Nigerian Michael Ikenna Nduanya to be executed by firing squad in Vietnam | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 10 April 2011

Nigerian Michael Ikenna Nduanya to be executed by firing squad in Vietnam

Michael Ikenna Nduanya, the Nigerian man who was committed to death penalty in Vietnam two weeks back could be eliminated this week through firing squad, according to mounting rumors in the country.

If his execution is delayed, then he could be dying through lethal injection as the law will be changing from this July when public execution by firing squad would be ditched for a more dignifying death by lethal injection.

As news of his sentence broke out last week, Nigerians across the world have called on the Nigerian Federal government to make concerted effort to negotiate his life with the communist government of Vietnam.

Michael Nduanya
He has been described as one of the victims of Nigeria government’s neglect with millions of youths in the nation wasting away due to unemployment, and thousands more on self-seeking enslavement across the world looking for life lines have met their untimely death.

Hundreds of Nigerian youths are dying every year through many disgraceful means in desperation to escape to other countries of the world for more dignified life.

Michael’s life could be wasted within weeks unless the Nigerian government intervenes to show its disgust over the sentence, claimed by many to have been racially motivated.

Sources in Nigeria had claimed that Michael is an orphan and had made the desperate bid in search of a better life abroad. Hardship and lack of hope had driven him to petty drug trading.

Michael was sentenced to death in Vietnam for transporting a small quantity of heroin last week. His Vietnamese wife was also sentences to life imprisonment, raising questions of racism and dislike for foreigners the so called substance claimed to be heroin was caught with the wife who was saaid to be acting on her husband’s behalf.

According to a court official last Wednesday, Michael and his common-law spouse Nguyen Thi Hai Anh, 27, were convicted on Tuesday in Ho Chi Minh City by an Ho Chi Minh City People’s Court.
He was sentenced to death on March 22 for illegal transportation of hard drugs.
The couple were arrested in December 2009.

News source

52 comments:

Chilling said...

I really don't feel sorry for drug pushers and drug sniffers! There are some countries you just cannot mess around with re-drug trafficking. Shame...

Ms. J said...

When you go to these countries, they write it 'GBAGADA' on their visas, 'trafficking of drug carries the death penalty' I honestly do not understand why they do this is Asia (not justifying other places)There are honest ways to make money... eg right now, demand is high in Japan, go and freaking carry some debris for $5000 a month!

peppy said...

but Nigerians too shud stop doing this to them selves by dealing wit illegal drugs. A friend just got sentenced to 8yrs in the UK for same reason! i mean if u hit a couple of million invest n do something else na but the lavish luxury lifestyle n greed get the better part of illegal business that eventually the law catches up to them. the saying everyday for the thief oneday for the owner applies to yahoo n their magas. drug dealers n the police.
meanwhile happy sunday linda

OMG! Please somebody do something, this is heartbreaking. The guy looks so young and helpless, I understand that he must pay for his crime (if he has indeed committed one) but surely all the same its still a shameful waste of life... So sad....

Adebola said...

Linda is there a petition or how can we help?? People can start by calling Nigeria embassy in their various countries. Thank God this came to media attention, Imagine the number of Nigerians that have been wasted needless. Not condoling crime, but I will never support taking a man's life, its never the solution.

OMG!!!! this is inhumane. it is no news that asians hate blacks more than whites do. why the hell should they execute him like that? i thought Vietnam was no longer in its barbaric state? why cant it be death be lethal injection or something like that? why must he be fired on like that? silly asian people.
AND WHAT THE FUCK ARE NIGERIANS DOING ALL THE WAY IN VIETNAM? sometimes when i hear stories of Nigerians being in Vietnam, Mali, and other dirt-poor countries, i ask myself, IS NIGERIA THAT BAD?!?!?!

I kinda feel sorry for him but, some many people go through really difficult times but they don't use it as an excuse to commit offences.
He should have stayed back in Naija and weathered it out.

Did he get a fair trial? Do you know that he could be innocent?

Some passengers ask others to help them out without knowing it is drugs.

Never help anybody on board, to carry anything.

Mamuje said...

I really don't know what to say. I pray God has mercy on him am let him be free. I mean everyone knows Asia isn't lenient when it comes to drugs. Why? Why? Why?

dada said...

ermmm there is no petition and the nigerian govt cannot do nothing there either... last yr a british guy was killed for the same reason....
the point is they let u know it is againstt he law, think of the lives that are destroyed thru drug trafficking, the ppl that have been persuaded to do drugs bcuz they r weak minded so that he can make a buck or two.
it is heartbreaking, yes. is it a fair punishment? to me i say no becuz i am totally against capital punishment. but was he warned... yes. ye can read and he knew the consequences of his actions.
it is totally unfortunate. i wud sign a petition but right now oonly God can help him.

Ms. J said...

@ Alicia.... there are honest Nigerians living in Vietnam, Cambodia, Philippines, Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, China,Vietnam.. etc how would people get electronics, clothes, engineering parts etc at cheaper and affordable prices?
It is a wrong perception to think asian's hates blacks, you need to live in asia to experience things first hand, it is more like how some africans behave, we dont need to sugar coat it, we 'know' ourselves!!
where there is no law, there is no sin, if they told you before hand the punishment for violating their rules, you should be ready to face the concequences if you do
QED
@ Adebola, the Nigerian embassy cannot do anything, the president cannot do a thing either. Thats the way it is out here, live by the rules or face the concequence. QED

I really feel sorry for this guy but claiming that there are lack of opportunities in Nigeria is no excuse for trafficking drugs; there are far more honest ways of making a living and I can tell you that drug trafficking ain't one of them! If he had done this in Nigeria, I would have understood his actions better but he committed this folly in Vietnam, a country noted for its hardline stance on drugs and drug dealers. I really don't think there is really anything the government can do for him under the circumstances. As Ms J @11.25 AM stated, these countries do warn you about the penalties of drug trafficking, if not on your passport, there are warning signs at airports, land borders, ports, etc. Nevertheless, I would be willing to sing a petition on his behalf if there is on. Hopefully, he would have learnt a lesson from this

Uche said...

It hurts me when I come to this blog and read the comments of all these self righteous freaking Nigerians who think they are better than the rest of other nigerians especially those who live abroad. If this story is true regarding injustice then the Nigerian government should step in and find a way to turn things around for this yound lad. This is the responsibility and duty of a responsible government. While Drug trafficking should not be condoned at all at any level because it is a form of indirect murder , I still do not believe that backward countries should set up any laws that would lead to the killing of foreigners. If this man was an American they would not freaking dare lay a hand on him .

To the so called Nigerians that have had the opportunity of living in the western world because their parents made it possible for them by knowingly or unknowingly giving birth to them in Europe and the States they should be more sensitive with their tongues. Afterall their parents were seeking better futures for them and hence their births abroad. I live in the states and Europe myself and it is no freaking big deal!!! We should work positively in our various fields to turn Nigeria around and make it remarkable as well.

You know, I will never understand Nigerians sometimes. If this man is married to a Vietnamese woman, certainly he will be given legal papers to work and live in the country. No? So then why can't he get himself a legit job? Some Nigerians are always running all over the place like headless chickens....to far ends of the earth just so that they can boast to friends and family that they live abroad. Then to add salt upon injury some Naijas will not obey the laws of the land they are migrating to and then when they get into trouble, we sit there and cry foul!

Another problem is that Nigerians make so many babies knowing fully well that the society will not offer these kids anything tangible once they are grown. The country is overpopulated (not suprising), resources seem not to be enough, no jobs for the youth, and gross mismanagement of resources is the order of the day. This is not news because as Nigerians we all know this. Yet, we are more concerned about spending thousands even millions of naira on weddings (to show off of course) and pop way too many babies out like unspayed guinea pigs and when those kids grow up tomorrow and become the drug traffickers and internet scammers we hear of today, we pretend to act suprised. Na una sabi! Good luck to him.

80% of Nigeria's population live on less than $2 a day (source:UN), so um yes Nigeria is really that bad.
Capital punishment is unjust, I don't think there's any just cause for it. A stiff sentence should surely be enough, must you take life! Shame our country only cares about the rich...

if it's drug related i m sorry he had it coming. Greed is what's killing nigerians. if he had been successful, what more would he hvae used the money for besides oppressing the less fortunate? go to Thailand and Kuwait...naijas pushing drugs full there die all in the quest for wealth to squander. people who want to feed themselves and their families don't push heroine. this one na money for range rover he dey find

@ April 10, 2011 12:10 PM, i see nothing heart breaking here. all i see i s a greedy young man trying to out-do Tinubu abi whoever them lagos big boys are. they need to execute him fast

It is quite unfair,there is no justification for crime but I mean death penalty for drug related offence is inhuman,babaric,unjust and uncalled for.Why will his wife get less penalty,I smell rat somewhere

Igbo people should re examine themselves.PDP has a strong showing at yesterdays election in the South East. Yet many Igbo people cannot live at home. They prefer to cut corners by carrying drugs or seek refugees in lagos state and other neighbouring states (managed by the opposition) that has good governance. What is wrong with the Igbos? They lack the will to make good change and maake the East habitable for their people. PDP has only succeded in impoverishing your people, yet you still sheepishly continue to vote for them. It beats me. Another one is to be executed in trying to cut corners instead of voting for good governance, they prefer to cut corners. Its your choice, its your life.

Ms. J said...

@ Uche... get your facts right, these countries are strict, I have seen Americans, British, Aussies and other nationals executed in Asia for traficking drugs or get life in prison, even their sons and daughters are not spared.
i do not believe that they are backwards countries either, a law is a law and people residing/transiting in the country are bounded by these laws.

Great stuff... u do the crime...

blaise said...

@ Anon 4:59, that was a very stupid and unnecessary comment u just made! Is this post about a "tribe" or a man whose about to be executed for committing a crime?
I really fell sorry for him but I doubt there is anything the Nigerian government can do about this.They no longer have the influence...

Igbo people una no dey shame? 90% of societal ills are traceable to your people. Kidnapping (most of your people now seek refugee in lagos), armed robbery, drug trafficking etc. I am not a tribalist, but when you people continue to vote for PDP, then somebody needs to come out to start speaking the truth. We cannot grow as a people if we continue to sweep this things under the carpet. Are you cowards? APGA is your party, yet you cannot even vote for yourselves. South west voted enmasse for ACN.CPC is holding sway in the North. It pains me to see you people suffering under PDP. Enough of this suffering. Vote for change in the remaining elections. Its your choice, its your life.

to blaise@ 4:59, thank you for the reply- you have said it all. The issue of drug dealing is not one of the Igbo but of the whole country- people from all tribes have been arrested for drugs trafficking but for some reason, traffickers of Igbo origins have disproportionately been arrested for this offence. However, the point I wish to state here is that we must look at ourselves as Nigerians, not as Igbo or Yoruba or Hausa. No, Igboland is not inhabitable at all- I am from Benue but everytime I pass through Igbo territority on my way home to Benue, I never cease to be amazed by the mansions I see in the East, by the wealth and energy of the people, by their resourcefulness. The problems of the east are the problems of the entire Nigerian nation!

"There but for the grace of God". I am not Nigerian but I find Nigerians the most full of sh*t people and self righteous I have ever known. You all know that the economy of your country is not in good shape. There are lots of people without work, jobless, finished university with nothing to do.
To then say that this orphan deserves death is contrary to your bible thumping selves. Y'all spend all of Sunday in church (I live in the US so I see you). What do you learn there?? To have no compassion, to say why doesn't he get a job... MY God you are some of the most hypocritical Africans I have known. Y'all disgust me.

And with sentiments like the ones shown here no wonder your government makes no move to help y'all.

If they want 2 execute him, then die he will cos 2 be fore warned is 2 be fore armed, he know's d law, he broke d law, so he'll face d mucic, nough said

Mma said...

Unbelievable.
I can believe the kind of hypocrisy that is going on here.
I am not trying to condole his crime,but how dare you condemn him to death..a fellow living soul?
If God takes it on us according to our shortcomings,do you think that there'll be any soul living?
No human being has the right to take a life.WHATSOEVER...
And to those that turned the story in a tribal and political debate...Ask your self one question..What have you done to help your country?
You are here pointing fingers here and there...what about you?
Do you think this country will be anyway forward with folks like you that takes no responsible for anything?
Igbo folks are the most hardworking tribe ...You see them everywhere because they dont fold their hands looking for who to blame...
Some of them may indulge in criminal activities likewise other tribes....
I guess you're being a good citizen be coming here and talking rubbish about your fellow citizen.......
The guilty ones make the most accusations...

Shakara said...

Anon April 10, 2011 4:59 PM; you are a retarded moron. Ibos have never voted for the PDP because the PDP has always rigged their way in. My Parents never lived in the village not to talk of in the East. So you want them to go and live in the East doing what?

Anyway, i want to believe your post is aimed at villagers like you.

There will always be migration and change is inevitable. BRF over the duffers like Ohakim, Orji x 2 and even Peter Obi.

As for this guy, if you can't do the time, don't do the crime!

To the useless moron talking about ibo people and PDP.

SO becos he is an ibo man, ibos are supposed to hide their heads in shame? I cant help but wonder how some people come to this blog and trash tribes and people in such a pathetic manner. Havent people from other tribes been caught trafficking drugs? The point is this young man is a Nigerian who has made a bad decision. If we can help him as a nation by saying something, fine. If we cant, then we just pray for his soul.
If you werent a fool, you'd be urging Nigerians to vote for the right PEOPLE and not for a party. I see you have beef for ibo people and the PDP. Well, ibos are still one of the most hardworking and industrious people on earth. Some of them do crazy stuff but then they are human just like you.
Quit being tribalistic. Your kind is one of the problems of Nigeria.

brown said...

Its a really sad story
I just dont understand the punishment for the crime tho its too grevious
But then again thats the rule of the country and so to each his own

On the flip side its easy to cry blue murder
We all know what drugs do to people,lives,families ,generations it literally kills

So I guess thats why these countries dont hesitate to deal with pedllers like this

to Anonymous@8:07PM- yes, we Nigerians may be the some of the most hypocritical Africans you have ever come across but at least we know the ills of our country and we are now willing to work to correct these. Yes, we may spend all of our sundays in the church but at least we are not out carrying guns killing other people. You state that you are not Nigeria, so really you are not in any position to tell us the state our graduates are in. Even the the US, I have seen graduates from American universities working their asses off as street cleaners to pay off their student debts. We Nigerians may be hypocrites but Americans are the biggest hypocrites on earth; in America, you are nothing if you don't have money, so I know for a fact that you guys worship money a lot. You guys also have a reputation for being very stupid (you can just ask any Englishman what he thinks of the average American); you guys are also the fattest people in the world (just look at those talk shows where people whine on about how hard they have tried to lose weight) and you are also one of the most racist nations in the world (you can ask Rupert Murdoch's daughter why she and her Ghanaian ex-husband had to leave the US and moved to London because of the virulent racism they experienced there). Americans are also very vindictive people, judging by the way they keep harping on about Lockerbie even though the US navy shot down an Iranian aircraft full of innocent civilian passengers in the 1980s and the commander of the ship was called a hero by the US government at the time.

look at the idiots that sheepishly talk about Igbos and crime. WE ALL KNOW THE REAL REASON WHY IGBOS ARE TREATED THE WAY THEY ARE IN NIGERIA, TO WHERE MANY OF THEM EITHER HAVE TO LEAVE THEIR LAND OR THE COUNTRY TO GET GOOD JOBS.
anywho...the reason why i asked "is Nigeria that bad" because there seems to be Nigerians in countries that are doing FAR WORSE than Nigeria. why should someone migrate to a country that is no better, if not worse, than your own? is it the "traveling out" syndrome that many Nigerians suffer from?

@anonymous 10:34 PM, you have said it all. people are so quick to point out the woes in Nigeria and paint foreigners as this, that, and the other, but they are simply blinded and brainwahsed to believe westerners can never be worse than Nigerians/Africans, etc.
I've experienced this a lot. and some of my cousins in Nigeria that have this warped perception of Americans (i think they've been watching too many Hollywood movies) and i always have to tell them how it REALLY goes down and they are usually surprised.

@anonymous 4:59 pm, you are full of shit! Igbos living in poverty and the states not being governed well? UH, NEWS FLASH, THAT CAN BE SAID AND IS TRUE FOR ALL OF NIGERIA! poverty? the people that suffer the most from poverty are the middle belt and the north, so dont give me that crap. when it comes to productive people and literacy, the north comes in dead last behind southerners, especially eastern and south-south states.

@7:10 PM, thank you. if anyone has been to Owerri, Enugu, or even Umuahia, they will see it for themselves. the east is like any other part of Nigeria. you have the nice cities and you have the rural areas. so wtf is that idiot talking about?

Uche said...

@Ms J- U obviously have a lousy problem , you should be getting ur warped up facts right not with u concocting 'B/S' stories of 5000bucks for the unskilled labour of packing debris in Japan- sucker!!! Did u know that the Japanese govt has one of the strictest criteria for granting employment to non-citizens in the whole world , well I bet u did not esp with ur very myopic and somewhat parochial views!!!!

when will these people learn that there is no short-cut to making money?

I worry about Nigerians because no one cares about those who are languishing is Western jails..

There are so many of them due to pure greed and illiteracy.

2 Nigerian Ibo boys were killed like chickens in Thailand recently. Nigerian government did not even collect their bodies. While the Western embassies collected their own corpse.

A Nigerian girl was hung in Malaysia despite the plea for mercy from the God-fearing Nigerian ambassador..no one cared and the Nigerian government did nothing.

Nigerians stop dabbling in these things! At the least the Westerners who get caught are usually drug addicts who are trying to feed their habit. What is our excuse?? Nothing good can come out of it.

Go to school, learn a trade, be content..

Mma said...

Correction..Condone not condole
My bad..lol

As far as I'm concerned capital punishment should NEVER be an option. No human being deserves to die like that. He should get a fair trial and if he's found guilty he needs to serve jail time. The Nigerian government needs to intervene to make sure his human rights are protected. Not justifying what he did but no one deserves to die like this. I really hope the government is notified about this. *sigh*

babeandahalf said...

The Nigerian government ordinarily should get to work and attempt to negotiate on behalf of its citizen. Even if the govt were so inclined, unfortunately, the elections have got everyone distracted in a country where multi-tasking is asking too much.

victim of Nigerian's govt. neglect indeed, I hate it when people use that words, you become a victim when you allow urself to be one, government cannot fend for all its citizen, abeg he had a choice of doing something else rather than involving himself in drug business. Hope they cancel the death sentence sha.

'Wale Ekundayo said...

everyone that left a comment on this blog should read through again and we'll all find out that we seem to be all patriotic just that we choose to go about things differently....tribalism has killed us and all no thanks to our leaders...but we will do better....God bless Nigeria

actually no matter what this guy did i donot think he deserves to die...habba i donot know why people would come here and say stuffs like to be fore warned is to be fore armed....mtcheww can any of you create an ant? yet all of you support the killing of another....in this world i feel no one deserves to die we all have the right to live....i donot understand this world anymore....nowadays people derive joy in the death of another...

ANNO 4.59PM, U ARE VERY STUPID, WHT HAS IGBO GOT TO DO WITH ANYTHING. WE VOTED FOR PDP N U STUPED SOUTH WEST VOTED FRO TINUBU AND YET TO KNOW D DIFF. I DON'T KNOW WHY U GUYS ARE ALWAYS DGARRING D IGBO COMMUNITY IN ANY STUPID WRITEUP. IDIOT

Unless what is reported is false, the drug was caught with the wife yet she gets a life sentence while the guy gets executed? That to me just doesn't sound right. did he even get a fair trial?? I feel bad for the guy and and his family, not condoning his actions but i don't think it's worth losing his life over.

I really do hope it comes to the government's attention or UN or anybody sha that is in a position to help him. Send him back to Naija to get tried or something but executing the guy is just absurd.

I just thought about this some more and i'm very mad. Aaaaaargh! stuff like this makes me re-consider law school. As in, How can you kill someone for drugs that allegedly belonged to him. It was probably his drug but they were found on his wife, if anything he should have gotten the life sentence. wait, life sentence for carry heroine still sounds absurd to me. the punishment doesn't fit the crime at all ni.
Government olori ike ta de ni o ni se anything, poor guy, ka ni american ni, mo jeri won, won ma ti intervene. I pray for a better Nigeria with elected officials that care about Nigerians home and abroad.

Ms. J said...

@ Uche... thank you for all the cheiftancy titles.. my facts are right, it is you who should get yours right! I was in Japan few months ago, I have very good friends, living about 2km from Sendai.. a lot of people are fleeing the area including some of my friends, and the country needs the labour.. it is not rocket science!! what do you even think the average labourer get in Japan? thats a research topic for you prof. Uche

ChiChiLuv said...

Are the Vietnamese/South East Asian countries right to kill a human over a drug offense? In my personal opinion, no because it is inhumane but guess what,when in Rome, do as the Romans! Why would a person go to a country and not respect the laws of the land but when it is time to pay the price for violating those laws, he and everyone else begin to cry and beg? Why? These Asian countries ARE NOT VAGUE about how they feel about drugs and they are NOT VAGUE about the consequences so abeg, all of these people crying about his soul etc have you asked him if he had thought about the souls of those to whom he would have sold the drug? They do no discriminate, if you are American, British, Vietnamese, Russian, Nigerian, you are going down if they find you with drugs so why tempt the devil?

THIS IS NOT NIGERIA, WHERE THERE'S NO LAW AND ORDER.

It's as simple as this, when you go to another country, follow the rules and regulations, if you can't and break the law then you pay for whatever comes with it.

I will not condone 419 scamming, drug trafficking, prostitution or any illegal acts. People always act like oh, he/she didn't have choice, there's always a way out. But some Nigerians are too greedy and want the FAST MONEY.

Lase said...

OMG!!!! You guys are so judgemental. Never point a finger if you haven't walked in the other person shoes. You don't know the reason or intention behind his actions. Carrying drugs is not good but you don't know what led to it. You guys need to stop judging with your feet and try to approach everything with mercy. Whether or not he carried drugs, that still does not warrant his death, not to talk of by firing squad. It is really sad and I pray the Lord has mercy on Him. Him carrying grugs and you lying, makes both of you sinners so you're not better than him in any way. Your so called high morals will not get you into heaven, it is only Jesus Christ. So if he gives his life to Christ before he dies, he will still make heaven.

to the IBo Accusing idiots,i wish u well bot no matter how hard you push it or try,u can neva be as hardworkning as the ibo man.wat has this issue got to do with Ibo's and PDP,u ass.it could happen o anyone atall,humans are guilty of all crimes,wasnt it a yoruba pastor they just sentenced to prison after sleeping with underaged bois?abi havent u heard of other crimes "nigerians" commit and u must be a very big fool for involving the PDP in this coz 'm sure u are one of thos they pay to dance around for their campaigns,hungry little soul.get ur acts together and watch wot u say.anyways i nor blame u sha,na wetin cheap internet coz.Anu Mpama...Ignorant fool!

@anon.8.07pm,whr are 4rm?wish i knw so i can address ur sori ass.U ARE MORON IN D HIGHEST DEGREE! IF U DNT HV BETA TINS 2 SAY SHUT UR FUCKIN SMELLING TRAP! FOOL! ANU OHIA! BET U ARE A WHIGHT BROOK ASS BITCH!!

DAN said...

i know ikenna very well , when iam there in vietnam-govt should help him many of the people living in the so-call vietnam are decieve into going to that country with hope of getting a job which is no where to be found.people can grab any opportunity to make it there or they die trying becos many borrowed money to be there , some sold there inheritance how do they face those people that hang there hope on them on coming back .i thank GOD who led me out of there our govt, should be blame even in their poverty vietnam is a million times better than nigeria in terms of infrastructure , economy and standerd of living, I WILL BE HOME FOR REVOLUTION THAT WHAT WILL SAVE THIS KIND OF MESS

Angry Reader said...

I am not in anyway defending what he did but for goodness sakes, his wife that was caught wasn't sentenced to death. This is racism or sexism. Maybe even both!