday Bash Pictures
It took place on Friday, 30, January at Planet Nollywood, London.

Check out pictures from the bash

DJ Abass

Ace Adegoke

Ace Adegoke, DJ Abass and friend
Ace and brothers
Big Joe, Dutch, Dozie, Amour, Tunde Ednut, Tunde Babalola & DJA

Shady Blue's 'Happy Birthday' song to DJA

Dj Sose and friend
Pix thanks to DJA and Ace Adegoke

Who wore it better?
Same dress, only Angelina wore hers back to front. Deliberately.
This is the way she dressed to the 09 SAG Awards.
Even though Ang's dress is worn the wrong way round, I kinda prefer the way she wore it.
What do you think?

Guess who?
Who is this huge star back in the day?
Clue: she's one of my role models
Guess, guess, guess!!!

By the way, the baby pic in the last post is Matse Uwatshe of Wazobia FM.

The Paradoxical Commandments
“People are illogical, unreasonable, and self-centered.
Love them anyway.

If you do good, people will accuse you of selfish ulterior motives.
Do good anyway.

If you are successful, you will win false friends and true enemies.
Succeed anyway.

The good you do today will be forgotten tomorrow.
Do good anyway.

Honesty and frankness make you vulnerable.
Be honest and frank anyway.

The biggest men and women with the biggest ideas can be shot down by the smallest men and women with the smallest minds.
Think big anyway.

People favor underdogs but follow only top dogs.
Fight for a few underdogs anyway.

What you spend years building may be destroyed overnight.
Build anyway.

People really need help but may attack you if you do help them.
Help people anyway.

Give the world the best you have and you’ll get kicked in the teeth.
Give the world the best you have anyway.

My blog might not always be interesting
But come back anyway :)
Be blessed.
Later.

blogger templates | Make Money Online