Presidency denies President Jonathan checked into German hospital yesterday | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 December 2013

Presidency denies President Jonathan checked into German hospital yesterday

According to a report by Sahara Reporters, President Jonathan and First Lady Patience Jonathan, checked into a German hospital yesterday December 4th. The president left Abuja yesterday to attend a summit on Peace and Security in Africa organized by the French Government but Sahara Reporters claim a source in the presidency told them that the president left Nigeria due to health problems..
Contrary to the impression created that the trip was exclusively for the French-sponsored security summit, Mr. Jonathan and his wife will undergo tests and receive treatment in the same German hospital where his wife spent several months last year.
Our source added that the Nigerian president had been feeling unwell since returning from a recent trip to London where he was hospitalized for a serious stomach-related ailment. SaharaReporters had disclosed that the president fell seriously ill after a bout of bingeing on alcohol in celebration of his birthday.
Our source revealed that plans were made for the president to receive medical attention in Germany after Mr. Jonathan suddenly fell ill last weekend in his home-state of Bayelsa during a visit there. The president’s sudden illness almost led to his emergency evacuation to Germany, our Presidency source said. Mrs. Jonathan is also expected to receive follow-up medical treatment in the German hospital.
The Presidency has denied this report, saying it's a complete fabrication. See a statement after the cut..

Saharareporters Story on President Jonathan is a Complete Fabrication.

My attention has been drawn to the story on Saharareporters alleging that the President left Nigeria abruptly due to health challenges sustained as a result of alleged "heavy drinking". This story is another lie that saharareporters has become known for.

The Summit on Peace and Security in Africa which holds in Paris France between Thursday and Friday this week was scheduled months in advance and President Jonathan had confirmed attendance.

How can travel plans to attend a Security summit scheduled in advance with 50 Heads of State be "abrupt"? Did the President also "abruptly" arrange the attendance of the United Nations Secretary General, French President, Francois Hollande and fifty other Heads of State in Paris this week?

As was already indicated in the presidency's press release from two weeks ago, there was no "bout of bingeing on alcohol in celebration of his birthday" or on any other day.

The Nigerian public watched on live television as the President attended the 2nd North-East Economic Summit in Gombe, Gombe state,  on Tuesday the 3rd of December and visited the Emir of Gombe, Alhaji Shehu Usman Abubakar immediately thereafter before returning to Abuja for travel on the same day. Are these the actions of a man who suffers from "abrupt health challenges"? 

The public will note that Saharareporters' story does not provide any proof beyond referring to an unnamed "source". Again, I reiterate that this story is entirely false and we challenge them to produce even the slightest evidence to buttress their claims. 

Reno Omokri,
Special Assistant to the President (New Media).
Regards,

50 comments:

kaizerba said...

Sahara Reporters should leave Mr president alone!

Prince Of Boobaraba said...

Is sahara reporters a nigerian website?

well, if our hospitals were up to standard money wont be wasted going abroad.

This sahara reporter gan sef na only bad news dem dey always hear!

I hope you guys don't think we are fools

who cares

who cares

As usual government of denial. GEJ is alcoholic president i am sure he is suffering from drink related illness. Nigeria will be better without him, he brought misery to the country the past 4 yrs both his government and that of Yar Adua is the worst Nigeria has ever seen. Bad road, insecurity,electricity,bad economy,lack of job for youths,Asuu, High corruption. We only have Selfish leaders.

Hmm seems sahara reporters hv an axe 2grind wit Jonathan.Meks me wonder wat is it dat dis two aint telin us.

na waa ooo

Waheva!!! All I knw is dt skul shld open... German dis German dat. Soon d wil be goin to wash their cloth in German no more in naija... *cynzi**

ebere said...

This sahara reporters,I wonder where they get their own information.

click here for tips to get rid of body odour naturally

Wats dis sahara reports all about?

ThiS Sahara reporters should leave mr president alone. Enough of this already!

Only God knows d truth sha but Mr president let d world know if u are sick oooooo..*concerned citizen*

True or lie dey better come out talk now so we go dey pray 4 Mr president nd he wife. We no knw wen Stella obasanjo travel 4 surgery but we hear wen she no make am bck. Besides wen will oda presidents come here 4 treatment...SMH

bitchplis said...

Dumbo!

But the event is in France and the president travelled to Germany for "undisclosed reason", isn't it? So SR has filled that gap with hospitalisation(which sounds more real). Time shall tell

Turai once lied that her husband was fine when SR said he wasn't. Jonathan also lied that D 1st lady wasnt hospitalised in Germany and she came back and did a thanksgiving where she said she almost died......oga jona time shall tell

Igor said...

Sahara reporters and their half baked journalism.It is high time they practiced analytical journalism,instead of disseminating lies for their paymasters that are hell bent on overheating the polity.

The problem with our contry is getting news from liable source and this same source have cost the county's development and growth, broken marrages, causing crisis and other misfutune. Liable sourc 'sahara' should leave bro Joe alone. If sahara feels like visting a german hospital the road is very open. Bro joe dnt mind them

Abi

Bcos na only bad news full una useless country.
.......aka blog harlot

ogoo said...

Even if that's the case, is he not human? Pls, Let him be

Am tired of the attention our govt is givin sahara reporters. De usin fg to gain undservd popularity. Bydway I am not happy wit d way our politicians go abroad 4 treatment. Our national hospitals in abj ar capabl of treatin dem. Let's patroniz our own to @least reduc tins like dis

Sane Mind said...

If he actually checked in a hospital,is there a problem with that? Mr president is a normal human being and bound to be under the weather sometimes which may require check-up,but my issue is if the president is ill and hiding because of political permutation,,hmmmm,,he should remember his predecessor..a word is enough for wise!

Saw him yday on d news he didn't look WELL

AGB said...

A lot of these African leaders especially our Goodluck Jonathan are simple fucks. Imagine another country,another continent hosting "security & peace" summit for you guys (us). What a shame. Anyways these goats don't have shame. We just have chronic slaves claiming to be "leaders" in this country & on most parts of this continent.

Am tired of the attention our govt is givin sahara reporters. De usin fg to gain undservd popularity. Bydway I am not happy wit d way our politicians go abroad 4 treatment. Our national hospitals in abj ar capabl of treatin dem. Let's patroniz our own to @least reduc tins like dis

Any body wishing Nigerian President ill health i will say back to who ever you are a million fold!!!!! Sahara reporters SHAME ON YOU ALL!!!

I pray he is alright, but ds was hw the rumour started with late president yaradua. It is well, you will Mr president.

White Gardenia said...

What's it with this Sahara reporters of a thing sef? Are they the only reporting firm in this country? Mtcheeeeeew.Next pls

Why pls?

O ga o

Classic cat and mouse. Sahara reports. GEJ admin denies.

Linda's Fan said...

Stop criticizing SR, they doing a good job.
SR, carry on jare. I love you guys. May God continue to guide and bless you guys IJN.

the guy should fall sick and die joor...after all many nigerians die everyday as a result of his incompetence....

Hehehe,u wicked o

These guys at sahara are so fearless! Where the heck to they come up with these stories. LWKMD

tai said...

did sahara lie about the first lady's illness!,odua Gate!, Yaradua's illness! etc etc...
i think what Nigerians prefer are deceptions and lies from the Government.
So the peace sumit is to hold in France so whats he doing in Germany? Answers pls?????

Dear mr president, I know u don't read this blog but you have a lot of enemies and traitors eating with you at your table, and feeding the press all these stories. You better man up and weed them out!

A President going to another country for medical attention. It's a darn shame...

I thought he was going to sue them before. He should just see them and let us rest. I don't want to condemn them completely because on one or two occasions they may actually be right

@Fammie8 said...

Sahara reporters should let the president be for God's sake... warrisdis...
No Deal yet with Apple China Mobile says

Sahara gets more political everyday

Let the president and his entourage die with him, they should be the target of Boko Haram. Why is he seeking better medical attention in germany? So many lives are lost daily as a result of our terrible health care facilities and half baked doctorts we have in this country. GEJ do something before u receive the wrath of God.

Nana said...

Oho so they can go abroad for treatment abi.. if that is how goverment of other countries ignore standard health care,they probably would have come to naija for agbo..long throat goverment..them better go their village go use herbs and stop using our money anyhow joh.

Nana said...

Oho so they can go abroad for treatment abi.. if that is how goverment of other countries ignore standard health care,they probably would have come to naija for agbo..long throat goverment..them better go their village go use herbs and stop using our money anyhow joh.

And anti-people policies such as fuel price increase and car duties hike from 20% to 70%. Wicked souls who shall never find happiness despite the billions they steal.

Dm wan kee dz man but olorun maje