Nigerian Priest jailed for 8 months in the UK for sexual assault | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 20 February 2015

Nigerian Priest jailed for 8 months in the UK for sexual assault

58 year old Nigerian priest, Father Hilary Ogom Nwadei, pictured above has been sentenced to 8 months in jailed by a UK court for sexually assaulting a woman he met while staying at St Mary’s Priory in Leyland on December 12, 2013.

According to Lancashire Evening Post, Father Nwadei, a priest from the Diocese of Issele-Uku in Delta State, Nigeria, had moved to the UK to pursue his doctorate in Law degree at the University of Lancashire when the incident happened.

He was said to have complained of loneliness and became friends with his victim. On the day of the incident, he'd invited the lady to come to his room to help him pack for a trip to Nigeria when he assaulted her by fondling her boobs.

The prosecuting counsel, David Traynor,  while briefing the court said
“The defendant (fr Nwadei) leaned against the door of the room, causing it to shut. He was between her and her way out of the room. He asked her for a kiss and she presented him with her cheek, but the defendant said ‘No, a proper kiss’, then kissed her on the lips. The victim said she wanted to leave and tried to leave, then the defendant asked if she had any sexual feelings towards him. When she said no the defendant reached up the back of her jumper and undid her bra. Then he moved his hands round the front, underneath her jumper and placed his hands under her bra, onto her naked breasts. He fondled her breasts for a matter of seconds. The woman made her excuses to leave, but he was still between her and the door, so she couldn’t leave at that point.”he said.
Fr Nwadei then unzipped his trousers, bought out his penis and at that point, the woman asked to leave which he obliged but pleaded with her to keep what transpired between them a secret.

It was revealed during court session that this was not the first time he had sexually assaulted her. On previous days, he had told the woman he loved her, “twanged” her bra and slipped £100 in her pocket for new underwear, an act the woman reported to the church who immediately launched an investigation with the help of police.

Fr Nwadei returned to Nigeria and then visited Leyland briefly again to apologize to the woman for his actions. But knowing that he was wanted for questioning, he left the UK again, following the death of his father and did not return until he was arrested at Heathrow Airport while on a transit flight to the USA in December 2014 – 12 months after the offence.

The presiding judge, Judge Michael Byrne while delivering his judgement said statements from the victim showed that she was intimidated and scared of Nwadei. He said it was a breach of trust for a minister of religion to invite his victim to his bedroom with the purpose of having sexual encounter with her.

The Judge jailed him for eight months with a £100 statutory charge. Nwadei will be put on the sex offenders’ register for 10 years, and will be deported from the UK immediately after his jail term expires.

114 comments:

Nigerians always exposing themselves everywhere they go........Shameless man trying to bring down this my good country.......*No further details*

:::::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::::

After alfa,now A priest?????? Na wa!

Phew! God protect your church and all who serve on the Sanctus Sanctuorum.
They're humans and so fallible.

Useless man, he shld rot in jail

N HE IS A PRIEST,DNT PUT DE NAME OF THE LORD IN VAIN...TOMJERRYSWIT

A simple lesson to others.. Resist the devil and he will flee. James 1:7. @Bishop_Dammy

That serves him right

Bunny said...

So that wasn't the first time,but she kept going back to tempt the poorman. There's more to this story

Matts said...

Sorry to say this but the man in this picture does not look like a priest. He looks like a rapist!

Original gobe

Animal in human skin!

VERULe says-y na priést.

See fuckup

What a disgrace.

olamilekan dada said...

so bad for our image, not Godly

lucybings amebo said...

And to say that his face is disgustin is d lest. Kai an embarrassment to d priesthood. I guess he forgot for a moment that his in Naija

Oh Lord!!! Why na? Why become a priest when you know you can't bear being without a woman? Its really not easy though. May God 4give him

Hmmmmm...too bad...

Animal in human skin

Chai! Ndi uko chukwu!!
Odikwa egwu.

But why did she return again after the first assult? Abi the thing sweet am???

He has blood in his veins now :( he won't even celebrate mass again.

Konji wan pieces my guy..... See as he carry face like my mumsy cooking pot...

NigerianStyles said...

MAY GOD HELP US WITH THIS SO CALLED PASTORS

http://applytojobs.blogspot.co.uk

Wait he fondled you the first time and you came back for a second?! Seriously woman!!! Not making excuses for the randy priest but do you go back to a man who wants to jump you no matter what?! Black men never seem to learn that white women will just entrap you and have your black a** jailed!

Some Nigerians do know how to make us proud in reverse...... In ways they know best... Such a shame

CONCERNED NIGERIAN said...

Shame.

For hw many mins pleasure luk @ wat he hs done 2 himself plsss guys/men try control ur Libido abi na sexual urges plssss.

Dis man is no longer a priest now,he used to b a Priest in d church I attended way back in d 90's he wus a serving Priest in St.Micheals Catholic Church Obalende.He wus sanctioned and left Priesthood due to dis same heinous act of his.I met him enroute a flight to d UK years back and when I called him Father Hillary, he told he no longer wus a Rev as had retired, I wus shocked to my marrows to hear dis a Rev retiring,Hmmm he walks around with a walking stick due to bad leg he sustained in an accident on his way to Delta state.Its a shame what u did with d girls in St.Micheals catholic church back then has finally caught up with u.D catholic church is full of secret illicit acts like dis, the Rev's should b allowed to marry as actions like dis will always bring d church to disrepute.It is sad when u hear of things like dis a Rev.involved in such act.D scandals rocking d catholic church is too much, d Rev's should b allowed to marry.POP pls dis men r human and d Sisters to.

KWIN MEENA said...

Am sure he's been doing it bt jst got discovered now. Wen he knew he coudnt practice celibacy, why did he become a priest?

oguki emmanuel said...

This man have insulted priesthood. God must surelly punish you people who teaches another thng and do another.

In every 12,there must be a judah,,

One bad egg amongst many good ones!!

#Proudcatholic

Linda Linda Linda...!!

If u can't cope with being a celibate, why not quit..no b force o

Suwa said...

Hmmmmmmmm!!

Wow!

After 12months he was still arrested...
Dis is really a country where laws r usually respected and followed.

Unlike Nigeria where laws r turned around and not respected.

Good for u . Ndi am una ugha

Okay na! LIBers come get him!!! Looool

baba said...

Don't post what you don't no this girl

May God forgive him.

Chai!!!! See wetin Toto do this MOG o. Maybe the woman ugly sef like Nnenne George (not the one on this blog o). Well Rape is heinous crime so the Priesty Dude gotta do his time to serve as deterrence 2 others.

Chai!!!! See wetin Toto do this MOG o. Maybe the woman even ugly sef like Nnenne George (not the one on this blog o). Well Rape is heinous crime so the Priesty Dude gotta do his time to serve as deterrence 2 others.

Dilichukwu said...

Body no be wood. Rev father sorry is your case. You are a DISGRACE!!!!!

this sound like set up to me
Nigeria people should be be careful in UK anyway

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Must they be a nigerian? Oh Lord have mercy on this ugly monkey.

Too bad 🙅 for her, but she shouldn't have accepted to go to his room. Its called common sense. May God forgive u priest. U just added another to the long list we have.

Lord, forgive us for they know not what we do.

Daily diet tv said...

Linda, where is the news about the black player that was racially assaulted? If na to post egg plants you go sabi. Please google that shit. Use your platform to create awareness about sensitive issues like this. I have been a victim of racial discrimination and tbh i'm quite emotional about it. Do your job biko!

Am a catholic and am grossly ashamed, nobody is forced into priesthood

Why couldn't this randy man just keep it in his pants! Now he has disgraced himself and his family, all for what?!

4nkylization said...

Very Stupid Rev Fr. Nd for the Lady, he kept assaulting and u kept visiting. 2 Eewus

Roseberry said...

Nigerians must always show thereselves anywhere they are

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

What a summary! #happyfriday

Orishirishi. A priest na wa o!
Serves him right

She said....

Omo see Gobe...lol!

Congratulations

hmmmmmm, shame

I can imagine if he were to b a Muslim, u will insult Islam b4 insulting d person,smh..good to knw all religion have their weak point!

CHERRY said...

Hmm serves him right!

I think say na only Muslims sabi kill*strolling*

Too bad. He should have respected his title.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

Taut is only Muslims dat kill

Ok. So this guy was a lecturer in my Uni days (not gon mention the name of d school). He's always been a perv! And he was sleeping with a few girls back then. He had a VERY sweet mouth!! I almost fell victim, but there was NO WAY I could ever do that with a Priest for dt matter. Oh, and a few people did it for Good grades too.

And to think d man is a Christian, chai,so priest dey kill too??? I think sa na only alfa!

End time

@Osirmah said...

Dis priest don go UK go fall our hand abi???? Mtcheeew. Abeg dey should allow him to come serve his jail term in kirikiri, UK jail to frosh for am.

FF on IG n Twitter @Osirmah

Very Intresting coming from a priest,i think say na only alfa sabi kill,for those of u who throw shades at Islam cus a Muslim man murder some1 biko don't forget to remember d priest religion wen shading him black!gud 2 knw all religion hv their weak point,umm nice.next tym learn to insult d person nt d religion *peaceOut*

This is bad
And a bad name to the catholic church
God should pls expose all of them doing this evil act
Instead of them spoiling the church's name
If can't hold yourself marry and forget priesthood

Roman 11;29 said that the gift of GOD are without repentance.Been a priest is a gift.The fruit you bear with ua gift makes u a child of GOD or not.mt 7:17 says by there fruits you shall know them.frm EVANG CHRISTIAN NDUAGU

White women always running blackmen down...but seriously we need to learn from this and stay away from white women for good.

Jeni_zee said...

All these fathers better go nd marry if they are sex starved, Dnt know y Catholic priests dnt marry buy would have a girl in a village that would have kids for them or keep girlfriends

ASAMPOKOTO said...

PLS the ones that are married Oyakhilome, COZA guy, e.t.c., has it curbed their bad habits? Don't you still hear their stories day in day out? Not a good excuse abeg!

uwa said...

The lady in question, how old is she ?
He has done it before,the case was still under investigation and you went back to him , ALONE ! ! ! FOR WHAT ???? TO READ THE BIBLE OR BAPTISM ???
Please the lady should be arrested for seduction or blackmail biko .
Father he-goat, I can't say God have mercy on you , because you're already doomed !
Go back to your village and find out what's wrong with you .
shameless animal .

Before I saw where he's from I suspected he was from delta, oga go and marry it's not by force to be a priest.

When I was in school there's this set of young rev fathers that come to my hostel to visit my neighbor, and most times they come with young catholic naive girls and spend the night with them there, other times they go to the beach with young girls fooling around, that na the one when I see o, the ones I didn't see nko????? God help us all.

I pray God 2forgiv him n transform him .:(
I respect my priest!

May God hv mercy on him

Bona re u a catholic??? Wow, we have many things in common o.

@SOPHIA STEPHEN

See his face, 8 months is too small.

Oyinbo and their blame culture. She kept going back? Very unfair judgement. Community service should be appropriate not a custodial sentence.

I know this priest oooo Haa God don catch am. He was a lecturer in the university I attended and he taught conflict of Laws. There were lots of complaints about sexual harassment from him but it was always said hush hush cos of stigma. Him cup don full.

That's bad................. U just add to the previous offence 9ja peepz av been doin...... *thamixbreed*

Hi Linda, I have been harassed by this same man, when he came to Nigeria. My husband asked him to give me some stuff, and he wanted to go further than just that... can you imagine? Really appalling human being. I reported this to my husband and of course and he denied it. good for him. got what he deserved.

P.
Canada

Nonsense! Dnt go and marry o,b forming sanctus sanctuorum spirits! Were u forced in2 it? All d name 2b a priest!

I'm glad such things are coming to light abroad cus e for stay a secret here in naija.

BHAHAHA! A whole priest. typical nigerians and being bloody hypocrites when they are worse behind closed doors. kmt.

Chai! Ehyaaa! Conji do fr!

Help me ask..oo she just dey go der. Mayb he no gree 2 pay

To maintain self-control, text Fortune to 33020.

Pheewww! So he couldn't resist the temptation. I'm a catholic and i still feel priests should be allowed to marry to avoid this type of embarrassments.

At least he didn't kill any1 so no do not compare both of them,thank u

D tin tire me.....oo dey are just havin a gud tim and somfin went wrong..

LovelyTess said...

This story doesn't make sense. He assaulted the woman the first time and she still went back another day for more?

You're just so pathetic Aboki or whatever sh*it you are. We've seen and heard you *Now run away already*

If u cant hold your body anylonger as a priest ,go and get married na.

God bless u. I though I alone saw that. I think this is a set up. Afterall, its d woman's word against his

Aboki and d weak point of ur religion happens to be killing???? Foolishness in high places...I wud gladly folo a priest touches all d breasts in Uk...than idiotic muslims who kill n maim others

DELSU law college at Olleh u must mean......

Igbos will never stop tarnish Naija image. From US,UK, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, South Africa, Spain even in Benin Rep, Ghana etc. And they want to be Nigerian president one day, even if they have their so-called Biafra Republic, people will be scare to have anything to do with them (Drug-Barons). Must they do RUNS and DRUGS before they make it? #CursedTribe #CursedLand.

Father Nwadei was a law lecturer @ the Delta state university Oleh campus. As a matter of fact he specialised in conflicts of Law and I was his student. There were rumours of him having sexual intercourse with some catholic students...... what a shame!

M not surprise at all. If u can't stay without sex y goingbinto the seminary. Go n marry n have it with one person. Heard stories about this Rev Fr them .

Let me not insult you. First we r not cursed. Yoruba , Hausa too are among so don't just say Igbo . As far as I know they might be some ppl misbehaving and most people developing Nigeria are mainly Igbo .

sky said...

ewu ofe mmanu

Two things are involved. Two of the things should be addressed. The Woman should equally be jailed.

Don't judge him yet leave dat 4 God 2 do Rem: judge not my anointed n do my prophet no harm

Yummy mommy said...

Joseph was tempted by portifer's wife but he resisted it nd even dropped his garment for her nd ran away. As a priest he shldve resisted it, if he is to stand before the throne of God will he say dat d gal tempted him? Oh ye Man U ar inexcusable......

Disgraceful.

Oga... the man is a priest. I knw him personally. And attend his church. They call him "Father Ogbueshi". He doesn't walk with a limo Bir anything. Asaba in Delta State. He was recently transferred from Umunede to Asaba

Dydaa said...

D last tym it was a married pastor of sum church in abuja in same uk. Is it by gettn married? Doesnt stop anyfin

Dydaa said...

Ur an imbe. Rot in jail ko! ur d useless fowl. Ewu

Its crazy how peopke are so quick to condemn people are you guys so quick to condemn, because he sinned or because u've seen d opportunity to lambast the Catholic Church. . I think most of you nees more forgiveness than the priest.. here in naija we are so quick to condem simply because we are from different churches.. no matter the level of atrocities commited by Saul. DAVID had the wisdom of God not to judge or kill him when he had the opportunity simply because he was annointed. . Nobody intends to sin when joining the priesthood its called temptatiin.. it has nothing to do with marriage or not.. because the last time I checked pastors don't intend to cheat on their wives when exchanging vows. But we know of cases where pastors are caught in sex scandals, and pastors have even divorced wives two times in a row. Imams do not take pledge to kill people. They pledge to serve allah so if one kills its temptation he couldn't stop. the men of God need our prayers and not this public hypocrisy we all bring out here as if na we Holly pass.. am sure some people commenting here fit don rape sef.. abeg judgement day is gonna be based on your strive to holiness and jot on how much you opeb ur mouth to misyarn simply because u've seen a Catholic priest who faulted efforts. A single Priest who assaults and a married pastor who commits adultery all na the same .. God help us all

Eh ya i am drawn to comment to show others that evil will always find you out if you dont repent. In fact i tot he was dead as all his priest gang members are dead God truely loves him and gave him a long rope the accident he had was a final warning but Satan loved his sin not him and now that he is oid and wearied bcause of too much attention to things of the flesh and of no use to Satan he led him to a country where he can be disgraced. he assumed he was bobo nkity and untoucheable here in nigeria , two of his cohorts took two girls from the university for a rendevou weekend had a fatal accident they all died the others died of different kinds of cancers i knew this father way bank in a catholic secondary school in Delta state. from his age now he was about 26yrs of age then. We were in a society called youth for Christ and whenever we went for our retreats he and other priest gang members made it a point of duty to sleep around with our seniors who were just 15 and 16 years old then we reported the case then nothing happened. In fact i am shocked to see how urgly he looks now.
Also when i got into university of benin we heard some girls there where fighting over him and same in other neighboring schools. From the unset he never wanted to get married the priesthood was his avenue for fulfiling his objective of sleeping with 1billion girls in his life time.
It is not about church Satan is prowling around looking for agents who will allow him. remember that Satan served God in a higher dimension than what we are doing today so he can pervert Gospel and cause a man to live contrary or in error.
God loves Nwadei This is his opportunity to truely repent and make heaven

Let us pray for our priests and not rejoice over the fall of one.As humans,sexuality will always be a thing of struggle. Even for the married folks, it is.

dr.leo3000@yahoo.com said...

This is quite a bad news to me. Fr. Ogbueshi as he is porpularly known and as we have called him has served in my Parish, Immaculate Heart Cath. Church, Umunede, Delta State. He is a nice man but he allowed the Devil to ruin his wonderful vocation.
It is also amazing how everybody going against the man. What about our girls visiting our Priests, and meeting them at odd places? My sister, "man body no be wood". These are humans for Christ's sake and they are bound to fall. It only takes the grace of God to resist girls, you know,,so keep away from our Priest and allow them to live their celibacy life. If he invites you over, hesitate and stop the habit of seeing them after Masses please. It irritates me and I know it irritates God. Other men are out there wishing that you visit them. Go visit them and seduce them if you so wish, instead of going for an ordained Priest; it's a great curse upon your life if a Priest sees your nakedness and aftermath is too ugly please. "To be forewarned is to be forearmed". Be strong in faith and the sky will be your limits. Oops! Did I say limits? Sorry, the sky will be your beginning.

dr.leo3000@yahoo.com said...

This is quite a bad news to me. Fr. Ogbueshi as he is porpularly known and as we have called him has served in my Parish, Immaculate Heart Cath. Church, Umunede, Delta State. He is a nice man but he allowed the Devil to ruin his wonderful vocation.
It is also amazing how everybody going against the man. What about our girls visiting our Priests, and meeting them at odd places? My sister, "man body no be wood". These are humans for Christ's sake and they are bound to fall. It only takes the grace of God to resist girls, you know,,so keep away from our Priest and allow them to live their celibacy life. If he invites you over, hesitate and stop the habit of seeing them after Masses please. It irritates me and I know it irritates God. Other men are out there wishing that you visit them. Go visit them and seduce them if you so wish, instead of going for an ordained Priest; it's a great curse upon your life if a Priest sees your nakedness and aftermath is too ugly please. "To be forewarned is to be forearmed". Be strong in faith and the sky will be your limits. Oops! Did I say limits? Sorry, the sky will be your beginning.

9j@ for life!!!!show yhur self any wia yhu dey