ASUU update: FG extends resumption deadline for lecturers to Dec 9th | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 4 December 2013

ASUU update: FG extends resumption deadline for lecturers to Dec 9th

As a mark of respect to the late Prof Festus Iyayi, past president of ASUU, whose funeral rites begins tomorrow to Sat December 7th, the Federal Govt has decided to shift its deadline for resumption of lecturers to Monday December 9. This was made known by the Executive Secreatry of the Nigerian University Commision, Prof Julius Okojie while addressing  journalist in Abuja yesterday.

Prof Okojie in his briefing said 
"Government decided to shift the date of resumption so as to allow lecturers attend the funeral rites of Late Prof Iyayi We just received information that the burial rites of Festus Iyayi begins on the December5 and would last till December 7"
On the issue of salary arrears been demanded by lecturers, Prof Okojie said:
“You cannot pay someone who has failed to resume work. You are on strike and you want to be paid. What if some have already left the system? Some of our very bright lecturers may have gotten jobs elsewhere already,” he said

63 comments:

V-nevasettle4less said...

FG is losing in dis battle already!! ASUU pls reconsider and let it b after d xmas break shaa!!

Ok,may his soul rest in peace.

Gud 4 em

Well done!..ındeed he was an ıconıc fıgure,..glad he was accorded som respect.RIP sır'

All na shakara...Pls visit Ajuwaya! et al for undergraduates, corpers and job seekers

Ok. We heard next pls

Anike said...

Mirror mirror on the wall who is d stalest of dem all

How Government has shown how not to be taken serious.
Political thug parading himself as minister of education.

ebere said...

Linda dis pix cracked me up,as for asuu and fg,I pray dier fight end soon enof.I luv my country

click here for tips to lose belly fat quickly

Ok o... But even before they shift it some schools did not resume. So why do they think they will resume now.
30-yr-old house wife dies after marathon sex with boyfriend

FG just dey do anyhw instead make dey pay dem their salary and let us resume schl mtcheeew. It almost christmas ooh wat re we goin to do @ schl now. *sighs

oo So what about that institution that fired everyone yesterday? If people come back before the 9th will they take them back?

FG already deposited #200B into Asuu acct in CBN...its was on air diz morin

Igor said...

I thought FG threaten to sack them if they don't resume work on monday ? Lol

Prof okogie when you were lecturing in u.i and a vc in UNAAB weren't you paid your salaries those times ASUU went on strike. Long hissss

God save us in this country...

emeka. macdonald blog said...

Asuu strike. No be small thing various reports , i heard that. Unilag chapter is not resuming until they hear. From their Oga at the top

Kai! You know how many people wey don dust their CV dey wait for the 4th? See falling hands!

May prof's soul RIP,besides y d rush now dnt they knw dt GEJ regime is hard which parents has d money to waste jst for 2weeks&resume again 2014 in faCt nxt month.yes,we re so happy to go bck to our various classes but dis is nt jst working.y didn't FG rush them since y nw,they have forgotten education shld be 9jas utmost priorty dtz y our pple ill keep going to different African countries to skool rather dan we as gaint of African hve them cme here instead.

@NewsBlist said...

It's all Politics

na wa! FG just answer these people now.Haba this is NOT fair.

PK said...

FG gonna be the loser of this world war III

CLICK HERE TO READ THIS VERY INTERESTING GIST

any other LASTMA that has not read this blog too funnnnnyyy LMFAO

Ezekiel I Mcbernards said...

Shey I said it that this nigger (Good luck) is confused n indecisional n my boys disagreed. after making a decree, he's still going back on it, doesn't he have a freaking adviser? I wonder what these old folks in power do over there. # so disappointed #

Naija babe said...

Odiegwu. We are getting there. Very soon it will not be only ASUU that will be on strike but the whole Nigerians will refuse to work. Crazy bunch of thieves. Y'all think you can intimidate our learned fathers into coming back to slave for you, sorry dey called your bluff. y'all cant do shit when the 9th of Dec comes. isshhhhhhh........

federal govt is scared of asuu lol

Valerie said...

FG should do something fast oh

Bike Packing Blog said...

FG shuld jst be sincere with ASUU. As they claimed that there is no money, they shuld jst borrow money n pay off this ppl (ASUU).

DadMatilda said...

And for gettin a job elsewhere, he or she is not entitled to the allowances of work he/she has done!!!!! hmm, Naija is brewing for a revolution, where bunch of half literates and illiterates steal public funds and earn enormously just for been legislators and public office holders, hard earned degree holders earn paltry and are still subjected to hard labour!!!! GSN!!!

Ema binu o...if we resume wettin dey wan lecture us? How to decorate christmass tree?,how to request gift from santa?,how to kill n prepare chicken?,how to cook rice 4 christmas...abeg tell me cos I no undastand...dey dnt even ave gud timming... We shlda resumed earlier o...buh becos of dier act of idontcarelism, we r still home...olorun mo address ile gbo gbo yin...oya linda post it na b4 I give God d addres to ur house!*wink*

the last para. though. It makes more sense. but I fear for assu news

If dem wan resume make dem resume,if not dey sud go n sit down...enof of all these media rants #so boooooooooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrriiiiiiiiiiiig!

This federal gov fear asuu they just they use agbari......asuu you to c caution and go back to class before its too late.....cos me im gonna apply for the vacancies o.....

But serzly sha, linda where do u get deserve funny pics from? D pics always seem to represent d headline pretty well......kudos! Ur aproko job has humour too...

Damn apple auto correct

Sane Mind said...

Does the federal Government and its cronies have "common sense" with the way they are fooling themselves like this,,they should settle this issue amicably and allow lecturers go back to classes peacefully than trying to act like dictators in a democratic setting,,threat will not solve the issue at hand

wow, is really sad.

Bethel Brill said...

FG and ASUU!!!!!! Stupid government and union!!!!!!!

RIP prof iyayi....
FG buhahahahahhahhahahaha. Smbh

Ayo said...

It would be very stupid of Asuu to wanna eat wah dey didn't plant (no work,no pay) y'all beta get ur a**es back to sch nd work for ur money..

FG and ASUU dey use sense for each other.Na wee the Students kon dey suffer am.Omaa gaaa oooo which kin country be this after wasting time unnecessarily in sch @ the end of the day no guarantee you will get a job.

fake,failed,frustrated and foolish Government.com
naija and excuse chio!!

Tiana said...

Ramma! Saw it coming..... Am done thinking abt Asuu nd FG any one una like make una do. Dorrrrrhhhhh

DadMatilda said...

And so such a lecturer is not entitled to his or her allowances from his/her former institution because of a new appointment!!!!
Naija is brewing up for a revolution, where some bunch of semi literate and illiterate are stealing public funds and earning enormously for being legislators or public office holders and some hard earned degree holders are earning paltry nd still subjected to hard labours. the country resources is not meant for some few to enjoy, its for all and sundry!!! FG have to heed, ASUU won't succumb.

hehehe... "the very bright ones may have gotten job somewhere else" ... meaning the olodo ones will resumes wen the strike is called off... I hail naija and 'UNGUARDED' statements.

Praise the Lord!

Pls allow us 2 graduate biko.

Na God go punish all of una, na now una one resume,,, plsss oh dis is Christmas. Period can't shout

I dont want dis ASUU strike 2 end... Cause all those G-string girls will start updating the BBM status now... Abj loading, having dinner with David mark, Traveling 2 Dubai with Linda ikeji, i hate dis boo....pls Asuu dont end the strike... I still wanna see all those babe fire with their marry Amaka cloth.....

APPLELIPX said...

LOL
DIS CON3 AND DRAMA....

D GOVT EVEN KNW WE HAVE LECTURERS WHO Aren't BRIGHT AND D CAN'T DO ANYTHING ABT IT WHEN THEY ARE THOUSANDS OF DESERVIN GRADUATES OUT HERE

LET DEM KEEP DECIEVIN DEMSEFS

Wen festus iyayi died hw many of u used his pic as dp or upload his pic on fb writin RIP but wen paul walker died u all used his pic as dp n evn uploaded it on fb writin rest in peace, dis is 2 show hw u njoy watchin movies dan goin 4 lectures una neva c anytyn una go dey 4 house tire *tongues out*

I beg I thank god for torching d hearts of FG to bring up dis issue,may he torch b hearts of d ASUU 2

biko christmas celebration me cant miss am not going any werrrrr na me nd dis christmas o ds yr o.Asuu nd fG pack well first.

Linda v u seen d newz magazine of how prof Iyayi was murdered wit a gun shot wound on his chest n dey r tryin 2 cover it up

Callin off asuu strike loadin.............

Pls linda look 4 it n giv us beta tory...hehehe govt pple

Omolola Ogida said...

E don dey reach 6 months o... ASUU hunger never start to dey flog una?

Ode when school on session normally nor be December dem dey vacate

Lots of saboteurs cum students. If d govt really cared about ur education, they wuldnt ve allowed d strike to stay this long. It wuldnt do d govt any harm if they pay d lectures their salary...........it's just another money they wuld rather see go into their pockets as usual.......pls refer to fuel subsidy manual for more details. Do u know how many lecturers salary dat can be paid with d two BMW bulletproof cars bought for N200million?

May Prof Iyayi's soul rest in peace! Pls you have all seen and heard it from Prof. Okojie. Lecturers that are still available are not bright. The ones that have moved on are the very bright lecturers. So, there is nothing like being passionate about ones job. You see the quality of staff in NUC. Terrible! This country is finished!!!

Linda, pls Prof. Okojie needs to apologize to lecturers for the open abuse. How can he suggest that all the lecturers in Nigeria are not bright? The bright lecturers have left leaving the dull ones. In his words "the very bright lecturers may have gone" so it is not a passion to teach and the zeal to serve this nation that kept the others but their inability to get job because they are dull. ASUU will teach him!!!

Linda,whose side are u on? You didn't write anything on Prof Iyayis burial