Photos: Nigerian referee beaten badly by irate football fans in Abuja | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 20 December 2014

Photos: Nigerian referee beaten badly by irate football fans in Abuja

According to Sunrise Sports Executive producer, Toyin Ibitoye, a center referee named Charles Ozigbo (pictured above) was assaulted by Nigerian football fans during a match between Rangers Bee of Kaduna and Kwara United of Ilorin in Abuja yesterday December 19th. The referee was reportedly attacked after he gave a penalty to one of the clubs. The supporters of the opposing club entered the football field and attacked the referee bringing the match to a abrupt halt. The match was subsequently cancelled.

108 comments:

OJAI baby said...

Ojai says" Chaii sorry ooo. Nigerian mobs can be something else

Jesus but y nah

APPLELIPX said...

Choi!!!
Die hard fans...
This is how typical nigerians act
For just an inter-state march oo
Sori bro

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

Our Futball sty Hav A LongWay 2 Go, Tins Lik Ds Cnt Happen In Europe, Even in som Wel Organised Africa Countries

Am I d only one who find this hilarious, "they'll be like nor dey blow whistle anyhow again"

The referee must hav been partial in his judgement

Dts serious

dodo said...

Haha. This is too much

Which country would you see this happening! Hasn't Nigeria football grown beyond this.. What a shame I must say. It is well. James 4:15-17. BishopDammy#

Too bad........

Click read why you are unable to get pregnant plus how to Prevent and eliminate UTERINE FIBROID

So bad ...

Awwww

haha. read the adventures of a lagos runs girl here

Bolateetoh said...

Pele o!na wetin u wan chop dey kill u. Tk heart.

Serves him ryt all ds refeers dy will b officiating rubbish dts y dy can't bring dem 2 officiate international matches.

They should be jailed for life

And I know say na aboki man go start dat fight.....na so dia Anger de trigger like mad dogs. Oga referee ndo oh. Heal soon

this assault

Too bad. Maybe it was cos the penalty was for the away team!!

Chidinma Grace said...

Hmmm fans always aggressive. Sorry sir, it comes wt d job.

Too bad

Cynthus said...

Ehya sorry referee. Niaja toh badt

Edwin Akwudolu said...

Referee, One of the must difficult job I have ever seen. Anything you do fans will complain. I just pity for him sha

mamma mia luv said...

Na wah. Angry fans! Ok oh

Ceeflo said...

Only in Nigeria would you see this sort of things!...

Na woah oooo! jacksoninem@yahoo.com

Khenzman said...

Sowi man. Fans re nt smiling

Assault by Nigerian fans towards referee is no new thing to this country and must be checked before it blows off.

Easy-E said...

Naija fans ehn nd dey no notin bout football...

lmao which kind meanness be dis lol boyz re not smiling at all

Hmmm...

Crystal said...

Eeyah, this is terrible.

luvlyn said...

Wat rubbish. D pipo dat did diz should be arrested.

Chynell said...

Rhythm unplugged linda. Kedi bread iji nata.
#chynell#

Chynell said...

#chynell#

Chynell said...

#chynell#

Same old same old

He is wearing black and blue and that's the color of the beating! LOL!! Anyway on a more serious note, this and obviously corruption are the reasons local football will never pick up or reach the heights of those in other countries.

Mich said...

Whatever happened to stadium security and orderly conduct by fans.
Savages!

@DGoldenJenny said...

Oh God.
That is wickedness
In soccer, there must be a winner n a looser. Why this ungodly attitude from some unscrupulous element?

Fans dey vex Lol, sorry my brother

@DGoldenJenny said...

All the same, Sorry sir

Wow which kind person go do this thing to him nawa oooo

Michael Victor said...

you don't do this...sorry bro, get a new job

Lol, sorry sir but honestly dis is funny. Cnt stop laughing with d way u keep ur face.lmao

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

Austine ihechukwu said...

Officiating a match in nigeria is suicidal, by the way linda, its ranchers bees not rangers jor

Inside Out said...

Nigeria my country

Ammy Becky said...

Hian nawa oo
Many Nigerians behaving like savages..msheww
Oga kpele oo

Omo dem no try ooo lol... this is someone's dad

Ha na waoo. Dis is nt fair @all why re they taking law into their hand...Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

Blame it on GEJ if GMB where to be our president that wouldn't have happened

Its just a game for heavens sake.
The security officials should be questioned for such lapse. Where were they during the attack.

Terrible experience..... But as a referee u suppose to consider environmental fact that we absolutely lack security in Nigeria and u would hv therefore avoid some controversial penalty

Na wa for this football fans sef...they wan kill am ni?

#Omoh

Northerners and violence ! Tufiakwa!!

Omg!where are the securities for christ sake?
FACE~OF~LIB.

In naija everything is possible. BB bold1

dubecinfo said...

Lol.. But sorry

gidis said...

kai naija....no chill atall

Choi dem enter field and beat Ah referee lol na wa oo shit Krazy

hahahahahahahaha.... Cnt stop lafin dis one na one blow seven akpu lol d man go don provoke niggas na em dem treat em fuck up straight up

Linda you live fools on your blog,mad pig.

Naija dy vex oh

The organisers did not provide enough security then!

kayPee said...

Jungle/Field justice

Nigerians. me I don tire for this violence of a tin oh

Awww! Ehya no be small beating sha. Some fans tho, the spirit following football is so strong. Sowie o Mr referee you will be fine #onelovefromSnow#

eeyaa pele. talk of which NFF sef is battered.

Anon 2:19pm, I makwa ihe?

Ndgreat715 said...

Linda, its actually "Ranchers Bees" & not "Rangers". Shows you are only interested in European leagues. Time we start promoting our own.

Gentletee said...

That's terrible! What do we call this? Football hooliganism

Ouch! Sorry o bt honestly dis is bad

Must you comment shit if you are not in good mood? New yr is approaching. .change your ugly way abeg.. We love you but we dont love your mouth lol

fashanu Blessing said...

Omg it's funny sha, hw can a person be this wicked na wa ooo. things dey happen

Bolaji said...

More Photos here - http://naijastuffs.com/photos-referee-beaten-mercilessly-nigerian-league-match-abuja/

I trust nigerians shaa

Shits happens.....too bad those guys designed his face.....

•••GUTS OVER FEAR•••

•••QUEENMAYA•••

D ref don blow rubbish n receive beat down... Na em fit m

The way some guys attach so much importance to football makes me wonder if there's something else involved. Nawah.

Why can't they beat our theiving politicians that way

adetomiwa said...

Bros no vex...it won't happen again... Lolz... Pele ehn.... Mabinu

Lwkmd!!! Never take away the joy of a hungry man!
#NaijaFanatism

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

Can Ʊ imagine, pele..

Na wa oo

viccky said...

Ehya sowi o.......whr were d security ppl sef

Choi, one of the why of the job, kia the laid hands on him o. person husband.

Lol, epele

The main reason why Nigerian league is not highly rated.

Choii sorry o

What did they gain in inflicting pain on this man now? Some people just can't control their anger

jingle justice, taking law in hands
mjabdulk@gmail.com

Haba! That is very bad nah!

clovis louis said...

Sorry o

So that justifies them entering into d field while the match was going on to beat up the man? Civilised people will complain after d match and if the man is found guilty of being partial, hel be penalised appropriately. The way we think sha, am sure u feel the people in the north too must have done something wrong to boko haram, abi why are they killing them? Smh!

Michael Victor said...

Omo those fans no get joy

You are as stupid as your name suggests... Bad officiating or not, the players or the fans don't have the right to lay hands on him.. he is a professional, let him do his job. #ignorantnigerian

MR EDDY said.
Lmfao. Sorry bro. But u sef no dey try imitate satin western refs dem dey do.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

D guy is saying somthn good joor ba aboki dey quick provoke like dat

See person father wat if dey killed d man, d money for d football dey ll not see whr dey ll eat d money n dey r there fighting mumu fight, hope dey ll see dos animals to punish dem stupid pple.

that's what happens in kaduna matches

Hahhhhaaaa na only naija u go hear say dis kind tin happen

U are sick...I hope dey beat ur father like dis one day. Idiot

umoh Linda said...

Nigerians sha, we can do n undo..

See as them mix d guy like dough for chinchin!

Jude Akinwole said...

This is bad! When will all these barbarism end in our Football? It's really sad

no security present ?

south ockendon said...

Then, how will our football develop?

Na wa ooo