Charles Novia names the Best 5 Nollywood Actresses of 2013 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 December 2013

Charles Novia names the Best 5 Nollywood Actresses of 2013

Written by Nollywood film maker, Charles Novia
I watched a number of films this year and as many as were being churned out in all the zones, I had to pin-point my search to specifics. As a filmmaker, with many years of experience to my credit, I know good acting when I see it. Acting is inborn while talent is general but depth in acting is few among actors. And so, my blog has decided to award and possibly reward actors with citations and accolades for their art in a preceding and current year. I and my editorial staff think this will be a good and unbiased reward system. I drew up my conclusions about the names on this list after watching them in stand-out roles in some movies released in late 2012 to the last quarter of 2013. I consulted a few of my colleagues about my list; tested film directors and there was an unanimity on 70% of the criteria I used in arriving at my conclusion. They all agreed with me 100% on the choice for the Number One Actress in 2013.
So, here are the Best 5 Nollywood Actresses in 2013.
ritadominic
NUMBER 5: RITA DOMINIC
Rita had a good year. Winning ‘Best Actress’ a couple of times (among many nominations ) for the movie ‘The Meeting’. I also watched her in another recently released movie, ‘Finding Mercy’ but felt that she gave a listless and lukewarm performance in that flick. In ‘The Meeting’, Rita was smoking. I would say that for the first time since I have been seeing her in movies, she found the right script which explored her acting depths. Rita is a Theatre Arts Graduate from Uniport and that is usually an advantage for actors with such credentials from Drama School. What is expected from such actors has to come to the fore someday in Nollywood, when the right script meets the right Director and the fundamentals of a good production are met. ‘The Meeting’ is that kind of production. Rita subsumed her character and aided the cackle points of the comedy. With make-up which aimed to transform and accentuate her character, she found it easy to give us all a good performance. However, I found some grey areas of her acting bordering between slapstick and sublimal comedy especially the part where she called out ‘Code Red’ , which was a typical Nollywood play-to-the-gallery moment. But her acting on those few bits can be forgiven because she had a screen presence of mind. Rita Dominic has more to prove in Nollywood, either as an actress or as a Producer. If it is the former, then she has to be careful about her choice of scripts from now on because there might be false slips ahead. A good actress anyday, she is.

okoro
NUMBER 4: YVONNE OKORO
Now this would raise eyebrows with people asking if Yvonne is from Nollywood since she is associated more with Ghana. Nomencletures do not matter to me. Nollywood is a global brand and is a huge platform for all African actors to make their mark. Besides, Yvonne’s movie, ‘The Contract’, was released in the cinemas in Nigeria in 2013 which meets a part of the criteria I used in drawing up this list.
I must confess that I had not watched much of Yvonne’s movies before ‘The Contract’. I just knew her name from a few social media buzz which was neither here nor there for me. So when I watched her performance in ‘The Contract’,  my curiousity gave way to admiration. She interpreted the role quite well. There was an almost effortless transistion of moods and emotions in her characterisation and she had the audience eating out of the palms of her hands all through the movie. She  came off looking like she had something to prove with that movie both as Producer and lead actress and I think she succeeded. There was nothing forced about her nuances in the movie, which projected a rare self-assuredness lacking in many of her counterparts. Since Ghana is her chosen country of citizenship, I would say she is an asset to her country in the acting field.

0damilola adegbite
NUMBER 3: DAMILOLA ADEGBITE
A surprise resignation from ‘TINSEL’in 2012 , made most people wonder if Damilola knew what she was doing. She gave reasons for leaving the televsion serial; to concentrate on her acting career. Watching her in Michelle Bello’s ‘Flower Girl’ brought home the wisdom in her career curve.
I have always held the notion that Damilola has a powerful screen presence. There’s something sultry and appealing about her looks on screen. Very few actors have that aura. In Damilola’s case, I thought it wasn’t yet explored to the maximum. In ‘Flower Girl’, that screen aura combined with a visible attempt at internalisation and visualisation by Damilola in her role, made many see her in a whole new light. Finally, the stirrings of a Super Actress is beginning to show. ‘Flower Girl’ is a romantic comedy modelled after the genre as it is done in Hollywood. Attempting to get it right needs the right male and female actors in the lead roles. Damilola was the right pick for the female lead. She knew when to turn on the charm and when to disarm in the movie. She gave it her best and it showed. Hopefully, she would maintain the tempo and energy in her new movies after ‘Flower Girl’.

tamara
NUMBER 2: TAMARA ETIENO
Many people would not remember her name and it is likely many would have forgotten her as the winner of ‘The Next Movie Star’ Reality show a couple of years back. But such credentials are not important when it comes to judging her abilities as an actor. Tamara was simply awesome in the movie ‘Desperate Housegirls’! She gave an organic and jaw-dropping performance which must her won her new fans and etched her name somewhere on the consciousness of movie lovers. There was a closeness to method acting when watching her in ‘Desperate Housegirls’ and she must be commended for making acting interesting again especially as we have been assailed with talentless actors and actresses in the past few years. I predict that Tamara is going to shine in a few months but that illumination depends on the kind of scripts she chooses and the Directors she works with. But then, she is good. Quite good.

mercy_johnson-biography-photo-620x350
NUMBER 1: MERCY JOHNSON
Mercy would be my number one choice for ‘Best Actress’ in 2013. She has simply been awesome in the her movies this year. There’s something ultra-natural and organic about Mercy Johnson which confounds even her critics. She can act. She delivers. In four movies I watched in 2013, which she starred in, she was the epitome of delightful characterisation. Watch her in the ‘Dumebi’ spawn of movies and you would appreciate how her talent has evolved since she came back from her Maternity Break.
Mercy is a chameleonic actress, one with the uncanny ability to immerse herself in her roles. She can play the victimised House Maid in one movie and switch to the Lady Boss in the next. In fact, if the role suits her, she comes out smoking.
She is arguably the Best Actress for 2013. You can quote me on that.

Who agrees with this list?
* Next : THE BEST 5 NOLLYWOOD ACTORS IN 2013. Watch this space!

212 comments:

1 – 200 of 212   Newer›   Newest»

Yup....his rite..MJ no 1....

I disagree to agree. Mercy on that list? Yes.

I rily don't thinks so for damilola and tamara bt I certainly agree on mercy johnson..........linda pls post my comment o btw am the first to comment

Ash Baby said...

Fantastic list,as long as mercy is. Among I don't mind

Darl said...

who died and made Charles judge?

tayo said...

Mercy johnson is cool with no1 but rita shldnt be no5..its better she isn't dere at all dan no5..she deserves no 2 or 3...

ebimor said...

Correct mi I agree on d no 1 spot dts mercy bt serz riri doesn't deserve dt spot,yvonne okoro nyc actress also her role in d *Game made senze.nyc choice.

I like the criteria used for creating this list and I agree to an extent since I haven't really seen Tamara acting....I totally agree that mercy Johnson deserves dat num1 spot coz she is just talented.

Misstush said...

The list isn't far from perfect!..

Noted....Yvonne Okoro is a beauty to behold,she hails from Abia State,Niigeria while the mum is from Ghana.she grew up in Ghana with her siblings......Unargueably Mercy Johnson-Okojie has done noteably Well.I watched one of her 2013 movie: BABY DANCE WITH TEARS,she was so so on point.And as for u Mr.Novia,why haven't we being seeing Ʊя breaklights,u don't produce nor market movies?I admire Ʊя strength of Criticism but u need to take a chill pill.......Ʊя own done too much for this 2013.....//lol//

Eyeshadow said...

I wld say yes to Mercy,she's one of the best nollywood has ever produced..omotola feather yansh and Genny kpangolo yansh should bow....eerm charles aside from Rita every one of them on that list should bow

Agree.sign and sealed

Nxt pls!!

Great listing, Charles you listed them perfetly well. Job well done.

HMmm I smell I big rat,but mercy has it

Sir alpachino said...

Wat of that b*tch called dike I don't believe dis list na wash joooor. She need attention. Sir Alpachino sent via Nokia3320

I agree totally! Whoever compiled this list has sense sha. Mercy deserves to be @ d top n all the others where they are. Mercy and Ini-edo are one of d most natural born actresses ever......but then, it takes good eyes to notice that. I doff my *hat* for them.

Absolutely correct with Mercy Johnson as number 1. I don't know about others. Love you Mercy

I pick mercy rita n okoro bcos they are good actress.buh the remainin 2 cant say.this man shld get his head examined.its obvious he is dating the tamara girl and damilola ur ex gf bcos I see no reason y u would add them to the list.

I agree with u

Lixxie said...

I concur on rita, mj & yvonne.
Dunno tamara.
I've seen damilola only in tinsel. She has all that looks & aura ish yes but I wasn't really feeling her acting

Lixxie said...

I concur on rita, mj & yvonne.
Dunno tamara.
I've seen damilola only in tinsel. She has all that looks & aura ish yes but I wasn't really feeling her acting

Mercy No 1 I agree.

I only agree with his choice of Mercy Johnson as number one actress.
That lady was created to act, she was born for that purpose. You gotta love Mercy Johnson!

Why is Genevieve, katenshaw not on the list???????

Would You Recommed This Sexy Lady As Your Husband's PA?

Ok ooo u try!

you are right mercy is number one. I don't know for others. Congrats mercy u deserve it.

Igor said...

Yeah ! Mercy truly deserve the number one spot.

I agree oooo..100%...Mercy J and Rita D...Muahhh

Yeah I agreed with him.... Mercy Johnson is the best actress of the year for real.

I agree with u MJ is d bomb

Mercy Johnson goes deep into any character. Yes! For now, she's my NO.1. I also trip for Yvonne Okoro's acting prowess.

Ok ooo u try!

I agree.. Mercy is a good actress

Blackberry said...

Damilola no follow

I agree!

Now from movie critic to award presenter. Peeps jst wanna remain relevant. Beefin maheeda no de pay u again abi...

Mr dave

I agree with d list ..mama purity is a good actress

I definitely agree with the number one choice of mercy Johnson. I am hardly a nollywood person but anytime I do watch, she just does it well for me.

Thumbs up Mr. Charlez!!
I sincerely agree wt dt list, though i'd expect to see an Nse-Ikpe -Etim there. My lord, Mercy Johnson is toooooo much!! Hate her or love her, she dey deliver. It musnt b all abt romance nw, we need 2 laugh it off too, dtz where MJ killz the likez of Genevieve, Omosexy, Rita, Chioma... .
Waitin 2 see ur male category, Mr. Charles Novia.

crap

ouch said...

I wonder if our comment z needed here cos afta all d wahala...u no go paste am tanks 2 ur shortlistin attitude...anywayz I agree wit d best 5 actors..tank u auntylinda...@least u can read dis by urself!!!!*angry*

queen hadassah said...

I agree with the list

Nse Ikpe Etim should be on the list

Sane Mind said...

Mercy Johnson anyday,,dont want to bother my Sane mind much!

I agree with just the number 1. Mercy Johnson is superb like he said chamelionic. Love you Mama Purity.

my dear uv said it all, l dont know about d four others acting, but as foe Mercy Jonhson, she is a magician n acting no matter d roll she plays, she acts d best out of it it. Infact acting is her destiny. My dear Mercy, keep it up.

Abeg abeg abeg!Mr charles pls try anoda means of picking up and reclaiming ur already diminished image,u kip meddling in pple's biznesses frm insulting fashola,to Jonathan,to Beverly etc all in a bid to gain relevance,who cares abt ur blog awards it doesn't mk a drop of sense go repackage urself dis time nt november productions maybe January!Lol

Yeah! My babe mercy on point always...

That's my girl...... Mercy all the way. Anytime, any day

Richie said...

Mercy is undoubtedly the best nollywood has ever produced.she encompasses passion,talent,drive,concept,energy and above all versatility.no other actress can keep up 2 her pace..thou nse should av been in the list though..

I agree, Mercy is the best any time any day

I agree with number one.....mercy is my boo anyday antime.....love her to the moon and back!

FIRST ya

I AGREE BECOS MERCY JOHNSON IS NUMBER ONE HAAHAHAAHAHAH

Uhm..wherrız overhyped genny + omoT?..lol!
Anywayz,dah lıst ıs accurate!

chy said...

love u mercy.we dey for ur back

Calabar Babe said...

I give it to Mercy. She is too much<
Nice one Charles

chy said...

go mercy,go gogo

Sorry, Nollywood or English Actresses??? I'm confused here.

Mercy mercy my love am proud of u carry go my dear d sky is ur limit my comment ooOoo

Yes I agree mercy is d bestest

Blog Queen said...

Not into naija movies but mercy's still okay.

Go mercy go mercy go

I totally agree wif d yvonne okoro's part cus d contract movie was d 1st Nigerian movie I watchd @ d cinema n enjoyed evry bit of it......
EsterDean

I totally agree with Mercy being No1
She s definitely one of the best Nollywood has provided.
Tank God Rukky Sanda aint there oo cos she is wack.
Don't think I agree with d Tamera lady though.

Mz Beckhy

African barbie said...

Mercy is a great actress and I think she deserves being d first,But I think Rita is better than dat position.

So on point with mercy and vvonne. So in love with these two ladies. *cagey*

Mercy is the number one Supported.

Yes mercy but where is Genny

Mercy z just an actress. It is in-built in her. She dznt evn have to force it. She can play any role any day any time

yeah, since she had her daughter, i' ve had new found respect for her... Rita Dominic too, fantastic stylist u have, playing it safe and dressing your age,nice 1

Lindaikeji's Boo said...

mercy Deserves it...But where my tonto? :(

I BigbabyBarry Totally agree with this list

I agree wiv Mercy but can't say same abt Adegbite n Etieno. U wouldn't knw a gud actor wit jst few gud flicks, giv a gud actor a compromising nd challenging role nd watch she/he wil do wit it. Rita Dominic is my 2nd pick.

No 1 mama purity....

Olivia Silk said...

I agree 100%! Mercy z the best.. She reallyis talented. Nobody can beat that.

mercy is the bestno b lie tonto is good too.....

Damilola Adegbite can't act!

Nse ought to be on dat list!

I love mercy

yes oooooooo. MJ is d bombest. she is 3much, d best of al time.

Mercy is the best nollywood actress I'v eva watched... She interpretes roles wit so much ease!!! She has all goin 4 her.... So proud Mercy's no. 1..... She deservs it.

look at My queens love u people

Damilola adegbit is one very gud actress#myopinion

I DO.... Mercy Johnson is d BEST NOLLYWOOD ACTRESS.. Fact, #fab

Nanecstasy said...

Of course,Mercy is and ll be d 1st...

Nawa for you miss hater! Didn't you hear him mentioned movie released 2012 till date. Have u seen genny or omotola in any recent movie?

Yeah i agree mercy is d best anytime anyday...........keep it up mercy and God bless u

I agree dat mercy is numba one but wat is damilola doing in this list na! Nse suld have taking her place. Anyway is issokay I be wan see the baga wen go put tontoh name for this list!!! Oya. Everybody clear road for mercy!!

nekkyville said...

i so so agree wit dis but uf or comot dat adebite girl nd put ma lovely Nse-ikpe Etim dat babe is wondaful. wen i watched her in reladed first,i fell in love wit her den her role in Mr n Mrs wowwww!!!shes jst had to b numba 2...

nekkyville said...

i so so agree wit dis but uf or comot dat adebite girl nd put ma lovely Nse-ikpe Etim dat babe is wondaful. wen i watched her in reladed first,i fell in love wit her den her role in Mr n Mrs wowwww!!!shes jst had to b numba 2...

200% agree wt you. Shee one actrex I've not find words to explain her characters in a movie. Infact ℓ̊ also award you for making her number. Your common sense dey correct. MJ no1 can beat in acting.

if not mercy who can it be na.. she's really good@wat she does..thumbs up

nekkyville said...

Mercy u deserve it all

prettysilvia said...

I totally agree charles........

Yeah i agree mercy is d best anytime anyday...........keep it up mercy and God bless u

Charles Novia must really get mental problem… where Tonto where Ini eco where Genevieve where Chika Ike and Monalisa chinda???????

Is always Mercy Johnson, mama Purity keep on keeping it up. No one does it better than you. Ride on

Kehinde said...

A part of me really wants to believe Mr Novia assertions; but any list related to the best in acting in Nigeria MUST have Nse Ikpe Etim on it. She's the only actress in the country i would put my money on; she owns any role she plays and deliver a Jennifer Aniston esque kind of acting.

Charles is just a bitch ....we smell ur rat. Anyway Tonto is 2013 best actress n is a gud actress just like MJ. U could start ur own awards n stop d drama ur acting here. Act ur age n stop fueling hate amongst ur fellow actors n actress

Ada said...

I completely agree with this list couldnt have said it any better... Linda Ejiofor(Bimpe) on tinsel another underrated actress tho...

I totally agree ! She is just a Personality Actor ! Maybe, just maybe, Charles Novia has a crush on her ! Its a way of getting Dami's attention. Sorry Charles, Damilola Adegbite is not a fantastic Actor ! How dare you put her on that dumb list ! Where is my Nse Ikpe-Etim, and Bimbo Akintola in 'Hoodrush'. Mercy Johnson is cool. I love her to bits. Rita Dominic is on point. Where is Nse Ikpe-Etim and Bimbo Akintola !!!

I agree...the list is accurate...Mercy, Rita en Yvonne are so amazing. .dunno abt the other 2...lovers of Genevieve chill biko..she doesn't deserve to be on ds list at all...her movies lately no folo jur..like dem Dr Bello and Weekend Getaway"na rubbish..be forming Angelina Jolie

Hear hım?..no o.I read ıt fa,bıkko dıd any1 hear hım?:s..Do ı need 2 xplaın dat dah 'LOL' meant twaz a joke?,n ı clearly specıfıed dat twaz accurate!..ınfact,Go n Dıe!*ın oshıomole's voıce*:p

Hear hım?..no o.I read ıt fa,bıkko dıd any1 lıstened hım?:s..Do ı need 2 xplaın dat dah 'LOL' meant twaz a joke?,n ı clearly specıfıed dat twaz accurate!..ınfact,Go n Dıe!*ın oshıomole's voıce*:p

Hear hım?..no o.I read ıt fa,bıkko dıd any1 lıstened 2hım?:s..Do ı need 2 xplaın dat dah 'LOL' meant twaz a joke?,n ı clearly specıfıed dat twaz accurate!..ınfact,Go n Dıe!*ın oshıomole's voıce*:p

I agree with you...it is nice. ..I like it..lovers of Genevieve take a chill pill..her movies lately no folo...weekend Getaway was produced early this year nd her role in that movie I still dont understand...jux be forming Angelina Jolie...Nse Nkpe is far way better than Genevieve

I dont even think Mercy Johnson should make the list at all. i like Rita Dominic.

www.ohmashoes.com

I totally agree with the number one spot Mercy. She has really grown professionally and she delivers her xter well. but for Tamara she did well in desperate housegirls but we need to see more before we can class her, same goes for damilola was not a huge fan of hers in tinsel.

I agree with you. ..it is nice. ..i like it . lovers of Genevieve take a chill pill..her movies lately no folo..Weekend Getaway was produced early this year..her role in that movie i still don't understand..it doesn't make sense at all..jux be forming Angelina Jolie..Nse Nkpe is far way better than Genevieve

Mercy is ok but she is very local and can only act certain roles I will take nse ikpe, over her any day.dont get me wrong she has done very well and has evolved but the rough edges which is appealing to you guys is her bane.

He got it smack dead especially with Mercy Johnson. I think by far she is the best actress Nigeria has all she needs do is to make that move into mainstream movies and leave all these home videos. She is just awesome. Magnifique

M.J First

He got it smack dead especially with Mercy Johnson. I think by far she is the best actress Nigeria has all she needs do is to make that move into mainstream movies and leave all these home videos. She is just awesome. Magnifique

M.J First

MJ for the no 1! me love ya scarra

Your Tonto? She's selling shisha on Instagram..

U obviously didn't read his analysis cos u were so much in a hurry 2 comment 1st.

Bea said...

Anon 4:49 you almost killed me with laughter! Lmaoooooooo! Na real she's selling shisha on IG! Lmaoooo

Yupeee, i so much agree wit u Charles. Mercy j deserves 2b num one

Haaaaaaa! This is the first time I'm seeing LIBers agree on one thing, no fighting or name calling. Praise the Lord!!! Mercy, Mercy, u rock my world. Yes, u were born for only 1 reason -ACTING.

I totally agree. Much respect Mercy Johnson. You are a natural and have always been my número UNO!!! Bless you mama Purity and keep up the good work.

As for MJ I agree 100%. genny, omotayo,Kate, etc don't hold a candle to that girl's acting. True.

My mj u 2much

Mercy is a divine actress, she deserves an Oscar joor

Yeah best is the best.she put her best in the movie she is in no matter the charater and she is a beautiful actree but rita desevers more than u gave her

Where is Nse Ekpe Etim? Tf?!!!

Uz said...

As long as MJ is there and my number 1... Kisses MJ.. Yvonne Okoro should be No 2 Jor.. Love U both....

List is whack without Nse's name. She's the only actress I would go to see on the big screen.

I totally agree wit him MJ number one

Oya say ur own na... #olodo

Shut up

Do they hv 2013 movies and how many? ??

Are there any of my friends here who are not interested in this list, because 'they don't watch naija films" Well, this is for you....
Imagine an American utter such or any other nation sef. Then u wud realize how stupid u sound when u say sth like that....
Unless, u dont hv naija in ur blood. Then I'll take this back..
And say u r crazy 4 insulting my/our Nollywood.
Constructive criticism will help them improve the industry. Do ur bit in every sector u find urself. #dropsmic

Hahhahahhaahhhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahgagagahha..sellin sisha no be small..dis is nt best in gold plated accessory user!!!

Tamara is the bomb. Pls you guys should watch "desperate house girls" then you know that she well deserves the 2nd position. She will surely go far in the industry, so natural and sweet. Am so happy for her

Ah mercy my luv if u dnt hav d 1st position who els wil

Well He Named Mercy Johnson the best for 2013...I Think she's the best of all time!!!

Linda this is a sentimental list. Or may be you should have re phrased ur headline. No yoruba, or hausa speaking actress. Tribalist

baby oku in americ gosh i laughed my head out when i watched that movie....mercy is undisputed number 1

HAD IT BEEN MY MERCY JOHNSON DID NOT COME FIRST IN THE RATING, I WOULD HAVE MADE SURE SOMEONE GOES TO PRISON

aunty linda,u knw dis chalie boy get sense o.mj toomuch joor

K,lyk wer's ma babe Nse ikpe Etim n wia is Genevive.pls snd dos human beings on dat list outta der 4 ma babes above on d list jor

I'm not a Novia fan but he did good. Tamara killed it in Desperate House girls. Na there u go know say Ini Edo na learner!

Wetin they act this year? Make we hear word I beg!

That space for Dami definitely belongs to Nse!

MERCY was born to act. She is undoubtedly the best out of 'Nollywood . But Charles, Nse Ikpe should come second on that list. Don't know Tamara, and yes Damilola is sultry... But being on the list... I need to watch her films, only seen her on tinsel. Yvonne is good. Whenever there is a film with Mercy or Nse, be sure you will love the films. Their diction, perfect. I wish them the best life has to offer.

What's confusing you or you are the one confusing yourseld. Are we in England? Hahahaha

*yourself*

Mercy is the best of all time, not just 2013. Undisputed. Following is Nse. Both perfect role interpreters.

Guy,no vex. Yoruba movies must hv corrupted the software of ur brain

Genny travelled to buy more designer stuff. Hehehe

Are you ok? We aint talking about association of Igbotic actresses plus one Calabar chic o

Rita na u? Sorry Mercy pass you o...

I agree with on Tamara , me and my sis watched desperate house girls and her performance was smoking ... So authentic and fresh ! We kept saying who is this girl . Hope to see her in more movies ... And I agree with most of the list , except Ini Edo should be on there .. Though I can't figure out who she should replace ... Hmmm

Damilola is now ibo right?

MJ can interpret any of Nse's role. Do ur research well before you goof. Both are good!

Honest Critic said...

Tonto exaggerates her role n is d worst actress I know. Genevieve n Omotola used to be good actresses until Mercy, Ini and Nse showed us what true actresses are, as for Chika n Monalisa, they are not good

Honest Critic said...

For you to see Tonto as best actress just goes to show some pple are still backward. How do u watch ur movies, thru d anus

Honest Critic said...

U shouldn't even be thinking at all

Riri so deserve it.Don 't let jealousy kill u.

Honest Critic said...

Hunie she can act any classical, local, and comedy kind of movies buh Nse won't, dats just what Makes Mercy better than any

TOGOLESE said...

I agree with mr Charles coz of my Rita.

Honest Critic said...

U shouldn't even be thinking at all

Honest Critic said...

For you to see Tonto as best actress just goes to show some pple are still backward. How do u watch ur movies, thru d anus

Thank u my 2 anon.Rita desevers more than u gave her mr Novia

lies upon lies. list unacceptable. who is charles novia in nollywood anyway. go to sleep ma.

best opinion said...

MY MJ.UNDISPUTED CHAMPION.WE NIGERIANS LOVE U FINISH.NO 1 ACTRESS IN AFRICA.CAN U FEEL THE GENUINE LOVE. AS FOR THE OTHERS I CAN ONLY AGREE ON TAMERA ETIENO AND RITA DOMINIC.INDEED TRUE THAT RITA HAS TO CHOOSE HER SCRIPTS.NONE OF US KNEW SHE HAD THAT IN HER TILL THE MERYING.ACTRESSES PLS NO MORE CLICHE ROLES. GO TAMERA MUAH

Ode damilola na calabar name abi.blind bat...gt a wok.

Olodo, where is Damilola from? Igbo. Guess u are blind, there is nothing sentimental about d list, his analysis are correct.

val said...

Mercy j is awesome

Best actress :
(1)mercy Johnson.
(2)NSE ikpe etim.
(3)patience ozokwo.
(4)Yvonne okoro.
(5)Ini Edo.
Best dressed actresses:
1)Rita Dominic.
2)Genevive.
3)steph okereke
4). . . .
5). . . .
Nollywood Hotties
1) tonto dike.
2)ini Edo
3)rucky sanda
4)ebube nwagbo.
5)OGE okoye
(my opinion)

Chika Ike ke..abegi..wat movie has she acted this year that actually made her outstanding

Chika ike keh...abegi. .wat movie has she acted ds yr dat made her really outstanding

A very biased list I must say. When u say Nollywood n d yoruba actresses r not included then that's not fair. Are they not part of Nollywood? Funke Akindele, mercy aigbe n others belong on that list. LINDA post my comment.

This is my list mercy johnson for demibu the dirty girl , uche jombo for mrs somebody ( my best nollywood flick this year) Rita Dominic for the meeting ( because she has won with it I am yet to watch it ) bimbo will get a mention for an outstanding preformance in H rush ( since she was the lead) Yvonne okoro for contract

I don't know about u guys but when I watch a mercy Johnson movie. I am well entertained..she is my best actress so far.Nse is also good but I am yet to see her in very local roles or comedy.but MJ is an all rounder.

U make nollywood interesting MJ

UP MAMI PU'!

Y'all are so quick to judge, I think what he/she meant was no actress from the Yoruba movies made the list. I also feel Nse should also be on the list.

YASSSS!!! This list is so true. And please,Ini Edo shouldn't be on any list that has to do with best. She isn't that good an actress,just predictable and stereotypical roles. I'm bored with her. I agree with this list. And if you disagree with it,you don't know much about acting and movies

Mercy Johnson is not only just the best actress for 2013, for me she is the most talented actress in Africa. Oh her ability to interpret different roles and come out smoking is amazing. She just need a good manager to help package her better and the sky will be her starting point. She bows my mind and l can wait her movie 50 times over and not get bored.

mercy deserve d no 1 spot it's a grt list.

People can say rubbish bcos they are free to talk, buh come to fink abt it he (Charles) has his criteria he used in coming to conclusion. yes MJ fits d position. pple talking about Tonto yes! she acts bt acting is not juzt abt coming to screen bt doing it organically and naturally. Muaaaaaaahhhhhh to my one and only actress MERCY JOHNSON OKOJIE.

Both charles and dose who are commenting u are very stupid, u guys don't no what to talk about.....

Please watch out for Belinda Effah. Girl can act for days.

charles...why are you running down Rita Dominic with all the description of her flaws??? That was not necessary. Why didn't you point out faults in the others? Abi you are sleeping with them. I disagree with your choice of Mercy Johnson as number 1

oshe

Watch the movie "Native Son" it may change your mind about Ini and her acting.

Given that Emem Isong is a tribalist she helps Nse get all the "big big" roles and none really showcase her versatility as an actress. From "Guilty Pleasures to Mr. & Mrs" its all pretty much the same thing. Abeg they even rated her the next big thing back in 2008. What a joke, i know that was Emem's PR team at work

Nse lacks versatility and is very predictable

Lies from the pit of hell. Let's see Nse act ad a pauper or a girl with a disability or even a village girl. She acts in the same three stereotypical roles which is not enough to say she's better than Genevieve. Abeg

Lacks versatility tho. I haven't seen any other role she's played besides a depressed housewife or a friend to the main character

The Best Nigerian Actresses of All Time:
1) Mercy Johnson
2) Genevieve Nnaji
3) Ini Edo
4) Rita Dominic
5) Nse Ikpe
6) Patience Ozokwor

Worst Nigerian Actresses of All Time:
1) Monalisa Chinda
2) Juliet Ibrahim
3) Tonto Dike
4) Queen Nwokoye
5) Oge Okoye
6) Chika Ike
too many to count....

Best Male Actors of All Time
1) Ramsey Noah
2) Desmond Elliott
3) Majid Michel
4) Richard Mofe
5) John Dumelo
6) Nkem Owoh
7) Sam Loco Efe

Worst Nigerian Actors of All Time:
1) Van Vicker
2) Emeka Ike
3) Francis Duru
4) Jim Iyke
5) Nonso Diobi
Too many to name...

Shade's Files said...

Lol nice list @Alicia. I only concur wv MJ en Rita on dt list sha plus evn if dey'r lukin @new generation actresses wat happened to Kenny Bankole!? Mtschewww....d compilers shld tk several seats abeg!

This list is very ok. The new actresses are not relenting at all, Tamara did more than a great job in Desperate house girls. That's not all cos I have seen her in several projects like the ITohan of superstory where she played the lead as ITohan , she also played a house help in this life, mamabomboy where' she played a different character totally. I see where Charles is coming from and so I totally agree with him.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 212   Newer› Newest»