Governor Oshiomhole employs widow he insulted, gives her N2m | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 2 December 2013

Governor Oshiomhole employs widow he insulted, gives her N2m

Days after apologizing to the widow he told to 'go and die' (read HERE) Gov Adams Oshiomhole of Edo State has offered employment to the woman, now identified as Mrs Joy Ifije.

Aside from the job offer, Oshiomhole also gave the woman  N2million grant for her to get a shop and trade. The governor met with Mrs Ifije today at the Government House and offered her the job which is to join the State’s War Against Indiscipline in the campaign against street trading & to keep the state clean.
"When you put your things on the road a vehicle can run into you and they have killed some people like that and that was why I said if you are a widow do you want more people to be widowed? But when I said go and die, that one was said in a fit of anger. And I am really sorry”, Oshiomhole said.
“I want you to join us. We would employ you and pay you salary. You would help us to campaign to other women not to trade on road sides. We should not use poverty as a yardstick.
The Governor then gave the woman a cash gift of N2 million
"In addition to working with the War Against Indiscipline, I am also giving you the sum of two million naira so that you can hire a shop, trade inside the shop and not roadside and I pray that God will bless your decision on how you utilize the money. This money is not for you to share or distribute but to help you as a working capital”.

140 comments:

FOH! he trynna turn up like fashola..talking about,keep edo clean! There's only one LAGOS bro!

Miami said...

When God locates you! cheeei. See blessing wey come as disguse.

Awww how nice of him to rethink his words dished out in anger

Www... That's really good of him ... Now I'm happy

Hah!other people will now start looking for opportunities to be insulted by a gov.

Oh My God this is good. Thank God he realized his fault.

D governor has done well...bt its kind of tryin 2 redeem hmslf

Woow!!I'm really impressed.What a Good way to recompense her.We re never too big to be corrected.

BLAZER said...

NICE ONE MR GOVERNOR....MANY PEOPLE WILL WANT TO BE TOLD TO GO AND DIE TOO. LOOL

Awwww! God bless u sir...EvE

Mscheww*passing by*

everything happens for a reason. I guess it was Gods appointed time to answer the Lady.

Abeg this is flavour.
God has heard her cry.
Sometyms, God's blessings are birthed from our sorrows

9jahorniest said...

Job n salary, good!
2M? Wrong move
Wot 4?
Osho baba jst xpect more widows hawking on every corner in benin hoping to get deir own 2M.
Dont even tink abt it...Yes You!

A blessing in disguise.

Hmmm. Good thing dat he came to his right senses and apologised. He did well sha. All other power mad leaders should use him as an example dat once spoken, words can not b taken back( Eyin loroo as yorubas dey talk am)

@Fammie8 said...

Choi!!! this one na shut up he do his rivals, am sure if not for the public outcry nothing would have been done... Way to go Oshiomole, Na so God dey take bless person ooo, when you think you are finished God gives you a suprise package and lets you know that what you have had is nothing...God of eleventh hour remember us your children before this year runs out..
The Xbox One has three operating systems

Awwww this is actually touching! God bless him!

reading this story last friday i boiled with anger at Gov Oshiomole but reading this now has brought a smile to my face.There is nothing more Honourable than admitting and apologizing for your mistake making amends for it.

Baba no use dat 1 die mata jor....u fuck up and we gas treat am...

Finally u wil nid m..#d banji#.......nyc one.

Now this is the quality of a good leader. You realize you are wrong and write that wrong. Weldone sir God bless you

I know some people who say quite a heart of gold but I disagree. He's just trying to protect his political future. His political opponents must be hitting on that speech: 'Go and die'. Nigerians politicians hmmm.

Oshiomhole pls come and slap me and giv me 4m and a job.ur money can't reverse d act and the negative implicatns.naija let's forgiv him cos he repented.

I know some people would say quite a heart of gold but I disagree. He's just trying to protect his political future. His political opponents must be hitting on that speech: 'Go and die'. Nigerians politicians hmmm.

God bless OSHIOMHOLE.I WISH OTHERS CAN LEARN FROM HIM.IT TAKES NOTHING OUT OF U TO APPOLOGISE WHEN U ARE WRONG NO MATTER UR STATUS.

Oya now, APCeeeeeee, let's go there. The true Party with competent leaders

inspireify272b3120 said...

Even b4 now, i told peep that were ranting that what matas is that Oshiomole came out and apologized. Am not in support of his words or act but it shows he is human and deemed it fit to say "am sorry"........All d same, God works in a way we cannot see....if some1 hadtold this woman she will smile big b4 x-mass, she will say mbanuu...to God be the glory for uplifting this widow.

May God continue to bless n protect u Mr Oshiomole for ur kindness 2wrds this widow. Its well with u iJn

God rily knws hw to wrk wonder's...see hw God skillfully put up a way to help ds poor widow,turnd her disapointment in2 a blessing awsome!!! Nd kudos to d governor uv don well nd redeemed ur image

Make I hear

Holy! How much of a prophet/ fortune teller I've become... Nigeria!!! I should open a church, prolly.

sarian said...

Good of him....God will bless him for that

Thank God for this miracle. I pray God forgives Governor Oshiomole and grant this world the wisdom to go about her business. No wonder the bible said "God uses the foolish things of this world to confound the wise" I'm happy for her

YE$ BO$$. I guess na so God wanna use to Excel the woman. Chiaa nice one

rootwoo.com said...

Oshio oshio. Humility in display but get ready cos more women will shade on walk ways so that you will gve them 2m naira

Medcine after death I call dis.

Good one, this is what I have been waiting to hear since. God bless you sir.

The governor did a good thing. I just hope that the woman would show favour to others, just as she was shown favour...

This is the lord's doing, God knows how to work out things for our good. Congrt Mrs Ifeji

Eeyah!!!God bless u Governor!!!

Goldfish said...

Now that's an example of a good leader. Putting pride and ego aside to say sorry is worth emulating...Big ups Gov Adams

Campaign strategy........ After abusing the woman! Mstcheeeew. Ugly man! My first comment here but av been a long fan! post it o............

love said...

Wow this is what I have been expecting to hear...may God bless u sir.

Hmmnn every disappointment is really a blessing o. Gov Oshimole is a role model and nobody is perfect anyway anyone could have said worst. God bless Nigeria

Eyaa he tried ooo

aawwww happy ending:)

Hmmm..God at work..all things work 2geda for good...

... And that's how God changed her shame to Fame. U see what Ï„̲̅Ñ’e bible said. .. God can do all things. She's now a million and a govt official without certificate. Heavenly Father plz turn my shame to fame and prosperity plz. Am tired of suffering plz Lord. Turn my condition to a positive 1 plz Lord. 8yrs after degree still nothing to offer.

She should thank God and bless the day Gov Oshiomole said those words to her, cos it turned out to be a blessing upon her life. God works in wonderful ways.

Chioma Dada said...

Goodluck to her, hope she utilize the money in a proper way. Just saying*

From being a poor widow, and being insulted by the Gov to now being a millionaire. My God sure does work in mysterious ways!

His Buying th ewoman, she has to say no two million is just 700 pounds, sue him he abused you. Human right Watch take the case

Oshy.. abeg come abuse my mama o. come come come

Oshomole ohhh i dey trade for centre of ringroad come pursue me commot make u give me money too.

And datz how God decided to bless d poor lady.......

And dats how God decided to bless her......

Esterish esther said...

He try small...#walks away

It reminds me that God does not take something away to give you something worse but better.

The governor should address proverty and provide a place for those on the street to go and sell their goods. There must be an alternative.

Pls Gov Adams am Sick, come n insult me. So I can collect money too.

9jagirl007 said...

Pls am at home because of d asuu strike, I am from edo state but was born and raised in Lagos. I am going to benin to sell on the road, so that gov oshobaba will see me, curse me and give me money and a job as his PA. I am not a widow o but I will marry and support my husband and kids:)) Linda abi I lie???

Gud 4 her....No comment

A good gesture but where did the money come from? Is it his personal money or the states money?

That's a good .......... Let us eradicate poverty and road side trade. God bless Edo state.. God bless Nigeria.

Namdy said...

Well done Oshiomole. We r humans and could err; what makes us better people is to retrace our steps when we r heading the wrong way. I appreciate you sir for the show of great character.

This is great news! I'm so happy for her, all thanks to social media. This is one of the advantages of social media, otherwise dat incident would hv died immediately. Nice one Osho Baba.... J

hmm...no comments...all I know is I knew he said she should go and die outta anger..but no, most of y'all were already cursing. do u think its easy to b a leader? even in our homes, parents say the most damaging things out of anger. at least his anger cost him2 million.lolzzz

Tanx gov, nau u ar fully 4given

Oshomole pls come n tell me to 'go and die' o. I need dis kind money too

This is what is called atonement!

I'm sure when her pastor was prophesying dat God will turn her sorrow to laughter, she will not understand.

This woman will have no idea what LIB and d other social medias have done for her. She may not even have access to internet and co. God is d husband to d widow sha

nicole said...

I won't mind an insult from him! Pls sir, feel free to oblige me. I won't mind a cash gift of N2 million! U can throw in a slap or two while ur at it! Lol!

And now he finally apologise

If nigerians had not bombarded him, he wouldn't knw he should have helped her
Anyway, I don't even like you from adams sef, so watreva u do its ur bisnes
*hisses to kpo*

Tresa faith

woaw what a leader indeed.leaders that shows examples to people after he made an anger statement,he realised and retraced his steps so many leaders out there wouldnt care or mind they will say it was just a mistake but the footprint and the emotions of people you lead lives an outstanding loyalty to you even till death.am proud of you mr governor and am proud to be your follower.let live by example

God has remembered the widow.God bless Adams

That was the right thing to do. He swallowed his pride, curbed his ego (hopefully his mouth too) and did d RIGHT thing. Case closed. I'm really happy for the woman!!!

Linda, I told u d same tin adams oshiomole said and u refuse to post my comment. It is unfair ooo

Oshio baba carry go how many governors can do dis

Nnenna said...

Damage control! That's what he's doing!

Æ“♡D, bless him. Let it not be a motivation for some other women to indulge in same act. Anyways, mr gov, dnt use harsh words again, ß̣̥u̶̲̥̅̊Ñ’ rather act. Na so Æ“♡D don elevate this woman so. *cagey*

So thoughtful of d Governor, "2 air is human mbok" he has really shown enough remorse, so many highly placed ppl wont do dis.
I hope she uses d money wisely. Congrats 2her....

All ye widows in Edo State, stay off d streets ur case might not be dsame as hers. lol

Oshio of life hahahahaahhahahaha, u try sha

Men obama shld pls come and insult me,mayb I can get 2M out of it

@LydiaValch said...

Oshiomhole offered 2m naira and employment to his insulted widow. Osho baba can also offer marriage since he is a widower.

Lisa London said...

At times one gives not out of passion or remorse but out of their own self-interest.

This is indeed the case here. He would never had done if not for the media backlash.

I trust this state people have seen true the content of his being and don't reward him with a another term. He doesn't deserve it. Horrid man.

Now, thats a wrong made right. Hopefully,she wilk put the money to good use and help others as well.

efosa Osadolor said...

Oshiomhole is major positive force,a man of the people and a mass mobilizer.God bring more of your type to Governance!!!Bad people where una dey!!!!

The key thing is realising u'r wrong n apologised, I commend u may God bless u 4 wiping away tears a widow's eyes........

Adeolu said...

Now this is what I call a true leader, he insulted a woman for breaking the law, which video was seen by everyone, he was criticised by all and even opposition parties. A day or 2 after the incident, he apologised in public and now today has given the said woman 2 million naira and even gave her a job . Surely this is the kind of man we want as our president who is remoseful for his actions unlike our clueless "OGA AT THE TOP" who is never remosed and instead of apologising for his wrong actions, will rather say he doesn't give a damn. And even go all the way to support corrupt govt officials with physical evidences of their malpractises, while the economy is deteriorating. Nigerians , wake up and vote for the right competent people, we all know them. Stop religious, tribal or regional sentiments and vote for the right people that have the citizens of Nigeria at hearts.

The power of the social media....Oshiomole has redeemed himself

Kelvin&Bookey said...

This a typical example of a blessing in disguise, dats why God said dat in all situation give thanks to God for He alone know d reason sometins happens. I'm sure d woman cried her eyes out dat day but see how her sorrow has turned to joy. God bless Mr Adams Oshomole

Oshiomole is a modafuckin bastard. Merecine afta death

Uhmmmmm nd dat was hw her breaktru came.......on a plater of gold,abeg make fashola come slap me ooo

~NDG~cimino~ said...

dats good to know, at last, he took di offer frm his advisers.
Self vindication really matters.

Nice move.to err is human...

new said...

STORY!!!!

Snow White said...

Na wa oo, Thank God for social media, dat brot all these in to place! Happy 4 u woman

chikaezez.blogspot.com said...

God don save him ass, d woman luck.. good one there. hope it wont replicate in other states trust naija another widow will show up nw...

Oshiomole nice one but you be idiot!..why you tell am make in go die in the first place...see your black face like devil yansh...mothersucker!!!!

Kenny jay said...

sorry to say, to me i saw dis as a tragedy dats GOD really want dis man to help d widow initially

Lisa London said...

It appears the sheeple are easily fooled and bought. Instead of you to demand he step down he has inadvertently bought your silence and your vote by paying off the woman and taking picture too.

No way would he have gotten away with such in any western government. The political leader is to serve the people not the other way round. Telling said indigene & potential voter to go & die? He should resign but no lets throw money at the the problem instead.

Hmmmm!!! When the GRACE OF GOD is at work in ur life,it's sufficient enough to turn ur Pain to Gain,Shame 2 Fame,and everything works out 4 ur good 2d glory of HIS name! Hmmmm! “Grace,grace to it” That's d power of God's Extravagant Grace! God's Exceeding Grace in her life!

that is good of him. most rich people will apologize to the poor no matter what. am so happy for the woman.

Hollynolly said...

For the previous news regarding this governor and ignorant lady to have made the headline, i knew that was the beginning of the lady's breakthrough. This is how God works, if the lady was told last week she will become a millionaire today she won't believe it. I bet her enemies must have been so happy that she was chased from where she gets her daily bread. May God surprise us all before the year runs out in Jesus name 'amen. Weeping may endure for a night but joy cometh in the morning! (Pretty Linda, kindly post my comment this time around because i know you don't post any comment from me. My comment may help someone today.) Thanks and may God bless the work of your hands too in Jesus name 'amen!

AncestoR Theokoko said...

If only we all actlk dis Naija would ve been so far gone***#

With this incident dat occurred now, other gov will b careful in d way n manner they address anyone, infact wen they see anyone hawking on d streets they wud say: Woman y are u hawking on d streets? D lord is ur strength, stay blessed...

Vina said...

God uses the foolish things of this world to amaze us. See how God used Gov. Oshiomhole outburst and turn them into blessings. It is her set time. God works in ways we cannot understand as human. Thank You Lord for making him realize his wrong. to err is human, to forgive is divine.

Lyf's xo Short

Days gud of him ehyaa

Kind, totful nd remorseful of him @ least

kay(Jos) said...

what an irony of fate !
First it was the stowaway boy that embarked on suicide mission all in the wake of liberation from abject poverty and fate brought him into palace of fortune !
Secondly, a widow that had noting in her home to feed her children but to hawk petty goods in order to keep her hope alive and also be mother/father for her children....not only she became a millionaire but had a stable source of income.....
.hmmmmmmm....what an irony of fate !
We shall all give account of our deeds unto our creator at the last day !
Keep the good work Mr Governor !
For the critics....hmmmmm God is watching youuuuu !

God locates people to favour them...wow!!!!

Jenny Amy Akums said...

This is God's favour at work! Things hv turned around for her good. When God opens one's page, wonders follow...

lol...that is very nice of the governor

@anon 2:53, wats wit u? Is dere anytin wrong in copying wat is good? See ur shalow brain.

Tomi said...

We all make mistakes. N d most important thing is too correct dem. Buh it seems to me dat oshiomole has no human feelings at all. He doesnt pay a dime to nysc members posted to edo after sweating and working so hard on edo soil.........too bad

Yess Flavour na Abania...oringo egbugo gi...buhahahhahahahhahahahhahahaaa

Nawa 4 yu,so yu don't make mistakes..now he acknowledges n ryt his wrong yu stil are not satisfied..oya go and kill him now

Lisa London said...

This is why your country can’t progress politically; instead of demanding a certain code of conduct from your elected officials you are too quickly appeased with hush money.

What appears as a generous move is just small change as long as he gets to keep his position and abuse his office.

thank God he has realize his mistake and help the poor widow.

Som ppl are fools for life, oshio has apologised already,must u still abuse him? Dnt u abuse ppl? Or r u blameless? Abeg stop acting as if u guys are so good, u guys insult ppl on a daily basis, so get over urselves joor

Thank God he realised his mistake on time and make amends! God would have dealt with him by Himself cos dat insult was directed 2 God nd not d widow cos He's the Husband to d widows.... God bless him all d same for his kind gesture!

u can never satisfy people, he made a mistake out of annoyance by careless use of words he was crucified, now he realises his wrong and apologised and still people are not satisfied, you can never please people!!

debbycole said...

Don't be easily deceived. Can't y'all see? It was stage-planned. Was she d only person selling stuffs on d road at that moment? All na political propaganda isshhh!!!

Meanwhile, who was the guy/babe that recorded the video and uploaded it? God's instrument! Thank you to Linda and other bloggers for exposing the video. God's perfect plot for change.

eddybybee said...

jim gerald, 9c use of words man. Sounding poetic with "u can never satisfy people"......den endin with"u can never please people".justifyin ur point by sayin"....he was crucified,.....still people are not satisfied".9c rhymes unconsciously archieved tho..i love words!.

Before dis woman wz concived in her mothers womb, it has bn ordained dat she wil be great and dat a day like dis she wil be lifted by God. Somtn must hapn for one to reach to his or her expected end. So who eva dat is cursing d governor shld seize and continue prayn for him. Just ave faith and pray, one day God wil surely visit u, in Jesus Name.

it is amazing how gullible Nigrans can be. How shallow in thoughts. It's easy 2 c y we remain a 3rd world country. The rest of the world's miles past dis. How unfotunat to so cheaply swallow d govno's moves at damage, a cheap one at that.

HahahAhahahah..I dey tell..

Lmfao @ anon 5:48..no be small something!hahahahah..anon 2:59,u try o..no be only flavour

You "write" it where? Ontop of ur coconut head? Hahahaha

Don't be deceived, this shouldn't have happened in the first place and ofcos he doesn't care about the woman, just trying to redeem his image. Between is that not obiagbon in the clip?

When d Lord shall bless u,those u ask who r u?,will come out & say how r u? Those who suppressed d widow God has elevated her higher.

PDP oya go give her 20m as against 2m. Ur 250k has been beaten hands down.

If dis is how ppl dat are insulted gets their reward,then let there be more insults.Osho baba,you never change.God bless you more