HRH Danjuma Banyonga now Ambassador for Peace... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 15 March 2014

HRH Danjuma Banyonga now Ambassador for Peace...

The rich culture of the Donga people of Taraba State was on display penultimate week. The occasion was when His Highness, Dr. Danjuma Banyonga MFR. Garbosa 111, Gara Donga, was appointed as Ambassador for Peace of United Nation’s-Polac.

It was a unique gathering as UN-Polac Mayor for Peace, Mr Lucky Igbokwe  (Don Lulu) presented the Gara Donga with the medal of honor and plaque as the latest UN-Polac Ambassador for Peace. Continue...

Mr. Igbokwe who represented the International President Obong Dr. Halo B. Eton,JP,MP,  said the first class chief of the Donga,  was chosen based on his track record as a peace maker of note.  Expectedly, the event  was witnessed by eminent personalities within and outside the state, which had the acting Governor, Alhaji Garba Umar represented by the commissioner for Justice and Attorney General, Barrister Musa Tende.
In his speech, “The Acting governor reiterated the importance of peace in any community and said the recognition was a symbolic gesture reflecting the Gara Donga as an embodiment of peace”. He further called on the people to continue to emulate his ideals for an even development as only at peace time that development is assured.

He also urged the people of Donga to learn from the history of wars and always ensure peace in their domain as a tool for development.

In his acceptance speech the Gara Donga expressed appreciation to the Trustees of UN-Polac and UNESCO for finding him worthy of the appointment. He described it as an added impetus to several awards on peace in the past while pledging to justify the confidence reposed on him.

his words: “I am honoured to be so recorgnised and by UNESCO and UN-Polac. For this honour I promise to continue to make peace as a way of life.”

As a mark of respect and unity among the people of Donga, several cultural troupes reflecting its diversity, came out in their large numbers to entertain the eminent guests.

39 comments:

Sylvonce said...

Everybody is naw a peace ambassador

Congrat to him #bright bravo#

Desmond 2 d G said...

*Whistling*

Reveal Managements said...

Don Lulu of 2flame ENT I sight you my broda (UN POLAC MAYOR OF PEACE)

last baby said...

Good for them.

Abeg linda u dey try, for modelling to newscaster I hail u oh.

Nice one...

Peace in the North remains to be seen

yeah but it is a good affort

That King must be outstanding to have been recognized by the United Nations

Mr Martin Igbokwe, sounds familiar...

how did they hold this ceremony amidst the violence in the North East? some people get mind o. fear no go let me stay for such gathering.

I hope all these bring the needed peace in the land because this killing is getting out of hand.

Tired Of Fake Hairs??? Grab 24 inches Indian or Brazilian 100% Human Hair for just 19k and 16 inches for 15k. Promo ends soon. Other types also available. Ping now   2B6C82C7

Don Lulu! that the Don himself... thie guy don go ooo... United Nations Ambassador for Peace? na wha o! since when na. Don Lulu the main man.

Congratulatn HRH Danguma

FDJ

A̶̲̥̅♏ watching..........

As an indegiene of Taraba State,i am proud and happy with the laudable achievements of his majesty Dr Danjuma Bayonga,Gara of Donga on the award and for maintaining peace in the area.

AnnMarie said...

everybody is now an ambassador

congrats to the king of my village...

Say so via s3x talk and s3x gists

ZeeZee said...

everyone na peace ambassador

Niiice! Congratulations to the Gara!

Zenki brown said...

Congrat

what is this un-polac?

Lilyan said...

I am so proud of you Lucky, you are a worthy UN-Polac Ambassador for peace, You make us Abians proud. Nice one! :)

Is this UN POLAC recognised by the United Nations. No reference to it is made on the UN website. All web searches show it is just a Nigerian thing, not an international thing.

All pictures on the website show only Nigerians in Nigeria, nothing with the UN Sec Gen, or any UN diplomat or any picture of the UN Polac people at any UN building anywhere in the world.

No UN or Unesco official at this event, just some people with their "peace" hats.

All addresses are in Nigeria, no international addresses.

Is this UN Polac for real or is it something else......

How oblivious can u get? An official representative of the UN is Mr Martin Igbokwe himself who handed the kind the honor and title. If it was illegal and not recognized u think the UN as big as it is would just let people walk around giving themselves titles and impersonating them without challenging the Nigerian government? This event is not a secret, it has gotten massive publicity even on national television. These individuals are not hiding, they are honorable Nigerians acknowledged by the UN. If u have to be an idiot, be a patriotic idiot and be proud of Nigeria and Nigerians achieving international recognition. Thank you Mr foolish Nigeria.

Na so so evrybdy dey becom ambassador now for nigeria... Mak dem try consider me sef nah, am readily available

Good for him.

Before you start throwing insults, use your common sense, this organisation claims to a UN affiliate and yet you cant point to any UN affiliation apart from a bunch of Nigerians. I would have expected a certificate or something from the UN to be on their website at least.

Do not use the assumption that because one person is respectable, the whole organisation is respectable.

Bernie Maddoff was a respectable Investment Banker, he was at the top of New Yorks A list, everyone (alomst all the pension funds and wealthy families with their trust funds)had money invested in his fund. Yet where are we now, where is he now.....giving stock tips in Jail. All because he was respectable and because of that no one asked the necessary questions.

1 of the problems plaguing Nigeria and why our leaders will always continue to mismanage Nigeria is because we dont ask questions, we take things on their face value.

This is a so called UN affiliate, why are they not mentioned on the UN website, why is tere no international office on the UN Polac website, simple questions you should ask yourself before calling someone an idiot an unpatriotic.

Nigerians should learn to ask questions: why dis 6 people die because of immigration interview, why were there no ambulances, why were people in trauma loaded in the back of pick up vans instead of ambulances,why during fuel scarcity do i have to buy petrol for my generator and my car, why does my generator consume more fuel than my car in a single day,why dont i have light, why does a governmet hospital in Nigeria not have an MRI machine, when abroad they are now using lodox machines, why do our politicians travel abroad to treat malaria, why are there more private jets on the tarmacs of the airports in Lagos and Abuja than commercial jets, why are there potholes and gullies on our so called express ways.

When we decide to ask these questions, then we can be considered as being patriotic.

Kemikal said...

This wrong. Very wrong.

UN and UNESCO are taking the piss.

The Ambassador for Peace conferred on Danjuma Banyonga is this for "Peace" that exist now or peace that is yet to come? Lives are being destroyed, homes are being destroyed, businesses are being destroyed, people are losing their livelihood, people are dying, Boko Haram is still on rampage and there's no peace in sight in northern Nigeria. Right now in Nigeria, especially northern Nigeria, no one should be conferred with any title to do with peace until AFTER peace has been re-established in northern Nigeria. Everyone wants to be Peace Ambassador, Peace This, Peace That, Peace of Peace, but (due to tribalism, religion, politics, apathy and fear), no one wants to stick out their neck and unequivocally condemn Boko Haram.

"All that is necessary for evil to succeed is for good men (and women) to do nothing." - Edmund Burke.

chy said...

congrat ooooooo

chichi bankz said...

Don lulu...I see u

What have the woes of the nation got to do with a person being honored by the UN Polac? if they deem the King fit to be given the title then there must have be substantial scrutiny on his resume affirming his eligibility. No matter how worse the nation and a selected few are amongts us, there still are good people who deserve recognition for their good deeds. there is no money attached to this titles, there are no special preferences other than work work work, work to ensure peace in his little community. That small peace can go a long way. i think you need to go study a bit more about conflict resolution then you will understand that a strategic selection of a few within the society can resolve the troubles of a nation engulfed in War. Have you stop to ask why he is selected? Why he is eligible amongst the many in the entire North? Do you know the man? do you know his achievements? do you know the terror he has averted? do you know what conflicts he might have fought in his own little way to have been honored? You ask all these questions about the woes of the nations from the comfort of your living room without boldly challenging the polity and authorities as the true patriot you clam you be. Nigeria can not get better in a day, it would take time and collective efforts. Am sure if you were selected to be honored based on your bravery and patriotism, your desire for peace and efforts put to it. You would invite your entire kins men and smile for the camera and accept the honor wholeheartedly. Lets not be so hasty to criticize, ask yourself if you would have done better if in the position of power, challenge the polity and not people who are helping the nation in their own little way. I dont know these people, neither do i know this king but not everyone is doing wrong or bad in our country, there actually are some who are doing good and deserve to be acknowledged.

TRUTH.

Don Lulu big ups

this is interesting, i agree with TRUTH.

pEACE is important, we need to embrace it to coexist in one accord

people just get bad mouth and bad reasoning... whats wrong with recognizing someone for his good deed?

nice one really...