Swiss-Nigerian footballer Steven Ukoh switches nationality to Nigerian to play for Super Eagles | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 18 December 2014

Swiss-Nigerian footballer Steven Ukoh switches nationality to Nigerian to play for Super Eagles

World football governing body, FIFA, has cleared former Swiss U-20 international, Steven Archibong Effiong Ukoh, to play for the Super Eagles at senior level. The versatile midfielder, born on June 19, 1991 to Nigerian parents in Berne, Switzerland, currently plays for Biel-Bienne FC in the European country but has now switched his nationality to Nigerian, to enable him play for Super Eagles.

Steve Ukoh represented Switzerland at U-16, U-17, U-18, U-19 and U-20 levels between 2006 and 2010, but had a change of mind at senior international level with the super eagles.

A statement issued in Abuja by Ademola Olajire, Assistant Director, Communications, Nigeria Football Association (NFA) read 
“Ukoh was cleared to switch his nationality from Switzerland to Nigeria. The versatile midfielder, born on 19 June, 1991 to Nigerian parents in Berne, Switzerland, currently plays for Biel-Bienne FC in the European country. His father, Archibong Ukoh and mother Helene, hail from Itu Local Government Area of Akwa Ibom’’.

130 comments:

Mr nice guy said...

Hope he can play not just switching for nothing

Mr nice guy said...

Hope he can play not just switching for nothing

Aww very nice decision

Hmmm.mm .... Dats gud of him

Wow. So nice of him.

Hope he is a good footballer not another new flop to the already dozen of flops we got. »»»»»QUEENMAYA»»»»»

Doro Na Diva She No Dey Taya said...

Handsome dude welcome to Nigeria! At least we naija babes now have a better chance.

Nneka Nwigwe's Blog said...

wow...

mamma mia luv said...

This is good. Nice move!

Wow that's deep!

Cool......super eagles upgrading

Such love for our country

Oh Dats gud

The dude is hawt.
FACE~OF~LIB

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

thirsty groupies coming in 4, 3, 2,......

1991 you say what?

www.udokajane.blogspot.com

Hmm, thats an uncommon decision. Patriotism

Good news

Wow great news for NFF.

obietrezy said...

Guy my advice for you is to have a rethink and forget about nigeria football because its so f*****d up.... Jor oh

Face tooooo longggggg

That's good of him...

Good fr dem....will he be the change eagles????? God hlp dem

Nice choice and choose is good sometime to show love to your country and help to move Nation to next level and I believe you'll deliver your best

Well wish him all d best...

johnplanet said...

Nt bad
#wethebest #LibR

Oh,dis sounds good, bt i dnt no,football fans,ova to u,is there any underground favor to dis??jst saying...cheers,xoxo. Da duchess

This guy don fuck up i swear..... Well his choice....

Helena said...

Find calabar boy

This one na real Edward...omo see opon ijoba as Yoruba dey call am

Pino said...

Hiaaaa...he don high

Hope he is good

dollynkikky said...

Nawa o... I wish him the best tho

Smh for him

SunnyBriggs. said...

Nice move sexy thing!

Nice one.oneandonlynwa@gmail.com

peter tyo said...

Welcome ukon

Good for him n us

Welcome home

Naija get people

He should better switch back cos he will definetely regret it.
Oluchiobum@

To play for Nigeria? What a mistake of the year.

ok Gud

Obinna said...

Such loyalty can only be imported!

wyzzhi said...

coool decision

Gud 4 him

Gud 4 him

Congratulations to Nigeria, the middle filed should be better now, nice one,

No place like home ➡Via Nokia1110_LindaIkejiBlogClassRep

but he looks older tho...

That's not necessarily out of his loyalty to Nigeria. It is because he didn't make the cut to play for Swiss national team..I hate when they make it seem as if he is being loyal to Nigeria

Hope he plays well..

That's wonderful

Welcome home can't wait to see u in green and white jersey

I hope mikel is aware of this. This guy is good and may/can/should bench mikel.

OK welcm 2 super eagles

Nice.
He can't be a one man squad amongst 11 players who can't qualify for nations cup.

dodo said...

Nice decision

I'm not into sports. This literally made no sense to me. Good for him sha.

Dis is a wondrful news,may you make ur new country proud.

Good one.patriotic

Thoughtful of him. Hope he'll do well

Dede said...

Now this guy is the real mvp!!!

Good one! Patriotic

At least he get sense, make we hope say he sabi play ball!

Black and proud

Welcome! New blood at last

APPLELIPX said...

D money must be really big to mk u switch ur nationality to nigeria of all places

Good one...hope say we no go do am as we do moses

Abeg make him come put mikel fo bench

Bokunor said...

Hope all dis hyping will pay off

Clean dude, Hope you can play very well

Clap 4 ursef Okoh..Spirit of patriotism

Bros ur welcome back no place like home

Ehn noted hope he will play well

God Bless U son

God bless you son

GREG_GPEL said...

Good for him

Clap 4 ursef Okoh..Spirit of patriotism

Thinkofdennis said...

cool dude

Coool... I jus hope he wasn't dumped & he decided to rememba nigeria... I jus hop he's good... We don't need more scrap in our national team o...

good of him..patriotism at work..hope you will help the dying national team to rise...

Crystal said...

Welcome home and pls play well for us

Home calls, welcome home son.

mike said...

Abi. Cos I've not heard of him before

Gentletee said...

Wow! Thats interesting. He may have thought it wise. Hope he doesnt regret it.

He is such a cutie
Welcome dearie

He should help to restore super eagles back

Princess G said...

Good luck to him.

Mikel is gradually packing

Hope he can play very well....??

andre kelvin said...

1991. Dis dude looks 30

MR EDDY said...
Nice one.but I hope say u sabi ball.
^™THAT EDOBOY.COM~

He made the right choice! And he is cute, Mikel should park one side with dat his russian albino!!! Lol

You're the only one that knows what's up. Many are commenting here just to be noticed.

But that's none of my business!

... commenting from Ikoyi Cemetery

I hope he will take the team to another level cos it's not about changing nationality just to be known #onelovefromSnow#

Onyx Vine said...

Dear God, I pray that this young man will not regret his decision to sacrificially serve Nigeria one day. Amen!

...but does have what it takes to make the first eleven at the Super Eagles roster?

Cellen said...

That's very patriotic, if I may say. Wish him the very best.

UMUZE OCHUKO NEVILLE said...

THIS IS A GOOD MOVE FOR HIM.CONGRATULATIONS.

Awww! That's so cool. I wonder how many of us love 9ja reach that one *thinking*
Guys, Do you want a 'serious' relationship? Try BV HookUps

Good news, welcm home brother.

iyke cindy said...

Nice one....he has his fatherland at heart

Abeg no b just to change alligiance b d issue 4 football,e beta b say dis Ukoh guy sabi play football oh,because many otu players full super eagles des days oh.

9ja Parrot said...

switched nationality ke? Just hope he doesn't regret his decision o.

Someone is now being nice

Error

Umm bad belle..u know it all

Welcome home

Are u kidding me?, is dat all u can tink of?..,naija babes I dey hail una oooo..very soon now Baby mamas go full everywhere..#ideywatch#

Mr Ukoh why bothering playing for a country where godfatherism has destroyed her football world @ d national level? Anyway u are highly welcomed.congrat man

He's super cute

welcome bro..hope you will do us proud

twalz said...

sweet of him

Mz Naija said...

Ok, we have heard..I hope he performs well..

great move!

Ok ooo

dats ma boy!!!! looking forward to his return.

Talenticus come show us what yu got.

Welcome home my bro.

The only way for him to get into World Cup I suppose... Cynical me.

nice of him to come and bench mikel obi

Joyce says

We need young talents like this...NFF should give him chance to display his talents.

lets hope he is useful to the team

plz switch back to d former coz we are not yet done wit shola ameobi

JUST BECAUSE HE IS NOT RELEVANT OOOO.AKA..NO P

royalty said...

This guy just choose to spoil his international career

Maybe the bad people in the village is at work... seriously...