Giant Nigerian snails seized and destroyed at Los Angeles Airport | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 15 July 2014

Giant Nigerian snails seized and destroyed at Los Angeles Airport

Officials of the Los Angeles International Airport have seized and destroyed a consignment of 67 African snails sent from Nigeria to a resident in the US, saying the snails are poisonous and highly destructive. The snail consignment arrived in the States from Nigeria on July 1st in a blue basket pictured above.

The snails according to the U.S. Department of Agriculture are prohibited because they can carry parasites that are harmful to humans, including one that can lead to meningitis. They also say it can destroy local crops. Continue...

Maveeda Mirza, the U.S Customs and Border Protection  program manager say they are investigating why an individual would want to consume such an amount of deadly snails.

"We're investigating what happened, but it doesn't seem like there was smuggling involved. When someone doesn't know a commodity is prohibited under USDA regulations there is usually no punishment," she said.

90 comments:

www.doziehaul@gmail.com said...

Na wa oooo...

Eugenia Ekeji said...

There's nothing these people won't investigate about. I tire o. Is it not when it is let out that it can become harmful?

67 SNAILS...... HW LONG DOES DAT PERSON WANNA EAT DEM???

CUM BACK HOME ND ENJOY D MEAL HERE.........

Moye B

Thoroughly investigatn pls. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

ewooooo... see better african meat done waste.. nawaa for this oyibo pple oooo. bt when they come here as xpertrates we offer them this same snail and theyll eat and so njoi it. hypocrites... shioor

By the way,Nigerian authorities, if u like you people should allow EBOLA to enter nigeria. Mumus

Bosslady said...

Mmmmm....na wa ooo...

Not fair abeg,what's the problem

#BRING BACK OUR SNAILS!!!

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Snails ke...nd dey sell it in d market like water

Plz visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Michael said...

Awww, that's a wasted effort and money right there.

yummy snails..patoswife@gmail.com

dem dey crazy??? if na my own dey will pay...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Awwww! See better meat.
Grilled snail with enough sauce. *lickslips*

Hmmmm,if those snails were truely deadly,then, thank God for the lives of the people that would have consumed the snails if they not destroyed.

Souljagurl said...

No be the snails wey we de chop for naija here everyday? *DelicacyTins Lol!!! Abi person wan wicked another @ this particular juncture? Is alryt!

Jessica law said...

Hia I think Nigeria should start to ban some of their food been imported here too.

Ewoo! Its nt fair oh....anyways since dey prohibit it. Hmmm give me snail anyday.

fresh food are usually not allowed in most countries abeg so no b news. their law stands to protect their environment and wateva, so if anyone can't cope mek dem sit their ass down for naija chop basket load of snail without permission biko.

If na for naija dey for don bribe their officials but snails are not that bad nw....

Lmao,so snail is now poisnous...F*cking hilarious

LOL

The US is always on red alert.
Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

For those of you that eat snail anyhow here,u better make research before landing your self in trouble.

#################GOD bless################Naija

Mtcheeeeeew! Wats wrong wit dat na!

mikeadji96@gmail.com said...

Choiii...see work of devil baaa....after those huge snails don dey happy say them don enter their promise land next thing na their destruction follow...smh that's just sad

darkelcee said...

this is the most hilarious mail i have ever read on Linda's blog.

It brings to mind that song....''Police yee he's committing suicide oh. the back man wey dey here is committing suicide oh eehh''

White are stupid, if that snail is from America they will praise it and tell u how good it is.now is from nigeria , is very destructive and causes minigitis.God go punish them.

Lol dey re joking dats d best meat I knw...

Am sure it's for sale, even at that the quantity is too much to be air freighted

DOBY DOBY said...

Only if dey knw hw we feed on snails here..

Apparently disease no dey kill black man because from time immemorial Benin people don dey chop snail them never die finish! Oyibo just dey use their body judge black man own!

Dis ppl and thr wahala... Well, its kinda good sha, you protect your own

Lol, he can remove d shell, wash dem all and preserve in d fridge..

Hmmmm ok nxt

They want to taste snail......simple english,"pls cn we take some"they re using dis grammer to confuse UMU NAIJA wey dey der,,,,I tire ooo

Ara ga agwa ndi ara nwannem!!!Do they know how much those delicacies cost,and the nutrients they just wasted?Arrant nonsense!#thereIsGodoo

Why una dey shout? Una think say America be like naija where anything fit enter and go out? It's a place where things are done within the confines of the law for the benefit of its citizens.

Na wa ooO wetin pple wan eat 4 deir belle no b sai dem wan put am 4 farm...mtcheew...

i live in the Bay area and just paid almost $50 for 2 packs...now i see why snail cost arm and leg oooo

big money wasted. chaiiiiiii

Naija self no dey try,why sending snails?

NaNcY DreW said...

LMAO buh serzly wat has dis snails don, I blive d only crime of dis snails is bcuz dey re 4rm 9geria, American pple like 2 investigate so tia den no let my cousins carry SUYA and KILISHE as harmless and swt as d tin be. No let dem enter US na airport den dey chop d tin dat 9t.

#King said...

Dis white pple..crazy af..see snail wey dem don destroy nw..I luv snail...............................#KingOfKings

crew said...

Truly, there is a dangerous specie of snails......maybe these ones happen to be so

If na for personal consumption, dey for grill am wella, tie am for newspaper b4 dem send am. My cousins do it. It's bcos they're still alive.

Nigerians eat anything. Remember we don't have research centres or labs. God is merciful to Nigeria. If Mad cow disease had happened in Nigeria, most Nigerians would have died. We need to know what we eat and the source. I recently heard that plantains are ripened using engine oil! Can you imagine that! We are killing ourselves. No wonder Nigeria currently has a rise in cancer cases.

Lol.... #bring back our snails!!!! ? I can't stop laughing here o. How Snails come be poison? Continue your investigation mbok!

I agree with you on that buh if they say it's risky to some people's health then we can't do anything about it. www.firstclassexclusive.blogspot.com

Hype9ja.com said...

#AmericaWillKnow that the snails are dangerous..... Funny

OH MARIO GOTZE! WHAT IS THAT UNDER YOUR PANT?

Supermom said...

haters-slayer said...

jamb ??????

Oyinbo with their too know. Make dem pack well Jare. See how they spoil correct meat with big grammar. Anyway, dia is God o. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Lmao!

AMIJEZ said...

Yes, most countries dont allow such in their country. Am sure its one of those fake courier companies that sent it. Before you send anything abroad, enquire what they accept /reject in their country. My mum doesn't joke with that thing.

Na wa seize snails? these Americans on my last trip they destroyed boxes of Indomie chicken saying it was chicken rubbish.

SouthEastern said...

Yeah it happens. Being a victim once at the BWI airport but my was common noodles(indomie noodles) with chicken flavor, Their excuse was Nigeria had bird flu and the noodles could be contaminated. They sized the whole thing and I was like what the hell its my money going down the drain and no one cares.

#God answers all prayers#
Happy moments - Praise God, Difficult moments-Seek God,
Quiet moments -Worship God, Painful moments-Trust God,
Every moment - Thank God.

TrimAndHealthyGuy.Com said...

How on earth could they say that?What do this ppl take us for?So Nigerians have been eating poisonous snails all along and we have not registered any deaths?America weldone.

NOELLA said...

DID HE CARRY LIVE SNAILS?? IF SO ITS A CONTRABAND...ME I FRY MY SNAILS VERY WELL AND PACK THEM NEATLY..THEY DONT EVEN SEE IT...BUT SERIOUSLY CARRYING SNAKES IN TWO BASKETS HABA..WAS IT A MARKET WOMAN..NO ATTEMPT TO HIDE IT.. THEY KNOW US AT ALL AIRPORTS AND WILL ASK DO U HAVE EGUSI CRAYFISH OGILI.EVEN MAGGI IS A SERIOUS CONTRABAND..THESE ARE OYIBO PPL AND MEXICANS....

Me wey wan come carry abacha travel nko? #thinkingdeeply

Ifeoma Adeyinka said...

What is harmful and poisonous in these snails now? They will be looking for what is not lost.

Anyway, they should deport the snails back to 9ja, I am eagerly waiting to consume them: poisonous or not!

#Americashouldbringbackoursnail

CHIKITO said...

HAHAHA MY AFRICA, OH AFRICA, YOU ARE THE ONLY ONE WHOSE FOOD IS MISSING ON THE WORLD'S MAP. WHEN WHEN WHEN SHALL YOU RE-PACKAGE AND EXPORT YOUR OWN TASTES SO THAT THE WORLD WILL KNOW ABOUT YOUR DELICACIES?

I hope Nigeria gets this strict.
.....ZAMANIAN.....

But ndi igbo ekele m'unu.
.....ZAMANIAN.....

Please who's saying 67 snails are 2 much. At least 20snails go into an average pot of soup for a family. N they might want to make oda pots of soup wit time.

driela1on1 said...

see meat for the past 2 years i have been dreaming of snail this ppl for give me the thing make i helep them dispose am

lmfao.ur so funny

Na Wa oooo. (Linda's Man)

LWKMD!

"Na only 67 snails waka come?"

True. If you want someone to receive it here, cook it first. Once it is brought in live, it means you are thinking a=of propagating it and there are no natural enemies or predators to curb its propagation.
It is presently running wild in Florida. I wish I lived there, I would have thought it a dutty lesson

dhobiz said...

So we wey dey eat am done die of meningitis finish naa,nmtchew

This white people sef...

Faith Ogaga said...

See as beta meat just waste!!! Dis onyinbo people sef !!! LSR 916 CG Golf 3 army green...tx

joy Egbunu said...

Oh gawd! See better wack for man pikin wasted for nurrin!

Αℓℓ this things wey we dey chop sef... Odikwa egwu!

This is gross. How were these snails preserved on such a lengthy journey? Not everything should be shipped, and why send them in plastic baskets? Like who ships anything in plastic baskets? Bizarre all over.

www.doziehaul@gmail.com said...

Anon 6:21 think am well

Linda, i need a job seriously, i am a lady of 28years, OND in Business management and B.Sc in Agric Science, i seriously need a job, i stay in ogba, Lagos and my number is 08132073089, please call or text me if you have any job for me. thanks.

Lawd!!!!see snail wey we dey find that's wot this people are wasting...nothing person no go see 4 where these oyibo dey lol

Snails are really bad bacteria hosts! The fact that we eat them and don't get sick is partly cos of immune we've grown through our great grannies. Americans who just start to come across snails may get sick easily and die. A white guy classmate of mine contacted meningitis and died just after a day even though he was treated in a top 10 hospital in the US!

Oyibo!

US Chicken we den dey use chlorine wash no dey poisonous abi. all their farm crops wey Monsanto don use chemical SOAK no dey poisonous abi. DIA IS GOD O

Snail, dem for do am well na, hw u go tink say dem go allow am wit dis two baskets..

C.E.O

Nikki okechukwu said...

America believe they are spies thats why they are investigating.

It is for health reasons, you know unlike Nigerians they care for their own.

LEEZ said...

#Bring back our Snails biko!! Investigate wetin kwanu??? Hian!

Chidi said...

Lol........These white people and their wahala. Am sure whoever owns them must have finished getting ready for sumptous meal. na im be say we all get the poision

At the beginning, God said this animal though its very good for its reason of creation but its not good as food. People wont hear. Thank God people have starting researching and realizing that these animals that God called unclean are really unclean and not good as food.
See Leviticus 11:1-47