14yr old boy executed in South Carolina in 1944 finally exonerated | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 18 December 2014

14yr old boy executed in South Carolina in 1944 finally exonerated

70 years after 14 year old George Stinney Jnr. was executed for allegedly beating two young white girls to death in Alcolu, South Carolina, a judge yesterday Wednesday Dec 17th threw out his murder conviction.

When George was executed in 1944, he was so small he had to seat on a phone book in the electric chair. He's officially the youngest person to be executed in the U.S. in the 20th century.

George was found guilty of beating the girls, 11 and 8 years old with a railroad spike. His trial lasted only three hours and it took the a jury of all white people just 10 minutes to find him guilty - this was just 3 months after the girls were found murdered. This was back when there was a lot of segregation in America.

George was arrested after he confessed to the crime, but his older sister always maintained that George was coerced into confessing and couldn't have committed the murder because he was with her the day of the murder.

Civil rights advocates have been trying for years to clear George Stinney Jr's name. They managed to get the case reopened and yesterday morning, Judge Carmen Mullins tossed the murder conviction.

224 comments:

1 – 200 of 224   Newer›   Newest»
Ammy Becky said...

Awww too bad...
Pity he's not alive to witness it...racism has caused a lot of harm in this world!!

This is sad

jezzzzz....AFTA SUCH A LONG TIME..........AWWWWW

Dis is nt a victory, it's tragedy, it just shows dat racism z not so long ago n should not b treated lyk it is totally absent

70years after....hmmmmmm.... wasted

so,what happens now? ndi ocha saf...

Na waa o. After so many years,beta late dan neva shaa.

The evil whites v done to black tho....very terrible. ... even now they won't stop
its so sad....

na wao

Medicine after death.

***ECHOMASS***

Noblism said...

Like what's the need when he's already dead nd gone???? What a fine boy!!

After so many years.

Does it make sense, if dey clear d name, wil it raise d dead?oyibo shaa

Bosslady said...

Nonsense, so what's the use of this now?

I guess now we can wait for his ressurection.....!! Mchwwww.... bunch of racist!!

So sad!

ChincoBee said...

Wow....70years you say???

Of what use

70years back.....like the days of my grand father.....damn!! Segregation was the other of the day then according to history...just hope they will clear his name of the alleged murder. »»»»»»»QUEENMAYA»»»»»»

May he make it to heaven in Jesus name. Amen. Keeping resting in peace George...

Imagine

Meaning?? I still don't understand. Someone pls put me through....

mamma mia luv said...

He would have been the first black president, he has a name that sounds well as an American president. ...George Stinney

Omo e tall oooo!!

Great error

Gee.....this is Awesome! now go wake him up and give him the good news.

Medicine after death. Jesus have mercy!!!

Horpe said...

so sad

If it were a white boy he won't have been executed,racism in America is on even till now....whites kill blacks without been answerable to anyone

Na wah ooo

DORO CLASSY said...

Aunty lindodo wel done 2 u o. Infact i just felt hailing u!!! God bless. #DORO CLASSY#

70yrs after conviction. Considering recent judicial maltreatments of the blacks in the US in today 21'st century, I wonder how it was in the 20th century

Oh menh

princess said...

It took them 70yrs to exonerate him after he is already rotten in d grave! Na wa o

Medcine after death!

Justice at last. Hmconcept2000@gmail.com

Austine ihechukwu said...

Medicine after death, so touching tho, bt wot strikes me is hw a 70yr old pix could still be this bright, 2 me that's amazing, bt is 2 bad, those white ppl did a lot of evil

Please of what use is it now. After 70yrs. Them try well well.

hmm... Na wa o.. All d wasted years.

Plato said...

Xo sad

ALLCORRECT said...

and the reversed judgement was supposed to resurrect him right....i guess the judge did that based on the supposed racial issues currently happening....

anyway where is my straw and my tea?

johnplanet said...

Too bad
#wethebest #LibR

GREG_GPEL said...

Now his life starts at 70,wats now the need. Chai

gbemsco said...

After 70years..... hmmmmn

If only dat could bring him back.

kiosoft communications said...

Since 1944... and at d age of 14. Jeez

...StarTrek to 2015 giveaway...

DORO CLASSY said...

Aunty lindodo wel done 2 u o, infact i just feel like hailing u!!! God bless. #DORO CLASSY#

Wow freedom @last.after a very period of years, am so feeling for him ohhhhh.his age mate are now grand papa's.

......optimalgoal@gmail.com......

If only dat could bring him back.

Oh my God!! Thank God for the advancement of fundamental human rights in this present day and time.

What, i mean........

I'm sure the judge and juries that found him guilty all have a special seat in the hottest part of hell. Clare

Is he still alive ???

Must bear George? Abegg make una give am anoda name jare!

SANDRA said...

Wat a wicked world

wyzzhi said...

oyibo pple eh! 1944 case dem stil dey hustle am

destinysweet said...

Sad.Racism can never end

Auntylindagoddaughter

God of mercy

After all this years.

Mz CIA said...

Omg! 7o yrs after wat È‹̝̊̅§ left fr him.

You know, a lot of atrocities where committed in the US! Just some days ago I read how a black kid was beaten and had his eyes gouged out because he dared talk to a white guy. I forget his name, but what they did to that kid was gruesome.

Na wah ooo 70years

Waat a life!

onpoint said...

Too late

This is all about discrimination cos if it were to be a white boy they would suggest him been taken to a rehab.
FACE~OF~LIB

It's so sad

This is medicine after death. So what happens now? I swear if na me i no go agree oooooooo. Government go vomit their lives savings. Imagine the years the've been in anguish.

Whites, though he is dead at least it will be on record that he is innocent

FOLARIN• said...

Hhhmm
How does this bring back the dead?

Racism will never end in the United states of America and the entire world

drey said...

Chai there is God ooooo

mary Eluwa said...

I feel so sorry for him, such an innocent and heart melting expression on his face...

so na naw deir brain reset to knw say d boy dey innocent, Mtchewww! oloshi wites dat crucified him. may u continu to rip dear boy, God wil hep u punish al of dem. mariaakwarandu@yahoo.com

Oyinbo!! Can keep info die......Bia Linda weti concern me with Oyinbo matter. wey happen before my Mama and Papa was born? NEXT!

God is so wonderful
Nothing he can not do

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

Rubish, will that wake him up, after 70yrs, his family go dan 4get abt him sef, his parent wuld be dead sef... Whites ehn... Anyway, God is watching all of us in 3D, on d day of judgement ehn, baba God will spend a whole week with 1 person cos the person's crime go jst dey 2 much, as dem dey talk abt 1 crime anoda 1 will surface, injustice,wickedness...all is well

Bold Kid said...

Kai!! The racism was real.

Irrelevant

Irrelevant

To what?

Helena said...

Na wah ooh

Exonerated in absentia. But is it really impactful? Exonerating an already executed juvenile offender.Why revisit the case now? Who then receives the recompense?

Why didn't they scrap the case since they don kill am

My Lord!! White people nd racism and they haven't changed @all
#chynell#

ken walter said...

Thank God he will finally rest in peace ....

Another war between white and black....

ken walter said...

Thank God he will finally rest in peace ....

May d soul of d innocent Continue to rest I peace.

Ayodele Jay said...

The deed has been done already. he finally gets to rest in peace tho.

Dunno if I should say well done or happy time wasting...that's lik 70yrs ago..is somebody kidding me?? Okay fine u guyz shuld trace is generation tree and pay compensation to em. Lol

hmmmm.....racism at dat time was rampant bt not still nice to do such.....josephgbakeji@gmail.com

Tunde said...

This is how bad these Oyinbo can be.Till date they still treat us like rags while we treat them like kings even on our own soil. To kill a 14 years old boy hastly is a crime against God and man. I wish our govt do things right so that we can enjoy life here and stop running to them.may his soul continue to rest in peace.

70Yrs after,that's so long

Medicine after death, so? Any other person convicted?#adjustsmyjacketandwalksaway

it's now dat they will exonerate d young poor boy whom pple believed neva commited such murder, it was just racism dat killed dat innocent boy. watch d film abt him n u will cry alot. thank God at least for his family who had since been fighting for his innocent course.

hmmm,may his soul continue to rest in peace...

Wow!

Stupid pple....

Wat a waste of life...Lord have mercy

BOSSLADY said...

life tho

Isn't it too late to cry over a spilled milk? Though the judgement was too cruel electrocuted a 14 year old boy?

Inside Out said...

Well this bring the bot back to life?

Inside Out said...

Boy

Folashade Idowu said...

Hummmm. I don't know why am feeling so bad about him. Even though I wasn't born when this happened, we can't just imagine how many Black that has been killed unjustly just because of their skill colour. A 14years old boy?. God let there be peace
Amen

Justice delayed but not denied...though it came to late!!!

Hmn. Is his family even still alive? So sad.

So sad after being executed wrongfully, of what good is the tossing of the murder conviction to a him.. This is so painful, racism against blacks still strives in USA even till tomorrow. Rubbish

Hmmm African and american

Ok heard next story

Walsmorgan said...

70 good yrs later.....he's been exonerated. The devil got hold of him. His destiny and purpose in life was truncated. Lord have mercy on me.

Kemele said...

So what happens next

So so sad. Now how do they hope to atone for this?

Doro Na Diva She No Dey Taya said...

unfortunately it did not end in 1944, so many innocent black men still rotting away in american prisons today for crimes they didn't commit.

damiwizzy said...

This is a really sad story, another case of how black people suffered, and this is just the story known to us, so many have died for crimes they didn't commit. God remains the ultimate judge. It is well.

heard d story on daily mail i feel for d boy,he was just too young to face such a horrific death

Na wa

Na wa

HmmmM........." he was so small he had to seat on a phone book in the electric chair""...... Dat was tu much 4 him na

he was too young to face such horrific death

D exoneration is of no use...d dude is dead...Tribalism will Neva stop as far as we wash white cloth first b4 any oda colour,, it will Neva stop as far as white cars still use black tires...... it will Neva stop as far as we still use white dress for wedding nd black clothes for mourning.....FACT of life

Anasalexander3562@gmail.com

Ada lolo said...

I wonder what those useless jury was thinking despite an alibi

Elodie O. Mbape said...

Hum...No comment!

Too little too late after a whole 70yrs. Blacks suffer sha. Now white cops killing young black youths all dey could get is the white cops acted on self defence. RIP

Oyibo style.

warri lawyer said...

Dis story is so amazingly touching.almost makes me wnt to cry

jesus!!! after all this years. na wa!

So painful, white folks sucks.

smh

yimi said...

Wht a waste

Mcsheeeew..... After dey ave killed him..... These whites and their segregations eeeehhh

elo tasha said...

How is the beating possible?

Zoë said...

Na wah ooo, executed a 14yrs old,that can never happen again in this century.

John Philemon said...

Jeeez.... Dz is Barbaric Act n d ppl dt sentenced him should also face firing squard

Nina Queenet said...

So sad..and they wasted a life of a tenager without thinking twice cos he is a blak guy..May God forgive dem continue to RIP man..

*******NINA******

What next?

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

Years of segregation. Too bad it happened, but it's all history now

Berryblast said...

Does dat bring him back to life?

This is a case of medicine after death. Racism has kille lots of blacks and vrought injustice to thei homes. Its still on till now. Some whites just wish blacks should be wiped off the face of the earth.

Hmmmmmmm.Racism!

Wow...he wld av been 84years old...so sad...wat a way to end up...thank God his name has been cleared...I hope his sister is still alive to cry from pain and yet from joy.

Honestly sooooooo many African Americans died for nothing!!!really pathetic a life cut so young!!!i hp it is enuf consolation 2 d family!!!!

King Dave Anya said...

Rubbishhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

he was not exonorated, the judge simply said he was too young to have been executed ad did not want to continue with that bad history, not that she believes he was not guilty. Get your facts right.

dona said...

Make thunder fire dem. Since 1944? 3 hours trial? Was Michael brown's killer prosecuted??? Plssss

Medicine after death

Hmmmm.wat a shame,he might have been coerced to say he did it. Such a small lad,alil too late to be exonerated. Racism is too bad.

mamma mia luv said...

He was executed 70yrs ago at the age of 14 for killing 2young girls but his big sister was of the opinion that he didn't commit the crime so decided to push further so as to clear her brother's name even though he was already dead, and his name has just been cleared.
I hope i was able to break it down enough.

Does it change anything..after killing the little black boy..the crime has been paid for,there's no need for this..

SO PAINFUL AFTER 70 GOOD YEARS

BELIEVE ALL THING HERE

mamma mia luv said...

No Madame he was executed 70yrs ago. Read again.

Due to the context behind Discrimination, segregation & racism so many innocent lives has been wasted.

Just like dat, its a pity!!

Haba.after been electrocuted

Just like dat, its a pity, he's no more to witness dis, may his soul rest in peace!!

Just like dat, he's no more to witness dis, may his soul rest in peace!!

Just like dat!!

Just like dat, may God have mercy!!

Mz steph said...

70years after??? Too bad he ain't alive to witness it

Mz steph said...

Rotten Ko? Nooo he is now a fossil

No comment oh

Too bad

Poor lad, may his soul continue to rip

Too bad...

So sad...

Rosie said...

what difference does it make now???

Seriously I feel like crying for dis Boy. I will rather pray for him #MyHisSoulRestInPerfectPeace# amin

Crystal said...

No matter how lonh it takes, the truth will surely prevail, too bad he is not alive to witness his exoneration.

Princess G said...

It's a shame. Those jury that sentence him might all the dead by now. God pls may those that the world listens to don't lie or say anything against us. Omacha oooo.

ElsieNene said...

This is so sad! imagine after 70 years. so sad.

PRETTY GIRL said...

70 'phucking' years later? Soooo Sad !

Babe you dey yarn. No wonder you got the 100k. Chai see grammar.

Mischievous said...

"Racism is still with us. But it is up to us to prepare our children for what they have to meet, and, hopefully, we shall overcome."

-Rosa Parks

"Parents and schools should place great emphasis on the idea that it is all right to be different. Racism and all the other 'isms' grow from primitive tribalism, the instinctive hostility against those of another tribe, race, religion, nationality, class or whatever. You are a lucky child if your parents taught you to accept diversity."

-Roger Ebert

Racism is well and alive in the USA because many parents teach children at home to feel superior to blacks. Many times I asked myself, are these people humans? The answer that comes to my mind is 'No', they are Plastic people. Fake people.

The Apartheid regime in South Africa survived that long because of the support of USA and other western nations. The USA is a disgrace to humanity.

MR EDDY said...
Very pathetic. May his soul rest in peace.
^™THAT EDOBOY.COM~

Omg! Of what use is life to him now 'smh' where will he start from for crying out loud, he won't even have a good perception about life anymore 'smh' so sad indeed #onelovefromSnow#

St.elsewhere said...

Im shocked by the comment here and hw small minded we nigerians are...No wonder the country is in dis mess...Way to go USA...after 70yrs justice prevailed...pls y'all should just climb back up to your various trees

Blacks and blacks no even like dem selves talk more of whites loving blacks. Na us de cause things ourselves

Mischievous said...

"It's not what you have on the outside that glitters in light, it's what you have on the inside that shines in the dark."
― Anthony Liccione

The blood of innocent blacks shed by the deeply entrenched white establishment in the USA will forever haunt them. They are vampires. They represent DARKNESS!

RIP little one but it doesn't make any difference now

imonikemas2@gmail.com said...

4th comment has said it all. the old man is as good as dead bcos there is nothing he can do with his life at this age. Omo he need to be compensated big time and i hope he still have family to fall on.

Neks said...

>>>>> Its didn't seem to me like 70yrs ago, Racism will never stop but am happy Blacks don't are fighting real hard for their rights now. <<<<<

lovely linda, every other source i read says the boy sat on his bible not a phone book

Reading these comments make me so so so very sad. Tribalism is so rife, blatant and very openly practised in Nigeria and Africa. It has been and still is the cause of so many bloody wars, blood shed and is the root cause of hunger, disease and underdevelopment Africa is so renown for. In Nigeria it is very much enshrined in our constitution and carried out shamelessly on a daily basis. The lives of billions of people have been very negatively affected by it. Several billion lives have been lost because of it, yet we do not hesitate to point our filthy fingers to what white men did while gleefully forgetting what we all do every second of every minute of every hour of every day of our lives.

I am not saying racism is good but we should at least make efforts to stop tribalism in our land before we point accusing fingers at people who have done a whole lot (including this boy's exoneration) to reduce all forms of discrimination.

The fact is the black man faces far less discrimination and has more freedom and opportunities in America and other Western countries than in just about every country in Africa. Shame!!

It's so painful, if he was a white boy, they would have given him 2nd chance may God hlp blacks. It's so bad, may his soul rest in perfect peace.

Painful!! May his soul rest in peace. May God help blacks all over the world.

Can the truth be said after 70 years in Nigeria? Where our judiciary has been bastardised by the military and our political leaders.

Ukay said...

So I'm guessing the door of heaven finally opened for him? Or what? What does this mean really

"They call it "UNFORTUNATE". Those evil bastards murdered a 14 year old child with their lies & racial hatred & call it UNFORTUNATE!!!!!".

Wow am speechless this kind of thing always happen in America it's well JC

Mischievous said...

Satan the Devil killed a 'God' in 1944, but that 'God' is still well and alive in 2014 and forever.
Just like Jesus was crucified on the Cross and rose on the third day. Death could not hold Him.
The Spirit of George Stinney lives, they thought they killed him but his Spirit went back to His Creator, God Almighty.

SUSAN.C. said...

LOOK AT HIS SAD FACE...KNOWING HE WILL DIE.

Too bad. They took away a bright young life coz of his black. Hope they rot in hell for condemning him to death.

Mz Naija said...

This is really serious....after 70 yrs?? Haba!! Racism is just one big b***h

So annoying

LIB Police said...

Guys we seem 2 be missing something
What about the little girls that was murdered violently.
I pity all ov em

So Sad, Finally Rest in peace Dear. "Sobs"

such a sad thing to hear but what difference dose it make now that they have known the truth still will not bring him back

I feel soo bad

vanessa said...

haba d guy don old 4 jail nah..2 bad

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 224   Newer› Newest»