End of an era! Nelson Mandela dies at 95 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 December 2013

End of an era! Nelson Mandela dies at 95

South African Government has announced the death of Nelson Mandela. South African president Jacob Zuma announced that the former president and anti-apartheid revolutionary passed away peacefully in the company of his family in his home in Johannesburg around 8:50 this evening Dec. 5th. He was 95 years old.

His death marks the final chapter in a life that changed South Africa forever. What a man! May his soul rest in peace, amen.

President Jacob Zuma said flags will be flown at half-mast across South Africa immediately with a state burial to follow. The UK government have also announced that flags will be flown at half-mast in the UK. Rest in peace, Madiba!

494 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 400 of 494   Newer›   Newest»

Rip super hero

jenifer afamefune said...

Awww so sad finally u hve gone 2 rest, RIP nelson mandela

Gentletee said...

Rest in peace Mandela. Africa abd the world at large wull miss you!

Rip mandela!a rare Gem has departed our world.Ur legacy will live on.Rest well

Glorious exit of an icon...u were a leader indeed. (Nelly A)

Papa madiba.. we love you but God loves you most. ...Rip.

r i p uncle mandela.u ve truly fullfilled purpose

sweetie said...

RIP african legend nelson mandela.d greatest man has gone

tharnar said...

Lindodo u r too much walahi........ Rip madiba.............

A legend has left us......RIP

May his soul rest in peace

Umh.....I live in south Africa,I just wonder how the days ahead will be in SA after today,the man has been their second God(if not first.....RIP MANDELA.

Rip great man

Papichulo said...

RIP MAndela....a life well spent

President jona no fit die make dem fly flag 4 am in ghana talkless of Uk*9ja my country I hail thee*

AWWWWW!! A GEAT LOSS! A FATHER OF NATIONS! FATHER TO FATHER'S! RIP GREAT MAN! U ARE INDEED IN A WAY BETTA PLACE. SMILE WITH D ANGELS!

Aye axemen!!! Rip mandela.....neo black movement of africa A.K.A black axe will miss u! #ddrm

Adieu papa, love dz man mch

RIP madiba Africa luv u n will always remember u. We salute uuuuuuuu

dear hero reincanate & com 2 nigeria cos we ned someone lik u.

He was a rare gem RIP sir

A true African icon.RIP Great man. Pray God blesses us with one like you here in Nigeria.

Linda u fast jarwe, rest in peace sir

dear hero reincanate & com 2 nigeria cos we ned someone lik u.

Tara1 said...

RIP Nelson Mandela.

RIP, u ar a 2ru legend, africa wil neva 4get u

You have left a legecy that will forever be rememberd and celebrated from generation to generations to come. We love u but God love's you most. RIP madela

AIJEEPAT said...

And this is the point....the creation of one of the greatest vacuums of all time. Rest in perfect peace, Sir!

Rest in peace mandela! A great LEGEND

RIP LEGEND,may ur soul rest in perfect peace

@anony 11:11PM u got me laughing.....tru talk thou!

RIP Mandela,though you are gone,but your legacy(please not manhood) lives on. Respect! to a great man.

RIP d legend mandela

R.I.P.to a freedom fighter

Beauty said...

Africa without Mandela is dead. Thanks Mandiba for your struggle, power and words.

Rest in peace to a rare gem.

APPLELIPX said...

SLEEP WELL PAPA
YOU WERE SECOND TO NONE

I HOPE D FAMILY HAVE SETTLED DIER CONTROVERCIES AND D STRUGGLE FOR PROPERTIES

Died on the same night the movie about his life premiered...A Legend indeed!

Osa said...

Mandela was a model of reconciliation and he exemplified it. Rest in Peace Nelson Mandela

Heoow!! The LEGEND a naaaaa!!! cheii! RIP Papa anyi ohh!!!! A Great MAN!

The father of heros, rest in peace.

R*i*p d greatest man dat has ever walked on d surface of Africa,u were d best we ever had!!!ur story will b told 4 generations 2 come*Adieu my greatest hero dat ever liveth**

A life well spent.. Nigeria leaders should learn from this Man and stop corrupting our nations money unless dey will die by 95÷3... PIN2997B154.. Pls post it

Wat a man indeed! U'v left ur mark in d history of Africa.Slep peacefully Madiba.

r.i.p hope u do make it to heaven. Amen

baby said...

Awwww,indeed he lived a life worth living.d 1 dat u get to make positive impacts in d lives of other pple,witout almost not caring4 ur own self.Mandiba....indeed u were here(earth)Rest in PerfectPeace

Rest in Peace Madiba

hes A great leader... May his soul rest in peace amen... He will be missed surely #sad

Rest well Tata Madiba.........forever in our hearts.........A legend in his own life time......

The best dat ever lived,indeed a rare gem is gone.RIP mandiba

ebere said...

Just heard about it now,rest in peace mandela, u gave human right it's true meaning,a leader, a father the whole world will continue to celebrate you

click here for tips to soften dry and cracked heels

My Love Mandela.. My Mentor.... My Big Brother.. My Father.. My Grandfather.... My Heart is Filled With So Much Joy Dat Ur Name Will Always LIVE In The Heart Of The WORLD.... I Love U Man.. Will Miss U.. Ur Legacy LIVES On.... Rest In Perfect Peace...... Love u Linda..

Mhen my mentor is gone his legacy will live in me R I P madiba.

TonyeBarimalaa said...

Will Nigeria ever miss anyone like Mandela... if only South Africans could pay death, Madiba would be immortal. RIP to a hero!

Rest in peace my oga at d top

diamondblinqz said...

Hmm... Leave mata 4 mathias mbok. RIP african legend

RlP mandiba, linda post my comment o

And the man MANDELA went 2 live in peace,great rest 2 a great legend. #FiNEWiNe.

Michael Ogar said...

May his soul rest in peace Amen.

rest in perfect peace MANDIBA

RIP Madiba
www.flayvour360.com

He is indeed a Rare Gem. RIP Nelson Mandela! We love u but God loves more!!!

~~Miss P~~

MADIBA is dead!! My mentor,an Anti-Apartheid Revolutionary,a man of d people!!Ama miss ur words on MARBLE(Nelson Mandela) (Awesome)-FRANCISCO

One quality i saw in madiba was the courage to fight for justice.. I wish some tyms that nigeria will have people who will fight and work with the interest of the people at heart .. Rest in peace madiba, africa loves you! But God loves you more!

isiaka cephas said...

Peace death of a legend...RIP NELSON MANDELA

Wow! 95? That was a long life. Such a handsome man. Hero of southAfrica. RIP Madiba.

RIP great MADIBA, be @ peace wit d lord.

RIP Nelson Mandela †Ñ’ξ great freedom fighter

Rest in peace sir.

Na true u talk o.. There own life will be divided by 2 of Mandela own..

RIP,MANDELA

R.I.P. Madiba. An intercontinental HERO !
Max his Soul Rest in Peace. Amen. (Tears...)
Thanx Linda for this sad Breaking News....

RIP sir
The Nigerian President has also announced that our flag would continue to be flown at full mass because he didn't steal money in nigeria or help them Embezzle money

RIP my dear hero! u died a peaceful and natural death.See you in heaven when my time is up, but will take so many decades for that to happen. May your soul rest in the bosom of our Lord Jesus Christ. Amen!

Yea is truel end of an era,RIP d great hero MANDELA

Nelson mandela was a true legend..wen â„“̊ read his book â„“̊ cried..wish we had some1 lyk u in nigeria...R.â„“̊.P

Rip sir.

RIP d African Hero

Arkman Entertainment said...

Rest In Peace.... Hero of Africa. Arkman Entertainment pays tribute.

U came fought and u conquered.Rest in peace Madiba of Africa.....

Oh RIP my oga at d top•

A LEADER, AN EXAMPLE! A man that the Nation can nod their head and Say "Yes, He did us Proud"! He has Left a Legacy! I pray to be a great Man that will liv such joy and legacy for my family and People! RIP Great Man!

sowetangirl said...

I am who I am today because of Nelson Mandela .THANK YOU TATA .re a go rata ,o robale ka kgotso .

Rise if Possible (RIP) Nelson Mandela... Nigerian leaders learn it's not always about looting.. Leave a positive footmark in the sands of tym.. I wonder wat the likes Of IBB,OBJ,Even GEJ wud remembered for wen they go..

SmartOlorie said...

RIP mandela.. We love uu

RIP PAPA AFRICA! U were a Great Legend!

I cry 4 him cos d man ws a gr8 man I which leaders ll learn frm him.RIP

So Mandela don finally cross-ova RIP Madiba A True african hero!!!...na make OBJ, IBB, Buhari dey warm up!.. Na dere own i dey wait #Thieves

See how everyone is wishing mandela eternal rest....now I sit bak to ask myself how many of our ex president r we gon use as dp wen they pass?...NONE!!!!!

RIP Madiba. Your legacy will never be forgotten. You were a legend and a patroit. May the Lord grant your family and the world at large the fortitude to bear the irrepairable loss. Salute to a Legend and a hero you will truly be missed

RIP to the greatest Hero known in d history of Africa and d world. A selfless leader and a freedom fighter. I knw you are with God. And am sure you are wearing that wonderful smile. We will miss you..may the lord grant us all fortitude to bare this great loss. We love you sir. SLEEP ON MADIBA :((

First Lady said...

Good night Madiba

He's such a great man, Father of africa and a hero. Ur legacy will live on in our heart. RIP a legend

Dis lost is nt 4 south Africans alone bt d entire Africa, we've lost true leader, he really left a legacy, RIP our hero

Emmanuel Ayeni said...

Rest in Peace Madiba...and I never met him till he died

Igwe said...

My heart bleeds...! Madiba, you were indeed leadership personified. A true leader that sacrificed his life for the freedom of his people. Rest in peace!

No single negative comment..goes a long way to show a GOOD name is the best legacy, it far exceeds any amount of riches and gold..Africa will miss u Mandiba!

Rip Mandela,ur legacy lives forever! Not just a man

mike neji said...

Soon all the politicians in Nigeria will start placing advert to celebrate Madiba.Mandela has lived a great life and will forever be remembered by history.WHAT WILL THE NIGERIAN POLITICIANS BE REMEMBERED AFTER CRIPPLING THE ECONOMY? Your guess is as good as mine.Note that one day we shall go and take our report card from ALMIGHTY GOD.

RIP Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela...The World has lost one of the greatest believers in Freedom...we have lost a legendary anti- apartheid leader who earned the world's respect...U will always be remembered #RIP #Greatness #Hero #FreedomFighter

RIP Mandiba. Goodnight

RIP GREAT ONE!! FOREVER IN MY HEART BLACK god!!

I have a dream....
That Jonathan will be the next Mandela !

RIP GREAT ONE!! REST IN PEACE BLACK god!!

now im gonna sleep unhappy,bt im consoled dat he lived a good lyf..RIP Mandiba!!!!..a legendary hero..rest well..will pray fr u

RIP Nelson Mandela...The African Super Hero! Ur legacy will continue to live.

VivasGist said...

The only man who has given so much to South Africans and Africa countries in generally is now finally died, please God can we see any other Nelson in the next generations…..

Not a single negative comment, goes a long way to show that a GOOD NAME is the best legacy..It far exceeds any riches..Africa will def miss u Mandiba

mike neji said...

Soon all the politicians in Nigeria will start placing advert to celebrate Madiba.Mandela has lived a great life and will forever be remembered by history.WHAT WILL THE NIGERIAN POLITICIANS BE REMEMBERED AFTER CRIPPLING THE ECONOMY? Your guess is as good as mine.Note that one day we shall go and take our report card from ALMIGHTY GOD.

He died @exactly 10:11am today. May his soul rest in peace...Madiba leaves ON.....

Mischievous said...

He was a LEGEND. An African Hero. He confronted tyranny.

His epitaph should read: 'Here lies the remains of Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela, who lived and died for his people'.

Not a single negative comment,goes a long way to show that a GOOD NAME is the best legacy to leave behind, no amount of gold or riches can surpass it...Africa will miss u Mandiba

It's Madeba

No single respect. Not even for d dead!

rest in peace sir...great man

Samira said...

A tribute to Mandela...his favourite poem (and one of mine too),

INVICTUS!

By William Ernest Henley 1849–1903

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds and shall find me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate,
I am the captain of my soul

Heeeyaaaa!!!!! D man was such a good & talented Actor....
But wots up wit d death of all dese actors sef??? D oda day it was Paul Walker...

Mandela I will forever love you! A black man with a heart of Gold! You are one in a million! God bless your soul! No one can stay 27yrs in prison and come out to forgive his enemies. You are a great man! A true LEGEND!

When a man such as Mandela dies, it's really not a loss at all. This world and the generations that shared in his life gained all that he was born to give. And now, there's a new challenge by his death, one for the rest of us to live up to the reasons why we are here. A man dies, and the world stills to acknowledge him. Greatness!!! God bless his soul!

Earth lost an angel, heaven gained a saint.

He fought a gud fight n finished his cause. RIP Mandiba

At this moment, I know how Israel felt when Jesus died. Mandela was also the Prince of Peace.

femi linda ikeji said...

RIP The greatest leader of our time.if only the great were here forever

N7 said...

Indeed U left a Legacy for us to follow.....RIP Nm.....I salute.

Rest in Peace my Hero.

Rest in Peace Sir!

an influential and profoundly good man

It's no sad news....you think it's a joke when they say some life's are being celebrated....just wish him fairWell...RIP Sir

laitan said...

Rest in d Lord,a clear example of a man who was born 4 a purpose and achieved it.Life ‎​ÈŠ̝̊̅§ about the remarkable trails one will leav behind. ĩ̷̊ respect dis man and look up to him in many ways.RIP to one of the world's best leaders.Generations will stil learn from ur remarkable sacrifices and deeds as a true leader and humane person

I believe the nations of the world should have their flags flown at half mast. The world indeed lost a remarkable man. History will be kind to him shame we cant say same about our own leaders.

How dare you compare both....Mandela look like he acts to get paid

Bless you child.Bless you!!!

9jahorniest said...

Pls dont start unnecessary arguments here...we also had our heros. Great Nigerian men fought for our independence, dt dey didn't get world wide recognitions doesnt make dem less heros, d cases were diff for diff countries.
RIP Madiba, am more affected by dis news dan I wud ve imagined.

RIP Madiba, great man. legend.

PAVOUR said...

This is a sweet death! heaven is smiling. D great one who accomplished his assigned is back with a good result. Heaven n earth are rejoicing. RIP sir. Africa d whole world missed u. Its celebration every where. Bye bye papa madiba.

Rip sir! A Giant for justice has finally gone to rest. You Will be surely missed by the world at large not only by the South Africans. You were a true leader, you stood for the truth.

A legend has departed, a world class leader, good night sir..... Madiba the great.

RIP. Madiba.
It hurts that we never met.

“No one is born hating another person because of the color of his skin, or his background, or his religion. People must learn to hate, and if they can learn to hate, they can be taught to love, for love comes more naturally to the human heart than its opposite.” RIP Nelson Mandela.

Madiba of Nzamzi, He epitomizes great leadership which we should emulate, at least for a start. "I fill llike the heavy weight champion of the world "

He also gave all of him to humanity.

He also gave all of him to humanity

Rip Madiba

oh my hero nelson mandela we the people of nigeria will miss u R.I.P mandiba u will always remain in our memory the great and prestigeous hero of africa

Rest in peace to the greatest legend!

why mourn when u can celebrate his life? after all the pain he went thru u don't want the man to rest? wicked people.

may his soul rest in peace

Once a popular person dies, everyone becomes a philosopher on how short life is. Why do you guys care about life so much? Death is a phase we all must encounter and life isn't that great sometimes.

Farewell Nelson Mandela! Mmmhh The Great 'MADIBA' finally exits in peace. An Icon, I call U. Rest well... Please do not sit wiv Politicians over there, they might 'bore' you wiv their political jargons. They all lied while they were here. I recommend that you sit wiv this man(a great writer while here- Chinua Achebe. U may plz tell him 'Things are really falling
apart' presently here especially in the education sector. Do not bother to breif him about our politics. He knew how it was wyl he was here. It hasn't change a dime. *sigh*). He will make U feel lively as he would tell U lovely satirical stories. And if he lies, definitely U'll still find atleast a subject matter, a lesson or theme to derive from his story(a 'lie' of writer is never a waste, I call it 'Improvisation' lol). And from
here, I may write about U someday. 'Maybe' I say, so dat U don't take dat as a promise from me. Ahahahah. Rest well, Freedom Fighter! Here is my tribute to U! #IamDGifted

RIP to a Great Legend

Resp in peace #mandiba

I tire for all this libers ooo..u want make madiba live till him reach 200 prsn die at 95 u still dey say... So sad as if e neva. Reach to die..mshew..rip madiba..u will be missed

Linda i know say na ur work u dey do nd d moni no concern me.buh u dey try for news. u ROCK.i salute u.muaah.rip mandela.

gbemi said...

Sleep well papa!

SLEEKREEK said...

RIP sir.......a HERO is gone but he definitely made his footprint on d sand of time....

Dr. Chinedu said...

One thing I don't like to comment here is just for the fact that nobody can ever get to read my comment besides Linda when she approves it. Linda don't you think it dues for you to move to a better platform #Justsaying

NairaJobNet said...

Mandela was a true inspiration to us all.

We invite you all to join NairaJobNet in a moment of silence for the legend.

Omolola Johnon
www.nairajobnet.com

May your gentle soul rest in peace!!!

www.NairaJobNet.com

am in tears

RIP. Mandiba.

Let it be said that I live in mandela's time, RIP madiba

Iwu onye ara, is he going to live for edges. U compare young guy with old man that has already finished his mission in this world.

Princesss Dee said...

....a great man!Still great even after spending 27years in prison..hmmmm...i m hopeful! R.I.P sir!

UZOAMAKA said...

“I have walked that long road to freedom. I have tried not to falter; I have made missteps along the way. But I have discovered the secret that after climbing a great hill, one only finds that there are many more hills to climb. I have taken a moment here to rest, to steal a view of the glorious vista that surrounds me, to look back on the distance I have come. But I can only rest for a moment, for with freedom come responsibilities, and I dare not linger, for my long walk is not ended.”
RIP MADIBA. May d lights guide u home.

The question to ask is whether or not the people of South Africa
are better off than they were or is it a nation in chaos. There are
in our opinion no "great men" and most if not all have feet of clay,
and histories that have been changed to make them appear greater.
Like all the rest of us they put the pants on the same, eat,
deficate, are born, live and die, and require sustainance. However, if
we are to label some "great" then it is the men and women who
struggle daily providing the labor that creates and sustains the
civilization we live in and get very little in return for their efforts.
The "great" men of today have turned the world into a world of
poverty, hunger, starvation, and genocide. In Nigeria 1% own 90%
of the wealth. To reduce this to simplification, take a watermelon
and remove 90% of it. What you have left is what those who
build nations share among themselves. Enough of "great" men. Lets
have more honest men with integrity, who don't have their egos
stretched to such an extent that they forget without the "non-
great men, they wouldn't have what they have, which is obscene. Having said dat mandela is a great man bcos he did the right thing RIP MANDIBA.

@Linda He was one of the lives that changed South Africa. Many, the likes of Walter Sisulu, Comrade Oliver Tambo etc lost their lives before in this same struggle. Even Madiba knows that. This is Comrade Otax Vladimir sayin RIP to Nelson Rohilahla Mandiba Mandela. Thanks for Inspiring Us. Post my comment o弡

@Anonymous 10:50pm
At last? Really? That is a very foolish thing to say

Rest in Peace Nelson Mandela. Africa and the World will miss you.

R.I.p boss we will miss u

REST IN PEACE MADIBA

rip to an African legend

RIP Madiba, truly a great man

RIP Madiba

RIP a great man,,, gud nyt

Rest in peace legend! I pray God give Nigeria someone like you soon, we need a saviour!

# RIP to a great and revolutionary man of all time Nelson Madiba Mandela...

RIP.... Aye nelson mandela.... The Chains of the oppressor must be broken...

That's a leader. Hope the likes of 9ja looter are watching the trend. when they die, Obama won't move an inch, talk-less of addressing the nation.

Sad news ke... its a celebration of life. u wan mk he reach 200 years

So many revolutionaries die well before their time. We're very lucky that Nelson Mandela got to live a very long & powerful life. #RIPMandela

turn by turn

kwyn said...

RIP Madiba...The heart u touched will forever b a proof dat u lived!

Shinelle said...

You've always been A Fool...@Last,uve announced ur foolery!

RIP to a great man, who came, saw and conquered...... Generations upon generations shall teLl ur Story

Cynhams cakes , Abuja. said...

No its not sad news. He died at a ripe old age and lived a fulfilled life. His death will be celebrated. My opinion though.

I read the Wiki profile on him. Mehn that man was something else.

RIP Madiba.

May ur soul rest in perfect peace. You changed the world. You fought racism in the world.

A born fighter is gone. No story, heaven is waiting 4 u.

Adedoyin said...

RIP To the greatest revolutionary that stood in the gap for the oppressed... The mission continues. Freedom of the oppressed. #RIPMandela

I feel so sadden now.Rest in peace Madiba.our once world president.

Nma said...

One of the best things in life is dying knowing u made an impact in d world_nuffin equals that feeling. Am highly touched that no1 has come here to criticise Mandela,even tho I knw how "bad" our mouths are arnd here. This goes a long way to prove a good name is way better than riches. As far as we know him,he's a good man but above all these I really hope he's one of d few of us whose acts(hidden n seen) will causs heaven's door to be opened unto him to rest wif our Father eternally cos it really would b sad if wif d impact he made here on earth,how much we love n respect him,he still doesn't make heaven. Am sorry guys but ds is what I always think when people I love die.

RIP Sir

Rest in peace mandela, u wil b forever remebered...

Angel Judith said...

RIP Mandela d great legend.

Nelson Mandela said...

One of the greatest human beings of his era, Nelson Mandela personified the struggle against forces of colonialism and racial dominance practitioners. His struggle ended the rule by the minority around the world. The world is now a better place because of people like him. No obeisance will be enough to express our sense of gratitude to the great Mandela. RIP!

R.I.P Madiba!! This is really the end of an era. Nelson Mandela has gone to join his comrades Walter Sissulu and Oliver Thambo. Nigeria only have so called leaders who are more concerned with milking their country dry and legislating laws to stop us from talking about it. Here is a man that dedicated his whole life to freeing his country from the claws of oppression, putting everyone before himself . Adieu Lion of Africa..u'll remain 4ever in our hearts

RIP MANDELA

Alps said...

Rest in peace Sir.... I hope our leaders follow ur footsteps.. A man who fought for his people
*Alps *

vivian o. said...

RIP, Our African hero.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 400 of 494   Newer› Newest»