Court upholds ban on use of Hijab in Lagos public schools | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 17 October 2014

Court upholds ban on use of Hijab in Lagos public schools

An Ikeja High Court today Friday October 17th upheld the ban on the wearing of Hijab (Muslim head scarf) in public primary and secondary schools in Lagos state.

Justice Modupe Onyeabor dismissed the suit instituted against the Lagos State Government by two 12-year-old girls under the aegis of the Muslim Students of Nigeria, Lagos State Area Unit.

The government had banned the use of Hijab on the argument that it was not part of the approved school uniform for pupils.

Following the ban, the students filed the suit on May 27, 2013, seeking redress and asked the court to declare the ban as a violation of their rights to freedom of thought, religion and education.
In her judgment, Onyeabor held that the prohibition of the wearing of Hijab over school uniforms within and outside the premises of public schools was not discriminatory.
According to her, the ban does not violate sections 38 and 42 of the 1999 Constitution as claimed by the plaintiffs.
The judge said Section 10 of the Constitution made Nigeria a secular state and that government must maintain neutrality at all times.
Onyeabor said the government therefore had a duty to preserve the secular nature of the institutions concerned as argued by the Lagos State Solicitor-General, Mr Lawal Pedro (SAN).
She noted that since the public schools were being funded by the government, it was therefore competent to issue dress codes and other guidelines to the students.
According to her, the use of uniforms engenders uniformity and encourages students to pursue their mutual academic aspirations without recourse to religious or any other affiliations.
The judge, however, observed that the uniformity sought by the government in the issuance of the dress code would be destroyed, should the prayers of the plaintiffs be granted.
“The non-Hijab wearing students will feel inferior to those who are putting on Hijab.
“The values of plurality and the respect for the rights of others who have subscribed to a non-faith based educational system cannot be breached.
“In that effect, the issue is resolved in favour of the respondents and the suit is accordingly dismissed,’’ Onyeabor said.

Reacting to the judgment, the plaintiffs’ counsel, Chief Gani Adetola-Kazeem, told NAN that his clients would file an appeal against the judgment.
“Well the court has spoken but there are still very many issues to be considered which invariably means that we will appeal the judgment.
“We are simply not satisfied with the court decision.
“The angle through which the court has looked at the issue is quite at variance with the provisions of the constitution. We will definitely appeal,” he said. 

Source: NAN

74 comments:

For more knowledge check this out! John 14:6. BishopDammy#

jerry said...

That's good ..... They should also do d same here in ilorin kwara state too.

Bosslady said...

Ndi Ara!

I trust Justice Onyeabor,she's a very intelligent judge. I support d ban on use of hijab.

Uche Emma said...

Good

ABEG ..MAKE THEY BAN ALL THIS BOKO THINGSSSSS JOOR

bOKO HARAM TINSSSS

they should ban it....wat kind of rubbish b that..when u are at home then u can wear it

okay oh!

KIKIS said...

I think its part of their right and tradition.

Thank God! This muslims too get wahala jor.

Lin there are two great news about wizkid..one is him and tuface just arrived Ghana for a wonderful concert and the other is that he was the ist to tweet about him and sheyi shay's colabo... changed man

hehehehe..u people should not make the children to raise war upon una..Goldensarah9@yahoo.com

Sad!

Good judgement,
let there be equity in public institutions.

Good judgment and most of dis muslim student use dis hijab †o carry espo(egun gun) †o exam hall

Modupe

Iberibe egbuo unu! If u find it difficult 2 abide by d codes of conducts of d skul,y not stick 2 wia u'll b allowed 2 wear "danchiki" or even mask 2 skul? Trouble makers!

Its not by force! Go 2 wia u ll b allowed 2 put on overall n helmet 2 u...ighotago?

vkkybeh said...

Great news, at least,lets see how beautiful and endowed this ladies look,instead of covering everywhere,and also our hairdressers/salon will be patronized.

Skul children r supoz 2 b smartly dressed,not some smelly tie tie stuff

its very ugly to see a kid wearing Hijab on a school uniform...Kids keep calm after school you can even decide to wear a Hazman suit that would be ur business.

of course it should be banned...They should go to Muslim schools if they must.

I guess there are purely lslamic/religious schools all around the place where one can wear religious uniform without cause for any ill-feeling to anyone, why not chose that if they are so passionate abt. use of hijab. Why raising unnecessary dust over this in a public institution, or is there any ulterior intention to it. This is how it use to start, before u know it now if this is allowed, soon we ll be talking of another big torn in the flesh of the nation. When will Nigerians stop using religious sentiments to disrupt the once known peace of this nation. It was sharia at a time, lslamic Banking another time, Book haram now and as if that is not enough, here again is litigation over ban of hijab on public schools. Nigerian s name was o!

hmmmmmm....

VERY GOOD...

Only in the south west can this happen and peace and tranquility prevails.Down here,christians will be butchered like rams as if they're the ones who passed the judgement.

From a neutral standpoint...Why does this religion called Islam always forment trouble?...Must they always bring in their religious norms into everything they do with others (who may not share the same beliefs/faith) or try to force/impose their beliefs and norms on other people?...There are other religions in the world but i have never seen/heard of any one that causes so much problems in the world like Islam...it's always about them...If the government doesn't allow wearing of Hijab in it's schools, then the students who object to this rule should simply opt out and go enrol in schools that allow that.

stupid religion with die hard spirit.everywhere their wahala is felt.their boko haram is not enough for dem yet

Abeg they should go and sit down...na the hijab go make dem pass exams ? at this early stage you are instigating hatred among these kids.

“The non-Hijab wearing students will feel inferior to those who are putting on Hijab" Since when? Why?

I don't agree with this hijab discrimination. It's not fair on Muslims.

Kimmy*****

well we should respect the Law

will the vote APC next year???

dhobiz said...

Why would anyone where hijab on a school uniform if not madness,Muslims causing nuisance everywhere they go nmtchew

"the non-hijab students will feel inferior to hijab wearers" how possible? and if so, they should subscribe to it! Hijab is to cover the shape and avoid opposite sex to getting detracted. what a flimsy excuse!

Wetin pesn do hausa ibeagwa 4 dis country bikonu???? Wearin hijab 4 public schools??? Notin me I no go see oooo. Wot den is d essence of uniform nah? Ozopp

yemi said...

He should go ahead and appeal the judgment but the fact still remains that Nigeria is a secular country.Thank you !

Well the court is right in a way but they should consider their religion before passing the judgement #onelovefromSnow#

Omaa said...

Awesome!

Lifematters-Mattersoflife(PEOPLE AND SOCIETY) said...

If they like they should appeal but the truth be told ,Nigeria is a secular state, you people should not start anything that could instigate future crisis, Let Nigeria remain the secular state it is.

wow that really amazing I wish schools in the north will also bund the wearing of hijab I don't see the difference in wearing that piece of shit all those Hausa girls are so spoilt

Don't they know the meaning of Uniform? Which means students must be on d same outfit,if u wan cover ur hair,go to the local Osun state or saudi arabia,this is lagos,No localty or dirts, why do pple take religion more than does who brought d religion here? Smh

lapxz says good judgement

Oskirin said...

fasola 1 MSSN 0.oya make una go appeal.

Beautiful judgment! Any parent who wants their kids to wear hijab should send them to private Islamic schools. Very simple.

The plaintiffs are free to appeal even up to the Hague. Who knows, they just might win there. But they had better be ready for the repercussions afterwards: Ogboni kids and Aladura children and Egbesu offspring will then be free to come to school dressed in their own 'hijabs'.

Why won't they allow hijab? Hijab is part of a Muslim lady's dressing anywhere. They should lift that ban and allow peace to reign. Besides, nobody is enforcing it on non-muslims

Very good. Most Muslims always want to impose their religion on everybody else. If you want to put on an hijab to school, then fuck off to a muslim school.

Gemma Dojo said...

1, the US setup a base in Nigeria
2, Googluck Jonathan signs a way the Nigerian constitution by letting MasterCard do what every country in Europe, South America and Caribbean rejected which is to have an identity card with MasterCard logo meaning MasterCard more or less owns the COMPLETE data information on every Nigerian citizens
3, Goodluck Jonathan allows the US to introduce drone attacks within Nigeria
4, Goodluck Jonathan with the help of the US aims to divide Nigeria into 3 countries
5, We all love America but if ignorant Nigerian do not open their eyes quickly, you will have no Nigeria because name one country that the US has a military base and the people of that country are living peacefully, ABSOLUTELY NOT ONE.
Facts not fiction, you decide.

Fool! Boko haram family! Go to an islamic school if u want to wear ur dirty, smelly hijab!

Abeg who know dis mumu 4 naija @ Dojo. Who's even asking 4 a one nigeria wen d abokis don't need peace? Abeg G̶̲̥̅̊​o̲̣̥ drink gutter water make u relax 4 toilet mtcheeww

Bigots will always be bigots! What problem does it cause anyone who doesn't want to wear it??

Nigeria is a secular state. And its called Uniform for a reason.issues not violate anybody right .. fanatism should not be encouraged under any guise. . Will aladura start wearng white satana, and d likes... what then will become of school?
I do not understand why those practicing this religion are so pugnacious , sensitive irate. If you love Allah that much.. stay in d mosque and learn.

Alright

cecilia said...

Good judgement. If not native doctors /herbalist children would wear feathers and native chalk as their 'hijab ' to school. For God 's sake let Muslims accept dat one man 's meat is anoda man 's poison and stop hiding under human rights law in a subtle boko haram attack on fellow pupil /students. Nigeria is a cecular country where general interest over rides personal or religious interests.

There is absolutely no sense in upholding this ban. Are they tired of boko haram? This will just instigate another war. if they want to stop muslims from wearing hijab then Christians too shouldn't wear their rosary. If they want the muslims to go to private schools, what happens to the poor ones? they should avoid school? The court is just bored and those who will benefit from such uprising are rubbing their hands in glee

You're actually wrong. Most muslims don't care about those things. It's the few vocal ones that make so much noise.

They should ban that nonsense that always make them to smell like refuse, after all every school has there uniform y should they violent the school law.if they want to put on that rubbish they should go and register in Arabic school, nonsense.

Making sense

U are a fool

Remember most high schools in the west don't even wear uniforms but their normal everyday wear but not the Nigerian. Always wanting to be westernise due to our complex personalities.... The point is whatever we wear we can never ever be white.. The earlier we realise that and get our own identities the better.

Those girls can hide ecomog in that hijab o.
Good ban.

SouthEastern said...

A very Good news and moreover, It is not a requirement for Muslim women to wear a Burka or Hijab in Islam... A veil is not a Burka or Ha jib and neither of those two coverings are mentioned in the Koran or Hadiths as obligatory. The only reason the Burka is worn by some women is because Mohammad made his wives wear it - out of jealousy!!! He hated seeing his wives flirt with his companions so he made rules up for them and only them to wear it... but Muslims are also told that Mohammad was the most pious man and should be emulated as much as possible - so Muslim men force their wives to wear a Burka in public just as Mohammad did with his wives... What this boils down to is this is NOT a religious garment but one of oppression... More needs to be done to stop this blood sucking religion.

See those that commented on this issue of ijab, they are either igbo or christian. They are the hypocrites of the first order, how can non ijab wearing students feel inferior, I know you will support the motion if the government declare under pant as uniform. You are all dogs.

Jesus Reigns said...

oya babalawo children appeal too. Why can't u all tie red and black clothes, bring chalks and sacrifices to school too? I dey una back biko.ngwa carry placard

TDams. said...

Yeye! What shape are you talking about on primary school kids. Peadophile in the making, hypocrites!

Teacher said...

No matter how much I like a certain type of dress when I go to Saudi Arabia. I fall in line. Seeking to dominate and not live side by side is quickly become their trademark. Leave your religious sentiments and agenda.School is school, religion is religion. Separate them, if you want where they overlap, register there and attend simple.

Teacher said...

Simple

these court ruling is wrong why would people not be allowed to dress according to their believe and what had that got to with learning in school. Instead of us to talk about important things like how do we improve the way our children learn in school, you are there passing judgement to things that you are not suppose to.

Every1 criticisin d use of hijab,I pray God almighty 4giv u,4 gudness sake wearin it doesn't remove a cent from ur pocket,d fact dat it makes muslims more dinstict nd decent is ur heart ache...dey are kids who want to protect der religion its d way dey are brought up nd dev grown to luv it...leave dem be it doesnt affect d non hijab users afterall dey aren't stopped from usin wateva dey uses in church.nd for dos regardin muslims as boko haram nd callin dem all sorts of unfavourable names,judge no1 bt u went ahead criticising a religion,may almighty Allah deal with u all.

Nanibelle said...

For all those against Islam and in support of what the judge did,I have a simple question to ask and be truthful at least fir once.If I give you a sweet covered with its wrapper and another that isn't covered,whuch will you take???

Nanibelle said...

For all those in support of the judge and against Islam, I have a simple question to ask please be truthful at least for once. If I give you a sweet without its wrapper and another with its wrapper, which will you take????May Allaah forgive your sins . Ameen.

u r an idiot for saying this