Photos: Aliko Dangote invests $1billion in rice production | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 2 August 2014

Photos: Aliko Dangote invests $1billion in rice production

Africa's richest man and chairman of Dangote Group, Aliko Dangote has invested $1billion in rice production in Nigeria.

The signing of the $1billion-dollar Rice Investment Memorandum of Understanding (MoU), between the Federal Government and Dangote Group held at the State House, Abuja yesterday August 1st

The Minister of Agriculture, Adewunmi Adesina and Alhaji Dangote signed on behalf of the Federal Government and Dangote Group respectively. Continue...

Dangote and Agric Minister Dr. Akinwumi Adesina at the signing at the State House, Abuja yesterday
Commending Dangote Group, president Jonathan said the investment is the single largest investment ever made in rice production in Africa. He thanked Alhaji Dangote for investing in agriculture and assured him that his investment will be worthwhile.

President Jonathan said he looked forward to a time Nigeria will be self-sufficient in rice production and a net-exporter of the grain, adding that the Federal Government will protect Nigeria’s borders and check smuggling.
"Government cannot allow its borders to be porous. We are working on non-human measures and smugglers should have a rethink now and change their ways by investing their resources in other meaningful areas,” he said.
In less than four years, Nigeria hopes to become a net-exporter of rice. The Dangote Group’s investment in rice will cover five states and contribute additional 1.4 million metric tonnes of Paddy rice.

Alhaji Dangote thanked the President for the consistency of government policies, noting that the current $25 billion-dollar Dangote Cement Company was the result of the consistency of government policies. He assured President Jonathan, “We will continue to work hard and will not disappoint you.”

50 comments:

Ceeflo said...

Despite his monopoly on Rice,Cement and Sugar production I must say that this man has his country at heart.. Dangote will always be a shrewd business man

Eya Ayambem said...

God bless him, the type of rice in Naija these days eh. Cooked rice grows fat, robust and voluptous instead of slim and long.
Correct different rice recipes still cooking on my blog o.
www.wivestownhallconnection.com

Oh! How wealthy Dangote is! Let's us all also try to work hard and pray to God to grant our efforts with success. So shall it be in Jesus name 2tim 2:15. BishopDammy#

Good we are getting back on track.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Rice is nigerian no1 food

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

OKPE O! RICE GO CHEAP NA.

GOOD BIZNESS TO DO...I WISH AM RICH AS ALIKO DANGOTE. GOD ANSWER MY PRAYER.

Nice one dangote

#king said...

Boss.............................#KingOfKings

Amaka.u.l said...

Dts good

Money speaks #bright bravo#

Linda, this is the third similar announcement you've made in recent months. I think the others were for an oil refinery and cement factory. Does Dangote deliver on the promised services after the photo op?

Only if this man could just adopt me.... May God bless yu man and if yu go for president i will definately vote for yu no doubt...... Eddreamzdreamer@gmail.com

Rich =Richer
Poor =Poorest

Diarez God oooh

*i like Don Jazzy

Wow

Julz Cakes said...

Nice one. This man is such a motivator

Step forward. God bless him. LIB Princess! Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

I might b wrong but sincerely hope these conversation didn't happen:
Pepe-jona beg left boko ooo. U no seem sabi d place wey our fomily dey. If u use yahoo head break corn. U no go chop am.
Jona-ok I go ask 4 mony 2 fight boko, use am for 2015
Denote-4 favour d loan will b secured under govt & I don't want boko wahala, it will be tagged "rice".
Pls don't crucify me, just hoping not

Mennnn POP wise oooh, 2015 in corner. Loan for book $1b, rice money $1b. Whichever way those that refuse to approve will pay back somehow. Mockery to our faces

Dangote is doing it for nigeria big time

See the billionare in a bow to a president. Its good to be humble. He is not bowing to Jonathan he is bowing to his office, if not Jona is a small fry where Dangote is standing.

purity C said...

Wow!

Michael said...

Good innovation,that's a whole lot of money.

9ice one Dangote. Mr Dangote na oga patapata na you biko oga patapata.

Dis pple are crazy...I heard GEJ wants to borrow money from America to solve boko haram issue and I heard it's about 1billion dollars....now dangote wants to invest dat same amount nigeria wants to borrow to invest in rice production...ah God,i regret being born here#..linda post my comment##toniabarbie

The federal government steadily monopolize our economy every now & then. Havin' one man as the honcho of every single investment that dis country has 2 make thereby halting the needed diversity of our economy. Too bad...

And he keeps getting richer! Chai God please when will my turn come.

Welldone Mr Money. (Linda's Man)

Ds won't add anyfin 2 ma life plz so I dnt care.

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

Dangote Again y won't he be d richest in Africa wiv dis kind of privilege smh Hmmmm God dey oooo

******DAGOTE FOR PRESIDENT 2019****** Let's begin this movement!!!

Wow
We are one lucky nation to have Dangote. Lol

wow!what a good news.... also hoping to hear one day about "LINDA IKEJI RICE"

Beeteewhy said...

I was like 1 billion naira no biggie, and boom! to my face 1 billion dollars! holy rice! This man sure gat money. Hard work pays..(Truck pushing not included).

that girl said...

sometime i just would say dangote is nigerias economy, because i dont see anything the government is doing to help our economy. God help us

Emmanuel said...

Ofcourse. His investment will be worthwhile.

I covet his blessing.

Ibudeh Steve said...

A good man with a good heart. A good heart yes. He has not used his money to fund BH. Instead of his peers from the North to invest and create Jobs, they are rather investing in Terrorism and Creating Jobs for Blood Tasty Hoodlums - Boko Haram

THIS IS A GOOD STEP IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION. oumuze@yahoo.com

bobbyjukson said...

dats a very good move by oga jona and dangote.

That's lovely. Keep it up Oga mi.

Nigeria becoming a net-exporter of rice in 4 years time will be a great achievement for us. but we all know our borders will always be porous.

what happened to refinaries he said he was creating or investing in?

Nyc investment#

Jonathan asks for 1 billion to fight terrorism, then 1 billion is given for rice??

nice one

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

U be fool suffer league

akintayoudus said...

Propaganda

dat is lie my brother Jona has wat there call cash

Those of you who dont know economics please go and read what monopoly is...