Police killed and buried my brother in shallow grave in Lekki - Sister | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 14 December 2014

Police killed and buried my brother in shallow grave in Lekki - Sister

Some policemen attached to Maroko police station in Lagos are being accused of kill­ing 24-year old Aondona Tavershima and burying him in a shallow grave at Lekki beach.

Sunday Sun reports
Five of the suspected policemen are now cur­rently in police detention. The victim, a motorcy­cle operator, was alleged to have refused to stop when he was accosted by the policemen who were said to be on patrol at about 11am on the fateful day.
"On realizing that he was dead, the police­men picked his corpse and put it behind their patrol vehicle, a Toyota Hilux Van, and covered it with tyres. They drove to the beach and buried him. We were the ones who alerted the family that their brother had been killed and buried,” the eyewitness disclosed.

Narrating the incident to Sunday Sun on phone, Aondona’s elder sister, Linda, said she got to know about the incident on Thursday, November 11, 2014. “I knew that he left for Lekki with his friend and when he did not come back, I assumed that he had gone to spend time with his friends. When I was told that my brother was killed, my people visited the scene and saw the grave. We later discov­ered that the policemen were from Maroko police station and we went to lodge a com­plaint. They promised to invite SCID Panti to exhume the body, as it was not their job. At night, they came and exhumed the body and kept it in a mortuary. The DPO later called me and requested that they would pay us N10 mil­lion to end the matter. They said we should go home and think about it and get back to them,” Linda alleged.

Similarly, an in-law to the deceased, Dominic David, claimed that he was told that policemen were trying to ar­rest Aondona and he refused to stop. “They opened fire on him and shot him.
And even when he fell down, they still continued to shoot.

Initially, they wanted to abandon the corpse, but the owner of the house near where he was killed insisted that they must carry the corpse away.”

“They took his body to Lekki beach and buried him in a grave and covered the burial site with leaves and old carton. Unfortunately, some of the people who witnessed the crime knew us very well and alerted us. They promised that Panti was going to investigate the matter but up till date, they have not done anything about it.”

The lawyer representing the family, Barrister Mindia Chibok, said the family intends to legally seek redress on the injustice meted out to the victim. We expect that by now the matter should have been transferred to an ap­propriate authority and not the same police sta­tion where the crime was committed. We hope that the police authority will order a thorough in­vestigation and ensure that the suspects, includ­ing those who are currently at large be arrested and made to face the wrath of the law.
I gathered that six of the suspects are current­ly at large while five others are in police custody.

Confirming the incident, Lagos Police com­mand spokesman, DSP Kenneth Nwosu, said that as soon as the Commissioner of Police for Lagos State got wind of the incident, he ordered an immediate arrest of the suspected policemen who were alleged to have participated in the kill­ing.

“Five policemen are currently being detained, while State Criminal Investigation Department, Panti, has since commenced an investigation. If found guilty, the officers will be made to face the wrath of the law,” Nwosu said.

Source: Sunnews Online

160 comments:

Nawa o.nothing wey u no go hear for naija

ASHANKA said...

SO SAD

Chinwe said...

Bishop Dammy has my vote. Linda please give the bishop something

God have mercy.omotoyosikujore@gmail.com

OH GOD SHOW THY VENGEANCE CHAI GOD IS WATCHING OOO@FREEBORNZINA@GMAIL.COM

It's no longer news that police in Nigeria are synonymous to Zombies.Weather this story is true or not.

The DPO later called me and requested that they would pay us N10 mil­lion to end the matter.

Interesting

Dave Mide said...

Police brutality is every where in the world. Its the same as the current situation in the US but naija tops it all !! The uniform makes them above the law.

Ndi police unu bu aru... Its nt abt been detained oh...de shud be locked up with hard labor for life. Haba! Oginidi? May his soul rest in peace

Police nd their controversy! Naija police I respect u na, no new news

FolabiCash said...

that's sad

glowysofiscated said...

So wicked of them..they should be made to face the music..

Visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

husman said...

Police r getting worse dis nt only n nig bt all ova d world...make God see us tru wit dis police palava

Jesu christ am crying now oo that is why nigeria police dont have a responsible family the should as my uncle asst commisioner of police how his family is hmm reckoning is coming@freebornzina@gmail.com

Na,wa,o naija
police

NEW DISCOVERY : You desire some extra pay or income means? If so, click here to see how and what you can do to go about just with your phone from today.

Jesu christ am crying now oo that is why nigeria police dont have a responsible family the should as my uncle asst commisioner of police how his family is hmm reckoning is coming@freebornzina@gmail.com

is their way doing stupid things all the time

Xeno said...

So SDK wished Alloy HBD and Alloy even wrote a lovely piece, traitor!!!!!

"POLICE IS UR FRND" i dont think the person that made this statement knws what he was saying i swear......

May God help us..omotoyosikujore@gmail.com

God will punish all dis police people..rosepowell0@gmail.com

Hmmm end time!

FOLARIN• said...

Chai!!

Police men again!!!!

Citizens are being killed by the police who are supposed to protect them

I pray this case don't get buried
#justiceforAondona

God help us.omotoyosikujore@gmail.com

May his soul rest in peace....

husman said...

Prayer can work on dem if we can joins hand 2geda nd pray 2 God 2 free us 4rm dem...dis world is turning 2 somfin even if prayer doesn't works let's use juju fight dem tho

They must face d full wrath of law. Bobbyferafavorirabor@gmail.com

Thy had better bn found guilty,wicked people

Sick of this policemen, this days they're not different to army robbers. (Friends of people indeed)

MUSICIAN said...

I hope the family gets justice

Hauwah Eshaq said...

What is wrong with police nowadays?.......hmmmmm may God save us jiddoski1995@gmail.com

As God awful as our police is at obeying and recognize the fundamental human rights, why the HELL didn't he stop?

Omg Wats really going on, policemen for dat mata

If I insult police people nw....linda no go post am... nw c anoda one don happen again I dey vex...........police una b fools mke I stop dere...ds a murder case wich is stated in Section 316 n u all u must face d law......useless people na to kill innocent souls una sabi....omo jatijati........omobo.....nonsense...if u lyk linda no post am as u tk no post d oda one mtchwww............Beast...........

Well done Linda (not Ikeji) deceased sister for not accepting the N10 Million, your brother blood is crying for vegeance. NPF, I dey hail oh, this innocent blood that you people are sharing, dia ris God oooooooo!

Babatop say so powered by M-Horse

Need a mature female companion for a relationship. Contact via 08084475177

Can u imagine..sigh* so sad

The government should look into the case and investigate if its true and if proven true then those police men involve should face the law {if Nigeria still have one} «QUEENMAYA«REPORTING LIVE»

Babyboiynk said...

Nigeria police sha they can like to fuck up

De Bishop is DAT you? But u joined August naw...

Wicked people.... Black uniform devilish mind...

mzmaris said...

Hmm...the so called justice dept is filled with monsters.....these licensed murderers walking around with riffles and no atom of sense or conscience......human life is sacred and yet they kill those whom they are supposed to be protecting......#10mil for silence......#smh..as if that will make everything better.......God shall bring y'all to book...u didn't just kill but buried d corpse unceremoniously..if "ur people" don't punish u guys for this crime, God will visit y'all one after the other and justice shall be served

prettiyz said...

There is nothing we won't see in this country,they just killed an innocent man for 50 or 100 naira

MUVA said...

Only I Naija
prettyteddie@yahoo.com

peace said...

dats bad...May God deal with dem

Anambra State Governor, Willie Obiano Helps Accident Victim......See Photos

emmyfabzibekweblog said...

If they are responsible 4 his demise,they shld all face d consequences.

NNaija Police need total overhauling. This is crazy

wisemanluke said...

It is high time some police men be used as scape goats to deter the other corrupt ones. They should pay that family from all their salaries so that they will learn to check and control their stupidity!! RIP to the young man

I said it,this our nigeria police are hire killers. So bcos of 50 naira that they want to collect from the guy,they wasted his life.Chai God punish these police oo

Oloribu pple

See What this Man is Busy Doing with a Lady in an Uncompleted Building

Crazy Things Uniport Babes Do in their Room when they ‘re Bored.

gidis said...

I tot d work of dis men in black is to maintain law n order n protect d citizen? Need we say dey r falln short of deir duties?

Lord have Mercy,so much wickedness

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

What do u expect from a man wearing a black uniform with a black gun and a black heart under the the Hot sun.Police is ur friend...Abia

BIG BROTHER SAYS SO

Helems-billfarms said...

God help naija

Sunday mornin fuckery.

glad they refused the offer. They should be punished

3sha3sha12 said...

Sad things happening

kisskream said...

May we neva see evil...

May His soul rest in peace

police has turned into something else

Nothing naija police no fit do...even the DPO needs to be punished for trying to bribe the family of the deceased...if the shepherd has become a wolf i wonder who will save the flocks

AMOKE said...

9ja police always high! Don't they carry out substance test on these people and are they not trained to use their guns? We have a very long way to go with these uniformed people.

The killings in this country s just too much,May God help us.Haba!

rip bro. synbola4u@yahoo.com.

Youngman speak of what you know..say your uncle can't control his family like a responsible man would..dont c
Tag others alongside your uncle..less you have forgotten the man who returned the €16,000 in Spain some days ago, ,his dad is a police man here in Nigeria..have you forgotten that in every twelve there will be a judas..Thomas and a peter

What a wicked world

Wicked police men

B.... Jagaban said...

demons in police uniforms

Police and dere brutality. God help us

What's d fate of Nigerians when people that are supposed to protect life are now the one taking life away from them. God help us.

Police force are the most stupid force in Nigeria

Naija Babe said...

Na wa ooo, All is well with us in this Country

This is absurd.
FACEofLIB

I vote bishop dammy

Jay said...

Nne ehhhh,imagine they shld take 10mil and close d case.if people continue to take money and close their mouths,we will never move forward in dis country.may his soul rest in peace.

Useless Nigeria Police. So much in subordination. Useless murderers

Soooo sad.owolabikikelomo@yahoo.com

Awww touchin......smh

presh o said...

Nawoh

elovi said...

Police dunno. Wat to say oooo

elovi said...

God help us

Neks said...

>>>> Police are just the same everywhere in the world, why do they get away with evil most of the time <<<<<

Only in 9ja

Naija's guardians are killing the guarded now?

NPF. " to harass and to kill". Police is your friend indeed. #statepoliceneeded

Nimmy said...

NPF commit more crime than even d devil ,i so much hate them. I pray and hope they get justice sha

I Swear dis country too corrupted infant Nigeria police they are so deep in criminal's may God continue guide civilian's

Na wa o, when is this police brutality going to end in Nigeria. Who is going to end the reign of terror of our policemen.God please we need your intervention at this very moment

These are the bad eggs that tarnish the image of the police.How can the police be my friend when gory tales like this exists?

Selzy said...

What is wrong with you this bishop? Are you that hungry?Stop voting under anonymous ok? Besides Cute G and Wilhemina owns the day.

So sad, why is it that all this naija police are so deadly. may God save his children ooo

Suberu Christopher said...

It is just unimaginable that someone will leave house and the next thing, you hear they are dead. Naija God dey sha Subchristo@gmail.com

Na real wah oh. Stories we hear in dis country.

Vivian Gills said...

God have mercy...what is wrong with the police nowadays...this is heartbreaking! (Gillsvivian@gmail.com)

police men with their troubles

I wish there was nothing like police in dis country.

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

yemisi Z10 said...

I say naija is our country,una no believe

Yemisi Z10 says so

becckyd said...

hope there would be justice

Linda, this is soo true.i overheard when the sister was talking about it soberly in the bus. When will these injustice end? Sad...

Kingsley Lotanna Ezeonyido said...

Oh dear!

Police sucks! I pray that people won't start maiming them soon, coz their mayhem is outrageously getting out of hand.

BRYTE TABLET FROM KONGA.COM

No vaIue for human Iives

What a sad story.naija policemen are very evil and dubious. I don't know if they train them to become devils in disguise and to make matters worse they r trigger happy. So the DPO wanted to bribe the family, interesting. #policeisyourfriend# in Cossy orjiakor's voice. Odi egwu!

Chidinma Grace said...

10million! Interesting in deed, will it buy d life back? Police play wt ppl's life too much. Will I blame dem, most of dem re criminals hiding under d umbrella of police uniform

becckyd said...

Niger police!Hmmmm

Nigerian Police Weldon to una!!!

NPF slogan;
"The police are your friends".
But so sad because they are wolf in sheep's clothing .
O Lord, deliver us from this kind of friends! Amen.

Buhahahaha! @ traitor!

Quite sad... Smh..

Alakpodia me.. said...

naija police, so sad

No wonder you cant make a correct sentence. Muntula

Mr nice guy said...

Na wah. Cold world

The kind of stories I hear everyday,I wonder where we are ending to.

police should be eradicated if u may ask me ...cause I don't see their usefulness ...soldiers should be in full practice th0 its gonna be strict but at least there will be peace ...
------LIB prince------

Crystal said...

Hmm...ppl they recruit into NPF, *sad sad*

Lin lin I wonder where PRINCE CHARMING went to oo. Hope he's ok sha. If he was here u won't b lookn for ur 100k winners. Anyway I wee help select once more.
1. Cute G
2. The guy dt writes 'ur comment will be visible after approval' @d bottom of his comments.
Cute G sha started wen bonario started.
I for follow but I be anonymous commenter, I only put my 'njiri mara' below ma comments.
#chynell#

Police get away wif murder evrydai cos d law protects dem....evry insane man joins d force so dey cn carryout dia sick deeds. I hope justice takes place

As in eh!!!! Nothing person no go hear 4 dis country....d so called police men dat are supposed 2 protect life and property are the ones destroying it....see how a 24 year old's life was cut short...its really painful

Hmmmm...bad thing for this country too much
===Pearl===

ebifabor@gmail.com

"Different from"

DEguebe said...

This is a sad tale. I hope and pray that the issue is properly investigated, the deceased be given a befitting burial by the Govt. NPF in quote. And finally, the family should be highly rewarded, though, that will amount to nothing to resuscitate the deceased, but it would do one or two things for the family to bear the loss.

MC BABA OLOYE SAYS SO. EGUEBEDAVID@GMAIL.COM

God is punishing us because we are evil people.

obiora said...

Busted!

RIP dear
amyjessy87@yahoo.com

dodo said...

Nigeria police again

iyke cindy said...

Only in 9ja......Lord av mercy we pray***

osinanl said...

man inhumanity to a fellow man

@ anonymous... do u have a register that u record wen members join? so how do u know Bishop joined in August
?

I hope this family get justice

Yes oh my brother! Justice Don finally blind for this world! Lord have mercy!

Nawa OoĀŗ°˚˚°Āŗo

What wickedness..may GOD 4give dem

Black uniforms!black minds....They shud rot in Jail..Amusu

Naija police, I fear una a lot. If soldier slap u, it's den u'll knw dat police na our friend.

Uche Emma said...

Really sad

Her Excellency said...

Awam police yi ti mu igbo yo, dey must. Brot to book

God of Mercy, save this nation

Hmm

Mama D said...

That's in human nah, nigeria police!!!

hucch said...

na wa things dey happen for naija no be small.

so many attrocities in nigeria

Mma said...

Nija police nd der story sef

RIP dear
amyjessy87@yahoo.com

ElsieNene said...

WTF! If this is true, They should all be sentenced to death. what nonsense! Are they copying oyibo police or what? Poverty stricken people. sigh!

mary said...

they should face the law, and i hope it will serve as a lesson to other bunch of idiots we have as police men

NPF and brutality! God is watching you all!

Bsals said...

Dis country is fucked mehn

Ziggyflex said...

Police brutality must be stopped.Why shoot to kill an ordinary civilian? God help us if not accidental discharge go plenty for this election.

if you are staying in Lekki and you are not staying in the big building like them rich peepz, you are prone to such victimization by the police....(speaking from experience)..it has to change because the Ploice in Lekki are all corrupted, wicked and dangerous criminals including that Dpo @maroko station, they have no heart......

Am looking for male companion;contact via 08185106957

Nigerian police force are idiots they arrest anyhow, kills anyhow

BELIEVE EVERY THING HERE.. IT IS awesome

Oh! So Sad. Ikmoney11@gmail.com

My God

those whose job it is to protect the populace

Saila Abby said...

Jesus!!!save us in Nigeria

Police brutality every where.. #general hendrix

damiwizzy said...

So many have died from incidents like this.

Too sad

blaze said...

i wont be surprised if nothing comes out of this ....these people will close ranks

Na so ...