End of an era! Nelson Mandela dies at 95 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 December 2013

End of an era! Nelson Mandela dies at 95

South African Government has announced the death of Nelson Mandela. South African president Jacob Zuma announced that the former president and anti-apartheid revolutionary passed away peacefully in the company of his family in his home in Johannesburg around 8:50 this evening Dec. 5th. He was 95 years old.

His death marks the final chapter in a life that changed South Africa forever. What a man! May his soul rest in peace, amen.

President Jacob Zuma said flags will be flown at half-mast across South Africa immediately with a state burial to follow. The UK government have also announced that flags will be flown at half-mast in the UK. Rest in peace, Madiba!

494 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   401 – 494 of 494
vivian o. said...

And a reliable and dependable one too.

"Death is something inevitable. When a man has done what he considers to be his duty to his people and his country, he can rest in peace. I believe I have made that effort and that is, therefore, why I will sleep for the eternity.” ~ Nelson Mandela 1996... Africa has lost a father,and the world has lost a leader. You'll always live to us Tata Madiba!

divinchy said...

Rest In Peace. The world will u.

Respect... I salute you, Madiba.

A great hero has finally bowed out. Our dear Madiba, a great legend. May God Almighty grant your soul eternal peace in his glory. The world will surely miss you, Africans in particular.

GODSPOWER said...

WHAT A MAN.IN THIS GENERATION NO OTHER.

RIP Madiba!!! U blessed d earth,go bless heaven #Mentor #Legend #hero of our time n a grt source of inspiration# ur legacy lives on

RIP Mandela. The best way to honour him now is to change the country name from South Africa to Madiba. A great leader is gone....

what a great lose of an icon we gunna missd u , RIP

An Icon,Such a man of Integrity.Sleep On Sir #Teambirthdaymate#

He was a legend, his legacy will never be forgotten

He was a legend, his legacy will never be forgotten..RIP MADIBA

Rip madiba what a man I miss! crying......

RIP great MADIBA. can the world ever have another you?? A man who would stand and fight even the fiercest battle??
Mandela you are loved and will be greatly missed by the world, South Africa most especially. Rest on great one.
Abimbola.

May his gentle peace rest in the bolsom of the lord.indeed he is a rare gem

Warri Boy said...

''The soul of Africa has departed, and there is nothing miraculous left in the world''
-Professor Wole Soyinka.

Nelson Mandela was indeed the soul of Africa. Mandiba, Rest In Peace.

babawalexy said...

RIP NELSON MANDELA

R I P The Africa Hero

RIP mandela,u will never be forgotten

RIP Madiba. The world will definitely miss you. You are irreplaceable

Man down the bugle said!I looked up to see him,twas our silver haired hero,he had been felled by hade's arrow..adieu madiba!!

The LEGEND is gone.RIP MR PRESIDENT

What a Big loss to Africa, Rest in peace Mandela.

Be WISE. Buy Land on the Outskirts Of Lagos at 1.5M/
Acre. Up to 200 Acres Available.
Location of the land.
Ilobi Village, Atan/Sokoto Road, Ogun State. (About 5-7
mins drive from atan).
Family Land/Property with a survey plan.
Legal Contractors.
FEMI BEN FEMI & CO
1, Uche Ubochi Close, Behind Total Filling Station, Ojo
Alaba International Market, Lagos State.
Phone number- 07035719310 or 07036619532 NB:
We encourage personal/ assisted research so as to
clear any doubt about the genuineness of the
property as we are certain of our due diligence.
Thank you.

tuffcookiey said...

R.i.p Madiba. . Our global icon.

tuffcookiey said...

Lord, bless Nigeria with sefless leaders with even a tenth of the selflessness and humility of this great man. Mandela was just special and was propably the most popular man that ever lived.RIP.

Rest in peace Mandiba.

precious daniel said...

peaceful man who died a peaceful death. Greatest man ever liveth, he stood 4 his great country men not minding d sufferings dat will follow, u will forever be loved and remembered by them and me. Jesu ni south africa. Rip MANDIBA MANDELA. A true legend indeed.

No dodorima comment yet?lool

RIP mandela,u will never be forgotten

mofe martins said...

how to use etisalat bis on pc and android click here

The Lion has finally slept off forever. I missed you, Africa mourns and the world recognises your departure. RIP MADIBA

rip sir...great man

mofe martins said...

why do bloggers dont reply to their readers comment especially linda at least once in a while reply them let them know you love them

Tunde Ajayi said...

Death remain unavoidable..... you have done well. Goodbye Madiba the freedom fighter!

my your dear soul rest in piece tata...u will always remain in our haert

RIP Mandela...

Chinma said...

Oh dear! A lesson to us the living: What sort of name are we making? What will people say after our demise? And what will we want them to say about us?

Let us live today as if it were the last to be remembered especially by God.

To say Mandela will be missed by all will be an understatement.

Wwo! Now the poor man will rest!!!Watch How SouthAfricans Mourn Him Here, Just Click

nena said...

chaaiiiiiii. An Iroko has indeed fallen. Rest well Africa's greatest hero.

How can we get to advertise our brand on your platform, looking forward to having a long lasting working relationship with you
send an empt mail to chib.ccc@gmail.com we will get back at you.
regards
Chukwuemeka c,, this is meant to be private we understand you screen all post before being posted..

Rip Mandela... U wil Neva b 4gotten.

Hmmn, only God knows what lies ahead of him in judgement, eternal life or death? That's what matters ultimately, 95 years is a drop in the ocean in light of eternity.

Mary D said...

MADIBA one of the greatest men to grace this generation sleep well in the bosom of our Lord.I Love You.

RIP Madiba

goodnight madiba my mentor. nigeria govt. should also fly our flags at half mast for this great man.

Nath Ekanem said...

Madibe should rest in peace - he has done alot for south Africa

What a great lost, R.I.P NELMAND...

NAIJACLASSY said...

Hmm, Rest in peace the great Nelson Mandela of Africa, of the whole World, we loves you but God loves you more......... We wish to have a great leader like you in Naija.. ASUU STRIKE UPDATE: “We Have Not Received N200 billion From FG” – ASUU

RIP great Icon will never forget you.Rest in the blossom of God.

Taufik Al Mubarak said...

Nelson Mandela is my hero! #RIPNelsonMendela

rip Madiba

RIP Madiba. You lead a good life.
You can find facts about Mandela at http://ow.ly/rvCCu

He was a Remarkable Man, a Great Leader and a Legend!!! Rest in peace Madiba... You will be missed... Adieu.
- D.J

I will not be surprised if next week I see a Nollywood film title "NELSON MANDELA" in store, we work so much magic with films.

FBI said...

African leaders should learn from Mandela's principles. RIP Madiba

MANDELA Vs. OBASANJO
A tale of two political prisoner released to be president,
but the one become a victor the other a villain.
To prove that my PC dictionary underlined one name with red
the other it didn't

Africa's Greatest Voice "46664". RIP

Stanley Ezeani said...

Will forever remember you Mandela. you remain our hero and pride as an African.....and planet earth at large. I love you and forever will miss you.

Manymen said...

The Giant iroko tree has fallen!. Rest in peace, Great Son of Africa. Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela.

What a great man, Rest In Peace.

A mighty man of Valor...Mandiba

South Africans benefited from Mandela they should be crying, Nigerians need a Mandela, We should stop Praying and take RESPONSIBILITY!

RIP! icon of Africa

RIP Madiba, Africa just lost its greatest Son.

modella said...

eeeeeeeya... finally he is gone.. may his soul rest in peaceful and perfect peace... amen... MANDELLA--- TOOK A LONG WALK TO FREEDOM..... #AFRICA LOVES U# Farewell.... adieu

All i have for u is RESPECT!!!! Greatest Black Man eva. am sure God himself hz been w8in this day when he'll re-unite with his greatest black creation. ADIEU MADIBA

aeesha said...

Rip Mandela.....your songs really inspired me and ur movies were great!!!!!!Allah sa ka huta....Amin

RIP Madiba. Africa's greatest leader.
YOU CAME, FOUHT AND CONQUERED
LOVE U DEARLY, PAPA AFRICA

WTF...* 'SHORT'up* - if you can't spell!!! Just pay your respects....

femicavan said...

when will Nigerians get their freedom from all these corrupt politicians and start the struggle for revolution to be free from poverty.
what our leaders knew best is to loot the country of billions of oil revenue for their self interest .

Don't just say R.I.P., let d light of his vision & works shine through us & d pain of his struggle strengthen us. Men die..legends live .. #AfricaUnite

Papa rest in Peace,you are a Saint to this World and to Africe in Particular.

Ur memory will always live on
. RIP great HERO

ukemeglitter said...

Celebration of life

RIP#MANDELA

You will always be remembered.

hmmn...the old bird has flown across the great river. The world has lost a gem. He would forever be remember as a gallant advocate of peace and justice in a world where these virtues are scarce.

Goodbye Madiba

Hmmn...the old bird has flown across the great river. The world has indeed lost a gem. He would forever be remembered for his gallant advocacy for truth, equality and justice, in a world where these virtues are scarce.

Goodbye MADIBA.

BB said...

Sleep on, Madiva! The man l valued so much!

ogoo said...

He was indeed one in a million, rest in perfect peace SIR because' u' deserved it

hmmn...the old bird has flown across the great river. The world has lost a gem. He would forever be remember as a gallant advocate of peace and justice in a world where these virtues are scarce.

Goodbye Madiba

R.I.P to BABA EGEDE nelson mandela , ur tiredless struggle for freedom and fight against oppression earned the respect of the world, ur humility and passion ...

COCOZ said...

RIP to a great man of valour. you didnt leave behind a legacy....you are a legacy.thank you for fighting for the black freedom we enjoy today

RIP to one of d gr8est men dat eva lived.

See grammar on top say
mandela die:
**painful exist! * * Shocking
lose! * *
Mandela is gun! * * We wil mix
u! *
*Braking news! * * Foreva on
our hats....
I jst saw som1 who wrote, "Why
ar d gud
actors dieing,wot is Nollywood
turning to,
RIP mandela, i'll miss ur film".
Must we all talk? O su mi ooo...RIP 2 d icon.

win said...

Rest in peace mandiba. You are indeed a great icon. Your legacy will remain fresh on our mind. RIP

Rip sir!!

whizzev said...

Udeme is a gr8 man, Mandela is Gr8r... RIP World Famous

«Oldest ‹Older   401 – 494 of 494   Newer› Newest»