18 human heads shipped from Rome held up at Chicago airport | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 15 January 2013

18 human heads shipped from Rome held up at Chicago airport

A shipment of 18 human heads, still covered in skin, was held at Chicago O'Hare International Airport by U.S. Customs and Border Patrol

Customs officials halted the heads for investigation before handing them over to the Cook County Medical Examiner's office. 

"We are involved because they can't store them any longer," Tony Brucci, chief of investigations at the medical examiner's office told ABC News. "We'll be examining the heads in the autopsy room today, but there is no foul play suspected in the collection of the heads." 

The heads were en route to a research facility near Chicago, but there was a glitch in the paperwork. 

"They were all properly preserved and tagged for the purpose of anatomical study," Brucci said. "The paperwork just isn't properly done." 

Researchers in Rome had been using the embalmed heads but shipped them to the United States for cremation at a facility near Chicago. 

"The crematory has done nothing wrong. In fact, they were just here to hand all the paperwork over, and we're satisfied everything is on the up-and-up," Brucci told ABC News. "We are releasing them back to the crematory soon."

The somewhat grisly discovery apparently wasn't all that unusual. Doctors, medical facilities and research organizations often ship human body parts, said Brucci. This shipment raised flags because of the paperwork problem. 

"This isn't as strange as it sounds," Brucci said. "People ship body parts to universities and hospitals all the time, we just don't usually hear much about it." 

In 2010, a shipment of up to 60 human heads and parts of heads was seized at an airport in Arkansas. 

Those heads were intended for medical training but were stopped in transit because of improper packaging and errors in the paperwork.

Source: Yahoo News

66 comments:

Na wa ooo...what for?

Chai!!! So Cemeteries are not also safe with Oyinbos too... Chai!!! Cos most of these human parts are not gon be with d consent of d families or relatives of d deceased'... May God help us!

Mshewwww! Linda you just like twisting stories all to get attention na wa oh

What for???? U no sabi read? ODE like u.

*throws up*
D way d ME is casually talking abt d HEADS makes me sick!..
*throws up*
May our heads not b used 4 experiments or travel arround d world more dan we did living!..
*throws up*
Billie jean

What is rme? Mbok

The headline almost gave me a mini heart attack, but reading through the whole write-up made me see no cause for alarm. People give out consent for their bodies to be used before they die or dead bodies unaccounted for.

Odes. You think it's like Nigeria where ppl have disgusting ways? The heads are for medical research. If they have the consent of the families or even the ppl themselves, you think they'd use it? Pls sit your ignorant and illiterate asses down. How do you think autopsies are carried out? Or medical mysteries are solved? Talking 'bout "what for?"
Awon olodo.

*heavy sigh of relief* thank God they weren't found wt a Nigerian.
@Anon 9:20pm, rme means rolls my eyes or rolling my eyes.

Importer! Exporter! Even in the developed country? Wonders shall never end.

They are meant for medical research so i wonder why it's news worthy.

@kass babs; you're getting it wrong.unlike here in Nigeria where u hear stories of dig-ups & thefts happening in cemetaries, in developed countries some people actually volunteer to donate their bodies or parts for reasearch when they are dead.δ story says "complete paperwork"

cardavas(however it is spelt)
although at first glance at the headline can give you shivers

Hmm...horror movie.

This is 1daful. So oyinbo 2 dey do arm

Nutella said...

Rolling My Eyes = RME

So how do you think medical break through happen?

Linda this your blog is full of numb skulls that venerate mediocrity only.

Are you sure the heads were not in transit to Nigeria?

Mayowa

off point but linda go listen to durella's malo moto...e sang to u...linda ikeji they say she be my lover because i be nigga and she be blogger. lmao

No abuse plzz, I just read the headline ni oo..elenu razor

na wa oh

Make una no let naija person near doz head o! He fit disapear

True talk! A member of my family who leaves abroad has already wiLled his body to to science. just incase anything happens, even his parents can't fight 4 it cos he's willingly volunteered

Na ur type if person turn,one head go miss.mumu

U NO GET EYE NOWN

Eyaa,hw dt on com take b ur headache,prof.

nawah ooo , so oyibo dey do juju too?
http://trendevolution.blogspot.com/2013/01/check-out-worlds-most-expensive.html

Old story,na nw u dey knw.mumu

Anon January 15, 2013 at 10:02 PM she blogged about it on Sunday.

http://lindaikeji.blogspot.co.uk/2013/01/awwww-someone-has-crush-on-me-dancing.html

Which couloir sling get the heads?

Thanks for letting us know dear. I've learnt this one so that I don't go and embarass myself outside. Thanks bro/sis.

Lol, after I read the headline I was already like"sib Naija done do again". Phew!

Madam I hear u... But I no totally believe u... Oh so u intend to tell me dat dose dudes dat were arrested like 5yrs ago in mexico who used human body and package as corned-beef and sell to d public cnt sell those skulls n fudge papers too back it up... Afta-all they wa arrested 4 d wrong-doing... I trip 4 dis joorh, strange things evrywhere

EXCELLENT EXCUSE FOR NAIJA BABALAWOS AND RITUALISTS TO USE TO COVER THEIR DEEDS WHEN CAUGHT BY POLICE AND THEY WILL EVEN BUY THE STORY FOR N20

Linda gan ur own too much... Ur headline wan resemble ritualist own na wa ooo.. Who c am na go tink say oyinbo dey do blood money

"@heads in transit to Nigeria"...for you to grill abi? Don't worsen Nigeria's reputation, it's bad enuf alrdy...

linda dont mind them,,becos our people ae blinds and was still blinds to to see all today,,how can the fools believed that the romans that help brings out christianity in the world today and englands that help africans and nigerians to stop killing twins and bring christinity in nigeria far back,will still helping them till today__?be wiser my people,,from swiss,,becos nigeria is a blinds wiser nation on earth

Tis page sucks - y wuld ads keep getting in between the story that u can't read the complete stories?

simple baby said...

the difference between oyibo and naija is when they want to do something, they perfect it....don't rule out foul play but they would have backed it up with perfect paperwork and failsafes. If Clifford Orji was an Oyibo guy he would have been Dr. Clifford Orji with full clearance to handle human parts affording him a chance at plausible deniability.

kunle said...

Seems for a research purpose and nothing more.
http://www.fastweightlosstipsnigeria.blogspot.com/

Supu bekee! Nothing do u ooh u hear? I only pity the person that has been paying tuition for u. Jisike

Chichi Taichi Okere said...

@9.53p.m i guess u're also of the opinion that some of the heads that house such numb skulls won't be worthy of medical research when the owners die Lmao!

Jealousy alert

brownymj said...

@Abdulmalik yahaya, seriously??? You just don't get it do you? Read all over my dear.

Stanley Onduru said...

its white guys so it is for medical research, for some african dudes then it is for juju. Ping 277DDBCD for clothings @ affordable prices.

Ebukah Emmanuel Nzeji said...

Über Morgén is taking place and you guys are here spitting rubbish lyrics...ever heard of Cryosurgery? Them go plant a person's head on another person's body through cryosurgery to see if it can grow...Nigerians Wake up from your slumber...The Whites are deceiving you guys again and again...Mr Brucci is a Liar!

A human head is different frm a cadaver fool!

Good to know it's for a research but if na naija man dem catch, dem for blow am out of proportion claiming say na for rituals. *not interested face*

Jeez!!! Puhlease go bck 2 elementary sch. Gawd!

What's na wah oh,please take time to read the content of the headline before rushing to the comment section,this is not even supposed to be news but because of our festish attitudes,its becoming something big,we need to wake up sha,or else we will never move forward,the only civilization I see in Nigeria right now is the entertainment industry,after that the rest is zero,we need to change the way we think,

Amaka said...

@Anon 12:14
U shld ve re-read ur comment b4 posting.Oh God! some of our English teachers need to be fired or did u refuse to learn? I rest my case oo...

freeangel said...

For nigeria dem no go use am do experinment ooo na juju tinz *for ritual*

jerry ogunbor said...

human heads shipped for experiments

What's na wah oh,please take time to read the content of the headline before rushing to the comments section,this is not even supposed to be a news but because of our fetish attitudes, it's becoming something big,we need to wake up sha,or else we will never move forward,the only civilization i see in Nigeria at the moment is the entertainment industry,after that the rest is zero,we need to change the way we think.

BuzzBee said...

LOL @ razor mouf.

@ anonymous 12:14am? Wish kain grammar be dis nah! Haba, or is there a problem with ur phone's key pad? Reading again and lmao...

Kass babs, you are a willing fool and an unrepentant illiterate. Even after reading the story and peoples explanation, you still don't believe. Hope is lost for you

Ahsenet.com said...

what for ?
ooo wa wa..
stories is the besttesstt

Lol lol kass babs your mumu is ripe and has been plucked by above comment lol lol. Its people like you that remain in school and become school furniture.

Is the insult necessary? do i sense beef?

E be lyk say u no get eyes or u get na brain u lack. J̶̲̥̅̊​U̶̲̥̅̊​Åž̲̣̥​†̥​ tell me na who u D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ ask Suegbe

Because na for oyibo ship they see the heads thats why it is not big deal. Na for laboratory works. If it was a black man's ship then it would haven been for rituals or for a cannibal's consumption. Na so e dey be.

ahhh
smh
pple re STUPID shaaaa
ow do u tnk medical doctors learn in school???
in different schools in different parts of the world a part of the human body is given to each student depending on the topic discussed.
i cant bliv there re still some foolish pple even in our modern day, its too bad.
cadaver is different from human head...just imagine
true true AWON OLODO!!!!!!

Lol @ remain in skool n become skool furniture.

Egyptian milk available ping me,2AA0fe19

"I want my child to study medicine"!!! Wetin una think say them dey take practice with for inside lab!!!