Praise da Lord! New York City goes 12 days without a murder | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 17 February 2015

Praise da Lord! New York City goes 12 days without a murder

So for 12 days no one was killed in New York City and New Yorkers are happy about it and reporting it. It's a modern day record. Read the report from CNN below..
New York City's longest recorded homicide-free streak ended late Friday night, when a 28-year-old man was shot multiple times just before midnight.
Eric Roman was transported to a nearby hospital in critical condition with gunshot wounds to his head, hand and leg and died Saturday, according to the NYPD.
New York City had gone 12 days without a homicide, its longest stretch on modern record, police said yesterday Monday.
The last reported homicide was February 1, Super Bowl Sunday, in Upper Manhattan, police said.
That day, police responded to a 911 call about multiple shots being fired and found five individuals with gunshot wounds, the NYPD said. One of those five, Graham Shadale, 28, was pronounced dead at the scene.

Police have not yet made arrests in either case and both investigations are ongoing, officials said.
The streak has been the longest since the New York Police Department began recording statistics with a computerized program called Compstat in 1994, a police representative said.

Police Commissioner Bill Bratton hushed talk of the streak Friday on "CBS This Morning."
"Shh ... we don't want to jinx it," Bratton told host Charlie Rose. "We're into our 12th day now, Charlie. Eleven is a record and let's keep it going."
Despite the record-breaking streak, there has been an uptick in shooting incidents compared with the same time period last year.

The week between February 1 and February 8 experienced 110 shooting incidents in 2015 versus 91 in 2014, according to Detective Cheryl Crispin of the NYPD public information office.

New York City's last record for a streak of days without a homicide was 10 days. In 2014, there were no recorded homicides between February 13 and February 22.

68 comments:

Good to know!

Jennifer Takon said...

Imagine a news wow

Hehehehe funny

Hahahahaha, Weldon.. We can sell candles to them if they wish or MPANAKA.. LOL..
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Jennifer Takon said...

Wow imagine news

Lmfaoo good 4 dem,i think say na only Arab county sabi kill lol,up NY

CHERRY said...

Ok o gud news then!

Toh! Clap 4 dem...

Whao, u go fear record...

9jahub.com said...

waooooo

Hope in this way they are not inviting the murders out of their hide out.

Good for them.Over here its our daily bread.No one goes hungry with this BH lurking around the corner.

Glory to Jesus.

@Sophia Stephen

Peejay said...

It's a valentine thing I guess, since the record also occurred during the same period in 2014...can't say for previous years though. New York is a dangerous yet exciting city to live in...

Can you imagine! 12days??? Dat means dey were recording homicide on a daily basis b4, na wa o! Linda take note!

Am happy for them.......Obama is working.....I just wish Nigeria will go just 2days without BH capturing Borno or any other northerner states......that day I will say........Oga Jonah is working!

::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::::::::::::::

Hallelujah.. But don't be 2 sure. Maybe a body has been stowed away in a freezer somewhere.. God forbid it tho. The Horror X_X ----C21

Praise God.

***floxycares***

without an announced murder....

HOYEH said...

Like... serzly

Lol. Very funny. ThankGod for them and I pray Nigeria will make better record than theirs #onelovefromsnow#

isssh

Nawa ooo....so no b only Nigeria killing dy? ....#Queenmama...

PRETTY GIRL said...

My goodness! Nigeria isn't the only country with 'insecurity' problems afterall#Damn

But why February? Is there a reason they don't kill themselves in February? I don't like this country abeg too violent.

How sad

Yes,they can

New York is d lagos of U.S.A

oiza said...

linda this report has nothing to do with us! is it every thing in cnn u'l copy and paste?

Wonderful! There are crime levels and there are crime levels!

Is new york that bad
At least they got 12days without any homocide
We've not seen one day without any BH attack

snow hand work.. lol

Mercy seat said...

NYC... That bad? What a thing to celebrate!

Eddy Mycky said...

Its kinda funny,just 12days.TG

dilinger said...

And? ?? Will they celebrate if Lagos goes 12 days without a murder?

Congratulations to them!

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Awww that's good news!

Nah be small praise thy lord its a thanksgiving to be celebrated

Tnk God........ So happy 4 NY

Halleluyah

VERULE says-ok

Imagine record! Hian! Gud 4 dem!

blaq said...

Na wa ooooooo .....

New york is a jungle that either makes Ï…̲̣̥r̲̅ dream or kills it. Thank God.

#smh - We are worse off but no statistics and no reporting. People even say that God has called someone home when the person was murdered and our police don't carry investigations anymore they are guards in homes and escorting pdp everywhere. vote change! Vote Buhari.

Impressive!

My point is: why should you take another man's life in the first instance?!?

Are you f**king kidding me????
This is really insane. So this is how bad it goes over there?
I'll rather stay in Nigeria and watch people tear their PDP membership card ..... the bombing will soon be history that I know.

MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

Meanwhile Nigeria can't go a sec without a murder record
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Ahh! Maybe someone has gotten AWAY WITH MURDER!!!

please, shut up your toto.

Hmmm...u go fear news na. Good 4 frm tho'...death is badnewz

joystickextender@gmail.com said...

Crazy city,I hope it stays like tht forever

Meanwhile email me to know how to enlarge your joystick and stop premature ejac n let your woman respect you

Hmn. So NYC is that volatile ?

Really? Wow!

Chop Chop said...

cos it was cold outside.

It's the weather. No where in new york especially here in brooklyn is that peaceful

It simply shows that no place is safe...never knew they had such level of crime there, just pray will also celebrate a non killing weeks/months too...

Awww!!! Happy for them....

I pray it continues.

America should be seriously looking into gun control. 110 gun attacks and it is not Boko haram?! They need to look into gun control.

David Iyke said...

Waiting to hear from Nigeria's statistics!

nawaooo...izit dat bad

missvee

nawaooo...izit dat bad

missvee

Good news

prettiyz said...

Good 4 them

NMaa said...

I thought the place is a holy land. So they experience crises too. Mscheww