Jonathan appoints AIG Suleiman Abba as new Inspector General of Police | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 31 July 2014

Jonathan appoints AIG Suleiman Abba as new Inspector General of Police

We now have a new Inspector General of Police (pictured in the middle, flanked by Pres. Jonathan and outgoing IG of police, Mohammed Abubakar). Find the State House press release below...
President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan has approved the appointment of AIG Suleiman Abba as the new Inspector-General of Police.
AIG Abba, currently the Assistant Inspector-General of Police in charge of Zone 7, comprising Abuja, Kaduna and Niger states, replaces the incumbent Inspector-General of Police, IGP Mohammed Abubakar who proceeds on statutory retirement today having completed 35 years in service.
The incoming Inspector-General, a lawyer, hails from Jigawa State and is an alumnus of the Nigerian Institute of Policy and Strategic Studies.

Positions previously held by him in the Police include Assistant Commissioner of Police in charge of the Criminal Investigation Department, FCT Command, Deputy Force Secretary and Commissioner of Police, Rivers State.

His appointment is with effect from Friday, August 1, 2014.
Reuben Abati

Special Adviser to the President

(Media & Publicity)
July 31, 2014

69 comments:

Let's see wat he has to offer

Wisdom Wisdom Wisdom.. We libers pray for our president! Jh 14:6 BishopDammy#

Na only Northerners be police for Nigeria? Because apart from Tafa and Ehindero, the rest have being from the North if I am not mistaken! And why this incessant need to keep changing them like tissue, reeks of instability in the police force. Jonathan has run through three now if I am not mistaken!

Bryan said...

Blesseing has won the double. 200 meters. So happy

Ceeflo said...

Hope "he earns his spot "

Ok oo... We'll see what changes he'll bring to the table.. The outgoing one is not looking happy at all; unless that's his normal facial expression.

* My R1.50c comment *

Nice! Hp he will take Nigeria security tactics and plans to the next level bringing more advance technology with experts in the field to fight terrorism. IT Shld be given a chance to stop insecurity. Coonett said so...

nkiru said...

congrat to him but let him work in that office ooooo nt to occupy a seat and chop money. njkalu@yahoo.com

Very nice of him to retire some in his shoes wouldn't dare to.
Face of lib

Even if him like let him put osama bin ladin,all we want is he who will protect us and nt sell us irebisibrown@yahoo.com.sg

CHERRY said...

Good!

Congrats sir.

MeenatNigeria said...

Ur frd father has retire @Lindodo.... Eyah but dis new IG looks like OBJ... And wat is oga Jona thinking abt .......I AM MISS LIBER*MISS MEENAT

Let's see how that helps in solving d bombing issue...

thank God

Bosslady said...

Ok… congrats…

Wow... Congrats to him

Awwww! We're going to miss MD Abubakar.
I wish the new IGP a successful tenure.

Issokay, bt y jonah cm do face lyk dat??? Na so he dey tk analyse d boko issue..

Inspect well. LIB Princess! Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

MICKY: #noted. Do your duties with all diligence

Dauda Aliu said...

Goodbye MD Abubakar, you did us good. I for one particularly is very proud of you, if not for anything but for stopping cops on road block. We wish you well in all your future endeavours.

Abba? *puking* I will be here watching.

David (dave_gino)

Congratulations Suleiman Abba. Pls work hard o!
---
Today we buried our 20-year-old son. He was killed instantly in a motorcycle accident on Friday night. How I wish I had known when I talked to him last that it would be the last time... FULL STORY HERE

Amablaze said...

Brother jona kips appointing n impeaching..well if u ask me nah who i go ask#bbmsimleydunno#

Amablaze said...

Brother jona kips appointing n impeaching..well if u ask me nah who i go ask#bbmsimleydunno#

from Benjamin A Ameh said...

#the problem of insecurity in the country has gone beyond physical gun battle so therefore any person who think that soldiers will win the battle is a liar.
what the president and his team should focus on is the information base gathering which will involves more decade personnel who know how to use the modern security technology gadgets.
The new IG of police cannot solved problem on the ground, therefore, a new approach is needed to tackled the problem head on through information gathering.
#

hahahahahahaha OMG d former IG z carry face as if he wants 2 cry while Gudluck d touch im bearbear as if he z saying "dz man u no bin 1 retire?"

Julz Cakes said...

Okay. Hope he's capable

CONCRAT TO HIM
.Moye B

franklimzy@gmail.com said...

welcome mr IGP..we re looking foward that our security go dey kampe..

Soo soon.

Ok oh!
nefertitin8@gmail.com

ASHANKA said...

Would that solve the shit ?

wetin concern us with aig, abeg go find boko haram oleahbabe@yahoo.co.uk

Nda Jona there is Boko Haram oo. Why appoint one of them again to head the police force?

Mark said...

The appointment t of Abba as IG of police is a vote for boko haram because he's a scam artiste and approval for APC because he's a stooge of Amaechi the Rivers state Governor

ƍöôϑ 4 Him. (Linda's Man)

Mark said...

The appointment t of Abba as IG of police is a vote for boko haram because he's a scam artiste and approval for APC because he's a stooge of Amaechi the Rivers state Governor

hope dis new igp is not boko haram member or supporting boko haram in one way or d other, cus i don,t trust any muslim. dey er all terrorist n suicide bomber

the outgoing IGP look like say tears dey drop from his eyes..e no fit believe am...no so life be ,nothing is permanent.

bbm 7439955a said...

Noted. Work and chop money. On a normal. Workchop. ENGR Emy

He look's like a bad man.

The Real Nigerian said...

Well let's see what he would do that the former one could not do...

Hope he will work as one Nigeria but Gej why your face like that?
.. Toyin Lawani Shows off her B**bs In Sexy Outfit ( Photo) ...Click to Read

Anastasia said...

Libers are bunch of funny pple I swear. u guyz are already nailing dis man lolz..well I pray he does sumthing beta

U don forget Okiro? Jona will keep changing them as election time approaches. The Police is one of the most potent rigging tools in PDP's armory so he must make sure the head is loyal.

Congrats to MD Abubakar, it's not easy to serve a nation like naija for 35 years. Welldone!

I wish him best of luck.

Inspector General of Police? said...

Suleiman Abba new Inspector General of Police?

http://m.thenigerianvoice.com/mobile/153980/1/why-north-wants-suleiman-abba-as-new-ig.html

According to Pointblank News, General Sani Abacha's people are gaining ground in Aso Rock. Hamza Al-Mustapha's Suleiman Abba is now the new Inspector General of Police of Nigeria.

According to news reports, Major Hamza Al-Mustapha, former Chief Security Officer (CSO) to the late Head of State, General Sani Abacha drove the political vehicle to make Suleiman Abba the new Inspector General of Police.

Abba, an Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG) in charge of Zone 7, served as Aide de Camp (ADC) to Mrs Maryam Abacha, during her First Ladyship to General Sani Abacha.

It is reported that Jigawa-born Abba was a key member of Al-Mustapha's dreaded Strike Force.

Amen ooo to dah prayer

Appointing new IG, Would it end the "wetin you carry and settlement" culture... Next pls

dont knw said...

Seen henry_ogb@yahoo.co.uk

Bros why must we be tribalistic in everything we do? If he had appointed a southerner some ppl wil still ask why must it b a southerner and same wld ve happened if it was someone frm the west. Abeg we no dey tire with this kind sentimentality ? I for one don't give a hoot abt who gets what as long as him go work for the betterment of NIGERIA!

Stop talking trash! Take ur chill pills

Oskirin said...

congrats 2 d new i.g.pls wrk well n leave sentiments apart.as 4 d old 1,i will score him 60%.he cld av done beta.

Let us wait and see what he gat for naija because they are birds of the same plumage that congregate in the same proximity.

Let us wait and see what the new IG gat for us in naija bcos they are the same birds of the same plumage that congregate in the same proximity.

@John_benard said...

I just pray the new inspector general works better than the old one.

Oskirin said...

hilary obiora n co, na pple like u dey spoil ds country n also spread hatred.av u eva ask urcef y jona is usin an igbo man as power minister? d presido hs d veto powa 2 apoint who he wishes 2 apoint,so far d person will deliva.in lagos nw we av an igbo man dt's a comisiona.so stop ds hatred tin n always gif supot 2 our leaders.whn dey go wrong,we shd criticize dem constructively.inugo? 9ce day.

Finally,a new IG yet again. But like you said, na only northerners? That's what's up with leadership in Nigeria. All leaders always come from the north as if that's where Nigeria ends. But then,that's the truth. That is where Nigeria ends. The rest of us are always treated as followers following their instructions. Nonsense. All these will definitely end soon.

So Oga Jonah has to always carry this hat on his head for every dress style? Kai! People & their fake believe. May his power is in that cap.
GeOrGiE

Good to hear

hmmmm.....

Am afraid, I can smell rat...this was a former CP in Rivers State, he must have played his role well in supporting the PDP govt against the incumbent APC Governor Amaechi. This reward is worth-its-while or what do you think fellow LIB fan??? Chai, dere iz God ooooo!!!

Why is the President always holding his chin at events????

I know this doesn't sound okay, buh he looks really evil, just saying.

If a child lives with criticism, He learn to condemn. Congrat Mr. Man