Prince Gbegi Ojora dies at 50 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 14 April 2011

Prince Gbegi Ojora dies at 50

Prince Gbegi Ojora - August 29, 1960 - April 10, 2011
Prince Adegoyega 'Gbegi' Ojora, the first son of Otunba Adekunle and Erelu Ojuolape Ojora, has died. He died on Sunday April 10, 2011 at First Consultant Hospital, Ikoyi, where he had had driven himself to after participating actively in the Saturday 9th NASS elections.

The cause of his death is still unclear but close friends say he died from liver complications.

Until his death, Gbegi was a lawyer by training and a businessman with interest in banking, telecommunications and  insurance. He's survived by his aged parents, sibblings, wife and a child. 
May his soul rest in peace...amen.

39 comments:

may his soul rest in peace

deeflamez said...

So sad. RIP

Adebola said...

Rest in Peace Sir!!

cindy said...

RIP what a sad news
Linda am tired of this ur blog it seems u are less interested in bringing stories .my huby use to say i am a mumu 4 visiting this blog too often,now i beleive him.u are more interested in reality show ,and Nokia for abt 4 days u hve not done little or nothing.sigh mmcheew

Chilling said...

Thanks for announcing it Linda. His parents, siblings, wife, children and close ones are utterly shattered by his death. Gboyega, you lived your life to the max and may you rest in the bosom of the Lord.

Ms. J said...

Linda Ikeji said...

@Cindy, I have a life outside of this blog...I run a business, i'm working on a reality show, i'm producing a TV show, i go to the movies, I hang out with friends...and i do the best i can with this blog..so give me some credit ok.

Half the time I'm exhausted, but i still find time to bring stories here, so i don't appreciate ur comment.

I can barely keep my eyes open right now but I'm here trying to blog so, keep the mmcheew to urself abeg...

Nice answer Linda.I am very sure Cindy doesn't have a job, cos if she did she wouldn't have said that.and also since she needs gist by the hour, maybe she shld write a book or better still start her own blog...pls leave our Linda alone Jared..it's not easy..

@ Cindy

na wah o! you dey vex for Linda bcos she no update her own blog so you can do gbegborun . . why dont you go and create a blog??

Kayhe said...

RIP my prayers with his family.

@Linda. yes ur trying with the stories u giv on ur blogg. but all the same, i tink you responded harshly to cindly. You would have given her your reply in a way that wont av sounded too aggrssive especially u wud av avoided ur last sentence.
Dont forget ur a public figure. No matter wot happens public figures are xpected to be calm.
Am sure, if you saw any public figure act the way you reacted to cindy, you wud av blogged the person.
So pls, next time, act more civil
And tanks for always finding out time to give us stories. I enjoy ur stories. wELL DONE
AND Cindy, i undastnd how much you love this blogg thats why ur always xpecting linda to always give stories all the time. But dont forget dat, she also needs to do other things she loves doing.

love said...

Linda, there will always be people who are just simply UNGRAEFUL, so just ignore them.

You are doing a good job,keep it up. Thank you.

muero_ebony said...

Lindy, dat comment was abit rude.

linds, you really shdnt bother to reply to all comments, if cindy is not happy cindy does not have to come to your blog! shikena

brown said...

Oh wow this is so sad
like it hit a nerve real bad
I feel so sorry for the parents,wife,kids yeye ojuolape in particular
no mother should bury her child
rest in peace gbegi

Linda you are too sensitive.

I'm sure Cindy didn't mean for her statement to come off like that....even if she meant it, you could have taken the higher ground by being civil.

RIP Prince Ojora. May you find eternal peace, amen.

Linda,I think Cindy was that way bc she really loves ur blog. Come to think of it, she may actually have been not serious but felt that way when written. We understand that u have a life outside this blog, but we also feel that to whom much is given, much is expected.

anonymous 3.38 you are totally correct. First off,What a harsh response. who begged you to blog? or you're doing someone a favor?? I had long said i'd stop reading this crappy blog and spend my time positively, yyou've given me a reason to.

well i think Cindy deserved dat comment from linda. at least she was nt forced to read from the blog.we shd at least show some appreciations and nt the other way round.

Linda Ikeji said...

OK, u guys I'm sorry, didn't mean to be harsh. I'm just exhausted...barely slept well in the last two days...

@Cindy, sorry dear. will try and bring more stories

Surprise said...

LInda, pls take it easy, commenters are always right. Pls ignore any provocative commenter rather than give it to him / her straight like that. She seems to be an addict of your blog and her hubby is mumuing her that's why I think she reacted that way.

Ola said...

Gbegi Ojora was one of my role models in corporate Nigeria. Wealthy but simple man who just went about his business and being nice to all. Reading tributes in his memorial site just brought tears to my eyes. RIP sir.

mr gbegi ojora....may your gently soul rest in peace. and may God give the family the heart to bear this huge loss. amen.

this is the DNA of the blognews and sadly cindy, linda and their supporters are turning this into a 'you do me...l do you' charade. so sad.

May his soul rest in perfect peace!
I feel so sorry for his parents,I always admire them...
I pray that our parents do not bury us,we will the one to bury them when they are old n feeble in Jesus name.
What a very sad news!

'Mide!

Linda, you should be lucky that only the likes of 'silly-cindy' got you mad. What of idiots that think other people should not run blogs at all?

Abeg! Just ignore such comments. Some people are too low for my reply. As they say, don't argue with a fool because people might not notice the difference.

Cindy is a bored housewife.

No parent deserves to bury his/her child.
Was shocked to hear that he had battled this ailment for over 6 years.
May his wife and son find solace in the grace that only God gives.
I also remember less privileged ones who are facing similar predicaments at this point in time.
Mr. Ojora was one rich man who was effortlessly classy.
His type are rare in this society.
May God comfort his family.

Linda, Just give Cindy a job so she can help keep the blog up and running, then she won't be so bored. Hahahahahaha. Remember though that the customer is always right. You need to be professional in the face of provocation.

Cindy no vex sha na stress dey cause this problem ok. No pick offence

this linda sef...you are soooo unprofessional, yet you want to be treated and awarded accolades as if you act professionally. someoen gave you feedback and you came back sounding off as if your blogging is charity. biko shut up, u blog cos you make somee change off of it, and you need us to keep coming back here to make that change otherwise, that's end of ur blog so be thankful you have readers...we shouldn't be thanking you for blogging. Your news, we fit get elsewhere, so yeah, kneel down and thank us for hitting refresh for updates and coming back her to drive traffic that helps you rake some change here and there

Good answer Linda.
Too many haters Linda..Mwaahh..you go girl!

Eternally grateful said...

No Parent deserves to bury his/her child for sure!...Last year i buried my 3 year old son. I am grateful to God for the priviledge of having had him, but i'd have given anything to see him live till 50.I also pray that God grants me mercy to live up to 50...that's some 12 years away.
RIP Gbegi

A fine gentle man,may his soul rest in peace.

kuchi kuchi said...

May he RIP

Been reading this blog for a few years now..and never commented.

Firstly may uncle gbegis soul rest in perfect perfect peace.

Secondly @ETERNALLY GRATEFUL...your comment made me burst into tears.
I CANNOT begin to imagine what it was like for you.
BUT i know the pain of losing someone very close.My sister.....but the pain of a child i know would be different.
may God rest your Childs soul.
Amen.

A

solaye said...

linda ve lost every respect i had 4 u,wat was dat?cindy jst made comment nd u had to react dat way?awwh...na wa o?wat re u feeling like if she doesn't like or njoying wat u do,she wont cum here nd pls u re doing nobody a favour,witout ur readers u wud ve been long 4gotten.smh!!!!! abegggggi
c

ps.if u like post am if u like no post am na ur cup of tea @cindy bone her,check other blogs jare,e be like say d tin dey enter her head long hisssssssssssssss

Abeg u people should give Linda some space. Cindy, get yourself something else to do, take care of ur husband or kids, read books, watch TV or sleep. There will always be people like us who will appreciate Linda any day. Can u try this ob bella's blog? is it becos Linda is so down to earth? Pls show her some respect, like she said, she needed to REST.
Pls Linda, ignore them as much as u can. u re a great lady and i respect u.
ME

Linda,

Some people say nasty things to you (hoping that you will react the way you reacted towards cindy)so they can get an excuse to say you are rude and unclassy. That's all theyre looking for.

Please be nice and civil in your responses (if you have to respond at all). You have kept your head up this far..until yesterday.

Some of us understand you are human and more than half of the people on this blog cannot take most of the things said to you...yet they expect you to be the Nigerian superwoman.

Anyway, I'm sure you'll be ok - dont let us get under ur skin ok? ..keep ur head up as usual. I KNOW you did not start this blog to make money, it was solely for fun. Yes, now you make money of it..who wouldnt want that??

And I support deleting comments with foul languages and curse words.

peace & love.

Olu

Dera said...

Rest in Peace Prince Ojora... This world indeed isn't our world.. we come and go. You lived a good life. May the Almighty God grant you rest in his bossom. Linda, good job your doing with this blog. i have three blogs which i started at different times, but abandoned. Running a blog and trying so much to keep it updated is indeed a herculean task. Thumbs up. And for the one who wants updates by the hour, she could check up news sites or better still buy City People magazine every monday... and other soft-sell magazines, that will be enough stories to read up. And Linda good for you to apologise. For the person who said "commenters are always right".. i laugh.. and who propounded that theory?? As human beings that we are, we can have natural outburst when people aren't satisfied with our efforts. its a human behavior... public figure or not. Commenters should respect themselves and mind what they comment, that way... everyone will be at peace with themselves...

RIP Gbegi Ojora.

As for those whoa are citicizing Linda... i have this to say to you all.. 'Shame on you all". For deep inside you, hypocisy thrives. if you were in her shoes, you will do worse.. because the words contained in ur comments have exposed you already. If you dont want to visit her blog again, then bounce and get a life. Lets see if you will never come here again. Thats how they say Nigeria is bad and Leaders are bad... As if they, themselves are good. Some Nigerians can be unreasonably foolish at times

So Linda is human after all.
I wonder if that comment would have seen the light of the day on bella naija.