Photos: Part of Iponri Market burnt down | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 13 March 2014

Photos: Part of Iponri Market burnt down

Many shops at the Iponri market in Surulere burnt down on Tuesday night Wednesday March 12th. The fire was blamed on electric spark and many believe the generators in most of the shops helped ignite the fire. The fire spread from one shop to the other causing millions in damages. The government has closed down the market until further notice. Continue to see more photos...

66 comments:

Hope there were no casualties?

Ewooo very painful

Eeeyyyaaaaa! Ndo nu

Thank God it was at night when people had closed for the day

topsyfunky said...

pathetic

MARKET MONITOR said...

I believe thegenerators in most of the shops helped ignite the fire. The fire spread from one shop to the other causing millions in damages.

WWth???see couple caught having sex in a phone box[pic]

Peejay said...

Sad, people's life investment.

O.M.G!! this is a disastrous disaster!

Doctor Gaga™
Location Report: White House, Washignton D.C.
Activity Report: Chilling with Barack Obama

Peoples sweat gone...

IG - @Hairbyniyot_ (08135891923) said...

Money don enter bush

may God help.

need extra means of pay? click here

Sss said...

My conspiracy theory:
Govt instituted the fire,to enable the current owners move out,so that they can take over the area

Same tin happened in agbara few weeks bac... Really sad...

Wht do u expect from a country without a well equipt fire fighting equiptment

HAAAAA GBESE OOOOOOOO

Hadi (Iponri resident/ eye witness) said...

Point of correction the name of the market is called Abibatu Mogaji modern market. I pray such things does not befall any of us but safety first should always be our watch word. Always endeavor to switch off all electrical appliances when leaving your homes, shops or business places. That was the second fire incident in a less than a week caused by electrical fault in the same market i think our people just wont learn. PHCN you are also complicit to the matter with your erratic power supply and faulty installations.

Its a pity.

AnnMarie said...

Its the work of the government, they send people to burn these markets so they can take over. just the way they did tejuosho market. they rebuild the market with half of the money allocated to do it then make even more money by selling the shops to new owners at a higher rate. ever wondered why these fire incidents happen only at midnite? Now u know

Big Tragedy! I hope no life was lost...

things that happen in Lagos market. #politictinz i dont believe anything this people say about burnt market any more, Tejuosho is an example. Thank God no life was lost.

Zenki brown said...

MĪ³̲ heart felt sympathy goes to those traders

After they publicly shamed iya loja ahhh they r in soup,they wud do a tejuosho on them

*first to comment*
God help us...

God save ur people

Jennipukka

Millions upon millions will be burnt down no doubt..... The goverment gats to assist no doubt....

I remembered when our shop got burnt.. That was really tragic, we taught all hopes were lost but we thank God for turning the whole thing around.....

bolabby said...

this is serious o.

Oh my God! God have mercy.

So sad

I think Lagos State government want to rebuild the market. This has been the norm, burn down the market, rebuild and resell to the stupid Igbos that refuse to develop their own region.

Nike said...

God have mercy

For business opportunity;call 08140712303

Serious lose, i hope it is not sabotage?

Linda I heard GEJ relationship that was kidnapped in bayelsa state has been rescued by bayelsa police, please update us on that

Nawaoooo so sad! May God console d victims! Call me Lolol1

I think anon@12.50 is just foolish.Must u turn it to a tribe issue?yet we all preach 'one Nigeria'.Wetin concern Igbo man for d matter?do you know how many Igbo ppl have lost deir shops to fire outbreaks like dis?Just goes to show ur level of stupidity.And who says dey don't develop deir state has definately not been to d east.Comment on d issue@hand&leave ur ignorant,tribalistic comments in ur underdeveloped brain.4 d record,am not Igbo

Alozie Paschal Okwara said...

Bad Market. Starting a fresh. Stay strong.

linda Ike said...

where are we heading to in nigeria
linda 

The owners of these buildings should add fire preventive measures in their properties. Fire alarm systems or even sprinklers to reduce damage to property and goods.

Deolar08 said...

Diz iz serious! Millions of goods burnt to ashes.. Tanx God no life involve#

Ooo my.... Sad.

Igor said...

My heartfelt sympathy goes out to all those that lost their goods and means of livelyhood in the inferno. May God almighty replenish you all.

Eeyyaahhh... Gbese!!

Oh! My God Have MERCY

See ur face like smoked rabbit. I doubt you've even travelled out of Naija before. Do u own an international passport even? Lmao

THIS IS WHAT THE GOVERNMENT DOES WHENEVER IT WANTS TO TAKE OVER A MARKET OR WHAREVA. SEND OUT HOODLUMS TO START UP A FIRE AND BLAME IT ON SOME SHIT OR THE OTHER.

Shit.. Buh i thank God head did not fall..
God 'll see y'all through..
Maybe na this ''SURELERE'' they are singing here and there, we don over call the name.. After rebuilding this shops linda remember to post it ''SURELERE pix o!!

~~Marilyn

@Alloy Chikezie must u comment twice all the time? Take ur time oooo. i can see u're rili working hard for the 100k. Sorry to the traders

U need deliverance
Have u visited igboland?

God bless u

May God take control

Thank you. That's their modus operandi in lagos. Whenever they want to take over any market, they first burn it to the ground. Then they will take over, rebuild it and chase away the former owners with exorbitant prices. Watch out for what will eventually become the fate of Iponri. Eko oni baje oo!

Hot Cool Gist said...

It's something people never expect...which came all of a sudden. But thank God no human is burnt...

Stay tuned! With the Nigerian's Best Cook in Entertainment, Latest Fresh Gist & Latest News: www.hotcoolgist.com

Truth hurts said...

After they were rude to iya oloja, I could have told them something like this would happen soon. Hmmmmmm. Well, it's a pity. God will help them. Phcn, it's only God that would judge this stupid company

Sorry to those affected.

Iyaloja and Fashola has meted out 'Tejuosho Market' treatment to the traders for refusing to register as APC members. Progressive indeed! Fashola is a bigoted Igbo hater: sending the agents of government to burn down markets in order to take over,rebuild and sell to his kinsmen. Ndi Igbo, invest in the East where mysterious fire will not gut them. 'Aku ruo ulo, a mara onye kpara ya'.

I sense foul play... Hope no one was hurt though

beautiful9jadeltababe... said...

beautiful9jadeltababe.. @annon 3:33pm na true talk wey u talk so dat na deir logo n style for ds naija no b so yaba take burn abeggg make dem let us hear word jare

I think the government themselves knows about these thing every time is market burning abeg joor

U must b sick in d head, big fool..... U jst open ur mouth and sai anyfin u like! Aint got word 4 u! *awani*

Pls tell dat big 4 nufin idiot oooo!

Heya So pathetic

FDJ

Ok na...english don die!!

Relationship indeed!

Ok na...english don die!!