CIMA qualification aligns with Shell Group competencies for employees | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 20 February 2015

CIMA qualification aligns with Shell Group competencies for employees

Shell Group Plc carried out a survey of CIMA-trained staff, to understand how the qualification’s syllabus aligns with the company’s required competences in its growing business concerns.

In order to achieve this, Shell provided CIMA with the competences it needs for the various roles in its finance function. Out of 42 competences, the CIMA syllabus covered 27, at its basic level, which matched about 65 per cent of Shell’s expectations. 

Key findings indicate that CIMA trained staff are more likely to be externally focused and quick acting. These are two of the five behaviours introduced in 2009 by Peter Vose, during his tenure as CEO of Shell.

In addition, CIMA trained staff are just as likely as the others to be commercially orientated. They also scored highly on ‘value simplicity’ and ‘goal orientated’.The Shell study therefore concluded that the CIMA syllabus could form a basis for delivering high value to its operations.

This is just one of the many case studies that have been carried out regarding the contribution of CIMA trained staff to the viability of businesses operations at all levels.

Management accountants are equipped with a wide variety of skills which makes them highly employable. Their role in the organisation puts them at the heart of the business. By helping people and businesses to succeed, CIMA is the first choice for employers. 

CIMA, the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants, is the world’s largest and leading professional body of management accountants. CIMA supports over 227,000 members and students in 179 countries.

If you have any questions for CIMA Nigeria Office, send an email to lagos@cimaglobal.com. A CIMA Nigeria representative will be happy to provide answers to your questions. For more information on CIMA and on how to register, log on to www.cimaglobal.com or call 07002462644.

68 comments:

Issokay, tnx for the info and good morning to you Lindiway. Linda take note!

Gdmoni Linda nd Libers....Do av a great friday...

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB.....

Intresting

Hmmmmm,,Hmmmmm,

Linda dat senator isn't dead ooo,

lawal oluwatoyin said...

Dear CIMA Nigeria, I do believe you may want to immediately have this advert on this entertainment blog misusing the Shell name taken down immediately. I'm sure you're well aware it provides the intended perception that getting the CIMA designation leads to be well suited for employment in Shell. This advert also gives the perception that Shell is either sponsoring this ad or is an active spokesperson which is not the case. Should this ad still be online in a few hours I will be reporting to the Shell global brand compliance team for investigation. Have not problem with you selling the CIMA designation which is actually rather valuable, but do it on your own merits!

Oh and p.s. there is no such company as Shell Group plc FYI

9ce move #ABJID

Good for them.

Okay seen

ABOKIWARRI BOY
ABOKIWARRIBOY
Are u the only tout in the house
Your words are full of bitterness from the heart
Did anyone take away your birthright by force????
I don't see u sound happy virtually, in all your comments
You sound so acrimonious, sedulous, resentful, stinging, piercing
I need to summon your parents bicoz u need some level of counseling
U really bittered in heart
Your parents didn't do their homework in your upbringing
I guess u grew among the touts in warri
Kai!!!!!!!!!!!!
Or were some nuts screwed off your head, u sound so imbalance
Pls don't infiltrate dis forum with ur menace.
Grow up man

Princex said...

I pray dey open more job employment for graduate

Alright

Seen!

Anointed said...

Well dats cool. Am using this medium to beg u all dat pls am looking for a job,should incase u hv any for me,am an OND graduate pls cause am tired of stayin at home.!!!!! #linda am here o#

Anointed said...

Well dats cool. Am using this medium to beg u all dat pls am looking for a job,should incase u hv any for me,am an OND graduate pls cause am tired of stayin at home.!!!!! #linda am here o#

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

Good for them *thamixbreed*

Baba Ibeji said...

This is the best educative post you ever posted ... Thumbs up !!! Una wan enter shell as an accountant go do CIMA even though it ain't cheap ... I trust some will run away with the info and start the process while some will be cussing each other out .. A word is enough for the wise

Wooow! N wats d abbreviatn CiMA??TOMJERRYSWIT

Jesus Reigns said...

Msheeew oil companies that are dying in naija.

Good for me

Roseberry said...

Na dem sabi......

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm,

Nice and thumba up to them. More power to their elbow's. I wish them more affiliations to other professional bodies.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm,

Nice and thumba up to them. More power to their elbow's. I wish them more affiliations to other professional bodies.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm,

MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

Super cool.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Aiit

Mosiwomeka said...

This is for accounting professionals nao.
Positive thinking, Effective action.....
Better to light a candle than to curse the darkness.
@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

Gud to knw...

In other words, we should come and write CIMA exams cos it may get you into shell abi?!

Okay, good

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

Send ur resume/cv to my personal email's royalpriesthood007@gmail.com AND oriaifo@gmail.com.
U can also send it across to my official email augustine.oriaifo@ckwenvironment.com.

Kindly indicate frm LIB reader when u send d resume/cv. Pls send it b4 d end of today business hours.

Cheers!

Send ur resume/cv to my personal email's royalpriesthood007@gmail.com AND oriaifo@gmail.com.
U can also send it across to my official email augustine.oriaifo@ckwenvironment.com.

Kindly indicate frm LIB reader when u send d resume/cv. Pls send it b4 d end of today business hours.

Cheers!

Cheers!

@anonymous, u r spitting rubbish and nonsense...

AbokiDaWarriBoy is one among d best people dat make lovely comments on dis blog and deserve praise not all dis ur trash.

U barely know him and u don't hav d right to say all dis nonsense of urs towards him. We all know those that r truly committed on dis blog and one among them is AbokiDaWarriBoy.

So give AbokiDaWarriBoy some slack and pls anonymous learn to respect ursef on dis blog u dis so tagged anonymous dat is faceless and all u do is to attack committed people on dis blog.

Two words 4u anonymous "GET LOST"!!!

AbokiDaWarriBoy is one among d best people dat make lovely comments on dis blog and deserve praise not all dis ur trash.

U barely know him and u don't hav d right to say all dis nonsense of urs towards him. We all know those that r truly committed on dis blog and one among them is AbokiDaWarriBoy.

So give AbokiDaWarriBoy some slack and pls anonymous learn to respect ursef on dis blog u dis so tagged anonymous dat is faceless and all u do is to attack committed people on dis blog.

EVA said...

Is this news or advert? Hmm

Hello anonymous,

No thanks for ur info and I wonder wht ur interest thereof wit dis ur uncharitiable comment...

Hope u r not trying to feel important??? All d same take a long sit afar and enjoy d fun on dis blog not dis ur trying to feel more important than u r.

In case u need their contact pls ask me I wil give it to u.

If u don't mind PLS PARK WELL.

advertisement

Dis is gd
Nice1
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

@Anonymous 6.50am.

The name of Shell has not been misused rather it is being promoted as a great place to work for people with the right skills and competence.

Please stop distorting and misrepresenting facts. Maybe you would have passed across a more positive message if you had clicked the link to the survey on Financial Management Magazine as posted by Linda.

I report it for your information once again - http://www.fm-magazine.com/feature/depth/measuring-alignment.

The link indicates that the post is from a survey of CIMA-trained staff at Shell because sought to understand how the qualification’s syllabus maps to the company’s required competences as reported by Lawrie Holmes.

I see this as a great infomercial providing Nigerians with information on how to get top multinational jobs.

Good..

heytheredelilah said...

Chartered Institute of Management Accountants.

Ogbeni Adejokun said...

Dear Anonymous 6.50am, did you read through the blogpost without looking at the videos and web links provided?

Shell's name has not been misused here. Rather it has been projected positively and competencies required to work for Shell celebrated.

Yes, there is evidently a survey carried out on CIMA trained and qualified staff working for Shell which indicates that CIMA qualified people are very well suited for employment in Shell. I happen to have a hard copy of that report emblazoned with the Shell Group logo. Send me your P.M.B address to for a copy.

No Shell person was quoted in the story, so your argument that the perception that Shell is sponsoring this publication is created is fallacious.

Your threat about reporting to Shell Global Compliance Team is certainly belated - am sure they picked this up eons ago and are glad it is up and running.

Please Google Phil Sanderson on working at Shell, and the CIMA qualification, and Measuring Alignment which is a report by Lawrie Holmes on this same subject matter. Shell is CIMA partner, and the partnership is global.

Thanks for not having a problem with selling CIMA and its highly sought CGMA designation - after all it is a free market.

PS: I happen to have seen documents with company name - Shell Group Plc, meaning I may have to struggle to trust your opinion.

noted

Anointed said...

Thanks,I will do dat right away

Next please?

Anointed said...

Have sent the CV to you

@ royal priesthood. He/she was just trying to clarify issues based on the advert.. most of us are ignorant about this and it's good to be educated about all these things so we don't just waste money on unnecessary shits.. so shut the fuck up and take a chill pill.. nobody is spoiling fun for anybody bros

Now am sure you. Are not okay @ royal priesthood

Please don't sign up for this program to try to get employment to shell it won't work. Just go to the Shell website and apply under graduate recruitment. No cost involved

Actually, get into Shell and they pay the cost for the CIMA for you. This will NOT help you get into Shell. Is it good to get? Yes. Will it secure you employment in that company? No

Don't do it. Shell will hire you first and foremost based on your experience and or schooling. Same with Mobil, Chevron etc. Qualifications like this is only worthwhile if you also have oil experience.

That's exactly the point for your info. It will not be the catalyst that gets you a job in a multinational. I don't want people spending exorbitant amounts of money on a designation thinking once they do it will secure them employment at Shell because it will not. You still need the experience they are looking for, the CIMA is the icing on the cake and cannot replace the cake itself

Why mention Shell and not Mobil, BT, BP or the numerous other companies that also are accredited partners. If you know. Shell you should know they are extremely protective of their brand. Point is not to say this is a bad designation, I think it's great and I have it! The point is to stop the perception that getting your CIMA designation will lead to employment in Shell or other multinationals it doesn't hurt but iit certainly doesn't guarantee. I don't want people spending money on false hope. And no pls Google more thoroughly, there is absolutely no "Shell Group plc". Forget outside sources that may be inaccurate, check their website

Anonymous 6.50am and Company is back shooting from the hips and attacking CIMA after failing to hoodwink LIB readers.

I am suspecting de-marketing here and what a dumb way to do it.

There was a survey - a collaboration by CIMA & SHELL on a SURVEY distilling alignment between CIMA curriculum and competencies required to work at SHELL - Which has ingeniously been made public FOR THE BENEFIT OF YOUNG NIGERIANS AND some wet-behind-the-ears CYBER-TROLLS are YELPING and SPINNING things out of context.

I suspect incompetent attack dogs working for competing institutions in the same field with CIMA.

Anonymous & Co, go get a life and dictate only to your children when they come of age.

Did CIMA and Mobil, BP or the other numerous partners collaborate on this survey? NO!

Come out n the open with your real motive and stop the gerrymandering like a lost salamander and headless lizard.

The survey exists, it is endorsed by Shell and has been well publicised in other markets - GO HUG TRANSFORMER jo IF IT IS PAINING YOU. CHIKENAH!

Lol- Get into Shell and Shell will pay for you. DUMBO trying to ruin things - Please LIBers do not listen to this balderdash.

Getting recognised qualifications which equips you for a successful career in business is what makes the difference between you and thousands of other candidates.

Anonymous campaigning against this post is just BELLY-ACHING. It is a case of CHRONIC BAD BELLE - or you work for an institute offering similar qualifications to CIMA. If so, why not cme out in the open. Yeye dey smell.

Anonymous 6.50am and Company is back shooting from the hips and attacking CIMA after failing to hoodwink LIB readers.

I am suspecting de-marketing here and what a dumb way to do it.

There was a survey - a collaboration by CIMA & SHELL on a SURVEY distilling alignment between CIMA curriculum and competencies required to work at SHELL - Which has ingeniously been made public FOR THE BENEFIT OF YOUNG NIGERIANS AND some wet-behind-the-ears CYBER-TROLLS are YELPING and SPINNING things out of context.

I suspect incompetent attack dogs working for competing institutions in the same field with CIMA.

Anonymous & Co, go get a life and dictate only to your children when they come of age.

DUMBOS say no Shell Group Plc - so what's the entity listed on the London Stock Exchange?

Anonymous the BIG FAT Lying DUMBO - see results of Shell Group Plc as released in January below:

30 Jan 2015

Royal Dutch Shell plc announced its unaudited results for the fourth quarter and full year 2014 on 29 January 2015. Subsequent to making that announcement, a stock valuation error in its downstream operations was discovered. The value of inventories in the condensed consolidated balance sheet, reported as $19,981 million, should be corrected to $19,701 million.

Dear LIBers, do not let DUMBOS without proper knowledge and are also unable to use Google search properly hoodwink you oh. Fishy characters impugning a global research in a LAZY and POLITICAL manner.

LMAO - lost Salamander, headless Lizard? Diaris God oh!

Professional courses are wat one shud go for n ntn less...enjoyn being an accountant

Anonymous 6:50am has chewed more than he/she can swallow. How come there's no intelligent response to the rejoinder that Anonymous 11:24pm gave you.
Btw, those are some pretty rib cracking expressions used... Thumbs up Anonymous 11:24pm

WALE said...

I have a strong belief that Anonymous 6:50am is on the payroll of ACCA otherwise he would not be coming on so strong.
Why should this post annoy anyone? Shell, like many other multinationals, will not hire people with less than credible qualifications and they already have tools to measure performance of staff members.
The post is very clear on one thing - and that is - Shell discovered that employees with CIMA qualification perform better than the average employee in the organisation.
Anonymous 6:50am should provide us with contrary information or maintain the peace