Photo of the day... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 10 April 2011

Photo of the day...

Several Nigerians queueing for the new Nigerian passport at the Nigerian Embassy sometime last week. The old passport will become invalid April 30th of this year. You now have to get the new E-Passport also known as the Ecowas passport to travel.

10 comments:

Chilling said...

Why wait for the deadline especially when we know the High Commission (i guess this is London as i can see the Bobbys) is a stressful place to go to? I heard some people have been given at least 7 months to come back for it.

see line!!! luckily i did mine early last year to avoid the queue at the london office.

i apply for mine in january and my appointment for interview is june,can u imagine..it a really shame. ve never been to dis stupid office but i knw alot ppl goin n coming back wit negative experience.
They ask some ppl to get a letter frm british office if they ve right to stay in uk...so for 2 get a passport of ur country i need an approval frm oyinbo, dis ppl re just fools. some ppl pay as much as £600 almost (150,000naira) bcause dey re desperate.
it a real business for oluwole boys in london. trust me i will not pay 1p for any1, my british passport never expire n stil ve old pali.
my hairdresser was there last week wit her baby just bcause shes not ready to tip anyone she was sent away after waiting for 6month.
i pray wit power changing thing will get better.

Thanks alot linda for bringing dis to attention, ve sent diff letters and mail to thier boss without any response.
God bless u girlfriend xxx

I got mine at the Nigerian Embassy in New York City two years ago when my old passport was expiring. I wonder why some people procastinated till the last minute. The ECOWAS passport is nice looking though and looks very legit.

The deadline for obtaining the E-passport has been extended from April 30th 2011 indefinitely. I just saw this on the Website of the Nigerian consulate in Atlanta, I was actually planning on making a trip to ATL to get the new passport next week and decided to check on their website and saw this great news, my MRP passport is valid till 2014 so till then it's hasta la vista.

link: http://nigeria-consulate-atl.org/site/?p=668

Linda,

The situation in this report is a child's play to what happened in Manchester, United Kingdom.

The situation was so chaotic that Greater Manchester Police had to enter the premises of The Nigeria House, Manchester to restore order.

It was a show of shame. Enough said!

Janyl Benyl said...

Why do people just enjoy pushing things until it's the dire minute. I did mine since 2008... so what are they saying? that they didn't hear about this since? SMDH

All of you people saying, why did people wait until the last minute, do you know that e-passport wasn't processed at all Nigerian embassies and consulates (I don't even know if all are doing it yet). I applied for mine when I lived in Atlanta, and was told I would have to go to New york to get it, only for me to make plans (take 2 days off work) make arrangements for flight and accommodation. Then when I followed up before my trip, I was told the machine to do them was out of order... Utter and complete BS. Thankfully I processed it when I got to Lagos, after 2 years of trying abroad.

Shipalaba said...

@Chilling, that isn't NHC London o! There is scarfolding at the NHC London, and Nigerian, are expected to stay under it forming Q. Health and safety, no concern people wey dey inside.

Shebabe... haba its nt dat bad oo... did mine today, altho had to wait 6mnths for an appointment. Got to d embassy @ 9.30 nd left @ 3pm, didnt pay any dime either!