Yaya Toure named 2013 BBC African Footballer of the Year | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 3 December 2013

Yaya Toure named 2013 BBC African Footballer of the Year

Who agrees with this?

96 comments:

Olusanu Al-amin Rukky and khalid saw this post first bitchessss!!!!!!!!!

Ok na
Dats una opinion!
Wet in consain mesef.

and oh yeah we agree with this... still Olusanu Al-amin Rukky and Khalid :D

He worth am nah

Yes he truely deserve it.......

I agree ooo he has been nominated abt 8times........well deserved

Africa is tired of same name being named African footballer of d year.Names lik Mikel,Moses or evn dis Pitropia smart ass wud hv made d news juicy.So Linda NO I dnt agree,dis Toure is surviving on past glory shikenan

BLAZER said...

YES HE DESERVES D AWARD...AND WIFOUT SENTIMENTS HE SHOULD WIN D AFRICAN PLAYER OF THE YEAR AWARD....COS D REST CONTESTANTS ARE AVERAGE PLAYERS

He has been d heart of mancity midfield..I hope mikel wins d caf award

Sincerely, he is very good but mikel obi deserve it because he won afcon and also doing very well in the EPL as it stands. Why toure ? Well no grudges oo, congrats.

Yeah Agreed!

Woomie said...

This is Mikel Obi's prize oh! I'm not surprised. BBC is completely biased against Nigeria anyway and don't like to praise us for good things.

He tried his best and proved to be a True Torgin of African prodigy.He was nominated 5times over d past 5 yrs nd finally won it.he deserves it.

Eno said...

i do

Eno said...

i do ooh

Eno said...

i do

I think he deserved it

Yaya toure of man cıty!..congratz thou'!

I don't regard the BBC award,am all about the Glo Caf award,which will be clinched by our own Mikel Obi.

I don't agree... It should have being given to Mikel.
Nigeria Ranked 144th Most Corrupt Country In The World

Congrats 2 her!

Hakeem said...

Francophone mafia in CAF, Issa Hayatou the mafia boss will continue to impose people from french speaking part of Africa as the best players. You have to have had an extra ordinary year as a footballer from any anglophone country to win African footballer of the year. What exactly did Yaya achieve this past year, he didn't win anything for club or country, so what parameters did they use, Mikel Obi on the other hand won the Europa cup with his club and the African cup of nations with his country. Yaya has no business winning this trophy, none whatsoever.

Eno said...

I DO!

Ayokunle said...

Every1 shld agree; whoelse deserves the award?

I agree wit it,Mikel needs to work harder not bcos e won d nations cup nd oda laurels but he should work on his personal qualities like passes distances covered assist goals etc Toure is far beta dan him,he scores and u can hardly hear dat mancity scored 2or3 goals without Toure assisting 2 or 1 goal.Mikel is lazy nd we all know it and that's the reason he is sitting on the bench in @his club.look @Remires who met mikel in chelsea,he works harder dan mikel scores goals dan mikel covers a wider distance dan Mikel den tell me if u wia incharge of giving dat award will u give Mikel? Emenike and OnaZi deserves it more dan Mikel

Toure deserves it

I totally agree,

I heard of this new singer VICSLY he is doin tins the boy is toooo goood nd am in love wit his songs.

yaya toure my man. congrats to you. lots of love,

New Discovery- See how you can make daily legal cash online just with your phone or PC, click here and see how.

Abimbola Adekanmbi said...

There has always been a disharmony between the BBC African footballer of the year and the CAF version of the same award. Most times, players that win the BBC award end up not winning the CAF version. To me, Yaya Toure does not deserve the award at all, he did nt win any silverware for club or country this last season. Mikel Obi and Victor Moses won both the Europa league and the African cup of nations, but lost out. This award is nothing but just a chewing gum award to me, it lacks integrity and dignity.

Yaya is a more complete player than our own Mikel and Moses put together. They still need some more grooming to attain his pedigree. Barca lost a rare gem there. I completely agree that he is more deserving of this award. Long overdue if you ask me

Yes, I do

i do not agree. Yaya didn't win any trophy last season but a Mikel and Moses won both the Europa Leaugue and African cup of nations

No lie he deserves it

me

African no1 Beast.... KING YAYA

Prince Of Boobaraba said...

F*ck BBC!! We await CAF African Footballer of the year Award hosted by Lagos that's the real deal

Congrats to him. but Yaya Toure of all africa footballers?

Chukwudi said...

i think mikel or moses didnt win because the nigerian votes were divided between them. The same thing happened in BBA with melvin and beverly. Congrats to Yaya Though.

The votes gave it to him. Congrats to him

Exclusivegroove.blogspot.com said...

Evn if some1 disagree wif it, nfin can b done abt it. Hmmm. Dt question u ask sef. Linda!!! Abi u no lyk as e win am ni. U wan mk e b mikel? *winks*

9jagirl007 said...

Yaya you are cute please come and marry me because my boyfriend is misbehaving.

f-ck the voters,this dude didn't win any trophy last season,mikel And moses won two trophies.

Hmmm.nice

He's d undisputed winner Ms. Linda

Cynthia said...

D guy is cute

I totaly disagree,it's obvious dat it's politics n cos he has not won dis 4 5years! Mikel is meant 2 win, Mikel has won champions league,europa league,afcon n so on,so why shuld he win!! To me Mikel is a better player than him.... *Debbie Chelsea*

no one else deserves. i totally agree

He deserves it...

Nodic said...

He worked very hard for it. Deserves it. But when would people like Mikel start winning awards?

Nodic said...

He worked very hard for it. Deserves it. But when would people like Mikel start winning awards?

chuubiyo said...

He deserves it totally...our mikel hasn't been getn enof game time.Toure ÈŠ̝̊̅Úª a player who constantly evolves and his form this season and last has been outstanding!

Most def he is the undisputed winner.

Nah ...ion agree ..that's ojoro.....yaya didnt win any Major trophy this year....mikel deserves to be the winner ...

..."Hicymike "...

I dispute it Srzly, Victor Moses shld hv been d winner.

I do agree on that 101%

I don't agree with this. I think dey just don't want the award to come to nigeria becos we r leading. Stupid pple

Well! Buh mikel dserve it mor better..bcus he shows an outstandn performance both 4 his club n d national team,..

yea.. Mikel is nt working hard like him

Lie lie!!.....why not mikel or even moses?...dis is not fair @ all

He contributed to his club more than what moses and mikel contibuted 2geda. Congrat to him. Cos presently he is d best among the three of them. Guess u won't disagreaa wit that

Dremaxxxx

BBC judges based on the performance of the player in the EPL not in Africa. So yeah, Yaya Toure was the best African player in England last season. Well deserved.

bitchplis said...

Shush!!! It was decided by people's votes.dis one is bbc african player of d year not caf.they released d numbers n websites where people could cast dia votes,dias no ojoro there.

Lindaa with you plenty know know, you nor know football, na toure nah, not up for argument

Congrate tho.

@NewsBlist said...

Congrats Yaya my boy

1st of all u don't nid to go down low,diz award is an individual award and not team based...Jay Jay Okocha won d award twice without winning any trophy buh den Nigerians didn't talk,besides itz not a coach,captain tin,itz fans based so wot's d wailing 4...com to tink of it individually Mikel is not in anyway close to Yaya based on stats...using parameters like complete pass(both short and long passes),pace,assist,goals,work rate,speed,dribbling,creativity. Check ur stats and confirm Mikel scored just a goal in 184 epl matches yaya 13 diz calender year @ club level and even more than Mikel and more assist in Nations Cup....dere u go tipping moses that was loaned out of a more complete team coz he couldn't break in into d squad...4 persons wit such stats(Mikel,mosses) to win African best be it in any award simply depict we r no footballing continent...Dauda Oluwasgun Reporting...!

Anon 9:04 pm thnk u very much, u are a true football analyst and U said it all. Nigerians we too like sentiment. I like mikel obi so much as a Nigerian and i happen to be a Chelsea fan but truth be told, mikel cant be compared to toure in terms of their current form. Go Toure u derve it. Mikel should step up his game.

@Fammie8 said...

yaya has been phenomenal but Mikel deserves it....
FIFA app for iOS and Android, follow the World Cup and other football events

Huh to her? *rme*

Sports analyst Cute G.Good one.

I love babes who follow sports.Guess U are one of d few.

Ode

Very well deserved,love you Yaya....muahhhhh

me said...

Sorry? Past glory? You obviously don't watch football, the dude is a beast! Well deserved award, NO DOUBT!

Hey if u dnt knw anyfin abt football u better dnt talk @ all mikel plays his role as midfielder well he is better as a defensive midfielder dan an attacking midfielder dats y u use him doing well in country side dan club side, I'm very sure u're 4rm ivory coast dats y u're taking sides

Best comment

5th in a row now am proud of him and his consistency...he scores goals unlike any other defensive midfielder.kudos toure

5th in a row now am proud of him and his consistency...he scores goals unlike any other defensive midfielder.kudos toure.chingychyke

Chineke...are u ok?

LETS JUST SAY THAT LUCK FOUND ITS WAY TO YAYA. SOME DAYS ARE LIKE THAT

Nonso said...

I knw say Yaya no win anytin last season, Mikel n Moses won d Europa league n AFCON no doubt buh if we check wetin dem dey play Yaya ghud pass abeg..........if we see truth mak we talk

G Tech said...

yaya all the way... Mikel is a world class player but bro You need to step up ur game

he's the right man for the trophy, simply because he makes the difference in his team. africa's No. 1 midfield maestro

Igor said...

The fact that BBC gave the award to a player from a Francophole African shows that he truly deserves it.Yaya Toure is rated as the best box to box player in the EPL. When he is not assisting in goals scoring,he is scoring the goals himself.On the other hand,Mikel and Moses have not been consistent in their various clubs,and one of the criteria needed for such an award is consistency on the part of the nominated player.However,I still believe that either Mikel or Moses still stand a chance of winning the CAF version of the award.

Thought u re a girl.how u come sabi ball like this?*confused*

Wetin linda dey yan sef, BBC dey ask for una opinion? They just named him the african player of the year, they didn't ask what you think he were to be named the african player of the year. This thing is english nw! Haba!!

-Person pikin(sue me if ur papa get d moni)

GOZZY said...

Yes,i do.I agree wit wat som1 pointd out about d oda named contenders being average.d odas are nothing above average including d 2 Nigerians so leave sentiments aside.Yaya deserves 2 win it all!

some ppl that hv neva evn watched football are commenting n arguing blindly. This award is for Africa's best player throughout 2013. Nt cup of nations only, or friendlies, or confedrations cup. it includes domestic n European leage matches as well as cup matches. Forget ur sentiments, Yaya Toure truly deserves the award. He has been phenomenal. Better luck 2 d rest nxt tym.
Sketch.

G Tech said...

yaya all the way... Mikel is a world class player but bro You need to step up ur game

Congrats...he's a utility player. Pls visit http://nexva.com/app/ajuwaya-et-al.31904 for undergraduates, corpers and job seekers

I second. Award well deserved..stop to dey watch back of TV anty wa

Lakuli..talo ma gbami ooo. Her ke? Lobatan