'Bury my books with me' - OAU student who committed suicide | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 10 March 2014

'Bury my books with me' - OAU student who committed suicide

The last note by Dipo Ige, the 400l law student of Obafemi Awolowo University, who committed suicide last Monday (Read it here), was that his books should be buried with him, Punch reports.

Ige was buried yesterday Sunday March 9th at his hometown in Iree, Osun State.

Punch reports that in his suicide note which they obtained, Ige asked that his girlfriend should not be blamed for his death. Friends of Ige had earlier said he committed suicide because the lady dumped him.

Part of the note read, “As I plan to end my life, please bury my books with me. My reason for this action is best known to me. Please don’t blame my girlfriend (name withheld). She knows nothing about this. Share my properties accordingly to…”

Fresh facts, however, emerged on Sunday that Ige sent a message to his mum before his action. It was learnt that due to network problem, the message did not get to his mum until over an hour after it was sent.

A close friend to Ige, who pleaded anonymity narrated, “That day about 9pm, Ige sent a text message to his mum. He told her to come to Ile-Ife immediately, adding that any delay could mean that the mum would meet him dead.

“When she eventually got the message around 10pm, she immediately alerted his close friend, Bola Okiji, to check on him. Unfortunately, Okiji was not in Ile-Ife, he was at Ilesha.

“The mum sent another lady living close to him to check him. The lady met Ige’s door locked. She peeped through the key hole and saw Ige, who appeared lifeless. She screamed, broke the door and raised the alarm, which attracted the neighbours.”

However, Okiji insisted that his friend hung himself because of “academics love.”
He said Ige was a brilliant student in second class upper grade before his death.

Source: Punch

129 comments:

he is very stupid for committing sucide

Rip dude #bright bravo#

proper bini girl said...

Na wa o. Hmmm, are we sure it's not the girlfriend that framed this up

That's ignorance,we came to this world with nothing and we will leave this world with nothing

Nothing in ds world should make anybody take his/her life. Are you the owner of that life? Where you the OBE that gave yourself that life or brought yourself into this world? No matter what it is, there always is hope for the living. The bible says that a liviing dog is beta than a dead lion. You r a mumu for doing this to your mom n family. May your books gv ur solace whereever you are now.

NWUNYE EMI

This is creepy.I don't know what to make of this story.His books must contain some codes for the search of the holy grail

ogunjimiadewale said...

Learned Dumb-ass...

Only God knows what we don't know. But, the dude does't do it well. May ur soul continue to rest in peace. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

You don't give LIFE, so Don't take LIFE...RIP. Naija network, send a msg today and it ill deliver next tmr

WHETHER U GF IS TO B BLAME OR NOT, AM SURE U VE RECEIVED UR PUNISHMENT FRM BABA GOD

Hmmmm I thought I as much,coz I never believed of all problems in the world he killed himself coz of a girl.
But he was so selfish for giving the poor woman just an hour,she must be very heart broken now and will be blaming herself though it wasn't her fault she didn't meet him alive.
No situation is worth taking ur life.

linda were is d book na+ d title of d said book, until den RIP#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY

Skuul don tire the guy... Ife make una dey free people, abeg

Omg linda dis is really bad the government should do something about this sucidial issues itz becoming too much

Why must he commit suicide?.....its a Sin... Nothing in this world would make me kill myself!....Please Bury his books with him O... Rip

~Beautiful lopez~

Mrs E said...

Speechless. My thoughts and prayers go to the Ige family

No matter wat happened,he would'nt av killed himself nah, RIP sha

Its quite unfortunate but this story isn't new to me and its common with law students. I had a friend then in school studying law, always reading. 1day my friend called his mum on the phone to tell her that he feels like jumping off his balcony(2storey building) the mum called me and told me what my friend said, I quickly ran to his hostel with some friends to help him out. We took him to the club that night and I made sure he didn't read any book for the next 3days. Today he's a successful lawyer#okbye

and we r supposed to call dis true love? I'm sure d gal has moved on to another guy...what a shame..rip dude

Suicide Is For The COWARD!! Die With Your Honor..

.WARNING!! Objects In A Bra May Look Smaller Than They Appear..
.WARNING!! No Virgin In Lagos
.WARNING!! ¤Comment Moderation Disabled¤

Swaggs isimemen said...

Hmmmm dis is what we re talking abt Nigeria communication network re useless, u we send sms 2 someone it'll take a hole day, even sometime 2days 2 delivered. No one our government we do, they re just there 2 eat rubbish mtcheew

Swaggs isimemen said...

Hmmmm dis is what we re talking abt Nigeria communication network re useless, u we send sms 2 someone it'll take a hole day, even sometime 2days 2 delivered. No one our government we do, they re just there 2 eat rubbish mtcheew

So sad... May God grant him Al-janat fridaus..

Uhmmm...something is fishing somewhere...

hismahillz said...

Hmmmmmmmm! He must be somewhere regretting why he killed himself at the moment..I feel sorry his poor mother

Forces were following him. Make him carry his book dey go.

Me Edwin edDREAMZ Chinedu Azubuko kill my self bcos of gal, Chukwu ekwena ihiojo... Tufiakwa..... God had never created that gal..... May his soul R.I.P...

hmmmmm.lyf sha

Wtf can being an intelligent, brilliant, and literate person makes someone to go mad or kill himself I mean dis is crazy dis dude u just fucked ur life up I hope God will forgive u cos whoever dat committed suicide knows where he or she is going pls lord have mercy on u

this is what we call Super Story, i close my mouth and swallow spit!

Sad. RIP
Download New Music: Fuse ODG - Dangerous Love ft. Sean Paul

☺w can he do such a thing...he ha§ just collect a big sin in the front of God...after he ha§ killed himeslf now...wat did he gain from it..he just put his family anð friends into sorrow...may his soul rest in peace

Cheating Husband Escaped Being Caught by Wife
Here

See what this Naughty Tailor from Angola is trying to do to a Woman
Here

Crazy Things Uniport Babes Do in their Room when they ‘re Bored.
Here

See what this Dog is trying to do to a drunk girl on the floor
Here

People should really mind the way they fall in luv... Dont fall too deep or else yu will forever be destroyed if anything goes wrong and besides if yu were sent to school to study, let education be ur priority and some strange lady... A bright student with no dream, thats really bad.... R.I.P.. Bro...

He kill himself by himself for himself no qualm..Jay_bliss say via GEJ mouth

Tobi said...

Passionate boy

Tobi said...

Passionate boy

whats academic love pls...??????
mia.E

Em wan de read fr grave abi wea???? Diz bullshit

Mysteries untold

Visages Parfait said...

The devil is playing hide and seek with we young people ooo! What is the meaning of this now? Since when did committing suicide become a thing with Nigerians' esp students? What is this naaa?
There is a wicked spirit behind suicide oh! People just don't wakeup and decide to kill themselves,its a spirit straight from the pit of hell. We wrestle not against flesh and blood but against principalities n powers,etc. The earlier we young people realise that the devil is after us and begin to guard ourselves in the spirit,the better for us. Cos we r too busy chasing shadows,we don't even know our purpose for being here.
This is yet another bright light deemed #disheartning #sad #GodHelpMyGeneration
May God comfort his family in Jesus name_amen.

Dee Tee said...

Hmmm strange. Why would a young chap commit suicide? Hen.. for whatever reason, he has no right to take his own life. God have mercy on him. RIP. #NewsBlist

This ιs Ridiculous!

am shocked

He kill himself by himself for himself no qualm...Jay_bliss say so via GEJ mouth

This guy sef,whatever reason u had was not enough to take your own life n that was very selfish of you becos u didn't think about the people who love u,ur family,friends etc n the pains they will be going thro now becos of this silly act of yours#Angry#

yorubas

pfftttt

Suicide is the height of cowardice!! What ever is problems were, he still didn't solve them before killing himself.. I feel for his family

My GoodneSs, wht will I call dis one?....May u rest in the Lord and Read on..

Hian ˚ooº°˚˚°ºoo odikwa egwu..commiting suicide 4 no good reason na him knw..he's jst suffering from depression

Zenki brown said...

Rest in peace Dipo. U ∂σnt need Ūя̲̅ books, cos U won't be reading anymore.

BOOTYLICIOUS said...

linda u are making this guy popular in his foolishness. for me suicide is the most selfish thing to do. and unforgiveable he loved only himself cos if he cared about any other person or even his mum , he would have tot twice. so for me screw him and his wishes he is roasting in hell currently

Kogi Media said...

"This book of the law shall not depart from you". But his degenaration to despair was too deep to be redeemable. Adieu!

Hmmmm they should investigate more cos dia is more to dis story. Fro, sweetbouy.

Gaia said...

For me this brings home the reality of mental illnesses and the fact that this is real... A bright young man that has everything to love for; what made him kill himself? Mental issues destroy you like that and its not about 'being mad' its about having real issues that can actually drive you to kill yourself or others. May the RIP...

Eze Magnus said...

Sometimes i wonder what could make one to take away his/her own life.... #itsCrazy

Govt. Ke? What has govt got to do wt ple's insanity?
/Chilli

Abeg go and learn English b4 u say what u don't know.
/chilli

Mental Health problems should be taken seriously in Nigeria. He was severely depressed for reasons we don't know. Could he perform?

If he should in anyway,reincarnate,I will kill him again

Jon D said...

The rate Nigerians are beginning to take their lives is becoming scary,could it be bcos of the hardship being faced or could it be cause of the mental strength to hang on till better days come. Its sad, RIP student.

alex said...

the guy is mad,i have seen worst things in this life and yet God sustained me.

only GOD KNWS WAT IS BEHIND HIS ACTION..RIP DUDE

So u b stupid bleached moslem

My God. I still don't believe Nigerians commit suicide

okay. This story of this girl is FUNNY AF LMAOOOOO

Linda Ikejis' boo said...

no comment

maybe he got a terminal disease.rip but devil is really using ppls mind . mind control freak tinz conjur from hell

bet why did he commit suicide in the first place??? Linda abeg answer that question

AnnMarie said...

I wonder why he did it.

May his soulrest in perfect peace

FDJ

peperina said...

Any how its is...hell await him

Pole who take there lives I consider them to be one way minded cos they don't consider those around them,there family...

SUGAR DOC said...

No be only bury with books. Mschwwww, the poor mother would be so heart broken, may God gv her the fortitude to bear her loss and hv mercy on his damned soul.

Le struggle, RiP

Teacher who mistakenly showed his sex Tape to students

Exactly.
He shouldn't have been buried,they ought to have fed his body to the vultures!!

Useless son.

LINDA said...

Hian! Na wah ooo! Very selfish dude! I pity his momma!

May God punish u for attributing such devilish act to lawyers/ law study.
It takes d bright of d brightest and d strong of d strongest to gain admission to read law. Unlike those ceremonial courses(which u studied) which are dumping site for block heads like u.

Am proud to be a lawyer!!

Y.P.L said...

Seriously dude... I don't like saying wrong things about the dead.. But now people would reffer to you as the dead... I spend most of my time praying for longer life.. And u just take yours life just like that!. Am very sure your actions wouldnot be fair too your people... Know reason is enough to accept defeat.... RIP too you.

If na Yankee dey will investigate dis shit but in 9ja hell no....is dis reali d ans to problems tho???

Y.P.L said...

Seriously dude... I don't like saying wrong things about the dead.. But now people would reffer to you as the dead... I spend most of my time praying for longer life.. And u just take yours life just like that!. Am very sure your actions wouldnot be fair too your people... Know reason is enough to accept defeat.... RIP too you.

I have news to share how do i send it?

Hello Lindiway, I am a passionate reader of your blog. I have a question where do i send it to

REST IN PEACE IGE

Well I wil giv respect to d dead!but u weren't thinking of ur mother who suffered to bring u into ds World or God who created u and saw u thru to ds Level!and u decided to tak ur own life!it was given to u!its for rent!its not urs to take...only God cn decide wen its time..no 1 hs d rite to tak his life or any1 else 4 dt mata...

Buh why take ur own life broda u didn't even remember ur own mum#hmmmm#RIP

Jon D said...

It is a very sad situation that some young men and women today have resulted to suicide as a way out to problems bedeviling them. RIP

In a world lyk dis...he's plain selfish. I tink of hw I'd take a bullet 4 my loved ones,nt hw I'll put dem in chaos n grief cos I took my life. I dnt own me. RIP,ur death brought u fame in an annoying manner.

He was selfish in killing himself n puttin his family in grief,he shud nt b buried wit his books. In his nxt lyf,he'll b considerate. RIP

U peeps are judging the boy....hv u nt sinned lyk dat. God sed thou shall nt judge another man. So u peeps dissn d poor guy i hp he sees it sha....oh yea he dead...hw dumb r u guys nau

jauntysmilez said...

Linda pls help us tell MTN say for unijos psite, their network has bin bad for 4days nw! we can't receive or make callz n dis is an exam. period fa!!! tnk u Adanne!

Tsk wht a waste!!well,RIP
#IttyFinest#

3sha3sha12 said...

May God have mercy on his soul. Suicide is never the answer.

3sha3sha12 said...

May God have mercy on his poor soul. Suicide is never the answer.

nkiru said...

nothing on dis earth will make me take my own life even if loss my eyes,hands,legs etc as far as am still breath memmh there is hope for me period!

I'm telling u. And it's not d poor woman's fault. Suicide is cowardly n never d answer

But why? The rate suicide in our society is alarming. May God have mercy on him. Amen

If You Wanna Believe That All Of Us,we Belong To #Illuminati_Kingdom..Smpliy Do This..WRITE DOWN YOUR BIRTH YEAR LIKE THIS OF ME @+[1990:] Then REMOVE PLUS SIGN MARK,then Comment !!YOU GONNA SEE HW SATAN Work With In Our life.

U are very stupid for cursing an innocent being just cause of a comment. Why would God punish him/her for narrating his/her experience with mostly law students. I think u are sick up ur brain for that curse for no reason.

Streetlighter's blogspot said...

Is the devils doing,

There's more to this than just the way we look at it. Why bury his books with him? Is he gonna continue his education there in death? How am i sure that there are some things he must have written down somewhere about some particular persons that are confidential and a secret. Am sure they want to make sure the secret is buried along side the corpse. I still can't phantom this whole mystery. Am sure there's more to this. Hope to get the full and true details of this bullshit.

U anonymous losers shud shutup! It takes a lot to kill yourself. U must feel like nothing to even do it. Nothing wrong with leaving a nice comment. Fool

Anon 1:37, 1:48, and swaggs isemenem, please i'm begging you guys to stop killing us with bad grammar. Ahn ahn! Must you write in english language? Use pidgin naa... we go understand. Shior

Deal with it!

Did u kill him the first time???

anal said...

U prof correct him nw idiot like u mtcheeeew

Why can't some reader show some compassion. This is a similtude to mental disorder.

Sooo sad
Rest in peace bro.

Ann Chetachukwu Ubah MD said...

Lolz

www.promonigeria.com said...

Na wa ooo...rip

linda I understand that you are all about the money and the blog but then you should consider some of these comments before u publish them. Most of these comments are so rude and annoying . How do people who speak evil of a dead person just because he decided to end his life. Think about it LINDA and stop soliciting such comments therby upsetting the family left behind.

ZeeZee said...

poor Network!!! God help Africa!!! He caused it on himself though!

Pls don't come here and gv us prb wt readin ur nonsense english...learn and kip ur dictionary closeby before u comment!

Fishing abi..your english sha ooo

D guy fuck up jooooo

Dis story isn't true, d guy didn't kill himself bcos of her gf neida did he ask 2 b buried wit his buks. Only God knows where Linda got her story from cos Dipo is my classmate so I know wot am talking abt

His service provider company should be sued cos if his msg had not hung on air sumtin could have still been done. Naija I hail o, u pay 4 service n u don't get d value 4 ur money
Sallysmart

BLOGGARD said...

The title os the books is WHEN THE DEAD BURY THEIR DEAD

How can he rest in peace,first he never gave himself life so who d hell is he to take it,his just a selfish gud for nothing guy,I dont pity such people

Dude,u bi fool.

Sue d network!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Rubbish

@anonymous wiv d true story, plsssssssss enlighten us!!!!!

did you read d post or you just wrote ur comment straight up? guess u read ya books upside down..#Oponu

you named urself swaggs Isiewu or waheva n your english is so wack! go back to school niccur cos even ur own mode of communication is as useless as d network prroviders #Oponu

THERE'S SOMETHING WRONG SOMEWHERE, HE SENT A MSG TO HIS MUM TO COME OVER B4 A SPECIFIC TIME AND ASKED TO BE BURIED WITH HIS BOOKS? THE POLICE SHOULD DEFINITELY CARRY OUT A THOROUGH INVESTIGATION! IT DOESN'T ADD UP.

God knows best, are you sure he killed himself, he is a responsible guy from a very strong Christian home. God punished the court gangs in that school.

The court gangs should be arrested , OAU court gangs God will punish you all

Yes something is fishing, God will punish the court gangs in that school. They to be arrested

Yes that is true, school managements need to do something he didn't kill himself, Gangs say the truth, God will punish you all, court gangs in that school. U wasted his life, God will waste your life soon, watch and see. God punish all gangs membership in that OAU

hmmmmmmm suicide is a sin huge sin GOD gave u life y take it dat means u indirectly calling him stupid for giving it to uu wellll dud rip.......

Only a coward commits suicides... he is even more cowardly to encourage urself by sending messages to anybody of ur pre-suicide attempt ,he is such a big coward.

TseanUSA said...

Wonderful! The kinda things we hear these days tho! So why did he commit suicide? God rest his soul but he's a goat!!!