Sad pic of a child doing his homework while waiting to polish shoes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 February 2015

Sad pic of a child doing his homework while waiting to polish shoes

According to Wall Street Journal Journalist, Ehsanullah Amiri - this heartbreaking pic was taken of a child on the street doing his school homework while waiting for customers so he'll perform his shoe - shining duties.

166 comments:

Nancy uncommon said...

aww! god help him

This is Really Sad!.... But I love the determined spirit of the Child

Ephraim-Emem said...

Really Sad.... Aunty Linda, tomorrow is my Birthday....

Zoƫ said...

He will definitely excel. That is a good boy.

DIS IS SO TOUCHING SMH

Which country ?

Wow, Well its Obtainable here too.. I saw one on Ijesha Pedestrian Bridge writing home work whilst selling PAP..
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

O dear! Poor child thats what poverty does.

David Iyke said...

Which country is this?

adeola said...

He going to have a story to tell cos I can c a determine person who will make it

adeola said...

He going to have a story to tell cos I can c a determine person who will make it

Peejay said...

Enterprising kid. He'll go far by God's grace. Some of his mates here would rather beg for alms...

But that is not nigerian Linda, he should be from either Libya, Iraq, Syria, or afgan

AMIJEZ said...

Ewwwwww,too bad. Dnt be surprised d boy is d most brilliant in his class.

God will see him tru...

This is so sad.

Read and download FREE novels and books
Kindly visit
Cynthiakalubookclub.blogspot.com

What is sad about the story? the young man is putting together a good story that will inspire millions in the future...Do your best with what u got.

so touching indeed

Sad but he is bound to succeed in life with such attitude

KING OF LIBERS said...

This is heart breaking.Too much misery in this life. As depressing as this pix may be, it still can't stop Libers from loving and hailing their king.

...AND LIBERS LOVE AND HAIL THEIR KING.

NDIDIAMAKA said...

GOD PLEASE HELP HIM BIIIIKO

oh Lord, its well with ur soul dear. hmmm, dis life.

pamscrib.blogspot.com

too much on him

How touching, abeg the government should give this boy scholarship to study to any level, abeg. Linda take note!

Life isn't fair!

Hmmmn omo a fi ise wo ni ndagba. God bless him.

Hardworking

So touching, abeg d government should give dis boy scholarship to study to any level, abeg. Linda take note!

Some wealthy men today started this way he wil surely make it

Its well

Great Boy!!! ***Jesus Baby!

These kind of people make it big in life! God bless this kid!

Why didn't the journalist help this child instead of taking a picture of him and sharing it

Eddie punter said...

It's not a sad pics my dear. Great people always have hard beginnings. Great Footballer Pele was once a shoe polisher. Where I came from in 80's (Ughelli, Delta St.) you must sell plantain or Garri as a young boy or girl to sustain your lazy parents. The young boy will definitely get there in due time. Na everywhere e dey.

femi taiwo said...

Some of us went through worse conditions in life before we are what we are now. Its part of the reality of life. The poor cannot cease to exist in the society. I was once poor to but never let my situation put me down

Awww! So heart rendering.
May God crown his efforts with success.

Eyaaa! Where is this though?!

Alabekee said...

This is really heart-breaking, poor kid. Pls visit www.alabekee.blogspot.com

In journalism, we call this "Afghanistanism": The act of focusing on events outside while ignoring same at home. Saw a picture too of a girl doing her homework under the sun while selling ground nut but I didn't see anybody awww that picture. see what I mean?

9jahub.com said...

oh gosh

Interesting...
Reminds me of childhood.
Some of us went thru dis.

Eyaaaaaa....

eyah feel so sorry for d guy
#LIBBOO

I really don't like readin such stories as they torment my very Being. What a sad tale. May this kid be blessed in Life. Amen

Poverty is nt only in najia its everywere can u imagine, May d gud lord help his hussle o.

nd some pple are botherd about expensive shits to wear nd luxuries!here is an innocent child trying to mk ends meet..#sickening but such is life

Ehyaaaa,dis is sooo heart touching...

what a world?

Omg...*brokenheart* God will make a way.

May God have mercy.

It is well

Very touching.Your helper will appear suddenly.

Chai, the life some people go through to survive can be very touching.I love is determination. Someday, he's going to be great.

Won't be surprised he becomes d president someday while d rich gud for nothing kids waist with dope!!

Chai. God will surely bless people like this poor boy. His star will shine one day. Amen

So touching. I feel this is part of his success story tomorrow. One will never believe what people have gone through in life, after having successfully made it.

oiza said...

really heart breaking!

One can only ask " why does he have to polish shoes?"

He is very focus and determined..God bless him

Kids lik dis end up becoming so successful. ....
Cus he for sure has seen it all..

Guess dis is d end of his suffering cus indeed God has rem him supposedly

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

So Heartbreaking but Bliv me, Only God has D Final Say, it dos Nt Mata Wat U R Passing Tru Now... D Future Is Alwys Bright

No excuse to fail...... May God see him through IJN......

I respect ur hustle bro.......4real *tha mix breed*

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

People are indeed suffering all over the world

May GOD help us all

chaii!! God is wit u lil man

missvee

Determination..despite d fact dt he had little or no means he's determined 2 get an education n become a better person. 2moro he will b celebrated by d same society he helped polished their shoes. I dnt think its sad Linda,I think its inspiring,I c a child hu against all odds is determined 2 live out his drms.

sassychicnaija said...

it is well. children are suffering for nothing they know about.

This is heart breaking.... This child will be great

linda i knw how diz feelz like. while growing up i did similar stuffz. was alwayz wit mum in a noisy public market selling/reading for waec. it wasnt easy n not a gud feeling but ThankGod dat i made it n am not doing bad.

WeALTHY ChIC said...

So touching.

@Sophia Stephen

opara anita said...

this is xo inspiring....

Hmm am speechless

Awwww....so sad!

CONCERNED NIGERIAN said...

Heart breaking.Its reminders like this we need when we lose sight of what is important.

God help us.

chai hmmm people on wall street make dem help him

Street!! Such kid end up tougher n wiser. God bless ur hustle child! #Youngboinono#

Emily B said...

Linda these are the people who need help. Not the ones who get iPhone and blackberry dey browse internet and asking for your help to open business

Nadia said...

He will be a great child.

Chaaaaa maybe dat how he get money to eat nah. Is well oooo

So touching... was born so poor like this but I still Thank God

Awwww....this is really touching...

Eyaah, I wish him sucess oh!!!!!

Gosh,

BLAQ said...

So sad. Am grateful Lord

Aawwww oh lord! Bless us

Big Dreams, God is with you

Reminds me of an Indian movie.

OKORO UPGRADED

Sazzy C said...

Sad

Chai! Child Labour. Who knows dat child would b a gr8 man in d future. Amazing part is he's serious with studies. Anoda Nobel Prize in making#Brassman

@Osirmah said...

Wow!!! God bless his hussle

FF IG@Osirmah

So heart warming. A determined child dat wouldn't let anytin stop him from his dreams.

In my opinion, there is nothing sad about this picture. I am happy that despite poverty and child labour, this child goes to school and is even diligent enough to do his homework. To think I have to shout and beat sometimes to make my kids do home work. Who get cap no get head and vice versa.

Mo said...

All will be well

Amaka. said...

That's the spirit of survival. He will be a great person tomorrow. Watch out.

This just gave me hope.

Kponskii said...

Kids with such determination and an intense hustling spirit tend to succeed.

Eyaaaaa. This is heart touching

God will reward ur hard work, he will grant you all dt ur heart desires..so touching...Sobs

KWEEN said...

I pray with all of my heart that this little boy will reap the fruits of his labor and grow up to become a great man in his generation. Amen.

People were actually walking past him. Can't deal biko.
phew!
...Mama J...

This pix is so sad

awwwwwww, dis is really touching *sobs*

Lady P said...

So touching,hate to see kids struggle.

Eyya

Eh yar

Now dis is why I wana b a philanthropist!!!!

Mosiwomeka said...

Awwww

Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous

@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy .

Favourmoyse Blog said...

So sad buh I love his determination.

Do you know the english names for naija dishes?. . Here are some Boli – Barbecue Plantain
Roasted corn – Corn Aflame
Eko/Agidi – Corn Jellos
Moin moin – Bean pie
Isi ewu – Goat-hedo lickins’
Garri – Grain o’ fibres
Bokoto/ Nkwobi – Hoof salad. Click HERE for others

May God bless u for M̶̲̅Īµ̲̣̣̣̥

moral lesson never let your situation restrict you from your goals.

Seen a man who's diligent in his work? He shall stand before kings, he shall not stand before mean men.

I had tears running frm my eyes while reading tis story. So sad

Such is life

This is called hustling, gonna pay him soon

Chaiii....this is what i call child hustle,this boy will end up becoming a great man in future cos at his age he already knows how to plan accordinly
KING OF BOYZ

Chaiii....this is what i call child hustle,this boy will end up becoming a great man in future cos at his age he already knows how to plan accordinly
KING OF BOYZ

God wl help him 2 excel in all his endeavour IJN

He will be great by His Grace

#myopinioncounts# said...

Wow, very touching...yet some kids have all the opportunity in the world, yet take it for granted.

Aww

www.udokajane.blogspot.com

This is painful, a child that wanna go to skul, may God bring her a helper.

:::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::

i_ifely said...

Will I ever see my post here madam linda?

Aww, bravery. Kudos

touching, sad and inspiring at the same time.

I_am Beckkie said...

qr8 child

I_am Beckkie said...

qr8 child tho.

People like this make it more in life cuz they have suffered and understand the meaning of savings and investments and d basic rules of how its bn applied. Some things u can't just learn in school!

Really Bonita. That's why the boy has to actively make life fair and square for himself. God will do the rest for him. We all feast and get drunk on LIB daily but we always need posts like this to sober up. Life was never a bed of roses for most of us but with good education and voracious reading we can enter all the nooks and crannies of the white house, fly biz class on A380, sail on 60 foot luxury yacht without even getting out of bed. Ya know. Personally this boy is an inspiration to me.

There will always be poor people in every part of the world. I pray he sees beyond the present because tough times don't last but tough people do.

The G in God should always be typed in capital letter. You wouldn't start your mere name in a small letter so you do that with God no! I don't care if this is only a comment, it's that serious

ChincoBee said...

Eyaaaaaa May God make him successful. He can't suffer in vain

Am so touched by this!!!

WISH I CAN ADOPT HIM&SPOIL HIM. HEZ SUCH A ROYAL CHILD.

So heart Touching

Nomso said...

Hardwork will surely prevail.

PLAYBOX.NG said...

IT IS NOT SAD!! PRAISE HIM INSTEAD. THIS IS HOW HE WILL BECOME RELEVANT TO THE WORLD IN YEARS TO COME.

ANYONE WHO TRIES TO HELP HIM NOW WILL DERAIL HIM!!

Who be dis winch abeg? Mr king of d coast

So tru Jules! Dis pix really melted my heart:(

So pathetic

Princess G said...

That's a star in the making. God is taking him somewhere.

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

I cried

henry said...

Oga oo

God will take care of him.

Such a sad picture.. Heaven got a plan fr u child..

Petite Diva said...

This is sad and inspiring. It shows the determination of the boy to be better in life and God would surely make kids like him succeed.

journal of a petite diva

Awwwwwwww, this boy is definitely going to be great.

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

C determination! Nw Dts one genius!

Eeya,lil boi

Eya hope this no b format sha

ADEDOLAPO said...

Blogboo we see you

Really heartbreaking. It is well with the him.

prettiyz said...

Awww,may God bless ur gentle soul and d work of ur hands,Amen. This is so heartbreaking

joy said...

God will locate u IJN.Amen

Deedee said...

GOD BLESS U LIL MAN MAY HE PROVIDE 4 U TO FURTHER UR EDUCATION & TKRE OF URSELF & FAMILY. VERY HEART WARMING PIC, D BEGGARS HERE NA TO STAND 4 ROAD DEY BEG INSTEAD OF DOING SOMETIN PRODUCTIVE, POLISHING SHOE CAN STILL BRING CASH. ITS BETTER DAN DOING NOTIN.

Nigerians should learn from this little boy in midst of hardship he is still getting education because that is the only way out of poverty

These are the kids that become billionaires in the future .... God does not sleep.

This is my kind of guy. This boy will be very rich. Don't be surprised that one of this rich famous people will discover him and adopt him or take up his sponsorship. Nigerians like complaining and talking too much. The govt this, the economy that, instead of you to get of your arse and struggle it out. One of the way is by being a very brilliant student in school.

There are people with better conditions, whose only job is to complain...

lapa said...

like GEJ,shoes palava,make him no worry he wud b d president someday

God help him