Three Arik Air staff arrested for siphoning fuel from aircraft | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 17 February 2015

Three Arik Air staff arrested for siphoning fuel from aircraft

Three staff of Arik Air, two men & a woman, were arrested by the Murtala Mohammed International Airport security patrol on Sunday Feb. 15th after they were caught siphoning fuel from Arik jet A1. Aviation Minister, Osita Chidoka revealed this on a post on his Facebook wall. What he wrote below. 
In the continued bid to fight corruption and security breaches at the nation's airport results are beginning to emerge my daily security report revealed the following:
On 15th February, 2015, at about 0255hrs at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport,(MMIA), Lagos, the sustained security patrol and surveillance operations across the nation's airports, by the aviation security staff, yielded a good result that led to the apprehension of the following three(3) Arik staff namely; Continue...
i Blessing DUGBE
Ii Samuel ASUQUO and
iii Isaac AJAKAIYE

siphoning jet A1 fuel from Arik airplane, registration number 5N-MID, into six(6) jerry cans for possible sales, at cheaper price to other airlines. A development that has capacity, to threaten safety and security of airplanes.Meanwhile, the three(3) suspects were handed over to the Crime Investigation Bureau(CIB), AVSEC MMIA for further action.

Considering the magnitude of this crime and the attendant consequences, the act is likely to portend to safety and security of Arik airplanes and other aircrafts parked at the MMIA apron, the Chief Security Officer(CSO), MMIA, Lagos, had been requested to ensure that the suspects are handed over to the airport police for adequate prosecution, to serve as a deterrent to others.

Meanwhile, other Chief Security Officers and Heads of Aviation Security at the nation's airports, had been alerted and directed to intensify patrol and surveillance operations at their areas of responsibilities

101 comments:

MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

Every day for the thief one day for the owner
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

GREED.. Insatiable Animal..
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

hoyeen said...

Lool...nawa ooo

God help this country

Pheeew na wa!

Ok naa....oya face una dance

Chai.........Nigerians....too bad

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB.....

destinysweet said...

Na everywhere corruption dey oooo.Naija I hail oooo

Auntylindagoddaughter

Siphoning fuel from aircraft? Na wa o!

Skipper25 said...

Hustle. ...Naija I HAIL !!!

Good step as this will serve as warning to others

And that's how they keep killing people in plane crashes.
My verdict: deal with them!

Hian! Wetin person no go hear biko, putting people's life at risk. All bcos of money wey no dey ever dey enough. Linda take note!

VERULE says.-y na

Chyke said...

Nothing wey person no go hear for this country! Siphoning aircraft to sell at the black market or what?
Osita,so other airlines buy aviation fuel in jerry cans? If that's the case your so called security patrol and surveillance will yield nothing if you put policies in place to prevent airlines from patronizing black market operators.
If not, you change their number plates!

«The problem of man is man himself»

Gud for them....

Naija nd corruption...it starts from individuals

Wat shd we call dis now? We pple r dprob of ourselves. May God help us. Let dem nt go unpunished so dat dey can stand as lesson n experience 2 oda pple who v same intention lyk dem.

But stealing is not corruption.

Nothing Nigerians no fi thief, poverty or not, big eye too dey worry us. They should face the Law, that's if they're served.

Good that poeple are now doing their job in helping the Govt fish out people that commit crime.....

:::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::::::

Tope said...

Greed.

gidis said...

Y on earth wud u put other pple life @ risk jes 2 mk sm illegal cash? Gosh

febom said...

Choi ...so if i was enroute to heatthrow now ..na so fuel go just finish for air ....where the fillin station go dey for air ....lol

The heart of man is wicked. this is the height

But they aren't babies but have acted like one. Putting who at risk? Idiots.. what a disgraceful act.

2morrow they will say Jonathan is corrupt.

If u query them now , they would be so fast to apportion the blame to the devil....

Gullibility and insatiable induced motive miscreants. ....after na dem go shout....change pass

Umu idioooootu

Killam killam killam oooo

Oke said...

So person go they plane they relax, no go con know say fuel no reach to him destination. See pure evil act.

what were they thinking

Nah wah with all the plenty money wey una dey collect as salary. God catch una, greedy thieves

Did they steal from the plane or the tank?

This minister no dey shame.Annoucement wey airport managers suppose make na im minister want take shine. Iit's like this minister is beefing arik air.

The struggle

why we no read arik side of the story? This report is not balanced because it's one-sided

Princess G said...

Greed. Mtwwwwwww

Rhoda said...

That is the corruption we are talking about! It has eaten so deep into the skin of an average naija man/woman! Corruption! when will this country be free from you? My answer is, It has to start from each and every one of us to be responsible and accountable! Integrity, counts! May God help us all....

I ve a 5 storey building that has approved plan of seventeen storey on it with c of o, on broad street marina lagos for sale... interested buyer shld contact me on 08098507583

PUTTIN PPLES LIFE AT RISK AT D XPENSE OF WAT????DES ARE GREEDY HUMAN BEINGS..AND WITH ARIK DAT CHARGES HIGH...TOMJERRYSWIT

Mr Moronic Minister, aviation fuel is appx $5-6 a gallon, the airport under your freaking ministry can not boast of a conveyor belt, a decent flight monitor, a toilet not to talk of air conditioning. A small airport like the city airport right next to the business hub of the city of London is by far better than our MMA and you sit your your smelly office telling us how you arrested some petty aviation fuel thieves. Congratulations on your ARCHIVEMENT... Mr Moronic Minister!

UK Tog

what were they thinking

ndidiamaka said...

chai chim ooo huuuum na wa i pray God to help us in this country yet they will be saying jona no good

Lobata, ppl r wicked sha

Foreverslim said...

What kind of poor thieves are these? How much will they get by selling at a give away price, this tells how poor their salary are thats why they have to do these . Wicked thieves not caring to know waht happens to the passengers when they all confirmed there is petrol before taking off not knowing some wicked thieves siphoned the petrol. God help us in this country.

WOW! Nigerians will always show themselves. Tsheew

What were they thinking? Thou I expect the minister to announce better news than just the petty thieves !

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

Please airlines never buy jet A1 from Jerry cans! Fuel inside Jerry cans are already contaminated and can lead to fuel line blockage and besides no is no way fuel from Jerry cans can be poured into an airplane.The people that committed the offense should be dealt with accordingly.

oiza said...

how ae we sure this wasnt part of the cause oari air crash? im sure this is not thier ist time

[ Anonymous said...
Mr Moronic Minister, aviation fuel is appx $5-6 a gallon, the airport under your freaking ministry can not boast of a conveyor belt, a decent flight monitor, a toilet not to talk of air conditioning. A small airport like the city airport right next to the business hub of the city of London is by far better than our MMA and you sit your your smelly office telling us how you arrested some petty aviation fuel thieves. Congratulations on your ARCHIVEMENT... Mr Moronic Minister!]

May thunder fire this poster above!

This why we need BUHARI! I can't imagine this happening if he becomes president. Nonsense and risky behavior will not be tolerated.

oiza said...

how ae we sure this wasnt part of the cause oari air crash? im sure this is not thier ist time

Ayo said...

these guys should be probed to the level that they will reveal the airline that has been buying from them, it is not like PMS that can be sold to people who uses gen set.
they are really mean.

SUPERVISOR said...

THESE PDP PEOPLE ARE SO FUNNY - THE PEOPLE THAT ARE STEALING BILLIONS ARE NOT CAUGHT BUT THOSE STEALING AVIATION FUEL (KEROSENE) AND THEY EXPECT ME TO CLAP FOR THEM?! ITS OKAY TO CATCH "SMALL THIEF" BUT CATCH THE "BIG THIEVES" TOO!!! CATCHING A "KEROSENE THIEF" IS NOT, I MEAN NOT AN OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT TO BE BRAGGED ABOUT! PDP PLEASE UP YOUR GAME!

ARIK DON'T PAY THEY STAFF OOOO.THEY OWE THEM FOR 3MONTHS INCLUDING THEY PILOTS.

Abi oooo

Ordinary fuel wen dem thief na him this idiot minister dey shout. GEJ call this mere theft! The real corruption is stealing the money meant for taking care of our airports nationwide, providing better infrastructure, and modern technology. Na to dey write a stupid report!!!!

Na wa oh! Only extreme poverty can cause this!

Cute BusyBee said...

Lol!The struggle is real! Bt they should be well paid,I guess. This is jst pure greed.

This one na gobe ayakata, they should not go unpunished #onelovefromsnow#

Mr Eddy or whatever u call urself, why r u advertising ur poverty in public? Stfu with all this ur heat wan kill person bullship. Dnt u have a/c in ur house, car or office? Abeg make we hear word jor.

If he becomes President, u won't even have to Liberty nor right to make a speech or say a word when u see the military siphoning fuel from a plane u are about boarding into. Lol

Yoruba man must join. #smh useless fellas

busted

uwa said...

Hahahahahaha...hahahahahahaha...hahahahahaha ! ! !
No be small nawa ooo !
I can't stop myself from laughing so much even when I shouldn't be laughing.Hahahaha !
Imagine their names, BLESSING..hahahahaha,for real ?
2, SAMUEL...hahahahaha ! (I'm sorry lord), pls forgive me !
3, ISAAC...hahahahahahahaha...shebi na Abraham &Sarah pikin ? hahahahahaha...What a waste of beautiful good names !

Call them ometaluburu ,evil forest and the rest of them .Hahahahabahahahhahahaha ...forgive me father .

iyke cindy said...

Lord av mercy...all in a bid for money,dis singular act can cause havoc to d aircraft nd endanger passengers life...

Hahahahahahaha! GEJ_Quote.

@bonita yes stealing is not a corruption quoted by president

Imagine! Siphoning fuel! Haba! Mtcheeeww! Hop they'r duly prosecuted

Mosiwomeka said...

We all complain about corryption but we fail to realise that Change begins from us individuals. I pray as they punish them, they also punish all those politicians who steal money.

I don't ignore people, if I don't have anything to say, I don't say anything at all, I'll like to think that I have grown past entertaining pointless conversations for the sake of being polite.
Cutting people off is not malice, it simply means you want a life free of Drama, Pretense and Negativity.
@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

Mtchewwwww

Lifematters-Mattersoflife(PEOPLE AND SOCIETY) said...

This cheap publicity that the new minister of aviation whose pedigree is not likely fitting in line with the portfolio he carries. He wants us to start feeling like this govt and his office are getting rid of corruption, is it today they have started stealing JET A1 fuel at Nig ports, People should ask Arik staff how the organisation treats them, when did they pay their staff 2014 Dec salary with all the money they make in international and local fights on daily basis. Arik airline it self should be closely monitored for serious thief thief and corruption, JET AI fuel theft,not news worthy.

@freeman Amaechi
The poster has some point. You are the one who thunder should knock off his smelly teeth.

I dont blame them ooooo, please ask Arik management how many month salaries dey are being owed. Man must survive. Arik is not the place to work if u dont av extra means

Poverty!

Bad market

Arik staff in Nigeria are mostly thieves. Most of us got our bags torn and things stolen from them when we got to JFK international airport on the 12 of Feb.

God go fish them out one by one. Amen

corruption...

And you really think their other colleagues they are selling to "under the table" give a toss about so-called contamination???! I mean why do our fellow Nigerians sell fake drugs knowing very well what the risk is??!

Dang! Arik staff have graduated!! From iPads...now to aviation fuel.

caught red handed

LabiTalks said...

Yeye Minister, so, you can call this fighting corruption? You deserve to be stripped off your job. You are busy catching petty thieves rather than focus on your ministry that is almost grounded with the BIGGER Thieves, Shame on You. Anyway, Don't let these guys go unpunished, they should pay for their act, at least for descending so low.

what did it profit them, am sure they feel so proud of their doings

Too bad...Thank God it was noticed on time and not when the flight is on air...

twenty4yu@yahoo.com

Too bad...Thank God it was noticed on time and not when the flight is on air...

twenty4yu@yahoo.com

Check they haven't been paid for three months yet a lot is expected of them. Quite unfair!

Why are we so heartless? Do they not realize that that singular act is capable of ending the lives of many? Money Money Money! It is really bad. Hope they get the punishment they deserve and learn from that and hope others learn too.
God save my country.

#myopinioncounts# said...

Some people will do anything sha!

Stuch bedsheet: this isn't petty at all. Imagine a potential crash as a result of fuel these bastards stole. The fact you think it's petty is even more disturbing. We must start to understand that these small acts create a ripple effect that we can't afford. #actright

That's actually right. This isn't corruption. This plain theft. If they had gotten away with then we can say corruption

You are the moronic one. This isn't petty like I said before. It is criminal at it height. Very easy for you to sit in the uk since you don't have to fly local in Nigeria so risk of flying a plane that may not have enough fuel cos one sicko stole it. And you'd be the first to shout failed state when a disaster happens. Leave us with our no conveyer belt, the absence of same means that some airports have employed many unemployed youths. That's not ideal but we will make Nigeria work. Care to join in? Care to make suggestions on how we can? You are most welcome

Everyday 4 d thief tru tru.... If u de smart, no de 4 d owner, if de catch u again.......na_oyo be dt o........ Eddywiz,,,, d heat make de ur side na play compared to my own.....

Truetalk said...

Abi the airlines dey carry fuel for jerry can follow body dey fly. Not like there is scarcity. It's even risky via they migh not even tighten whatever they open up these which might cause leakages that will go undetected. Only Arik staff go steal passenger items. Den swear for una head?

While I applaud the fact that people must pay for their corrupt actions I still smell double standards here......because these ones are not Igbo you bring their matter to Facebook...somebody wanted to embezzle money in your name in NCAA and all you did to punish them was transfer them...there should be no sacred cows.... They have done the crime let them do the time....

This is so disturbing, so they prefer ppl crash just so they can get the fuel. Frightening!

Maybe if they were paid salary this would not have happened. Those guys could have been owed for months as usual......msheeeeew