Pics: Pres. Jonathan at 2nd Niger Bridge groundbreaking ceremony | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 10 March 2014

Pics: Pres. Jonathan at 2nd Niger Bridge groundbreaking ceremony

President Jonathan today March 10th performed the groundbreaking ceremony for the construction of the 2nd Niger Bridge. The bridge which would cost N117.8 billion is expected to be completed within 48months. The 1st Niger bridge was built in 1965. Continue to see more photos...

116 comments:

More grease to your elbow your Excellency but please try harder on security.

is this the way forward?

Good one #bright bravo#

Every government breaks the ground yet none has built it so far. Mgbe anyi huru n'Anya anyi ga ekwe

Good

Pls we don't want yeye bridge that will be shaking oh,we want a strong, bridge. Gbam

Good, please Mr president do more in the power and security sector

GEJ you can do all the good in the world but I will never ever forgive you for giving abacha and friends centenary medals.

Ndigbo I hail

Please they should also employ sweepers to sweep onista ,that city is so dirty almost like lagos. Dirty

GEJ you're still a useless president.period

No more 3 hour go slow,when travelling to the village for xmas.

ONYITEX BLOG said...

WOW!
WHAT A GREAT MOVE BY MR PRESIDENT..
THIS IS TO SAY THAT NIGERIANS SHOULD BE EXPECTING A COMPLETED NIGER BRIDGE IN 4 YEARS TIME.. WELL,LETS WATCH AND SEE..
BUT LETS NOT GET OUR HOPES SO HIGH INCASE THE MONEY FOR THIS PROJECT GOES UP INTO FLAMES LIKE OTHERS.. **winks**
GOOD LUCK NIGERIA... VISIT WWW.ONYITEXBLOG.COM TODAY

GEJ looks unusual without his usual hat lol

Peter obi,its obvious you are pdp.and since you are always around president Jonathan,when do you. Have time to govern your state.i can bet all this ass kissing is in preparation for your senatorial debut.

The bridge will collapse immediate after completion..We member of boko haram have plan to bomb the bridge when it get completed

Dividends of subsidy removal! Vote GEJ 2015

What kind of bridge costs N117.8 billion???????????

Sharkslord said...

WHy Davido is better dan wizkid.Celebrities are no strangers to controversy and are constantly care.ssing the spotlight as much on screen as they do off it, that it is often expected that they have at least one major scandal or two over the course of their careers.

For the controversy-laden Davido, even his debut single, “Back When”, was not without much ado. With a billionaire father and the good things of life coupled with an Asika for a manager and a Naeto C guest verse to boot, it was quite contradictory and unbelievable that he’d be singing of times when he had been broke.

The comparisons with Wizkid were ominous, for even Olamide had been subjected to similar scrutiny as the EME act became the datum for auto-tuned hooks and repetitive lyrics. It is little wonder then that many have trumped up a silent rivalry between the two, claiming it is the reason why both performers are yet to record a joint together.

When he released his Omo Baba Olowo album, critics were quick to dismiss it as a half-baked collection of average club singles. At the album launch, the presence of Aliko Dangote brought again to the fore his family’s affluence and additional criticism. Like Naeto C again before him, the singer meandered his way through and has come to be a success not only because of his father’s cash, but besides it.

This is due to the boy’s industrious nature. On the song “Life”, Paedae, one half of Ghanaian hip life duo, R2Bees rapped: “I think life is like Davido and Wizkid/one from the ghetto, the other a rich kid/But they both running their games artistic.”

“The way Davido has been putting in work this year,” observed someone on Twitter the other day, “you’d think he came across the family will and didn’t find his name in it.”

A statement is credited to him as having said in December last year that he’d recorded a myriad of hits, waiting to go ballistic. January 2014 had barely walked through the door than they started dropping.

Statistically, there have been at least 10 joints up on music blogs that he has lent his vocals to, in this first quarter of the year alone, excluding his smash hit, Aye.

On the issue of who’s the better artiste between Davido and Wizkid, the jury’s still out but the former’s records are intimidating. Wizkid may have been in the industry long before his contemporary, but until 2013, he had only toured Africa and the UK. Davido on the other hand, has been a constant performer in several parts of Europe since he burst onto the scene and was even reportedly arrested once in Prague. As hits go, not one of Wizkid songs – which almost always turn out to be a hit – has been as big as “Dami Duro” or “Skelewu”; the Youtube stats, the number of parody videos, the Hulkshare downloads and the fans in other countries do not lie. Simply put, while Wizkid makes hits, Davido drops monster hits. Unlike Star Boy, the younger Adeleke is also a producer. He also repeats lyrics far less often, unlike Star Boy.

He split with his former manager, Asa Asika when the latter began to bend the basic rule of music management: never outshine your act. He’s also picked an efficient PR team that continues to weather the storm with him and his HKN label mates.

More importantly, he’s graduated from being the One Week, One Trouble kid who couldn’t walk through the pottery class without breaking something to a modern-day Perseus gifted by the gods; his career taking flight like Pegasus. That, ladies and gentlemen, is the story of young David Adeleke.

abujakenneth said...

Colourful pics, dutiful and supportive Peter

Master stroke from GEJ. The campaigns for 2015 has begun in earnest in SE. If he can just see through this project, he would have made history and etched himself in the minds of people in SE and SS.

Good.

Igor said...

Thank you Mr President.But please,let this not turn into another abandoned project.

Master stroke from GEJ. Campaigns for 2015 have begun in earnest in SE. If he can just see through this project, he would have made history and etched himself in the minds of people of SE and SS. Good one Mr. President.

See as the money plenty but if them convert am to dollar e go small.... Well nice one.....

His eminence said...

His name will be written with gold if he will be able to pull of this feet.

Chei,chei,chei,,,, ndi igbo kwe nu !! Yaaaa !!!!!! Hahahahahaha...linda o bu kita ka unu biara, better governance done reach us igbo people. That's a good news....

I love my president,keep it up bro....

Dats gud
Complete a simple task in 30 seconds and earn up to $1500 per week
http://jobnpay.com/?id=Qudus check it out its Real

meem said...

good development. please visit my fashion blog. new post up. www.meemjay.com

Groundbreaking that will cost the nation further more money.bridge cost at an overpriced amount of£450,000,000.A grand ceremony with dignitaries to commission "River-Niger" bridge.Nigeria my Nigeria.

Zenki brown said...

This is nice. Good development.

Wow!!!!!!!!!!117.8 Billion? huge contract. Award by Oga him self. To who? Ask me again. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Swaggs isimemen said...

Congrats 2 them... Hey hey linda hmmm u want 2 cause big problem ooh linda take time ooh, is nt every man like sex becos they need 2 go 2 work in d morni, who want 2 be healthy should go nd do exercise nt sex, mind what u post on ur blog oh, even some teenagers read dis blog linda hmmm

Can u c dat mr Bonario!
God bless u GEJ! I am very happy. D best news on LIB

SUGAR DOC said...

Peter Obi and uncle Jona nice one!

Swaggs isimemen said...

Lol some pple here re still sleeping wake-up, pls can someone tell me what GEJ, has done in nigeria since he cam into power? Like d way OBJ broth (GSM) 2 Nigeria, becos all what i hear everyday on tv is hw they spend trillions nd billions dollars nd millions naira, or if GEJ bring stable electricity 2 Nigeria or free education or stop corruption in Nigeria easy bad? I don't no y some pple here re blind @ dis age, nd again do u suppose 2 clap for them? Or easy nt y u vote for them? Nd they sign it 2 do their job? strait face mtcheew

Swaggs isimemen said...

Lol some pple here re still sleeping wake-up, pls can someone tell me what GEJ, has done in nigeria since he cam into power? Like d way OBJ broth (GSM) 2 Nigeria, becos all what i hear everyday on tv is hw they spend trillions nd billions dollars nd millions naira, or if GEJ bring stable electricity 2 Nigeria or free education or stop corruption in Nigeria easy bad? I don't no y some pple here re blind @ dis age, nd again do u suppose 2 clap for them? Or easy nt y u vote for them? Nd they sign it 2 do their job? strait face mtcheew

Another strategy to eat money. it will end up as usual. Uncompleted project.

Bigtymerbitz said...

Good news, hope dey finish it on time.

At last. Thank you GEJ. But hope it is not PDP strategy for 2015 election. Hope it will be a reality. The easterners and south-south will amile again. Long live Nigeria.

Who said Jonathan aint trying 4 d Igbos?I don't envy dem wen dey support him wholeheartedly.

Jona dey try

STOP BUILDING AND LAUNCHING THINGS EBELE. SORT OUT THE LIGHT AND WATER ISSUE IN THE COUNTRY. EARN SOME RESPECT MAN!

This is long over-due. Kudos Mr President! 2015 na your own.

Oya fools talk, I know one idiot here must criticise, Congrats to my igbo brothers, more grace to ur elbow Mr President.

Mallam Labaran Musa.

Obi said...

2015 things. All this na wash wash

Obi said...

2015 things. All this na wash wash

Eesah said...

These pple go jes dey call billions like say na 5 naira sha

*eats garri and kulikuli plus sugar*

Lekki ikoyi link bridge costs N29 billion and is 1.3km...2nd Niger bridge costs N177 billion and is 1.8km.
For how long will these pple continue to fool us? they are saving money for oncoming elections,am nt a politician bt truth must b told,something need to b done to remove this useless,heartless,greedy,selfish and corrupt govt frm power,corruption at its peak in this country.immagine, virtually N120billion after careful deduction will b stolen again. nigerians where are we heading to?

Stephanie Brown said...

Another project uncompleted project on the way. Oga Jonnah abeg finish the ones u ve started already b4 starting another one.

Nnodim said...

At long last. Would never have taken off if a Yoruba or Hausa were to be the President of Nigeria.

Finally! Uncle joe good job! It's long overdue. Atleast u've just given me a reason to smile & believe u r from the south. I've started thinking u were an aboki, cos excess hold up during Christmas @asaba. And the road eeh! Only 1 & it's not even perfect. Thanks, God bless u

uchemichael said...

God will bless u for all the works u re doinnn

Igbos wil not be proud of you for noting.thank you sir

Thank God it is berger

Whatever north has east will have, whatever east has north will have and whatever north and east have west will have, whatever west has north and east will have. I see it in your action just as you said, go ahead your bias predecsesors and their admirers with short sight followers gang-up in their confusion they will fail even as they try taking the blood of the innocent, you must deliver on your most important promise in Jesus name

ok,gud,but why 48months???datz too long a tym abeg...

dhobiz said...

Okay but.......48months hmmm nnaa mehn

Una don see mugu abi ! 2015 election is arround d corner , what dis man has he been doing since all dis days abeg NIGERIANS no be coward !

Gee said...

Good...I hope dey test d bridge wt his convoy first b4 letting ppl drive across it.

Buyin for nex tenure boko haram no go let U oooO! Buh I'm i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅ full suport no fear oooOO

I'm not hating but I don't understand Nigerian govt. why not celebrate AFTER the bridge has been completed? It's like celebrating the birth of your baby when you just found out you're 4 weeks preggers
Build the bridge THEN make noise

At last, thank you GEJ

God will grant us visionary leadership how's a 111b what we need now why not eject that money into the economy why not finance credit system why not even spily it among the populace

always groundbreaking - never handover! we never heard fashola do groundbreaking for lekki bridge just delivered. this guy is just a joker!

Nigerian learn how to commend your leaders when they perform.....Mr. GEJ well done...even if our $20BLn is still missing...

Igbos too love this man and he deserves all the love.

BRIGHTINO said...

This is great. May God continue to bless and keep GEJ.

candygirl said...

They better get Julius Berger to do that shiit and not some annoying cheap ass contruction co.

helen onovo said...

oh God thank u.......this is the news i hv been waiting to hear for a long time........God bless GEJ and Nigeria!!!

AnnMarie said...

I hope this bridge is made from a solid foundation. the way contarctors behave these days .... hmmm

I just lyk dz guy Oga Jona na u biko

Whopping raw cash of #117.8B, bt 2 years is much to complete d project. Hp dy won't abandom it or half done. I pray oooo

Ok nice one

Abacha was d 1 dat brot GSM while OBJ followed it up.
Y didn't OBJ do dose tins u challenge GEJ with?

Another delutional HE goat. Where did u get that information from? APC paid agent trying everything poSsible to rubbish this administration. Ok, let's go there. Were u aware that fashola bought thesame bullet proof car that cut off oduah's head for a price even higher than what oduah was supposed to pay for the transaction that didn't sail through? I'm sure everybody will turn a blind eye to that because its APC abi? Good will purnish all the mischief makers on this blog. Like it or leave it, GEJ all the way. Go hug transformer if u re pained.

@sharkslord....hw much were u paid to write dos gibberish..

u wey spose dey look for ur own way u goin about likin the ass of a guy u old enuf to b his father...lord av mercy on ur fowl brains....GEJ nice work bt we need more of ur wrk in the security sector

Did u read? Within 48 months to complete......48/12 = 4 years.
There's still an average of 4 "go slows" to travel to ur village for Xmas

@ Chuks you are deluded. Did you start using GSM when Abacha was in Govt? He only awarded the contract and to his cronies but they were cancelled and reawarded by Obasanjo and it is the dividend that you are enjoying now.

How precisely?

Don't u think u'r so daft and myopic for ever comparing a common link bridge and a big bridge meant for heavy traffic and vehicles round d clock?

Why not show us the way forward,,fool???
M
E
S
H

Odinanwa1 said...

Just like your frustrated father abi?

@anon 12:00, God will continue to bless you, u just spoke my mind here, I wish linda can stop posting things about politics bcos some idiots comment here makes me go mad, don't mind dem they are bunch of ignorant cows.

Mallam Labaran Musa.

Must you criticise, ignorant Bastard.

Mallam Labaran Musa.

Dorothy Obilo said...

You are a fool by calling him useless president.

Please appreciate and shut up!

GEJ, all your pipe dream projects towards 2015 won't work. You can construct 12-Lane boulevards across all the states of the federation if you like but just like I keep telling you; 2015 will be your greatest catastrophe simply b'cos you lied to us & we can no longer tolerate filthy politicians taking us for a ride.

You promised us basic Amenities like Constant Power Supply, Security of lives & Properties, Motorable Roads, Water e.t.c but we're yet to see any of these. You don't deserve a second chance when there are people looking for their first. Therefore, take heart & be courageous for I'm convinced that the wrath of God is upon you.

BTW: If you want to get the Igbos rolling on the floor for you in ecstasy, just caress them on these 3 issues: Biafra, Ojukwu & the 2nd Niger Bridge.

zoharariel@aol.com

GEJ, all your pipe dream projects towards 2015 won't work. You can construct 12-Lane boulevards across all the states of the federation if you like but just like I keep telling you; 2015 will be your greatest catastrophe simply b'cos you lied to us & we can no longer tolerate filthy politicians taking us for a ride.

You promised us basic Amenities like Constant Power Supply, Security of lives & Properties, Motorable Roads, Water e.t.c but we're yet to see any of these. You don't deserve a second chance when there are people looking for their first. Therefore, take heart & be courageous for I'm convinced that the wrath of God is upon you.

BTW: If you want to get the Igbos rolling on the floor for you in ecstasy, just caress them on these 3 issues: Biafra, Ojukwu & the 2nd Niger Bridge.

zoharariel@aol.com

helena said...

And you are a useless citizen period,its takes only a useless person to know a useless person.

Good job,Jona.

na dem sabi ...so since when this project been signed na now them dey execute am.....hey jonathan make sure you build a port at lokoja oo

Great politician nw dat ur ternour is coming to an end u. Remember. Big projets no cudos for doin what wud ve been done ever since

Sharkslord nice one on the piece on David and wizkid. Linda u need to take that as a story and run with it. That's some analytical entertainment reporting. Nice.

HAVE YOU NOTICED? That the Federal Government would not commission any project that is not costed above a billion naira? And why must it take 4years? That's way too long.

Hot Cool Gist said...

Instead of looking for proper security in the country to terminate Boko haram... .. Anyway that's an improvement!

Stay tuned! With the Nigerian's Best Cook in Entertainment, Latest Fresh Gist & Latest News: www.hotcoolgist.com

Osinachi IBIAM-URO said...

Good thing they are using a reputable construction company. At least we are sure of the quality of the project on completion.

How many times and how many presidents will do groundbreaking for dis 2nd bridge ehn. All dis there story story. Make we dey watch. All in time for 2015

Jon D said...

The Politicians are politicking with 2015 behind their minds.

C maga wa dy call e fada mate fool,u don fit control ur huz wa u dy bring mouth 4 person wa dy rule over billons pple

otevee said...

nice one toh...ad pls the best of engineers should see to this construction

tai said...

Are Nigerians that Stupid?
The president dr Ebele Goodluck Jonathan has been acting president since 2009 and became the president in 2011, he made the promise of building the 2nd Niger Bridge around 2010-2011 during the Presidential Campaign now about 4 years after! and a couple of months to another presidential election we are having a ground Breaking Ceremony not Commissioning Ceremony and some people are happy? I don't get it!
And some people will be too blind to see that this is a campaign strategy... God help us please!.
CAN YOU PEOPLE SEE?

Sorry I want to ask just a tiny question, is this in the 2014 budget?

why not spend this money on health care, Nigeria has the worse hospital in any developing country.

Tai God bless you!ur children would never be blind!

@dorothy shut ur mouth up!his useless

NATURAL FIX said...

He is doing all this just so he would be re-elected as president in 2015.I am positive this bridge will not be completed as promised.

NATURAL FIX said...

He is doing all this just so he would be re-elected as president in 2015. From past experience the bridge might not even be completed as promised.

Deolar08 said...

Nice move from our president#

I guess that bridge is located at your backyard.

C'mon, gerrout there! Who know u? Bloody, tribalistic anonymous!

Sept 2013
In just this past month alone, we have seen a fulfilment of two major Jonathanian promises. The Akanu Ibiam Airport is now officially an International Airport as its facilities have been upgraded to meet ICAO standards and it received its first international commercial flight. Also, the rail services have been revived from Apapa Port to the North. 
In these two instances, the Jonathan administration has put money back in the wallets of Nigerian citizens. Every time someone flies internationally from the Akanu Ibiam Airport, he saves sixty thousand Naira that would have been spent paying for connecting flights to Lagos, Port Harcourt or Abuja. And every time you receive a container by rail in Northern Nigeria from Apapa Port, you would have savedperhaps fifty thousand Naira that would have been spent on additional cost from hauling your container by road. 
And this is just for last month. Time would not permit me to highlight the 153 Almajiri schools built in every state of the North to serve our children who are engaged in the almajirinciform of Qu'ranic education (a total of 400 are to be delivered), or the ongoing reconstruction (not repair) of the Lagos-Ibadan road for which 167 billion has already been reserved to prevent the project being an abandoned project, or the dredging of the River Niger up to Baro in Niger state to make that port accessible to ships, or the establishment of the Green Belt Zone along Nigeria's Northern borders to end desertification, or the signing of the HYPADEC bill into law to enable the people of the Hydro Electric producing areas benefit from their God given resources,  or the current massive multi billion Naira efforts to save the Lake Chad from drying up. This is besides the fact that those states which did not have a federal university prior to President Jonathan's ascendancy now have at least one university, thanks to this administration's establishment of nine new universities.
I have identified these projects on purpose because they were meant to be priority projects of yore but were however left unattended until one man called Jonathan Goodluck entered the scene. 
Why has it taken an "incompetent" President Jonathan to grow Nigeria's economy at over 6% per annum since he ascended to the presidency? Why has it taken an "incompetent" administration to get Nigeria to be promoted from a "Low Income Nation" to a "Middle Income Nation" by the World Bank? Again, it took an incompetent administration to ensure Nigeria won its first African Cup of Nations in 19 years. If previous administrations had been this  'incompetent', then Nigeria would have long since overtaken South Africa as Africa's largest economy, but we did not achieve this feat until an 'incompetent' Jonathan was brought to office by the votes of over 22 million Nigerians.

5:33AM, if u like go and commit succide in Zohara desert, Igbos wd rather vote GEJ than vote any Islamic terrorist hiding under APC.

Tribal bigot!