Erm, is this really Sokoto Airport baggage claim area? (Photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 11 March 2014

Erm, is this really Sokoto Airport baggage claim area? (Photos)

A LIB reader passing through the airport this morning took the photos and sent it in. Is this what the baggage claim area of Sokoto Airport really looks like? Is the airport currently undergoing renovations? See more photos after the cut...

102 comments:

LINDA said...

I no wan believe am! Buh na naija we dey.. Anythng z possible! Choii

fungi said...

hahahahahaha seriously?? Only in Naija

ladywannabeblog.blogspot.com

Lolz

Zenki brown said...

Naija for U.

Sylvanus said...

Nigeria we hail thee. Long live our short sighted politicians.

That's it!!! Got me wondering the first time I saw it... And one aviation minister spent $$$$ just for two bullet proof cars... God I'd watching these people *lip sealed*

jaybeyblu said...

Hehe u go fear now! I hear PH one is just as bad, but is due to renovation, let's hope that is d case here

at least thank God say u see port land put. The govt should be ask many questions. the Port Harcourt baggage claim area is no much different from that too just a tarpolin to cover thats what they put there. Lagos only has the most standard airport.

Yes! it is

This is a shame #bright bravo#

hismahillz said...

I was there last year there's major renovation going on there so it's just temporary.

u no dey ever post my comment na wa for u o. i go port o. postd ph port comparisons with sokoto port

Lol looks like an amajiri school

Linda said...

Point of correction: It's an International Airport

Looolz but who still travel to Sokoto state with the book haram wahala.

This is so hilarious.

Lol Linda are you a learner?This your question had better not enter the ears of sultan of sokoto o.Its their airport baggage claim area for real

Obinna James said...

Looks like a desert entrance.

It cld be under renovation

$$k@y$$

AnnMarie said...

lmao. shey they said they dont want education in the north. issorite

lin lin de airport is still under construction o! and that is temporary depature and exit point lol *covers face and runs away

O boy,Naija no go kill me wit laff.

Adorable mummy said...

been a year since i used that airport...............cant be sure

Jesus christ. GEJ and you're there, busy dashing out medals to abacha. Smh

Haaa! lo ba tan! this country called Naija eh..Kai, i shame for u o

this one has nothing to do with GEJ but the aviation minister

Lindosky!! Well i heard they are contructing a new airport there. But are they going to complete it nw dat Princess Odua is no more

Na every time the airport they temporary construction? who is deceiving who?abeg is been like dat since. even PH dats how dem dey say he dey temporary construction, when the temporary go permanent. We have the money to make it permanent but naija political robbers would not allow it.

Served in So koto 1st ears ago and the baggage claim area wasn't like this. So I don't believe the story am sorry

Hmmmm, so which one better pass now, Ibadan or Sokoto? Lol

MlleP said...

Was there September last year . renovations are ongoing

winniekoko said...

There is no need to renovate the airport, Boko haram will soon go there with their bomb.

Jagz said...

Linda Ikeji and d unpatriotic citizen that sent dis pix. But i blame d foolish person dat sent d pix to Linda. He shd av sent d full pix of d airport, its currently undergoin repairs. We are always d cause of 9ja's prob. wat do u think d oyibos wil think seeing dis pix.... i dey vex

Yeah this is exactly what it looks like

Bonario, this is the first time you sound very silly, there is no Boko Haram in sokoto, educate yourself sokoto is not even north east, # yourfirstignorantcomment

I have been saying it and nobody is listening.....

there is no air conditioning at the murtala international airport

Oduah should be in prison

Gej government is so wasteful

Thank God u guys are seeing this too. I was at the same airport back in January, it's realy pathetic, we had to wait for a tractor to convey our baggage to the claim area, I couldn't help but lmao........it's realy annoying, I thought the airport was undergoing some renovations, only for me to find out that it has been in this same condition for years........but that's my country!

My dear!that is the airport o.it is even photogenic.itz much worse.went there for my NYsc.the waiting lounge nko?laudable.smh

@Okwuosa Flora

Exactly! Havent used it since NYSC... It wasnt like this then but it also wasnt a whole lot better

Didn't γ̥
☺u read news...another minister of aviation ha§ been appointed...so if it is true that is under construction...they will surely complete it soon...omo that airport is nothing to write home about ooo

Cheating Husband Escaped Being Caught by Wife
Here

Man caught in the act with her grand daughter
Here

Babe in the mood doing it with her man
Here

Woman beat friend for sleeping with her boyfriend
Here

HMMMM amebo people am currently in Sokoto state and the airport is undergoing construction,dont be too fast to conclude ok!!!

And Ilorin........

WTF......Your English is a 1st class for a Nigerian graduate . Which way Nija *sad face *

Shiooor,its d airport o,its been like that for the last two years o,even b4 the said renovation it was in very bad shape.I pray they fix it soon.

Rania said...

Exactly! What I find more bothersome is how people comment ignorantly!

Weather sokoto, ibadan, PH, calabar or kano they are all under Nigeria. And ministry of Aviation control them. So, Why not ask minister of Aviation this kind of question. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

@Jayz
you are part of the cancer that has been sucking the positive light out of Nigeria....am very sure your room and house look like a dung heel.....

it is thinking poverty thinking like this that has gotten us Nigeria to this pathetic standard of living that we endure in nigeria

@ Jagz pls keep quiet
the elders are talking

I am currently residing in sokoto and I often use the airport. The main block has been completely raised down and rebuilt, now it is 95% complete. Very magnificent structure. the person that sent the picture to you has a very bad mind and it is because of such people that Nigeria is not developing. The sadder story is that they have a platform like lindaikeji.blogspot that will post their pics without verification

I was there Nov 2013. The airport is undergoing a MAJOR transformation. This is just temporary but also very embarrassing and they also do MANUAL SEARCH on luggage.

And u nigga, talking trash bout port harcourt airport,, I'm sure u have never been close to any airport in your life talk less of entering.. b sure before u talk rubbish u hear!!

Tamunotonye said...

Pls oo! U people shld not compare this airport wit PH airport, if u hav flown recently u wld notice that d departure is now very kool and d arrival. Meanwhile Abj airport is also very good not only Lagos airport.

St. Alolo's Library said...

Jesus please save us again.

It's same as the airport in Yola under claims. Of renovation******only in NAIJA**

*GEorGia**

Nigerians when your guys will stop the word GOD is watching you about those politicians my fellow brothers and sister is time we take action by our own hands na we all get Naija not only the politicians they are taking from us.. look at Egypt they fight for their right, look at Syria fighting for their right is t
ime we start ours long leave Nigeria

Nigerians when your guys will stop the word GOD is watching you about those politicians my fellow brothers and sister is time we take action by our own hands na we all get Naija not only the politicians they are taking from us.. look at Egypt they fight for their right, look at Syria fighting for their right is time we start ours long leave Nigeria

I don't get. What do you intend to achieve with this silly post? To ridicule the giant strides of GEJ administration as usual? If an Airport is under construction, how do u expect it to look like? Madam wan ur self ooo. Tell the goat that sent you this, that next time he should endeavor to capture the entire airport and sent to u.

I was there some days ago. It's under renovation. But it's very obvious that the things used esp the windows aren't of good quality, they already have cracks! Everything is being done manually. God help our country!

Linda you should know better. Try a little investigation before posting. The airport is under renovation. The baggage area is just like that of Lagos when renovation was going on. Be a little bit patriotic abeg.
The ex aviation minister did a fantastic job lets applaud her for it. Am currently out of the country and l could not believe my eyes when l got to MMA's departure hall.
Go take a look yourself & l hear it's same for most domestic airports. Let's give praises so others can emulate not just condemnation .....amaka

@Jagz even if the airport is going through refurbishing this is still a pathetic sight. Nothing unpatriotic about this. its good we see what the true picture of what things really look like.

Hehehehehehehehe..

@jagz, And so if u dey vex...go tk bck seat we're u belong"who cares"

"NT JUSTOK.COM"

Lol @ "no need to renovate..boko haram will soon go there wit bomb"

Bona u sound ignorant....cos there's no boko haram in sokoto.sokoto is more peaceful than where you're living...the person that sent this is a hater cos the new terminal is almost completed and he cudn't send that.i work in this airport and love the place to bits.

LadyF

This is real oo when I visited Sokoto last year I was ashamed of my country loool

Jagz said...

@Bonario NNagz... U are such a tribalistic uneducated idiot. Na pple lyk u wan divide Nigeria. Who told U its every city of Nigeria dat is Boko Haram prone. Am vry sure u dnt even kno d geopolitical zone Sokoto belongs to

LINDA, IT IS BETTER THIS WAY.....ANYTHING GOOD BUILT IN THE NORTH WILL BE DESTROYED BY BOKO HARAM. SO THEY SHOULD SPEND MONEY BUILDING BETTER AIRPORT FACILITIES FOR THESE IDIOTS TO BURN DOWN.

WE NEED MORE DEVELOPMENT IN THE EAST JOR.

This looks like our compound in the village.

hmmmmmmmmmmmmm
visit www.onkanwe.blogspot.com for interesting stories and poems

This is exactly sokoto airport. Been there a couple of times and the waiting area is even a tent. The place is like in the 40's yet all the big shots in the north fly through there.

Yes ooo datz xctly how it is....lol

Schiphol said...

All the pictures are very true and very correct. No Photoshop nor editing whatsoever. I shuttle this airport between Abuja and Sokoto and that is the true picture.
But I don't really see a big deal in the picture because even the international airports that are equipped with conveyor belt most other times handle baggage in this manner. Besides bad structures needing maintenance.

Yes it is.

Linda thats how it is, but in fairness to them the airport is undergoing renovations. and between when i flew in january and 2nd week of February to Sokoto there was noticeable improvement, at least the waiting area is now completed and uesable.

GUYS CHILL OUT, I SERVED IN SOKOTO AND THIS ISN'T HOW THE AIRPORT LOOKS LIKE. PRESENTLY SOME RECONSTRUCTIONS ARE GOING ON (LOOK OUT FOR THE PIC WITH A GREY BUILDING BY THE SIDE, THAT'S PART OF THE MAIN AIRPORT)

Yes it is.

dis is disturbing

Man dies during steamy sex wif popular Alhaja

And Mr know it all might I refresh your memory that Sokoto in the recent past had experienced BH issues!!!

Mr know it all, might I refresh your memory that in the recent past Sokoto had been a victim of BH attack hence Bonario's statement!!!

itk said...

Hello Linda my name is DIMBO ATIYA i beg you in the name of God to send me an email address i can send you true pictures of what Sokoto airport looks like. I had the privilege as an independent documentary Director to tour all the airports recently and I can confirm that this is the temporary check in area for the airport which was in use during the renovation. The airport has just been completed and put to use and these pictures are a deliberate attempt to embarrass the government . If this person was honest enough he or she would have given you pictures of what that airport looks like now. Its the best in the entire country. I beg you to send me your email and i will send you very recent pictures of the airport. Pls send to dimboatiya@yahoo.com and i will contact you back immediately. Thank you.

Yes it is but undergoing rehabilitation.

@completely 'raised down'. Nawaaooo. Some people's english sef. Haba!

LadyF. The fact that u love it to bits doesnt mean its up to standard. Some people love the slum to bits. Doesnt make it the best place to live.

Haha sokoto caliphate

Ann Chetachukwu Ubah MD said...

Lolz. Abeg leave my bona for me jor

Naija suffering & smiling.

Aby said...

YES oooo @ Linda.

That was the exact question i asked the day i went to Sokoto

Hot Cool Gist said...

It's hausa, so there way of life seems different.... Na so them be..!

Stay tuned! With the Nigerian's Best Cook in Entertainment, Latest Fresh Gist & Latest News: www.hotcoolgist.com

ANON @ 2:43PM. TKS 4 THAT. ALMOST WENT INTO SHOCK.

Very true was dere today cos I was posted dere

Gabii said...

Yes, its very PO! Please pay a visit to Ibadan airport.

Ode niyin. D Norfolk Int'l airport is under renovation......but super duper far from this nonsense. Baggage claim outside d airport/lobby??!! R u freaking kidding me?
Wake up n stop forming Naija is in order

Almost loks like where you buy local flight tickets at Abuja airport so whaddahell?

@cool gist or woteva u cal urself, stop adresin human beings lyk u hausa cos d almighty God created us 2 be 1. He did nt demacate us frm dem so pls put a stop 2 dat nd luv dem as urself...

YES IT IS. was in sokoto in september on official assignment september last year and was shocked to my bones.

whats the big deal about your question? its being renovated so how is that news......its not like this is the permanent thing so dont hype the story

I shldnt evn sweat ova dis clear show of ignorance on linda's part.bcos like oda blogs nd nigerians 'she dey find hw 2 chop' nd 'true researched' journalism aint her problem..sokoto airport is one of d 1st in nigeria.evn wen I was a kid dat airport dint look lik dis talk more of now (20yrs later).d stewpid numbskull shld hav snapped oda airports in nig presently under construction nd send it 2u na.everyday wit every report u mk me less interestd in ur crappy blog.oya blind suporters of linda attack.mscheew

I was there in July 2012 and I must say it was a terrible sight. But I think it's undergoing some renovations now.

Vickiechima said...

NOT RICH YET? INVEST WISELY? ASK vickiechima@gmail.com

I confirm 100% that d pics above are indeed the true representation of Sokoto Airport. I've been there more than once.

The pic with grey colour is d new airport being constructed. the airport was initially @ Old Airport Road, Sokoto.

Maybe na where them go claim your body, when Ladyboss finish with you, stupid thing,madam victim, you wan show off abi, yeye.
pride goes before a small, and better tell that bitch laura to stay on her side of the street, because she belongs on the street that useless good for nothing church rat.
keep talking trash ,no forget we know how you take start.

@hot cool gist must u be tribalistic in issues like this, its really a shame, what concerns the northerners is supposed to concern the whole nation, or how on earth are we supposed to move forward if we dnt behave as one?

Yes o! Its rily sokoto airport o,bin dere 2ce. And yes,its rily undergoing construction& bet its gonna come out beautiful afterwards!
Signed:#QUEENTY#