Nigerian Senate seeks 7 year jail term for social media critics? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 4 December 2013

Nigerian Senate seeks 7 year jail term for social media critics?

Is this story for real? According to a report by Daily Trust, the Nigerian Senate is set to pass law seeking 7 year jail term for social media critics.

The newspaper reports that the Senate has reached an advanced stage to pass a bill that seeks seven years jail term for social media critics found guilty of inciting the public against the government. 

The proposed legislation which has scaled second reading in the upper legislative chamber is also proposing a stiffer punishment for internet fraudsters and scammers in Nigeria as those convicted will face a seven years imprisonment. 
“Anyone who intentionally propagates false information that could threaten the security of the country or that is capable of inciting the general public against the government through electronic message shall be guilty of an offense and upon conviction shall be sentenced to seven years imprisonment or N5 million (fine).” Section 13 subsection 3 of the bill proposes
Say what? Continue reading...

The joint Senate Committees on Judiciary, Human Rights and legal matters, Drugs, Narcotics and Financial Crimes led by Senator Umaru Dahiru (PDP, Sokoto), yesterday organised a one day public hearing on the bill for an act to provide for the prohibition and punishment for electronic fraud and crime in all electronic transactions in Nigeria.

Declaring open the public hearing Senate President David Mark who was represented by the deputy minority whip, Senator Abu Ibrahim (APC, Katsina), said electronic fraudsters pose great danger to the country which must be tackled to attract foreign investment.
The committee chairman Senator Umaru Dahiru (PDP, Sokoto) said electronic fraud was posing serious threat to world economies and Nigeria being a developing economy should enact appropriate laws to deal with the challenges.

(Daily Trust)

126 comments:

Noise-makers,making such law will herald the revolution we long in our dear country.

Rubbish,they wld have said we shld stopp using the internet instead.what is the purnishment giving to those in govt embezzling money,are they not the bigger fraudsters.this country is just something else

Michael said...

Useless people! make them no go find solution for dis stupid country!

Hmmmmmm ok ooo no p

This silly Government shud fuk off! And fuk off big time! Let them start by instigating me! Bunch of fucken basterds! We av oda issues nd dese fools r debating on irrelevances...

Satan destroy dem dia,na d wrk we send dem b dat?so no freedom of speech in Nig agin.I jst hup de r jokin coz dz country wil soon fall

Hummm lips sealed!!! It is well wiv Nigeria oo!!

FiFi said...

This people are jokesters. . . Where in lies the right to free speech?

DEAR LINDA, PLEASE SEND THEM THAT FEMI FANI KAYODE. THAT GUY SHOULD BE IN JAIL

Omo senator said...

Lol it's funny how I get scared when I see anything concerning senate on Linda! *sigh* you people will have something to talk about today again n start cursing. I'm not in support of these proposed bill but ...hmm lol I won't be reading the comments 4 sure!

Very good,linda rest abeg

Dis is rubbish, what abt dem wat is dere own punishment for stealing public funds.

Odiegwu-____->jayjay

Pls can someone tell David Mark that Curruption is the greatest threat to the country's economy and international image. How many yrs sentence does it attract. Getting tougher on cyber fraud is a good law but it defies logic that the people that are seeking to pass this law are themselves actors or, are fingered in more bigger crimes that has left the country in a perpetual economic , infrastructural developmental mess. This is sad

But definitely no prison sentence for paedophiles ..

Useless pple, it's how they'll ban Sahara reporters they're looking for. Thieves!!!

Mrs E said...

Na for el Rufai them(that's if its true). Would have loved it if they excluded the N5m fine

That what we get when we vote ppl with little or no positive vision for our country. Great minds create great ideas.

Group of sick people dats needs spiritual intervention

These people are clowns! Is this the issue at hand? They are not advocatin jail for corrupt politicians, civil servants and gov contractors na social critics dem wan face....EWU GAMBIA!

May God punish Nigeria senators & leader's. De frauding the nation resources. That's one of the major problem they need to tackle to yield development.
Thief's! All of una go die like fowl

What is this country turning into? nostable electricity, or water, or roads, asuu and all and this is wahta they are delebrationg? Shame.

Wow!!! That means they are ready to build more prisons because the ones they have are over-populated already.... Whatever happened to freedom of Speech and expression...

And what will be the punishment for stealing public funds?

BH is finishing Nigeria and they are discussing irrelevant issues....

These people are clowns, they can start stand up comedy. Bunch of idiots

Stori.......Next pls..

GEJ @ it again.. #clueless and impunity govt @ it best. Dis is clear violation of our fundamental human right. Dis act is animalistic and against the rule of law

NONSENSE!!!!! How many years will they get for stealing our money??? I laugh tire! STUPID law makers!

Wetin dey worry our law makers? Its that the problem we are facing right now in this country? Law against freedom of speech na wah oh! Didn't they hear about the recent bombing at maiduguri? What have they been able to do about that or Boko haram na wah oh! God help us

Until gun law is passed in these country, these old fools will never change, the citizen need to be armed in this society for things to change, the police & government morons will learn not to take citizens for granted......I have said my piece

God punish dem dia if dey pass such law,wat law av dey passed to curb stealing of government funds,where's stella's case,bankole n co!dey do thins dat r punishable by death or life im prisonment in civilised countries yet dey r walking about n still want to trample on our rite to xpress ourselves!boko haram should pls redirect light n beam it dis unscrupulous thins called leaders n politicians,dey r d cause of our problems not innocent nigerians

Linda is in trouble. Lol. They must be high on cheap prescription drugs. Whatever happened to freedom of speech? Abi no be democracy we dey again ni? albeit a semi one.

They want to take away the greatest power we have to checkmate their excesses God no go agree o.

Chai! Lida ejee nga oo

When are u people going to be reseonable? Why would any 1 propagate false information? Bcos there is freedom of speech does not say that people should lie against others. Caution!!!

e no go beta 4 una

Estrella said...

This is simply and example of misplaced priorities! There are pending matters that require urgent deliberation..things like the security of the nation,embezzling government officials,party split up, ASUU and a ton of stuff...and the idiots decide to talk about muffling our voices on the only media that we have the opportunity to vent?
Mschewww!!!

Chai! Linda ejee nga oh!

... Yet it is called democracy * hiss*

Brood of vipers masquerading as senators...I can see u'r so intoxicated wit greed n power dat u no longer tink wit ur head.U all r joking

Bastards!!!! Steal a million and get one year jail sentence. Criticize your government and get 7 years. Please where is the logic in that?

I need to know what these guys are smoking minus my dad.

Rubbish, instead of settling ASUU on-going strike, but they're there saying nonsense. Oponu set of people »

When paedophilia is blessed by allah inspired hypocrites? #gasp# how dare u? The nerve! Ofcourse not...that would be way too progressive

Jewel said...

Did i read him saying fraudsters are ruining the economy of Nigeria, what about their blatant looting of the country's wealth? These senators are really ridiculous, with such a bill I can see Nigeria going the path of Egypt and Tunisia.

From my understanding so far our government makes law that benefits them alone. Am still confused why they are earning the kind of amount they are earning 70% of our money goes to them nonesense law makers mt foot.what ever happens to human right and freedom of speech they can't even solve the problem of biko haram they busy making laws that will protect them that one will never happen o we must air our view

Na Mumu dey worry them,you one Carry Paparati go Court/ Prison? Is not done I beg.

Princess Chinasa Ukaegbu said...

Don't mind these jobless people always looking for ways to cover their smelly asses.

badoo of toronto said...

He who come to equity must come with clean hand.

Swaggs said...

Fools for internet fraud dats shld be 1month jail...

May God Of Elijah fire and Kill dem all Tiffs,Rogues,Paedophile Senators who r evn worse...Bastards Debating Irrelevant Issues dt wnt yeild anytin, we av water,light,education,health care,Good governance n accountability issue,Transportation etc to talk abt dey wastin useless time debating & passin stupid laws! I Swear I do wonder & ponder if diz old irritant nincompoop senators av brain @ all. They al nid 2b wiped away criosly tru food poisoning. Linda u mst post my comment

This is absolute rubbish.. 7 yrs is too much.. Seems they dnt wan pple to expose their evil ways

what? are they saying no more freedom of expression in democracy?

God will punish u fucking lawmakers, bastards.... Hw many of una don to jail for the money wey una dey loot? Abi no be Oduah matter una dey try put for corner so? #alinko

Chinma said...

Ehn now, una go dey open una various social media pages to criticise the greatest power in the country anyhow. Una don forget sey na dem get yam and digger to dig am out from the soil. Lol!

I am not surprised, Nigeria no dey practise Democracy, dem dey practise Demdoncrazy!
Uneducated Law(breakers).....makers? Linda next story plz.

5milion ke? Dz so calld lawmakers must b jokin....thieves! D funds u embezl is nt enof 4 u abi? I tire 4 dis country o, geez!

Lol that lawis for u Linda tattaafo high commission

SheiFunmi said...

Now David O will be happy *sighs*

thank God I hv d money...I'll incite a revolution on purpose and pay d fine instead of d jail term. Let's see if they'll ever recover!

Igor said...

These old men and women na agwo ofe,do not have anything better to do with taxpayers money.Instead,they want to make laws that will punish the masses that criticize their shortcomings.

What do u expect in a country where all d president does is wave and smile at every given occasion!

Emmanuel said...

Fool, ode

Linda is in trouble na she them carry for miind pass this bill hehehehehehe

These people are calling for anonymous propaganda from someone like me. Catch me if u can,no certified hacker can even smell my trail!

Sane Mind said...

Lazy senators,,shame to you all, oh!now you foolish people are quick to pass the bill to second reading whereas more important bills are lying under your carpet unattended to,,,we will continue to attack the government in whatever social media we want and if you want to arrest you will until you are tired and be aware that you are indirectly drawing the battle line with the youths of this country,,,,retarded fools.

And how many years for cleptocrats like them. Bunch of bandits and looters!

Linda beta post my first comment.ℓ̊ dey vex o... Charming kay

It is quite clear that Nigerians do not read... From what I've glimpsed, it is quite clear that the law is targeted at those that simply make-up stories about the government with the intent to bring it to disrepute. 7 years may be excessive but punish they must of those that deliberately lie against the government..

TKOKO said...

Idada shutop ur dirtymouth,who. Datch ur fada sen8or

Benedict Egbe said...

It just shows that Nigerian leaders, simply can not take what they dish out. You sing freedom of the press, freedom of speech and yet they look for every avenue to stifle the voice of reasoning. Every democracy has opposition and citizens are allowed to voice their opinions of the government. These our leaders are just military men wearing agbada.

TKOKO said...

I wonda wot dos FOOLS ar kpeffing dt dey cnt tink well wt dier medulla,GoD punish u pple4trying2renda my sweet Linda Jobless***#

and there goes our freedom of speech

all of us go enter jail be that. what ever happened to freedom of expression? abi dem don ammend that part comot the consistution.

this government officials are the biggest jokers of the century.

we must talk, we must expose una fuck ups and bullshits.

namsense!

namsense!

time for revolution is drawing close...but a naija jerry rawlings for help uss well well....
we the youths, we can actually start dis revolution sef, hw many can they kill? but we have to know that for every good thing to be done , there must be sacrifices. i am ready to sacrifice my life if things can get better or better still if plenty of us sacrifice, the impact will be felt more

let us rise up and fight these criminals that have decided to trample on our human rights... enuf of all this nonsense

The whole bulah of attracting foreign investment simply means more money for their thieving pockets. sad how quick they are to such matters but ASUU is 5 month n counting. FOI..let's not even go there

Shebi na matter wey no get head dem de gada 4? Useless old imi anwurus! Otoro ga agbagbucha unu ncha! Fools! Make boko drop one 4 una dere. Evn if d social media carries d right news, una go still arrest dem. Pls lin becareful k?

Lol no be small! Lin nekwa ka atuu gi nga mkpuruoka! Lol

Old fools, unnecessary bills always pasd,no water,power ,security, al dey care z media critics???? god !!!!!!! ONYXGODWIN

They are representing themselves. None of them won elections. They are all looters of our patrimony. The law only applies to them and their family members.

wether they make/pass/create those lawz.1fact remains they cant stop us 4rm communicating...

Lily of Nigeria said...

Is this about that Sahara Report?! Let it die already jare! If you Law Makers are so pained there are many sensible things to do. Freedom for all! Especially Freesom of Info.(In as much as its not unlawful or dehumanizing or defamatory)
*Chayanna*

linda this really means that you are seriously in trouble. look before you leap. in case you want to upload a false rumor for your bloggers please do well by giving me the N5 million fine. i think i deserve it better than the government. Thanks

NIGERIAN YOUTH said...

They the leaders are just looking for a way to steal freely while hands of all Nigerians will be tied and mouth sealed. I smell REVOLUTION IN THIS COUNTRY if they pass this law... We the youths of this country will bring ANARCHY to NIGERIA.I swear on my heart...

DadMatilda said...

So what happens now to the FOI bill, will that be mapped out of the constitution or reviewed? why do we have jokers and unprofessional as legislators!!!

Now they wanna take our freedom of speech? No....it will not happen..headS will roll.

words cannot explain what i need to say....

but these corrupt law makers are very big jokers

in a country where a 700000 naira fine is given to a thief that stole 2billion naira in a police pension fraud...now they are runnin around trying to stop people from critizing dem !!!!!

are the MAD!!!!!
dont they now the are public servants

this god complex will lead them no where

Nigeria has the worst road network in africa
nigeria has the work supply of electricity
Internet in Nigeria is to expensive and unreliable
Pipe borne water in Nigeria is very very poor

instead on passing laws that will help this problem they are going around paying jets and building housing with public funds, and they expect us to shut up...they must be crazy/......very crazy

Yes, I agree! Power is nothing without control - Pirelli

the key word here is FALSE INFORMATION.

dazzy said...

Lmao this ur comment is just too funny

FUCK OFF MORONS SAHARA REPORTER IS VALUABLE ASSETS NIGERIA IS DAMAGED FUCK YOU BOKO HARAM SPONSORS

Jerusalem Pilgrimage said...

They are wasting their time. Why is it that Sahara Reporters have their office in d U.S n their website hosted oversea?

We will use our I.T prowess to defeat them. We will host a critic website overseas, give Nigerians different ways to access it by bypass their I.S.P etc

The only way to stop it is, if there are no Internet services in Nigeria.

Bullshit!!!...Later they will say the are giving journalist fredom...I wonder if this our so called leaders think before making a bill...mtcheeeew

Nigeria is doomed. So the government's concern now has shifted to jailing people who try to express their views on social media..Nigeria has failed her citizens

Hmmmmm now this whole thing is starting to make sense_is this why they are wasting our 40million dollars on d Israeli internet spying agency? Sha na siddon dey look we dey cos tribalism won't allow us revolt against these useless old men in power. Cos if we frm SE,SW n North decide to revolt against GEJ his SS bros will come to retaliate. If na person frm north dey in charge n southerners decide to revolt,his northern brothers will stand up against us. Our problem sha is our diversity.

CHARMANE said...

pls what happened to freedom of expression

wizzy said...

So the insults they enter body, stupid pple.........bloody idiots. Soon,They go dey select people to make speech

pls what happened to freedom of expression

@NewsBlist said...

Hmmm... Lol ... No comment

I hope FFK is aware. The stupid man wants to divide Nigeria. They should have long started with him. But seriously, what of Madam Oduah's case? It's been swept under the carpet. Our Law makers don't have their priorities in the right places.

He no go better for their papa. So we shouldn't criticise when u do the wrong things right? After voting for you all, u don't perform and expect me to keep quite, then what the fuck do people vote for ? U might all as well not conduct elections anymore and appoint whoever u like. Once again, he no go better for all of una wey wan approve that stupid bill.

Linda, your business don pack up be that na..foolish people...

Dem go fit arrest over 50 million people? Ooshi. Bloody thieves. Next pls.

Now they realize we media folks have a strong voice by airing our opinions. They are intimidated by the truth. Do not loose your voice people. It really counts. God bless Nigeria.

Stupiity abounds in great measures among this morons called legislators and senators and GEJ is the pinnacle. @rickross

There are two worlds: the earthly world, and the media world. They can't hinder our freedom of speech because they don't rule us in this world.

I am so angry at our so called lawmakers and corrupt leaders every single one of them, they are the ones that give us Nigerians a bad name. Until they start living by example, Nigeria would still be where it is today (stale). If they can't handle the heat, they should plz step down and allow a more qualified individual assume their role. Afterall it is not a do or die affair to be in the position of power...is it??? One thing I know, and one thing I am certain of is that eventually they would get what they deserve (whatever that is!). They have no shame afterall...

Linda customers go run away now no body will comment on her blog anymore cos IG of police will create office for blog monitoring officers. And u all know our police now, carry everybody who comment.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Make I hear say Una head koret......!pack of corrupt fools!

Oh my..am so scared....total rubbish and nonsence ! They are all mad ...demented beings with no brains at all! Me i go talk...*hiss* useless govt with misplaced priorities.whatbhappened to freedom,they want to jail people for talking..while they are "doing" the don'ts. They should come and arrest me from my house. Lightening will strike them half way here. Lindz am vexing..walahi. post am make them read...if them arrest me post am too *hehehe*

Nana said...

Things are happening o!....yeye govt ,jaga jaga lawmakers.me i go talk.

Naija don cast said...

its rather unforunate that these group of unscrupulous elements are busy making a hullabaloo over nothing,when issues of higher magnitude are swept under the carpet. the question
is who really are the fraudsters?.
its so annoying that these so called fraudsters that calls themselves lawmakers are there deliberating on issues that they are guity of.
i weep for my dear country but i know that oneday the GOd i serve will definitely save us from the hands of these devils that calls themselves lawmakers.
linda pls i beg of you make sure you publish my comment.
God bless nigeria

Have they ever heard of FREEDOM OF SPEECH?? I guess not. They need to grow some balls to be honest and maybe if they did their jobs PROPERLY rather than stealing from the needy, the people of the country might have less to complain about. Even in America and the UK freedom of speech is essential (so long as it's not doing anyone any harm) Now you want to shut people up by threatening them with jail term? Habaaaaa Nigeria is going down hill true true. If they 'succeed' it'll no longer be a DEMOCRATIC country. old fools...God I hate them allllllll!!

swaggs isimemen said...

Is a lie linda carry on if its tru no level na devil go punish aldos sinators president david mark nd his vice ekueremadu bunch of tiffs. if they try it they we see what we happen 2 them their children we start 2 die one by one dis sinators re d problem nigeria hv 2day seriously bastard sinators tiffs criminas u sinators re fools infact am waiting 4 d law idiot sinators. Were is Odua matter? were is bankole former speaker of house of rep? Were is faruk lawan nd subside? Money? Hw many I go feet mention here OOOOO david mark oleeeeee all nigeria PDP sinators oleeeeeeeee criminals barrawooooOOOOOO am waiting OOOOOH

they are all mad.... they are stealing money and no jobs available.. and mehn are trying to survive with what they can do to make money online and they are speaking Grammer.. they should start from the top and then it will circulate.. if they want us to stop internet fraud they should give use employment, social security payment, there after we can think of stoping.... stupid house.. una give aviation woman shits car worth of 200 m and they can't discuss that.... God will slapp you all with left hand.... i am a Graduate.. computer science, no job.. and am making litttle penny online and you fools are talking shits..God purniush u all

Wolfy! said...

Can u imagine, when i am a graduate with 2.1 i finished 4 years a go and no job, and i was able to make small payment from online to pay my professional course, no socail security payment i can't carry gun etc.. how do i raise the money where is the food. and that stuppid senate are talking about cyber crime... God punish all of them... thier children will die one after the other....

Amah Jones said...

This is crazy! Treasury looters and those raking in billions of dollars from illegally controlling Niger Delta's oil blocks are walking around free of harassment from the government and the Senate. They want to muzzle FREE SPEECH, but that's an idea that shall remain dead on arrival. The pedophiles in government are busy sexually defiling prepubescent little girls, but the Nigerian Senate and government sees nothing wrong with their behavior. Those who looted over $ 500 billion from the treasury are still busy buying private jets, yachts;still busy building private airports behind their hilltop mansions, but no one has ever bothered to investigate, let alone prosecute them for their crimes. This unholy move by the Senate shall not stand.

The fools are obviously feeling the heat and they're scared out of their wits. My African-American brethren would say, 'Dem muthafukas are scared shitless!'
Those who plundered the country's treasury are still walking free. There are also the sick pedophile Senators and other morally bankrupt lawmakers who delight in stealing public funds and defiling little prepubescent girls, but they still remain untouched by the law in Nigeria. And what about those who, after embezzling over $ 500 billion dollars from the country's treasury;after building private hilltop mansions;after openly sponsoring domestic terrorism(Boko Haram),and after building themselves private airstrips----are still freely walking about without fear of prosecution for their crimes from anyone? This unholy effort at muzzling free speech shall surely fail. It will not stand.

Its crazy, is this a military regime that we don't have freedom of speech or even press freedom. They will go super fast with this one bcz it covers their footsteps. Sons of a gun. If its so, america wud have an extra 1million inmates in their prisons. #crazy #crazy #crazy

Hehe, Lindz watch as ud go 2jail for 7yrs

This is really surprising. the senate can sponsor an over night bill over such issue but they pay blind to the issue of corruption. why cant they pass a bill for 10 years imprisonment or live sentence for corrupt govt officials. they should continue God is watching. as the saying goes a living man thinks he have all the power on earth but remember money and power can not buy life. the same grave you will enter with the poor some day.

This is simply the result of ignorance and fear. Mtcheeeew! The truth is they don't even realize it's almost impossible to do it. It would cost so much time and money. I'm talking funds that should be used for important stuff not for chasing after people that know and air the dirty laundry of the senate in the public.

They cant be serious. criticism is part of check for bad governance. They should live with it.

They certainly have no job to do.

hehehe Linda see gist ooooo. Criminals sitdown wan pass law. One-day thunder Go strike for this national Assembly, kill every body Wey done collect Ghana must go bag without finding solution to boko Haram, Asuu strike, poor roads, poor network, poor healthcare etc make this people no make me vex ooooo....make dem no worry very soon, very soon Kama go catch up with them. see talk sha, dem don do their own hundred years for jail? for all the money them and their family steal?

WICKED SOULS. BECAUSE WE ARE EXPOSING AND CORRECTING THEIR EVIL DOING, THEY WANT TO GO AGAINST US BUT I KNOW GOD WILL NOT LET THEIR PLANS COME TO PASS.
THEY HAVE BEING LAVISHING OUR WEALTH ON THEMSELVES, WANTING TO STOP US FROM SURVIVING. I KNOW THEY WILL ALWAYS BE THE LOOSERS. LINDA, I KNOW SAY YOU DEY FEAR BUT NO FEAR AGAIN BECAUSE NOTHING GO HAPPEN.

WICKED SOULS. BECAUSE WE ARE EXPOSING AND CORRECTING THEIR EVIL DOING, THEY WANT TO GO AGAINST US BUT I KNOW GOD WILL NOT LET THEIR PLANS COME TO PASS.
THEY HAVE BEING LAVISHING OUR WEALTH ON THEMSELVES, WANTING TO STOP US FROM SURVIVING. I KNOW THEY WILL ALWAYS BE THE LOOSERS. LINDA, I KNOW SAY YOU DEY FEAR BUT NO FEAR AGAIN BECAUSE NOTHING GO HAPPEN.