'I suffered sexual abuse in high school & physical abuse in university – Lola Omotayo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 17 December 2014

'I suffered sexual abuse in high school & physical abuse in university – Lola Omotayo

While addressing a group of young women at Kinabuti's Dare2Dream Master Class event which happened in Lagos recently, Peter Okoye's wife and mother of 2, Lola Omotayo revealed that she suffered sexual abuse by a priest when she was in secondary school and beaten black and blue by a boyfriend in the university. She said she never told anyone about the molestation because she didn't believe anyone would believe her
"I couldn’t tell anyone because everyone would blame me, so I carried on the guilt and bitterness with me for years. I was filled with hate and I became an angry person, I was rebellious, I didn’t want to listen to anybody…and because I wanted to be expelled from school to avoid seeing this person, I would do so many terrible things, everything around me was just so negative, I felt I wasn’t good enough."
‘I moved on to the university, met the love of my life and I’m like, okay this guy is cool, he loves me but he started to abuse me. I was beaten black and blue all the time, in front of friends, in public and at a point, I felt, you know what, I am not worthy enough, there is nothing about me that is nice, nobody loves me but I hid this from my family. I felt like a loser, so it was hard for me to focus. But one day, I woke up and said I am going to change my story and I dumped that person, focused on my education and decided to be serious and be something. I decided to get a job and go to school full time in America.’
She said she worked hard to make her own money so she could be independent and not have to rely on any man. She said being independent and making her own money helped her build her confidence and pushed to achieve more in life. She then talked about her husband, Peter Okoye
"Look at my husband, when I met him, peeps were like what are you doing with him, he has nothing but I stood my ground and chose to stick with him because he had a dream. He and his twin brother did not let their dream die, they worked hard, look at them today! I stuck by him because he had focus and drive and today I am happy, I have a good life, we are happy and we have got a beautiful family. No one can make you a loser.’.
Watch the video below..

240 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 240 of 240

ok, thank God for God (eleyele1@yahoo.com)

Awwh!! Happy she overcame her past life & became a better person for herself. There is hope for all

...make we hear word!!!

successodinachi@yahoo.com

its a good thing yhu came out stronger. i admire ur courage to talk about those nasty and ugly experiences.

But to talk abt priests? hmmm..... let God be the judge of that. *lips sealed*

abujakenneth said...

Congratulations

Even now we don't believe you....Okay now everyone is crucifying Bill Cosby you suddenly remembered you were molested...tscheeew. Abeg Linda no mind this Mrs Okoye joor....Soon she go say the boyfriend wey been dey beat am na Bill Cosby.

Adah said...

Bitch.. your own Peter. . Do you call him your own peter when he was poor.. You better go and pay your rent before they start throwing out your garbage lol.

Not only u..even my dogs suffer same on the streets..you folks should feel for my Dogs also

Mz Naija said...

Honestly afta watching dis video, I just fell in love with this woman agen #strongwoman#

All this celeb no get any other gist oda than i was sexually abused, raped or molested when i was a kid. liar liar like you. once they hit the lime light dem go begin dey cook up gist

story for the gods. see this attention seeker o! Who you be? liar. are u not a loser? old cougar causing issues with blood brothers family.

better keep quiet when people are talking, old mama. na now day break for your eye. na time go tell no be now.

Eeyah! Sorry about that...Shez strong now, so she should put all these things behind her

UMUZE OCHUKO NEVILLE said...

THIS WILL ENCOURAGE YOUNG GIRLS AND BOYS NOT TO GIVE UP ON THEMSELVES NO MATTER THE SITUATION.

Sorry

Na bcos u fine na

Dats y God blessed u wit a star.

Thanks for educating our youths

Hope u told ur guy before now.

Experience...pretty woman

And now Lola lived happily thereafter

Most women have gone through such pains, is just God dat save female children

iyke cindy said...

Yeah rite....we all nid to strive 4 d best

Most women have gone through such pains, is just God dat save female children

It's so good that she can talk about her past now as young girls need to know that they should speak up when being assaulted and sexually molested and not believe that it is normal to be in an abusive relationship. Well done Lola.

GREEN said...

SHE IS PRETTY SHAAA. ALOT OF US HAVE STORIES TO TELL ABOUT THIS ISSUE. COS AM ALSO A VICTIM.

nkiru4love@yahoo.com

HRH Jefixx�� said...

Men and their insecurities though!

GOOD TO HEAE..AKA..INSPIRING

Boladale said...

Of all the Okoye's wives (Jude, Peter and Paul) Lola is the most beautiful, put sentiment apart.

All forms of abuse should indeed be discouraged and stopped. The female folk always seems to be the target. Thank God Omotayo came out stronger.

LOVE YOU LOLA. ALWAYS HAVE. ALWAYS WILL. NO HOMO.

Lola pele o, a o ni riru e mo.

Eeyah

Graciella Personality Show said...

She is definitely now my role model. WOW, she's uch a beauty with brains. I love and respect women like this.

Graciella Personality Show said...

Beauty with Brains. Such an inspiration. If only all African women were like this....Independent women are great.

Omoge Dudu said...

U r sooo ignorant..

olayinka said...

Surprised to read ur story about ur high school Senior Lola,i attended the same high school and used to adore u then, although u were so harsh on us then and used to call us 'small rat'. Now i understand why u treated us the way u did.

BEAUTY WITH BRAINS AND LOVELY CHARACTER. DON'T MIND ALL THESE HATERS JOOR. DO YOUR THING GYAL.

Lola is a beautiful soul. I know many of her friends and female acquaintances are very jealous of her. But that is because she is an amazing person. Women and jealousy.

Learning point
there is no greater in someones's life, than the day he really foung himself and know that hez more than equal to the difficulties he has to face in life.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 240 of 240   Newer› Newest»