Majek Fashek's mental health deteriorates | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 13 January 2013

Majek Fashek's mental health deteriorates

According to people close to him, Majek Fashek disappeared from his Gowon Estate home in December 2012 without telling anyone where he was going to, then reappeared sometime last week, looking haggard, weak and unaware of his surroundings; worse than he's been in recent times. The Reggae icon, who said he takes cocaine whenever he can afford it, is currently hospitalized as friends say his mental health has deteriorated drastically since his return.
He has become a shadow of his old self, breaking bottles and behaving very abnormal. In fact, he has not been himself since he returned to the country. Right now, he is hospitalized. We are trying to  stabilize his condition." Haija Oluremi Dangaji, CEO of his management company, A-Plus Entertainment, said
Majek's new album was meant to drop this week, but it has been postponed till he gets better..

80 comments:

This is real bad for people looking up to him. Drugs really destroys I must say, still, I pray he gets back on his feet and comes cleans, that's if he can.

old man still taking cocaine.....olo maje not my porsion... he should be ashamed of himself

philla said...

So sad,buh I used to love him back then ,how I wish,I can turn back the hands of time!!!

Damochedxb said...

Oh Lord send down your healing powers on Majek Fashek.. Help him overcome his demons..

Dr. Anthony said...

He should please stop using cocaine, we love him. The rain maker, so sad.

MAXIMUS™ said...

#heavySIGH

Here's hoping he gets better. 'Cos if he doesn't take care of himself; we all know how Amy Winehouse ended up

Poor guy. Prob signs of dementia.

alvin olufisayo said...

addition o da o!

Álbum ke!!!! Can he stil sing???

The album which he intends to drop...hope he is not the one who sang in it....imagine we have stoped listening to sane people, only for us to appreciate lyrics from cocaine-destroyed brains
sooo sad!!

dammyroja said...

Lool.....Crack head legend,...taught he said he could not stop taking cocaine ,lets see how far he's gonna go.

BLOGMASTER.. said...

Rasta man! Kanja is not a sin,is just the highness..one love bro..chopknuckle...

Majek Fashek..hope this young artist would not follow his path..using drugs to hype/enhance performance..

June said...

Mucheew!

willow said...

Seeing him in this condition I weep for the man he has become,he needs "brutal,no holds barred " intervention before its too late.

Take it easy he refused,Mary J is neva a gud lover,she's just for d moment and leaves u with a bigger problem.

Le Toya said...

I Would Have To Pray For You
So That You Find Peace Before Its Too Late!
This Is What Happens When
One Forgets That Fame Comes With Responsibilities.
Am Not A Fan Tho!!!

This dude is a list cause, trust me.

Heaven helps those who help themselves.he need rehab not a hospital.the sooner the better b4 he'd loose it

Pretty tricky

Ace DJ Bentley said...

An african proverb says... "It is frivolity that kills not work"

But who ever discovered this cocaine thing ehnn, the sh*t has destroyed the best of the best world over.

bitchplis said...

Eeya..what a waste! So sad

ohh my Gwad

my GOD, my pple cn u c d wrd cocaine, wel may GOD heal him 4 d con3

Some musicians believe that inspirations only come when you are "high" on drugs and alcohol. But how come we have great compositions by Panam Percy Paul,Ayewa,Mary Mary,Don Moen,etc. Majek's problem is spiritual. He needs God for total deliverance.
Young artistes should learn from Majek's case and stop using drugs to enhance. A word is enough for a "MF".

halleykeys said...

Yes oh....Mary j fucks with great minds,crack is wack!!beware

Queen Bee said...

This man is drawing really closer to his grave by the day.
if he doesnt change,d distance remaining might even be trekkable!smh...such á Lost talent!

This guy is expiring so fast!He looks so wasted!

haywhizzle said...

Majek fashek inna new York..hey hey inna new York.......maybe he really needs to be in new York...oya dodo ati ricee kogbodo koja, wan jeun jeun jeun wan gbodo roboto...."sleeping n singing""

Mumu..He Has Already sang it.its just 2 release it..Fish

God Would Soo Punish U..So God has nw turn 2 "Gwad"?

So sowie tins turned out dis way...hop Al dis young artist dat call dem self wiz wiz..r learnin 4r dis.

Y does he remind me of Hanks Anuku so much?! Anyway God help him,its so pathetic!

Rest in peace in advance!!!

It really a pity. Majek, turns out d way he is. Majek is really a talented musician. His powerful voice could have made him d best reggae king in the world becos he has everytin to be so.

Igbo (weed) no good ooo...smh he needs our prayers

dr van bay said...

Why eh! Why oh! Why eh! Why oh!

THOSE MANAGING HIM THINKS IT OK TO KEEP SUPPLYING HIM WITH KILLER HARD DRUGS TO ENABLE THEM MILK HIS CREATIVITY..THEY EXPEACT THE ALMBUM TO DROP SO THAT RIGHT AFTER,MAJECK WILL BE KOLO WHILE THEY LAUGH TO THE BANKS...DIS IS BLOOD MONEY...SHE KEEPS HIM A PRISONER WHILE MAKING ENDLESS SUPPLY OF HARD DRUGS

Being a Single mother is not crime. Stop wallowing in selp pity! Learn how to make liguid soap n insecticide for FREE. 2345F19D

2345F19D. Mum Ella.

Portion hun

so sad! This is happening for a reason, it has opened my EYES wide. I WILL NEVER TAKE MARY JANE AGAIN. IJN.

Ganja is just weed my dear...we r talking cocaine here! A very big difference

I don't tink our prayers wil change him.he already said he can't stop using cocaine.2 bad 4 him..... Such a wasted talent.. Says UNDISPUTED

King Sunny Ade is right b4 our eyes, one of the best in da whole world, if u ask me and he dos nt drink

Its Cocaine dude, not mary J, MJ is weed man...get ur facts straight...

vee said...

I'm actually surprised he lasted this long,he jst used his own hands 2 spoil his career,ppl rily loved him back in d day.mumu,agbaya,olodo.he cnt leave cocaine,he shld die biko

Lesson for other 9ja Superstars, Don't Do Drugs. But of course they won't take me seriously e.g. Tonto Dike, Terry G etc.

Please help him by not buying his album, it'll only help him buy more cocaine! Save Majek Fashek!

Stanley Onduru said...

Now this is a lesson for young folks who think that taking snow make u cool....that stuff will kill u....stay away from death as much as u can....ping 277DDBCD for clothings @ affordable prices..

Mama somtee said...

Aaaaaaah you wan kill person with dis comment .

Mama somtee said...

Ooooh no you !!!!!!!!!!!!! My thoughts exactly .laughing out loud

Mama somtee said...

Ooooh no you !!!!!!!!!! My thoughts exactly , laughing out loud .

GOSSIP GIRL said...

U̶̲̥̅̊ mean liquid...plus majek needs Jesus!!!!

GOSSIP GIRL said...

Did U̶̲̥̅̊ mean *addiction?

Mum ella did prince tell you he is a single mother or him need soap

lol...no personal ishhh! Buh I think this dude bonario is effin boring and fake! Dude be real plsz

All in a the name of cracking America, I saw this dude when he was on top of his game BOY! He was so fresh n so clean .... The moment you start to roll with the likes of Tracy chapman etc your life is sapped. This why the likes of DBANJ should take note, dope is second nature in the American entertainment industry it takes a lot not to be part of it... You've been warned!

Trust me, there's a "c" btw I and T. Thank me later.

felichic said...

I feel like crying,God pls help him out frm dis mess,a handsome majek fashek is now some 1 u can't even want to talk to! 2 bad

Funky said...

Lol @ pls help him by not buying his album. Kai I remember one event abi na trade fair that was held in Tafawa Balewa Square in 1995 or so he came there to perform. A handsome looking man. I can't believe what he's now become. Such shame a shadow of his former self.

Meek And Gentle said...

Present day Musicians and Artists are hardly role models to people looking up to them. This is a terribly bad trend. Wish MF quick mental and spiritual recovery.

NAUGHTY CONFESSIONS OF NUBIAN KID said...

i am honestly getting tired of this majek fashek issue,,,,there are several people e.g. NGOZI NWOSU, and THE KOMOLAFE GIRL,THE LATE ENEBELI ELEBUWA they have lived a normal life without taking drugs and due to no fault of their own were afflicted with different ailments here is a man who had the world eating from his palms but pissed it away,the novia guy and the governor made several opportunities available to him but he continually messed it up.
is he the only one who is an addict?
many addicts go into detox and successfully go cold turkey and get off the habit he is just being lazy due to the frankly underserved attention showered on him..he is an adult and if he wants to deteriorate away frankly i am not bothered

End of drug addicts... God shld intervene .

Majek.... is wrestle not against the flesh n blood, but against principalities.

Really liked dis dude! I still remember wen we were growing up, wen he had a babe in d next flat! We All used to run out to catch a glimpse of him!fine guy no pimples..drugs bAd shaq

leo4life said...

A lesson for young folks. Don't kill yourself. If you dont want to end up like this guy dont go into drugs. It is a slow, silent but sure killer! You are seeing examples of stars being utterly destroyed by drugs; what is the essence of your stardom when you end up like this guy or the so much loved and respected withney Houston or Micheal Jackson? These are great guys no doubt, imagine their lives without drugs... it would have been far better. Even alcohol and cigarret also destroy your internal organs - avoid them please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Majek..... is wrestle not against flesh and blood,but against principalities and spiritual wickedness!!!! Tell him to pick up the armour Of God

SLEEKREEK said...

That's his bizness.......he already said he count do without drugs so let him face whatever thing drugs have in stock for him.......how can u help a man that is not willing to help himself????people can only try for him....he has the major work to do for himself....

anti-useless dammyroja said...

Y re u soo bitter u dumb bastard?? N wats funny about it?? U dunno tomorrow keep wshing eveil fr somone n c how drastic u end..u moron..

weste said...

Don't mind d fool they re soo lazy to type hiding in d name of useless swag dunno what it take I'm to type God...dumb fuktard

anti anonymos 1:59 AM said...

It is you that will rest in peace in advance for wishing death to someone may God punish u greatly for this ur comment,oloriburuku sombody..y re u soo bitter n full of hate?? Linda u ought to be screening comments n nt allow evil comments like this ghost to be typing..

its a pity though ! But i still Like Majek Fashek . he's a talented guitarist. Lets all pray for him, because nobody really knows what let him into hard drugs .

Mama somtee!!! U're bak. Was wondering whr u'd bin. Maternity leave??? Work??? Wtvr it is, Welkom. Kisses

I really honestly tot dis guy was dead,mehn I av buried a lot of folks oh.

akaluso tshabalala said...

mehn hard drugs destroys d body system

@mum ella,u no go kill person for dis place o.we dey read about majek ,u dey talk about being a single mother and how to make *liguid*(in ur words) soap.I tire o.smh.....purity says so.

I look at him and all I can say is 'that's the male version of Whitney Houston'!!!!!!!

salvador said...

O LORD SEND DOWN YOUR RAIN ON DIS MAN

Portal Informasi Online said...

I was very encouraged to find this site. I wanted to thank you for this special read. I definitely savored every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.