BON bans several artists including 2face, D'banj, Iyanya, because of COSON | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 December 2013

BON bans several artists including 2face, D'banj, Iyanya, because of COSON

For quite some time now, the Copyrights Society of Nigeria (COSON), has been harassing the Broadcasting Society of Nigeria (BON) and the Independent Broadcasting Society of Nigeria, IBAN, insisting that they pay royalties for playing the songs of Nigerian artists. COSON has dragged several radio and TV stations to court, demanding millions, sometimes billions of Naira in royalty.

Well, it seems IBAN and BON have had enough. Two days ago, they announced the ban of all Nigerian artists registered with COSON. Meaning that they ordered the immediate stop to the airing of songs of artists who are COSON members.

The artists include 2face Idibia, D'banj, Onyeka Onwenu, Iyanya, Banky W, Flavour, Ice Prince, Dr Sid, Olamide, 9ice, M.I, eLDee, Ruggedman, Wizkid, Asa, Waje, Omawumi and several others.

In a statement released and signed jointly by the President and Secretary of IBAN, Sonny Adun and Guy Murray Bruce, the need for such a drastic step was due to "the antagonism and harassment under the leadership of Tony Okoroji (COSON Chairman)”. Continue...

The statement in part reads "No person or organisation, particularly a collection society such as COSON has a monopoly of authority over any other…IBAN and BON have the utmost respect for Nigerian artistes in their individual and collective capacities and have indeed contributed more than any known institution to the promotion of Nigerian music and the development of the entertainment industry as a whole."

They are accusing COSON of arbitrarily imposing and concocting fees which are not based on any agreeable and verifiable tariff and standards.

However Mr Okoroji while reacting to the decision of the broadcasting bodies says the issue here is the strict stand COSON has on the royalties of artist works used on any of the broadcast stations. He says some stations have this attitude of "we can handle COSON" and goes on airing the works of the artist without paying them their due royalty which COSON is strongly against.

Meanwhile the Performing Musicians Association of Nigeria interim president has released a statement on the ban on airplay of Nigerian artists by BON. The statement below...

PMAN Speaks on the current ban of airplay of Nigerian artists by BON & IBAN
The Performing Musicians Association of Nigeria is appalled by the recent development spearheaded by the Broadcasting Organisation of Nigeria (BON) and Independent Broadcasters’ Association of Nigeria (IBAN) via an official press release yesterday, calling for the  immediate airplay ban on all media platforms on content from Nigerian artistes, the association which was created with the sole mission to PROTECT, PRESERVE, and PROMOTE Nigerian musicianshas decided to react on the ban and on-going feud between the Broadcasting Organisation of Nigeria(BON), Independent Broadcasters’ Association of Nigeria (IBAN) and Copyright Society of Nigeria (COSON) calling for an immediate reversal of the ban in the interest of these artistes whom we know that all the above mentioned organisations have their best interests at heart.

The ban on airplay of these Nigerian artistes and their music on various Nigerian media platforms is from our standpointvery unfair, demeaning and discouraging. Weall knowwithout a doubt that these same artistes who have persevered and assisted us to build, today what is known as the Nigerian music industry, Africa’s biggest entertainment export to the world are the same people that are now being victimised. With this action, the association  foresees a situation where this ban will, rather than encourage well meaning members of the society, with musical talent to hone their craft and join the success story of the entertainment industry, reverse will be the case. We also foresee a situation where the bulk of the material that will be circulated on nigerian airwaves will be foreign materials, celebrating alien artistes instead of embracing, home grown talent and ourcultural heritage. 

COSONin it’s own right by a mandate given to the organisation acts as a collecting society for these artistes, helping to monitor and collect royalties entitled to them. As a collecting society, they have since inception acted as a shield to these artistes protecting their intellectual rights. BON& IBAN are arguing that the tariffs and standards presented to them by COSON should be defended and agreeable with them, but we know that the ban is not the best invitation to the negotiating table.  

Article 3.13.2.2 of the Broadcast code issued by NBC says: ‘For the purpose of free-to-air broadcast, Nigerian music shall constitute 80 per cent of all music broadcast’. If this ban is sustained, and 80% of the music played on the various media platforms are foreign material, we should ask ourselves as guardians of the music industry, if these media houses are paying the royalties owed to these foreign artistes, and thereby sidelining Nigerian music by Nigerian artistes, are we supporting them or failing them?We should also ask ourselves, ifthis ban which will invariably affect the rising profile of the Nigerian music industry in the world, economically and in relevance is good for us.

With these ongoing conflicts, lets not forget the owners of this intellectual properties, the music owners, record label owners, recording artistes, the instrumentalists, composers, who have spent time and money producing and packaging, what we know, enjoy and call music, their interests should be siginifcant in these agreements.

In light of all that has been mentioned above we ask again that the ban be reversed and that all the affected parties and major stakeholders in the entertainment industry sit down for a dialogue and reach a favourable agreement, beneficial to everyone involved.

127 comments:

Ole. Una wan dey chop and clean mouth. A society where most things are upside down

Irrelevant! Won't work self...

Mab said...

You go fear fear! Which one them go come they play?? Maheeda own? Check this out joor

@NewsBlist said...

Interesting development and how long will this continue

APPLELIPX said...

LOL...WITHOUT ALL D LISTED ARTIST DERS NO NAIJA MUSIC INDUSTRY

WE WILL ALWAYS DOWNLOAD D SONGS

low. Bar3....*sad*

Na una sabi

Let's talk about Mandela for now.#Respect

Abeg by the time they ban all these mentioned artiste,who go remain?Maybe Kwam 1,Osadebe,Zakky,Bright Chimezie & co......laff want kill me....oooooooo

I like this, COSON with its good intentions should also know, the young and struggling Talents are now the ones paying the huge price for their lack of thoroughlity in package. OAPs and Stations don't even wink at them.
COSON do a thorough self appraisal

Don't put 2face, iyanya etc as a wrestle tool. COSON see through your errors and make a balance...the young ones who are talented now seem helpless.

Too long>jayjay

Nelson mandela jst passed on so sad

felly said...

The Coson er not ok @ll, let d station not play der song now n see who go loose, its not as if dey going to give d artists der real % dey er just fighthing 4 d 1 dey er going 2 eat

ijay said...

If dey should ban all these artist,which person song dey wan play? Smh

Funny ow people reason oo,d stations hlp promote ur music,its not enuf una wan collect money join..... I wish dis ban stays for long let me knw ow many people will hear ur songs b4 buying ur cds.. Mtchewww

On top wetin nah...

BON = Broadcasting Organisation of Nigeria...not Broadcasting Society of Nigeria ....check your post Linda and re-post...

and so the war begins...

It serves them right.I support the BAN.Nigerian artistes are becoming too greedy.They all need to be tôt a lesson.They forgot that BON was doing them favour showcasing their wrks.What better ways to market their aside via BON.Bring quality foreign music on again.I m damn getting tired of low quality wrks being produced of late by Nigerian artists.Call them to do stage performance of wrks they did and u see rubish!Wizkid is an example.Pls let the ban remain ejooooo!

i cant fit read dat. #volumnious... Wats dia offence?

Dey should just say no songs should be aired again if all d above artists songs re not to be aired... who is left to be heard??

Dr.Pinch said...

They don finish na, who come remain again? Well they should be playing Oliver de coque, Osadebe and Ali chukwuma for us

Royalty is the issue...

Hmmmmmmmmmm

Linda abeg break all dis big grammar down, Wettn go con happen nw?

So which song they go come play now if they no play all of the above mentioned,muntulas luking for xmas money.

Abeg bring quality foreign music on again.That is d'best way to treat ingrates!The artists wanted to bite fingers that fed them.Awon omo ole,Olojukokoro jatijati.Ban them please.Let them beg and sign undertaking bf showcasing their wrks again.Lousy noise makers called musicians.We can do without them!

Dz broadcastn pipu tho!!!

may his gentle soul rest in perfect peace.

Naija reach 4 d future... Lolz

Una no see serious @ all ,no b only ban.. @noahbrizzy

They should stop oll those gra gra

Rose said...

Hian Wtf is dis?

this is outright jealousy in capital letters

pwitie B said...

Tonto Dike no dey among?abi she no b musician again

Ofilispeaks.com said...

No 2face Idibia, D'banj, Onyeka Onwenu, Iyanya, Banky W, Flavour, Ice Prince, Dr Sid, Olamide, 9ice, M.I, eLDee, Ruggedman, Wizkid, Asa, Waje, Omawumi! What will they be playing now? MAVIN records don hammer sha.

Rough Diamond said...

E no go work!
They r wasting dere time n energy over dis!
Awon aiye oooooooo!

During the 90s when nigerians were not listening and buying naija music,only foreign acts,the radio and tv stations were the ones promoting and begging nigerians to patronise naija artists album.The up-coming artists even gave their demos to radio and tv stations and begged them to play free of charge.When the endorsement and shows started coming,their bank account has swollen they now become overlord of themselves.2baba,db and co, dont let fame and little change get into your heads.Without the media and audience you are shits.piss-off.

Dis is d funniest comment on Linda ikeji's blog

Blah blah blah nonsense!!hw dare thy ask ƒσя such ransome 4wm BON Ǎ̜̣̍Ϟd IBAN!!!thz z extortion
.ƒσя τ̣̣ђё record RIP mandiba,U̶̲̥̅̊я legacy ll alwz remain in our hrts
#IttyFinest#

Blah blah blah nonsense!!hw dare thy ask ƒσя such ransome 4wm BON Ǎ̜̣̍Ϟd IBAN!!!thz z extortion
.ƒσя τ̣̣ђё record RIP mandiba,U̶̲̥̅̊я legacy ll alwz remain in our hrts
#IttyFinest#

Rough Diamond said...

U r yarning dust!
Go take d back seat....
Move!

So who are we supposed to now listen to after you ban everybody? Saheed Osupa?

Rough Diamond said...

Join dat anon 11:19pm for back!
Ur comment no follow!

I laugh in efik
nyuk nyuk nyuk

Coson is so stupid. Parlaying with broadcasters is a win-win situation. Artists all over the world must go to radio and tv stations to promote their records. Its the fastest way to create awareness. Pls carry on with the ban, very good

Wen I read yur comment I was so dissapointed, our own na our own ooo, make we supprt dis artiste., u can't try dis wth an american artiste.. Abi you knw go jay z or rihanna or anyone them there royallty... Na big gobe be that...I support coson

Hahahahahahaha I cant laugh alone here ooo Saheed Osupa ke abi Pasuma ni yiimu for them ooo.Queen T̶̲̥̅Ơ̴͡ Sexy

if u ban 2baba and wiz...dats all na

Coson is doing d right tin,but still av dat oshe,ole spirit in dem,Y no fixd prize yet,if u kw hw much BON etc collect frm artists all in d name of promotion you go pity young 9ja talents

is it mavin we wanna b listening 2...lyk seriously

Rubbish! Will de stop me frm playing some of their albums i have @ home? Or tell bus drivers, taxis to stop playing dere cds. Were diye diye!

Y r u guys talking like dis? Abroad, tings r done properly. Only nigeria likes freebies. U guys seem 2 4gt dat on days wen der r no shows & no endorsements its dis petty change of royalties dey gt 2 fall bk on. We're even tlkin bout artistes getting royalties, what about producers who jus gt session time? U tink we're doin artistes a favour by having 2 pay radio st's 2 play their songs, its wrong. If d st's dnt play it, who would listen 2 d radio. Lets admit its d content that makes us listen 2 beatfm or coolfm etc but yet its d artistes dat hv 2 pay 2 hv their talent shared. You all need 2 know d definition of royalties b4 opening ur gobs. Dis ting branches. Do u tink if artistes r getting royalties we'd hv 2 b payin such exorbitant prices 4 tickets 2 shows? Whr in d US do u pay $10k 4 a vip table? Nt even in jayz's club do u pay dat. Royalties r what helps to keep artistes familys benefiting frm their talent wen dey pass on. Right nw michael jacksons children hv royalties from their fathers talent. So wot r we sayin? Adverts use their songs & make money 4 their products & services from an artistes' melody & dey sudnt be paid? Be realistic!

No be small......d tin frm portharcourt reach abuja..buh u must have read sumtin naa.....dnt tell me ur a daft!

U musnt comment lil gal....go to bed!

ANYA IKENGA said...

It is beta for the musicians sef. Let Coson fight piracy so the album sales will increase and if u download u pay. radio houses go still comply in future. Why will govt interfere in everything. What ever happened to free market. These radio houses make so much money by boring us wit adverts so they shld pay artists royalty. Let them ding a common ground and decide what fee is right to pay for an intellectual property.

Rough diamond always idle!!!!! Ur here to stay till u delete. Get busy sumtimes naa evn if theres nutin to do.....start counting ceilings. 30comment on one topic! Ashiiiii!

Ashawoo rough diamond u wey de front seat wetin u de yarn? Abu nti! Jobless fool! Like commentin yet dnt make sense like bonario whos always commenting but pple luv him cus he makes sense, urs is to come and nag! Bitch!

U wey ur own follow wetin u contribute? Ur nt just ashamed of urself! Am sure ur one lokito in maroko.....ikpu nsi!

These pple don madt finish oh, abeg tell me who come remain for the industry? They shld kuku say they are banning music in Nigeria, then we'll understand........

I dey tire when I read some comments here. It shows how majority of people dey envy these artistes. They deserve royalties if BON or IBAN air their tracks. It is done everywhere in the world, why should it be different in 9ja? Infact baning their tracks on air will put more money in their pockets thru downloads. Whenever they drop their tracks and you can't listen to it on air, you will have to download it, ching ching!!!! The 9ja music industry has come to stay and people can hate as much as they want. Pay them their royalties! Those guys deserves it!!!

So Stv,Mtv base,Soundcity & even Trace will now be playing d likes of Akanchawa, Paul Nwokeocha, egwu ogene,....
Anyway tank God I no see Psquare dere...

Seems COSON is stylishly pleading.

Royalties are not only good for big artists but also upcoming artists, all the ones who are not that big yet but still make good music. gives more people a chance to make a living doing what they love, and the radio stations costs will be very low compared to what they make. Internet can promote music as well as radio stations now, soon coson will get what they want

DownUnder said...

Now, this made my day#thoroughlity

God bless U for that comment

Ur a fool. It's like u spent your school fees on akara abi? They said airwaves u goat. Try and understand something before u make a useless comment. Commenting is not by force.

You are a thief!

@anonymous I bu onye oshi. Intellectual thief.

You are a thief!

Igor said...

Agreed that BON got our artistes where they are presently.But I still think it is right for BON and IBAN to pay royalties to artistes because,it costs money to produce and record songs.A situation where albulms do not sale,the artistes rely on money generated from playing singles and downloading singles from the internet.

super story

Rough Diamond!You are obviously sick upstairs!Do a write up to counter what I have written.Make intelligent contribution and not just putting up senseless pigin devoid of analytical reasoning.A u a member of COSON?Senseless and lack of content artist!

Exactly o...shuo

Let dem be banned jare! Let up coming artistes who arent registered with COSON have a blast too... KB d Anonymous.

queenie said...

Mr correcter, point of correction it is not ur a daft, it is u r daft! Olodo 7'up

Soul said...

Which artistes come remain na? Which songs will they play on the radio now? Hia. Guy Bruce dey do like say he doesn't know what's happening in Rhythm. No money for there again ooooo. Especially for 94.7

Soul said...

Una go hear Skelewu tire! LMFAO

Abeh wat r u guys talkin abt?

U r so funnyy..did u even read the post at all..I can see u dnt knw aw to read den understand...ehn,na ur likes osadebe works fit....#mumu

Abeg who are you referring to..COSON,BON or IBAN?..*confused face*.....misplaced priority!

Lol! Are u broadcasting from your home? Or danfo don get frequency now? Na wa o

U r so funnyy..did u even read the post at all..I can see u dnt knw aw to read den understand...ehn,na ur likes osadebe works fit....#mumu

Lwkmd.......

make dem go house to house go ban , bad belle.

This reminds me of a lecturer attacking a student that is defending his project just becos he has a problem wiv that student's supervisor....Things shud b done properly, I agree but these pipu's motives....Hmmm. EdeeB

abujakenneth said...

They have to pay for the ones they aired and the court cases must continue. This is not how it is done in developed country. Definitely the two sides will loss but in a long run government is they ultimate loser. In the last few years there has been great development in our music industry and this offered lots of employment to the youths. We cannot ignore this.

#yawns#...next please

Naijarian said...

Radio stations are struggling to survive on the tashere advert money they get, then bon go come add their own headache join. It is either they negotiate what the stations can pay or they should "go and die".

Apart from Coson, you also have MCSN with their own musicians... Maybe na those ones and that of foreign artistes dem go come dey play

Kel kas said...

Omo c gobe hehe including ma tu baba una never serious

I know very well that even without payment of any royalties to the artists, they were still benefiting greatly from the BON cos the BON has been the best avenue through which the artists works were promoted. So,CONON should have handled the issue in a more mature way, rather than make unnecessarily high demands from the very persons who've been promoting your work.

@annon 12:13
Pls write in proper English language your comments makes no sense with all the rubbish abbreviations, must you abbreviate every single word?

Is dat u simeon? Lol

S̴̩☺̴̩̩̥̩̩̩̥ funny!

Broke old nigga saying trash rubbish na una village music we for dey ear na

KELECHI said...

Na him be say we no go listen to anything for radio again. Na make the radio presenters just dey talk dey go.

Yes I love COSON for this development and intention, it high time BON should understand that this artiste deserve royalties for their songs aired. the ugly part of the story which have not mention is that most of our musicians pay or let me us Nigeria language "bribe" for the TV presenters and Radio presenters or DJs to aired their songs both audio and video which is know very is rubbish, they play foreign music without collecting kobo and still praise them but our own artiste here have to settle in radio and TV stations to aired their songs. Nigeria where are we going. COSON please fight this battle to the end, let them not play any Nigerian songs again. all artiste should come together and stop this rubbish once.

brina said...

BuaaaaaaaaaaAhhhhh!!!!!I laugh in chinese!!!naija people get ready to listen to pasumi,saheed osupa,obesere and Co!!dem never ready..no be naija we dey??!!!patiently waiting for part 2 of this story!!!

Jay said...

This BON & IBAN are really crazy individuals. Guy Bruce knows what they re doing is wrong.
Coson is so right, how can you play artist music without paying royalties,that is the norm all over the world u pay royalties for airing artist music. Dbang will make a lot of cash from Oliver Twist because of the way it was played abroad on radio stations. Everything in Nigeria is just upside,down. You even pay radio station to air ur music. WRONG.

Tell dem something bcos most naijas suppirting these radio stns dont really understand how powerful that these artistes music contribute 2 success of these radio stxns. Most of us dont understand tgat w/o pksying these artistes music, they won't attract d audience that attracts d ad money 2 their stsn. Is 2 bad these stsns no wan share a little bit of that ads revenue 2ru royalties payment with these artistes who provide dem with great contents that helps 2 make dem money. This is just total greed by these radio stations!

Some guys are mixing things up here, d ban is not on d musicians but on their music on air, seems COSON's demand is too high for IBAN and BON to bear. Even if IBAN and BON eventually agrees to pay d copywrite charges to COSON, anoda issue is gonna rise again on d part of the artistes in question and COSON on how dey will share d proceed

open dis link nd ull b hapi u did http://Dollar4invite.com/?id=taoeed

toberixng said...

I FORESEE A FALLEN NIGERIA MUSIC INDUSTRY, THESE GUYS HAVE GOTTEN UNSOLICITED PROMOTION FROM IBAN AND BON AFFILIATES( RADIO STATIONS) THEY PROMOTE THEIR SONGS ON AIR WITHOUT PAYMENT SOMETIMES, NOW THAT THEY ARE MADE THEY DEMAND THE WORLD FROM SOMEONE THAT BROUGHT THEM TO LIMELIGHT, I AM NOT SAYING THEY SHOULD NOT BE COMPENSATED, FOR THEIR WORK, I THINK THERE ARE WAYS TO GO ABOUT IT. CONSISTENT AIR PLAY GIVES THESE GUYS POPULARITY AND ACCEPTABILITY OF THEM AND THEIR SONGS, NOW THEY WANTS TO CRUSH THE THE BODY THAT BROUGHT THEM TO LIFE. WE ARE NIGERIANS WE KNOW HOW TO BLEND WITH EVERY SITUATION.

ymcblog's said...

Enough is enough of free music in 9ja coz our naija artists done wake up from their sleep,can anyone Occupied an apartment for free if landlord will not go kick u out of the apartment coz his the owner of the property, so same go to music. Music is someone property I think is high time we pay for music used in Nigeria coz is be done every where around the world; BON n IBAN should stop feeding on our musician’s property and pay them their due.

ymcblog's said...

Enough is enough of free music in 9ja let me ask this question can anyone Occupied an apartment for free if landlord will not go kick u out of the apartment coz his the owner of the property, so same go to music. Music is someone property I think is high time we pay for music used in Nigeria coz is be done every where around the world; BON n IBAN should stop feeding on our musician’s property and pay them their due.

Then we are back to the days radio and tv stations close by 12am...all the foolish children supporting BON(burn) u think making good music is easy right...awuf go kill una.

Y shuld broadcasting coys dnt pay nigerian artiste royalties,dese. Broadcasting coys collect money 4rm artiste 2 play dere songs,dere by making xcess profit n dnt wnt 2 pay wats due 2 d artiste,fyn agreed dat BON r doin a lot bt d fact still remain dat dese artiste has 2 b paid wats due 2 dem,it can only exist in dis part off d world dough bt I tink we can make tin rit,it only begin wit a step#kudos COSON

Really, ur comments no make sense at all....alright! Make u make ur own suggestion 2 get dem out of this loggerhead instead of just babbling

U're just so bckward. Abeg, carry go back ur village

***Questions*** If the radio stations starts to pay royalties, how will d upcoming acts be heard? Will dey have to lobby @ radio stations cos it won't be easy for em stations to just collect ur song(s) n start playing...BUT I still support d movement royalties are paid to musicians all over d world..Another thing I wnt to say is that producers in Nigeria all needa wise up, dey should have dier percentage on every money an artiste gets from each songs dey produce, most of em producers r producing hits but still remain paupers.

Yes we pay them to get our songs aired...which makes dem get more listeners...makes dier programms fun so the gotta pay royalties its done everywhere

***Questions*** If the radio stations starts to pay royalties, how will d upcoming acts be heard? Will dey have to lobby @ radio stations cos it won't be easy for em stations to just collect ur song(s) n start playing...BUT I still support d movement royalties are paid to musicians all over d world..Another thing I wnt to say is that producers in Nigeria all needa wise up, dey should have dier percentage on every money an artiste gets from each songs dey produce, most of em producers r producing hits but still remain paupers.

They are mad. They take all our money and now they want to take away our right to miliki. What the fu*k are we supposeD to listen to?

See the miserable old fools. Na so dem ban your generation music?

This Is A Broad Day Light Cheating- BON & IBAN Are Making Big Mistakes, There Cheating Nigerian Artists , This Is Day Light Robbery

Aww This Is Broad Day Light Cheating, BON / IBAN Are Making A Very Big Mistakes, They Are Cheating Nigerian Artist , This Is Day Light Robbery

Alex said...

Awww This Is Broad Day Light Cheating, BON / IBAN Are Making A Very Big Mistakes By Banning Nigerian Music's Not To Be Played On Air, They Are Cheating Nigerian Artist , This Is Broad Day Light Cheating

The radio / Tv stations are so wrong. Every country must have a collective society that collects royalties on behalf of its country's artistes. COSON is the sole collective body for Nigeria and should be aloud to do its job, IBAN/BON SHOULD PAY ACCORDINGLY.

A lot of u Nigerians are just so dumb about copyright issues and think that Radio and TV stations are always ever right. Well this time they are very wrong. Let the music pay abeg. COSON IS WORKING, we love them...

Lepa Titi said...

Big shame on Nigerian stations under IBAN. So, upon all the big big English u guys speak on radio, u still don't know anything about copyright. You ban your own country musicians for foreign ones just cos they ask for there own royalties

suitcase inc said...

Notice to all Naija music lovers....
naija music must not being banned on radio and tv stations and royalties should be paid, So let all say No IBAN and BON... dem wan dance skelewu but no wan pay... crazy opinions from so called intelligent leaders...

suitcase inc said...

Notice to all Naija music lovers....
naija music must not being banned on radio and tv stations and royalties should be paid, So let all say No IBAN and BON... dem wan dance skelewu but no wan pay... crazy opinions from so called intelligent leaders...