FG blocks N208billion ghost workers scam in the Civil Service | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 18 February 2015

FG blocks N208billion ghost workers scam in the Civil Service

The Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister for the Economy, Dr Ngozi Okonjo Iweala yesterday revealed that the federal government has blocked a N208.7 billion ghost workers scam in government parastatals and agencies after a biometric collection exercise carried out to get a proper data of federal civil servants revealed that 62,893 of the workers who were hitherto on the payroll of the federal government were ghost workers.

Speaking to newsmen in Abuja, the Minister said when the biometric exercise was introduced, most of the civil servants did not show up, an indication that they were ghost workers and after their disengagement, the federal government has been able to save about N208.7 billion usually expended as salaries and benefits on these ghost workers

127 comments:

Shegiya mai hulan kwanu!

No comment abeg

since... hmmmn!

Thats good. Kudos to the government and the minister of finance

Your comment will be visible afyer approval

Nice one.

@Sophia Stephen

Can't they be Arrested?? Oh just remembered they are GHOST Worker's..
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Thats good. Kudos to the government and the minister of finance

Nigeria and corruption,

#skaler#

And it coming out now...I love politics

abbey G said...

igbayi laaro?

Comment reserved................But if not for the way dis electn is going.......sumtin like dis wudnt av happened

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB.....

See I need a new babe. Add me on Bbm 22DB2F9F if u are spanking hot cos I've got a lot of money to spend!

A large percentage of that must be from the North I bet you that.

Dave Mide said...

and wheres the money recovered?

Can u imagine the amount recovered!!!!!! Chaiiii naija with wuru wuru.

That's nice..

Don't be fooled and deceived...It's all political deceit and all for power retainership.

PRETTY GIRL said...

Lol@Evans, I Love it too! Hehehe

His eyes is on the sparrows. Oh Lord help us all and help GEJ to fish out bad eyes around his government

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

This is fighting corruption in a systematic and silent way.Well done, Madam and more grace to your elbow.

Ghost worker, Choi!!!! Corruption things on point. Kudos to the Govt

Story for the gods.

Ucee said...

God pass satan,Nigeria and corruption when will d fight end.

Na today ???? Una dey mad....After so many decades....Jonathan must go no matter what !!!

Rubbish all this is all cus of election.... what will they do? Will they prosecute the ppl in charge? Nigeria have no law and all this will die give it two weeks

Happy to hear this if it's true. We need more of this measures. Everyone is corrupt in Nigeria. Even the so called civil servants are just sitting their asses on the table and collect pay. They are not working.

Shalom in Nigeria, Amen.

And so what?
After recovery this money will it affect the value of naira?
Will they use it and improve our live?
No
So what's they need
When we won't see the money
They will end up sharing it among themselves
The subsidy money they got nko
Where is it did we see any difference in our society after making fuel 97 or 87

Get out na lie! Doc noi u too lie. Una chop pass the ghosts

Ngozi, I hope U reinvest this money into the system to create employment opportunities for real people

Just imagine this! SO what about all the other money that these so called ghost workers have been collecting all along?! Are they just becoming aware that there are ghost workers everywhere?! Abegi!

joystickextender@gmail.com said...

Damn hope they can be rounded up and put in kiri Kiri,

Meanwhile email me to know how to enlarge your joystick and stop premature ejac n let your woman respect you

Wetin dem (FG) save, d supposed saved money would soon disappear. Linda take note!

Chigo said...

Patience Jonathan Worked as a ghost worker when she was a perm sec. Hope u included her?

Lucy's mum said...

Why is it coming now? I guess cos of the forthcoming election. No be una dey chop the money? PDP! I hail una ooo...

AND IT WAS GOIN INTO CORRUPT PPLES POCKET AND DEY XPECT A MESSIAH TO COME CHANGE DIA DELIVISH,TRICKISH HEART...WICKED PPLE IN HGH PLACES...TOMJERRYSWIT

anaigbo said...

And perfectors of ghost workers are fighting fiercely to tople this administration.

mercy seat said...

Great! You guys are suddenly up from slumber.... GEJ has got my vote 259%

Hmmmmm ok oooo

Big reason why about 80% of the Federal civil servants hates this Govt with passion.
A govt organization with a less than 100 staff for example, will have over 500 names on their pay roll. When the money comes they have a sharing formula every month. They are happy.
Now cos of this new scheme called the IPPIS introduced almost Two years now, they no longer have any extra monies coming. Infact some of the parastatals underwent emergency and secret recruitment exercises to cover up their dirty tricks. You can now imagine the anger when you speak with most of them.
ABOKIDAWARRIBOY BE WARNED. Your comments are becoming really nasty. If you are not careful you are heading for a BIG CRASH...

Na now ur day break? I have never seen so much desperation to remain in power.

Is it not them that put those names there,they put names of their children and unborn children and be collecting the money.

I wonder y they are telling us nw. Anyways, I just wonder the fate of so called billions

since 6 years ago, una no try @ all.

GEJ goverent everything is done by ghosts and faceless terrorists. Even Abba Morro sef na ghost with spirit join thts why they never arrest anybody . It's like investigation and inquiry are foreign words to GEJ na only committee upon committee that ends up with nothing dey like.

Tefe said...

nice.

Nice move

Abi nau.. .... News we tend to hear right before elections.. .. Well majority of Nigerians are highly gullible

This Govt People don't know their Job. As a state.u need to do more than this okonjo. if ur salary could be splitted to 20 let it be and use each of it to recruits more hands. u guz are d problems this nation is facing.thanks linda

Few days to election u morons are suddenly pro-active. Bio data technology has been in existence before Jonathan came into office. The practice of the top elite in government who orchestrate the ghost workers scam have been going on openly for decades in Nigeria which we all know. Why is Jonathan suddenly tackling that? You fuck-heads! Buhari for president joor!!!!!
Mac10...

Five minute clamp down on corruption will not save you. So it's today you're just doing biometric? Everything under GEJ is just happening under two weeks. Na so

Kudos to FG

Rubbish..keep releasing stories of how u blocked fraudd while u ignore all the money stolen right infront of u by our gov officials! Abeg get outa here..our economy is crumbling and naira is almost 250 to the dollar and u guys are there just watching cuz u have saved all ur money in dollars..

What biometric exercise? Not aware of it. Or is the money 208 billion also inclusive of the workers salaries that are yet to paid?

before u comment pls look at indices and not barking dog announcement, Okonjo iweala has been Minister Finance and Jona Govt. cannot account for 30trillion naira realized from crude oil sales within four years. Sanusi, the former CBN governor indicted NNPC of not remitting 20million naira to Federation Account, and they almost killed the man, but the forensic Audit carried out has revealed that 1.48billion dolars is missing and the report has been submitted to Jona. Can u see that Okonjo iweala, Alison Madueke and Jona have completed embezzled our money, so why clap for them becos she said they block some ghost workers,God will judge them.

Rufe bakin ka. Amalala kowai..

Speechless

Good one,,

Why tell us dis now.... Campaign strategy

Adeagbo Kabir said...

A nice move, but came late - perhaps for election purpose. Also, is it going to stop there? I expect investigation to be carried out about who were collecting those monies before detection. They need to be brought to book and punish accordingly, otherwise, same thing would be repeated soonest and others that are still doing it will not stop.

Nigeria is doomed abeg....

Good job, madam if indeed this is true. Perdon me as any statement from a government with credibility problem would first be doubted, questioned and only believed after verification. It is good to block corrupt individuals, but if not followed with an appropriate prosecution of the masterminds where necessary, it will become a game of who is smarter between the government and the corrupt individuals - The government blocks one place , the corrupt individuals open another place, and so on..like a game of mouse chase . A busy government needn't be engrossed with mouse-chasing game that would have been drastically reduced or averted if appropriate detterence is properly served on top of blocking corrupt activities. All the same, well done!

Lmaooo this is the last we will hear about the money.. soon it will be shared amongst em selves

Gud 4 dem. Hop it's true n sincere?

Corruption don d waka small smal

Dis is gd news
Mire of dis kinda story
Weldone
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Nomso said...

hmm, people bad ghan.

Saving it isn't d only problem but utilizing d saved money well and maintaining the routine biometric check to curb d menace for good is d challenge here.

Keep working. ..we r seeing. ..

Henry Ekene Obianika said...

Lol!! I don't care.

Linda I said so..

Mosiwomeka said...

So its just now? God forgive me, anything they do, I see it as campaigning.
Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous

@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

Una biz . LIB EMPIRE

Good to know

:::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::

Una biz . LIB EMPIRE

Goodluck Till2019 said...

Well done madam, Goodluck Is Working. #votewisely #voteGEJ

Ok, we v heard u madam

Where is the money?? Is not all about saying we recovered something but did it enter the federation account or to some kitchen cabinets account?? We need to be credible in Nigeria. There's no transparency in government.

@Osirmah said...

Na now u wan block am?? Hw many days to election pls???

FF@Osirmah

Fellow Nigerians, there is a blog that gives free advice on the law and law related matters. Feel free to get the best advise for free... http://whatthelawsays.blogspot.co.uk/..... Cheers

Did you just find out Madam and what stops you guys employing that same number of youths into the civil service to replace the " ghost workers"?. Abegi, you guys should take several seats in Teslim Balogun's stadium.

And where is the money??? Swiss bank I think

N d innocent ones r jobless roaming d street. There is God n He's watchin us.

Abeg do something about the dollar increase cause...... $1 is 199 naira in Xe currency. Hope it drops to 150 back at least

oh it's unbelievable
arrest them rather, if FG want to prove to us

day just break?

OBASANJO OCHESTRATED THE GHOST WORKERS AS MEANS OF CONTINOUSLY DEFRAUDING AND GETTING MONEY FROM THE COUNTRY! HE HAD ONCE ADVISED JONATHAN NOT REVEAL ANYTHING ABOUT THE GHOST WORKERS - CLAIMING THAT THEY WILL HUNT JONATHAN, BUT THE ONLY REASON JONATHAN IS REVEALING AND SCRAPPING IT OFF NOW IS BECAUSE BABA HAS FINALLY LEFT PDP, SO BLOCKING THE GHOST WORKERS NOW IS SIMPLY BECAUSE JONATHAN WANT TO PUNISH BABA!!! BUT HE SHOULD HAVE DONE IT SINCE BEFORE NOW...STUPID OBASANJO! IF ONLY I WERE A PRESIDENT I WILL ARREST ALL THE PREVIOUS MILITARY DICTATORS, STARTING FROM OBASANJO, BUHARI, BABAGINDA AND CO...STUPID LEADERS!

This woman sef!!

My fellow Nigerians can u imagine? N208. 7 billion Naira, for how long now the FG has being paying this ghost works N208. 7 billion. No answer! Kai this is bad, GEJ failed us! Nigerians wake-up and vote for Buhari and Osinbajo, for #change#! He can change this country and Nigeria will be better again. Yes he can do it. Don't let people deceive people party, deceive u.They are coming again!!! Shine ur eyes well, OJB, called them hawks that surround GEJ, Its has been proven that we are not moving forward. For past 6 years now, all what they do is to recycle themselves and continuity embezzlement of Nigerian money, people deceive people PDP party, that is their mentality, my people the rain may fall, the sun may shine, but doesn't disturb the snail to get to its destination. No matter what people deceive people say, about GMB, u nd I'll overcome them! Nigerians! Wake-up! the time has come my people lives matter. PDP party and corruption insecurity darkness no electricity bad government must go. Dear Nigerian's pls forget tribalism especially we the youths, we need change in our country Nigeria, pls lets vote right nd make Nigeria a better place for u nd I,ur children/unborn children nd the next generation. We re tired of CORRUPTION, GREED, ND INSECURITY, etc. That has eaten so deep into our past nd present leaders, the unfair treatment to the masses especially,the rich getting richer while the poor are getting poorer. Its so sad. May God continue to be with us Amen. Vote for #change# vote Buhari and Osinbajo. For president march 28 next month. #ihavedecided for #change#

GEJ is working...
Thumbs up to them.

Nice move on my presido, we will fight corruption to standstill. GEJ carry go my man

Lin Lin where are you?

This is good improvement

Na only billions in Naira una find? How about $$$ billions in dollars that's missing... $$$ billion to fight ebola... $$$ billion to fight boko haram...$$$20 billion from nnpc...una don account for those? This woman is a mere thief!! Gej voice

Komu uko na okpu nsi

Cheap campaign. Then why can't the slots of those ghost workers be opened up as vacancy to jobless youths??? •long hisssss•

That's small... There are more.

good job minister

Akanimo Sunday said...

How do you recover what has been stolen? Methink it's a stunt to have some anti-corruption posturing and curry some support for votes. You just realized that,after 5 years? Lame.

Paul Ofou said...

U can jump in to the kwanu and drown @ abokiwari for all I care but u can't stop the wheel of progress. Am sure ur name was among the ghost workers hence ur grievance. Daniska banza mutum, ka zo ka dinga zagi ta akan Mai?

Abeggy whose fault is that? And this is just been noticed now, God bless Nigeria.

Human Being said...

I knew when this action commence. i guess this is what GEJ meant by saying He will use technology to fight corruption.

Weldon !!

But then again some people should be held responsible. You should not just stop there, go further to investigate the accounts where these monies enter. If you don't persecute people, they will find other ways to bypass your mechanism

Human Being is not God

Human Being said...

I knew when this action commence. i guess this is what GEJ meant by saying He will use technology to fight corruption.

Weldon !!

But then again some people should be held responsible. You should not just stop there, go further to investigate the accounts where these monies enter. If you don't persecute people, they will find other ways to bypass your mechanism

Human Being is not God

So they waited till now to do this? Don't we all know that ghost workers are everywhere in the civil service since? This has political undertone. Propaganda!!!!!

they just relieved Nigerians legally working and making a living of their jobs, and as if that is not enough, branded them ghost workers. Just experienced first hand how this government continuously lie to its citizen and here we have shallow minded Nigerians praising her for deepening the woes of the masses. they have started shutting down legally established government agencies and parastatals to cushion the effect of the drop in oil prices, while still enriching themselves at the expense of the masses. Ngozi you are a criminal just like the rest of them and God will punish your entire generations for this singular act of yours and for deceiving Nigerians by lying. #ghostworkersmyass

weldone

Lolz @hulan Kwanu but shegiya wasn't really necessary.

And @Go

So much rot in d system..a gud start tho.

And @Good luck Jonathan tenure keep doing well....good one @Okonjo.

Mcheww!useless government.

So why block those scam funds now..why haven't you done it since the last 6 yrs why few weeks to the general election....just saying

DGBASKY said...

If you don't have anybody to vote for but Jonathan, it simply means that you don't really know what is going on this country, or maybe you are deaf and blind, sorry to say dat...

This aboki should be sent back to his home town in borno state. As for those saying dis is coming too late, I pity u. Jonathan is supposed to do everything in one minute abi? Then wats d use of governance. U will neva see any good d govt is doing bcos there is nothing good in ur miserable lives. I pity u esp irabor and his long sermons

Noskey said...

People should at least for once in their life, appreciate good things so good things can come to them. This is a country that has been ravaged by corruption and GEJ has started using technology to fight it yet so ignorant fellows like Irabo is putting the blame on GEJ. what a show of ignorance

after six years of reign...you just realise there are ghost workers in the civil service...(Someone is scared of GMB....hahahahaha) how foolish and stupid...what do u call us????? fools like you? N208 billion!? someone must be responsible and must be charged!

who are who are the perpetrators and were they arrested or they are walking around and still earning fat salaries. Anyway GEJ is still inventing technology that will fight corruption. thank you for blocking it till the technology is invented

clap for your yourself

U are ignorantly right. Btw, get facts b4 u comment

Something is definitely missing- either ur eyes or ur brain. But I will bet its ur brain

U are ignorantly right. Btw, get facts b4 u comment

Naijasportscrib.com said...

Who are the people behind the scam....

click on my name for sports news

Same way she invested the subsidy money lol. Think before u comment. Moron

They are trying.

Information for you people who thinks this is last minute action:
The scheme has been in place for about two years now. It is called IPPIS_ Integrated Payroll and personeel information system. We have been recieving our salaries through this scheme for almost two years in our parastatal. One good side of it is that it is electronic. It therefore automatically cuts off payment of your salary when due for retirement So the organization can not claim salaries of one who have retired. For consistent monitoring, staff are expectected to fill the annual emolument form. Fore more information you may google... Cheers Friend

#smh - MEDICINE after death! You just found out? Because of Election Soldiers have entered Sambisa Forest, They are fast tracking 2m jobs for youths, Okojo Iweala finally agrees there is corruption but said we don't have the structure to prevent it (I guess she means we should let corruption be like she and her party headed by GEJ has let it be for over half a decade). IF NIGERIA DOESN'T KILL CORRUPTION, CORRUPTION WILL KILL NIGERIA. VOTE BUHARI!!!

Ooooleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
She has swallowed all Nigeria money
All her body is smelling of corruption