RE: APCON Lifts ban on Guinness alcohol beverages certificate | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 19 May 2013

RE: APCON Lifts ban on Guinness alcohol beverages certificate

The attention of the management of Guinness Nigeria Plc has been drawn to a press release issued last Friday by the Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria (APCON) and signed on its behalf by one Nkechi May-Nzeribe. In that press release, Ms. May Nzeribe stated that APCON has, through its Advertising Standards Panel (ASP) Committee lifted the ban placed on Guinness Nigeria Plc because “Guinness complied by withdrawing all advertisements that had been scheduled to run and apologized over the broadcast of Guinness Foreign Extra Stout adverts on Digital Satelite Television (DSTV) outside the prescribed periods allowed by the APCON Code of Advertising and Promotion guidelines”. Nothing could be further from the truth!

Contrary to the claim by APCON in the widely circulated report, Guinness Nigeria Plc had withdrawn the advertisement in question before the meeting of the APCON Council which endorsed the recommendation of the ASP to impose sanction on the company. In fact, the decision by the ASP to recommend the withdrawal of the sanction imposed on Guinness Nigeria Plc followed a meeting between the management of the company, its marketing and media agencies and APCON in which the company established that it was not in breach of the relevant provision of the Code of Advertising Practice and Sales Promotion as of the date the decision by APCON was taken.

At the said meeting, both parties agreed the process of rescinding the withdrawal of certificates of approvals granted to Guinness Nigeria for the advertising of its alcoholic beverages including the submission of a letter by the company stating its side of the story. As a matter of fact, the draft of the letter was jointly agreed with Mr. Ade Akinde, who made input into it and explained that, in view of the fact that the Council of APCON had no scheduled meeting for another few weeks, the submission of the letter with part of the content provided by him was the fastest and easiest way of correcting the error which the ASP had misled the Council of APCON into by its decision to withdraw the certificates of approval earlier issued to the company. Following approval of the draft letter by Mr. Akinde, it was printed on the company’s stationery, signed and submitted to APCON.

19 comments:

Chris@human hair said...

Typical nigeria ban. Definitely money has changed hand and all is now well. We hear. Next pls.

Who caaaaaaaares##bends over and sips her zobo##

Come on don't belive dat ban was raise fO̶̷̩̥̊͡Я free .bribe is in it ......at least fO̶̷̩̥̊͡Я once linda post my comment

I love guiness stout tho :-)

Rubynnia said...

Let them ban all adverts not shot in Nigeria jare; enough with promoting foreign shot adverts!

lindiwei said...

How dis one take concern me now?? Why I dey comment sef???

Like I care,Rubbish

My brand :)

ogbulafor obi ogbunigwe said...

Come drink at the table of men!

bii said...

Y were dey banned?

Lubish

Like say I care.

Bukola Samuel said...

I'm Learning. :)

Udeme,kpomo no get advert o yet its the people's choice.dnt mind dem

Udeme,kpomo no get advert o,yet its the people's choice.dnt mind dem

These are the signs of a drowning brand. Drink of Old Men. Mscheewww

jus take a bottle of malta gness,harp, G.E.s(gness extra smooth),satz brouw, snap, gness top malt, dubic,fes(m),small or large and armstrong ur life wil neva remain dsame again.talking 4rm experience.

Udeme,kpomo no get advert o yet its the people's choice.dnt mind dem

Ban! E no dey work 4 9ja nau.