Nigerian becomes first black woman to graduate with a first class degree from the University of Reading UK | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 15 December 2014

Nigerian becomes first black woman to graduate with a first class degree from the University of Reading UK

Anita Osariemen Omonuwa from Edo-state has achieved a feat that has never been attained in the 122 years of existence of UK institution, University of Reading. She graduated with a First Class degree in Law from the university which is rated among the top 1% in the world.

She was among the students who got the “Chancellors Award” by the Chancellor of the University, Sir John Madejski, who happens to be the founder of AutoTrader and Chairman of Reading Football Club. 

She actually graduated from Reading in 2012 but just finished from the Nigerian Law School.

She graduated from the Nigerian Law School last month with a first class again and has also emerged as the very first Nigerian to graduate in the Bar final examinations from overseas with a First Class, Bachelor of Laws degree ever since the Nigerian Law school was established 51 years ago.

Anita is actually learning from her father, Mr. Omoruyi Augustine Omonuwa, OFR who is a Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN). 

Other prizes that Anita Omonuwa has won include the Clarks Legal Prize for best performance in Part 2; Equity and Trust, presented by David Rintoul; the Managing Partner, Keith Wright Memorial Prize for best overall performance in Part 2; the Shoosmiths Prize for best overall performance in Part 2; and the Boinime Jackson Lott Foundation Prize. 

391 comments:

1 – 200 of 391   Newer›   Newest»
Website Design | Website Development | Digital Marketing said...

wow,dats guuuuuud

billzsunny@gmail.com

we are good ...still pray fot nigeria

okiezman said...

Nice n encouraging okesimaa@gmail.com

This is awesome .... proudly Nigerian ..thumbs up well_cherished@yahoo.com

wow! thats great! congrats to her...

#Godblessnigeria

wow this is amazing!
dapofadahunsi@yahoo.com

Are you kidding me? fogeygee@gmail.com Wow!

Beauty and Brain... you are Blessed, congrats

Nice. Ikmoney11@gmail.com

okiezman said...

Okesimaa@gmail.com

Ikmoney11@gmail.com

temna said...

Good 4 her...all I need nw us Linda ikeji's blackberry passport. plss ohh Linda av mercy

Nigerians abroad doing us proud!

Incredible. Ikmoney11@gmail.com

Yayyyy congrat..rosepowell0@gmail.com

11th to comment. Cool. Ikmoney11@gmail.com

okiezman said...

Jah bless okesimaa@gmail.com

wow so great and beautiful woman

She tryied

Congrat to u anita nwanyi oma for making a weaker nigeria proud thank @freebornzina@gmail.com

Remsco2sure@gmail.com

Seen. Hizson.gg@gmail.com

preCious said...

Beauty and Brains. Congrats.

LIBVIRUSSPREADING said...

And she's sassy too. Not so book wormish

beauty and the brain...oluwalobunmi

Baby oku. obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

But frst kee. Wen we gat anof wey don Graduate. Like me

Remsco2sure@gmail.com

Wow. Congratulations to her. Beauty,style n brain.

Nawao..naija dey try sha ooo..she'll be wanted by many firms..if u see her u go think say na runs girl not knowing she brain itself

Congrats to her. Congrats to Naija

fashanu Blessing said...

Wow, she's gud. So hapi 4 her. Congrats

Wow. Congrats to her! Omowunmisonoiki@yahoo.com

didi said...

Congrats babes,am proud of u

Princess G said...

Lovely girl with good brains on top sey she be Nigerian. Lalalalalalalal. We no dey carry last joor. Thank U Jesus.

She's nt lukin Bad sha. 9ja self don upgrade for UK oh.

Remsco2sure@gmail.com

WHAOOOOOOO.SO PROUD OF HER.MAY SHE CONTINUE IN THESAME LIGHT IN JESUS NAME...AKA...AMEN

Wow!!! Congrats Anita

Congt to Her

This is amazing. Congrats to her

Wow!!!!! Congratulations....... Happy 4 u

Beauty and brain, congratulations

She won't have achieved dis if she schooled in dis Nigeria!! From jamb,to post jamb,to lecturers threatening and boldly telling u dey will fail uu!! Nigeria is fuvked up!! Happy for u babe!! Nice1

Wowww, beauty wit brain. Congratz 2 her

Beauty and brain

1st class?? kudos to her she has really done a great work*
-------LIB prince--------

Wow!!!!! Congratulations....... Happy 4 u

Good girl

whoa! beauty n brains.

hot brain

Congrat 2ha. Linda Tayo z bk 2 naija,no update 4hm. Na wa oh. Stil waitng 2c. Hrd int'l ws filld up wit Tayo fans dt kam 2 welcm hm

Awesome and dats wat call Beauty with Brain

Wow, CONGRATES baby.

Beauty and Brains!

ugo said...

Wow! Beauty and brain!

NK said...

Congrats2 her!

Kudos babe!

This girl has given me ginger God help me in this lawskl Amen

I respect u o!

Bold Kid said...

Wow! This is amazing. No excuses mehn...cos Nigerians are actually doing it. Big ups!

Her brain de Hot sha.

Wow, talk about beauty and brain...shes gorgeous. wish her best of luck.

Olivia Silk said...

Wow. Great Brain!!

N Linda you had to post that second scrawny pix ?? Hian.
Biko Kindly remove it biko.

khemorah said...

Congrats. (˘̯˘ )

Congrats to u baby!

Omo see beauty with brains. This is impressive.

Beauty and brain. Congrats baby girl.

EVAA said...

Abeg lemme famz small.. hehe she attends my church St. Joseph catholic church, Benin City.... real ajebutter chic. Congrats Osariemen Omonuwa I knw ur mum will be super proud of u

So I hope we can all see that the manner in which you choose to dress up isn't what determines whether you are a good or bad child.
well done girlie.

well done

ashawo no be work

Waoo,dat gud

Beauty with brain, congrats girl

chisella said...

beauty wit brains

haterd-slayer said...

Grants dear.

Kudos girl, Edo born rocking it.

south ockendon said...

Awesome. Kudos to her, representing 9ja positively

Wow......im proud of her

Amarachi said...

Beauty with brainssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

Congrats to her, I guess the second pic was her best way of motivating others.

TY said...

Beauty and brains,proud of you girl,congrats

All these academic achievements and she is this pretty? Double congrats!

This is the kind of people that should be respected in the society, not those that keep showing us their bathroom and bedroom pix, showing us their fake N2m hand bang (linda sweetheart is nt among oo, lol, cos u re a philantropist, and should be respected for that). Honestly, I love intelligent women with passion, no matter how they look, I always have crush on them. "Knowledge is power"

rock said...

I must say this good

Just hope Nigerian Government will appreciate her skills and talent and honour her for breaking the record. «QUEENMAYA«REPORTING LIVE«

Congratz to her.....

Chidinma Grace said...

Beauty + Brain, nice combination

ebony said...

This is wat I call beauty n brain!! Well done girl,u did us proud

AMOKE said...

Wow! So glad some Nigerians in the diaspora know how to keep their heads up. Congrats girl. Your family and friends must be really proud of you.

oleegng said...

Nice one... Happy for her.... she is making us proud

Judeocracy said...

See intimidation! Na so!

I remove cap for her jor.

General said...

Naija on-top. Dts hw we roll

Femiluv said...

Congrats to her. That outfit is NOT PROFESSIONAL!! Not good for her image.

Ziggyflex said...

Congrats genius! People like you are very few in the world. I pray we make the best use of this your gift to benefit mankind in general.

Funkiedipsy said...

Wow, true definition of beauty and brain!

This is amazing well done .

Congrats Anita,
Like father like daughter
You 're brain and !beauty combined.
You 've made Nigeria Proud !

Congrats lady

Wonderful
Diamondberry027@gmail.com

Congrat

The positive side of Nigerians keeps unfolding. I'm happy for her ,she's made her country proud. Oya presidency,.mk u recognize and appreciate this young lady o, nor b only to waste money for irrelevant tins. P4dworld@gmail.com

Congratulations.....

Berry mauph said...

Beautiful and brainy....you go girl! Make naija proud.

Beauty with brain

Awesome

Beauty and brains....and in law tooo! Congrats girl

Tell dis to oda girls outside dah ar on d streets ooo

Beauty and brains! Who says being smart has to be boring! Women are taking over!!!

Great achievement. God bless your brain dear!

Congrats to her. But she isn't the first Nigerian woman to graduate with a first class degree from University of Reading. I went to Reading and we had two Nigerian ladies in my set who graduated with First class degrees.

Congrat

mamma mia luv said...

Beauty with brain
Ur papa nor waste money for ur head at all.

Ok noted nd congrats 2 her..... Good evening Lindway, please oh I was left out last year on LIB. Giveaway, people like Bonario NNAGS VIA NOKIA 3310, now NOKIA LUMIA, and Onyx Godwin, and the rest of LIB here, them alloy chikezie, Bishop Dammy, shina shine, and some of them are new here, the prince was also left out because he was not longer commenting here, so I don't want to be left out dis year oh, I was among the people who thank u for the house u build for ur parents last year, I was using Swagg isimemen to comment here, it was latter I start using google accnt some months ago to comment here, to u to no that I have been ur follower for 2 years and half now. But if am short-listed among LIB this year again, I won't be happy with u @all. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

Wow

Beauty and brains

Wow! Congrats gurl.....

Jay said...

Congrats!!dis is good news.

Ok noted nd congrats 2 her.... Good evening Lindway, please oh I was left out last year on LIB. Giveaway, people like Bonario NNAGS VIA NOKIA 3310, now NOKIA LUMIA, and Onyx Godwin, and the rest of LIB here, them alloy chikezie, Bishop Dammy, shina shine, and some of them are new here, the prince was also left out because he was not longer commenting here, so I don't want to be left out dis year oh, I was among the people who thank u for the house u build for ur parents last year, I was using Swagg isimemen to comment here, it was latter I start using google accnt some months ago to comment here, to u to no that I have been ur follower for 2 years and half now. But if am short-listed among LIB this year again, I won't be happy with u @all. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

Grt combo 'brains and beauty'...

big congrats to her..
This kind of success inspires me.

hrm paul ojeih said...

Cnn no go carry this news congrats girl U b real ur papa pikin

Ezinwa said...

This type of story from Nigeria warms the heart! Thanks dear!

Linda where is her number bcos i think i have found my future wife......

Ezinwa said...

This type of story from Nigeria warms the heart! Thanks dear!

Brown suga said...

Congrats gal for making Blacks proud & Nigeria in particular, your family will be so proud to u.

Amablaze said...

Wow big congrats to her..e no easy ojare..I wish I knw book like dis sha..

wow!!! making us proud... that's the spirit.

King said...

Na only you waka come? Beauty + brains

Wow! This is what i call pretty. Beauty and brains in one. Congrats to her. Her brain dey hot and she studies too.

Wow congratulations to her beauty with brains

Nice one. Pls let me park well with my 2:1 from Nig law school and 2:2 from Greenwich...no time .hehehe

Wow congrats to her she deserves it

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

Beauty with brains, the kinda woman I need

Kingsley Lotanna Ezeonyido said...

Ingenuity!
She's beautiful, smart and humble... Yes humble
If she ain't humble, she's not gonna make it again here in Nigeria.

Congrats chick!

BRYTE TABLET FROM KONGA.COM

gift said...

Congrats babe, its not easy.

Sylvonce said...

Ok. Seen her biography. Congrtz!

BIGGER IS BETTER said...

Wow! Congrats to her.
====
A certain man found his wife with another man in his bedroom. Instead of shouting or beating both of them, he just looked at them and went... READ THE STORY HERE.

Thank you for making ur family and the whole Nigeria proud....GOD bless u more....#Django

congrats dear e no easy

jennykurt said...

Wow nice 2 hear

respect, see... people like this inspire me a lot, including you Linda Ikeji. I love Hardworking women with potentials. she's so pretty, congrats girl. chinekelauritta@yahoo.com

Excellence! Good she from my state. Congrats to her.

Beauty and brains. Wondaful combination

thercey said...

Beauty and brain. Nice. tessyuduehi@yahoo.com

AMIJEZ said...

This is the kind of news we want to hear, naija representing.

this product is a original well made product in Nigeria

luvtel said...

Beauty with brains
Megalurv@yahoo.com

luvtel said...

Beauty with brains
Megalurv@yahoo.com

luvtel said...

Megalurv@yahoo.com

Beauty and brain.. ride on baby girl

jessiemor said...

Beauty and brain,that is the best tin dat could ever hapn to a girl ,focus and determination ma world.

Wow!! Bravo!!! Making us proud, she's beauty and brains (although dressed like a masquerade) lol. Congrats young lady!! Congrats! Mac10...

Love ladies with brains. obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

Ted. said...

Beauty and brains, congratulations I celebrate great women like you.

Hotgirl said...

na wa o. beauty and brains.
and she no gree for dressing sef.
wahala dey for guys o!
all in one package.

Eyah big congrats 2 her..Stellame31@yahoo.co.uk

That silly outfit she's wearing casts a lot of doubt but it's a foreign university so i'm assuming it's legit. congrats to her

Bonario u can now see we not only knw for flying....

She is indeed a brillant girl

Positive news. It's a good. Proudly Nigeria

Abayomi_ said...

Beauty and Brain!!

Impressive...

Samuel Akp said...

Great feet she has achieved...

winnie said...

you go girl. am following your foot steps. so proud of you. Beauty with Brains.

winnie said...

you go girl. am following your foot steps. so proud of you. Beauty with Brains.

xquisite said...

Iwe! U don't ve to look like a nerd to show u re intelligent. Good job bae!

Her parents will be proud! I love to see Nigeria in the news for the right reasons! Kudos to her!

Correct

God bless Anita, God Bless Edo State....

you go girl! beauty with brains. am following your footstep. congratulations.

Temmy said...

9jas got talents. Keep it up girl. We are d best in d world no matter d conditions

congratulations to her I always appreciate good things when I see one

UMUZE OCHUKO NEVILLE said...

CONGRATULATIONS TO HER.SHE MADE HER PARENTS PROUD AND NIGERIANS AS A WHOLE.

Bright gal.....

Anastacia says so **winkz**

U go, girl!

Bold beautiful and brilliant! All Nigerans abroad his are d news we want †o continue hearing º°˚˚°ÂºooOO pls

Modupe

wow a very big congratulations to her . iaminat60@yahoo.com

CHERRY said...

Hapi for her!

Dotted lines said...

Fyn gal with brains naija gals r makin waves

Congrats to her. wat a big achievement.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Wow! Beauty wif brains

wow! This is marvelous, go girl, you will soar beyond the sky. Congratulations. THE LORD IS MY STRENGTH

kunle said...

Ladies seems to be at law profession. Same here, a lady got all the awards in her faculty.

She went 2 reading 2 read..intelligent babe

Dotted lines said...

Fyn gal beta pikin

Congrats dear, it run in ur family, tanks for making Nigeria pride @ Nwachukwu.kanayo@yahoo.com

Wow

Chudi said...

Brains, beauty and style...whether she go sabi cook na another story. All the same she's a good package. I love her.

Beauty and brain.
Congrats.

Awwwww nice to hear, keep it up dear. annebassey52@gmail.com

She has really done us proud, congrats to her it ain't easy to achieve that in another man's land. This is the dream of every parent to have a child who would do you proud.

Congrats!!!!!! Making us proud. Chithings@ hotmail.com

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 391   Newer› Newest»