Incredible pics captures moment woman is rescued from sinking car | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 17 February 2015

Incredible pics captures moment woman is rescued from sinking car

A woman is extremely lucky to be alive after her car drove off a rock wall of a car park and into a harbour and began sinking. The petrified woman was squashed up against the rear window as the front end of the car was submerging in the Waitemata Harbour in Auckland at 3pm on Tuesday. 

Fortunately witnesses called emergency services as quick-thinking policemen arrived and sprung straight into action by jumping into the water to save her, one attempting to break the glass with a baton, before the second officer broke the glass with a rock pulled from the water. See the dramatic photos after the cut..

The officers and a bystander couldn't open the doors so one officer attempted to smash the window with a baton with no luck.

Once it became clear that it was not going to penetrate through the glass another officer was handed a rock and managed to shatter the rear window.
The relieved woman was then pulled to safety by the two heroic policemen. 
The two officers who saved the woman's life - Paul Watts and Simon Russell - have described the dangerous rescue, and revealed they believe she could have been less than a minute away from drowning.

'When we entered the water, I was talking to one of the (members of the public) who was trying to balance the vehicle and he said he was looking for a rock to try and smash the window,' Mr Russell told the New Zealand Herald.

He said once his baton failed he successfully broke through the window with a rock, but by this time the car was sinking at a rapid rate.

'At that time the car actually started to move very fast into the water. I was trying to hold the car, slowing it down from entering the water,' Mr Russell said. 
Mr Watts and Mr Russell then managed to pull the woman from the car to safety, but said they got her out just in time.

'It was pretty close, probably 30 or 40 seconds after we managed to get the female out of the car, the car was already slipping further into the water,' Mr Watts said.
'I'd say she'd probably only had maximum probably another minute, minute-and-a-half if she hadn't got out,' he told the NZ Herald.

Mr Watts described the dramatic rescue as 'pretty much part of a routine job being a police officer' in another interview, saying the whole operation only took about 40 seconds. The car was fully submerged just a minute after the woman was freed from it.

Culled from UK Daily Mail

117 comments:

She should thank her lucky stars indeed....xxx

Omg,thank God She survived,shit

In Nigeria,we will be taking pics and standing around while she drowns

nicky Skimpy said...

God is indeed wonderful. Thank u father!

jessica egolo said...

That is why they aare better than our police

Hmmm...now now...Lily say thanks to DM. Hahaha!

Wow! This is short of a miracle!

God save her i swear....

lucky woman, imagine nigerian policy is such situation - am sorry wud ve b d woman name

Thank God it didn't happen in my country cos reverse would have been the case. Kudos to the policemen for such a selfless service

yeah... she lucky

Princess G said...

Thank God for her safety.

Extremely lucky indeed......God's a miracle working God.......

:::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::::::::

Wow, you are lucky woman and thank God for the police that responded promptly.

This is God at work, I will worship you forever my able God

Oh God is really merciful N. I tank God 4 ur life ma.

You really know our pple well......na that day u go see diff kinda fones....even nokia 3310 go get camera by force.....thank God for her life.

Nomso said...

this is a miracle.

Thank God the people there called police. Nigerians would have taken pictures and send to Linda first, then after the car and the woman had drowned, they will call police. the police will equally say they are not Navy and that will end there.

Cindy# said...

Tnk God she's safe

Thank God for his mercies.........Lucky lady

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB.....

If it's in nigeria, forget it! She is dead!

SUPERVISOR said...

THANK GOD!

God be praised oh! Drowning is such a horrible way to die!

She's so lucky...

Thats effiecient Police work. I witnessed a hit and run accident last night at Oshodi and the Police Officers parked close by did not even flinch for a second. Even after I came down from my car and drew their attention to the accident victim lying helplessly on the road. A small crowd had already gathered. The Police men informed me that the Local Government officials wiould take care of the body if the man died. I was highly disappointed.

annabelvinsaint said...

life is indeed faithful to her. what a lucky woman. it is well

See correct police. Not our naija police looking for 100 naira

Thank God for her life

Ufuoma Jerome said...

What a lucky rescue... thanks to the quick intervention of the officers.

Rhoda said...

Omg! Thank God she was rescued fast! God Bless the Police Officers for their promptness.

emmyfabzibekweblog said...

Nne pls go 4 thanksgiving abeg

very lucky

iyke cindy said...

Lol @ Nokia 3310 go get camera by force...God be praised 4 her life...9ja police learn frm dis selfless act**

If na 9ja RIP for don flood ur wall by now..lol
Thank God for her life.

....Love u Linda/A better Nigeria I pray....

Nigerian police... they irritate me so badly. No remorse at all. God help us all

Not in naija!

uwa said...

Hahahahahahahah...silly Miss Moses !
The Nokia 3310 with camera got me laughing real hard like a lunatic .

This is the Lord's doing .The policemen tried , they deserves to television interview and medal biko .
Happy birthday madam , Today is your new birth date !

Thank God for her life and the efficiency of their police. Linda take note!

Not in naija!

Them go send this car come naija as Tokunbo now.... Lol
Bob

If na 9ja RIP for don flood ur wall by now..lol
Thank God for her life.

....Love u Linda/A better Nigeria I pray....

one word....Bravery

Sassy

Nigeria learn from this. We should provide good police n emergency outlets for our citizens.it is not a crime to be nigerian

Flora said...

woow... Thank God... Meanwhile just 40 seconds?? d police sabi deir wrk wella....

Thank God! If it was Nigeria, Ds woman and her car is gone for good.. they will prefer to take pictures than think fast and act faster to save her.

thank God for her life pls visit www.youthincome.com/?user=2275

Sports in this country is going down at a very high rate. not surprised!

Errrrrrrm so the car just started And drove into the water

our police should learn from this..inefficiency in dispersing their duties has cost us many lives that could have been saved...not even talking of the corrupt pratices that has eroded the system..#its high time we start doing things right.

Exactly my point, our police or bystanders wouldn't make a single effort at trying to rescue her.they would just b there taking pictures.had a situation were I was trying to help an old lady who fell and sumone beside me was takin pictures.i collected the fone and threw it to d ground.the idiot couldn't believe it.why are u takin pics of an old lady who fell

Hian! Oyibo n their weird adventures! ThankGod she survived it!

thank God she was saved...TOMJERRYSWIT

What? You don't mean it! The problem we have in Nigeria is lack of love towards one another.

Jack bauer in action.......but wait oooo....wetin d woman dey do as or before dis car begin enter dis lagoon..?
Was she asleep. ?

Kudos to d heros ...obviously they would be rewarded both in heaven and on earth. ...

Ndi maalunu ka-esi aru olu nu....obuhu ndi ara naija police

wow, dats a miracle. In some parts of Africa wher i come frm, even after callin de police to de scene, dey wl come and stand at de bank of de lake/sea/river wdout doin anythn wt de claim dat dey dont knw hw to swim.........God pls save us each day of our lives.

brave police officers

Oboy God you too much

ndidiamaka said...

our God is good

Mosiwomeka said...

Thank God she survived o, God is wonderful! Nigerian Police, can you see? Tor.

I don't ignore people, if I don't have anything to say, I don't say anything at all, I'll like to think that I have grown past entertaining pointless conversations for the sake of being polite.
Cutting people off is not malice, it simply means you want a life free of Drama, Pretense and Negativity.
@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

I dey tell you, if na Nigerian police phwwww,... dem no even sabi swim sef, so nobody go gree enta water sef...

thank GOD

mum jayjay said...

Lucky woman thank your creator,naija police shey una dey learn sha?

She is very lucky, cracking the glass with a rock was kinda dangerous cos the force could have sent the car down faster.

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

Ds Wilheminna Moses, I Lie I dey Lie If I say I No Lik U, U Refuse 2 B My Val

That's western world for u where there is high sense of safety/security. In our side (3rd world) it will take emergency agencies hours to respond if at all. The woman shud praise God for His grace.

Dannmn

Hahahahahahaha @ they not d navy #division of labour na...... hhaahahahaha

Wow

In dis kind of condition, it wont be easy to break the rear screen.

Thank God for safety

Ogechi@ afakos@yahoo.com said...

Thank God for her survival.

vanessa said...

lucky woman

Eastner said...

Can only happen overseas....if na for 9ja, just forget it!!! People go just gather dey record video! smh!!! 9ja we hail thee

In dis kind of situation, it wont be easy to crack d rear screen. Tank God fr savin her life.

Thank God 4 her life.

Please stop saying this. Nigerians would drag that car out of water if they have to. All agberos, conductors and Awon boys will gather. Who puts out fires before fire fighters show up in naija. Nigerians are nice people anytime, it's just when people have seen so many bad things, they change

heroes

Thank God

God Be Praise!!

Just imagine say na Nigeria Police Officers:

Drowning Woman: Heeelp me pleeeeease

Police: Madam how you take enter the water? You sure say your particulars complete? Wey your drivers' license.

Drowning Woman: I can't breathe....

Police: This motor resemble stolen vehicle... ok wait make we go bring towing van.

Hahahaha

We only have 50 Naira police, or the ones that go after fraudsters and leave armed robbers. May God help us...

luchies said...

Thank God for her< if it were to be in naija , her status would be RIP

Now i call this narrow escape,,£Alifesaves,,thanks to God,,job well done to the officers... £NIGERIA POLICE TAKE NOTE..

Deedee said...

CHAI DIS BMW DON SPOIL....TANK GOD D WOMAN IS ALIVE THO.

Thank GOD for her life

If na naija police..hahahah..dem for say make we wait for NEMA

luchies said...

Thank God for her< if it were to be in naija , her status would be RIP

Tank God

Onyinyechi Ik said...

She has to draw her self closer to God the more, cus she just escaped a narrow death, May we all live to see another 365 years to come by the grace of God in jesus Name, Amen

See oyinbo police at work, try naija police na..... Nigeria is a very useless country

Redcandy said...

Whattawow! Very lucky woman! Praise God for her.

Redcandy
****www.idoncomeagain.com****

HMMMM! This is what i call quick response

Oskirin said...

tank God say no b naija.if nt na panel we go set up after d woman sink.

Pls can sum1 tell me the number to call if such should happen here(Nigeria).

Thank God fr her..

She is lucky
But who was videoing it
The person should have helped inside of taking pictures

For 9ja no police man will do this. Am certain they didn't even undergo swimming lessons b4 recruitment! Thank God d woman was saved.

Boladale said...

If na Naija, that is the end of this woman? When shall we grow like this?

do not get stranded on lagos road visit www.ahioplane.com

U are not far from the truth @ all... especially the part our nigerian police not being navy

Hahahahahahahahaha Moses u no well@all. Reading ur comments and that of Bona and Bislam, Galore, Aboki keeps me laffing.

After evrything the car will be sent to nigeeria as tokunbo...

Father thank you so much for saving this precious life.

#myopinioncounts# said...

Epic moment. Thank God she got rescued

Favour belle said...

That was a brave move by those two officers and thank God for her life. She'll live to tell another day.

She's lucky

but Linda dat water nor deep naaa ...see the AK dem stand sef water nor swallow dem.... abeg eee

Thank God for saving her life.