Is it ever okay for a woman to propose to a man? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 30 July 2014

Is it ever okay for a woman to propose to a man?

It was a taboo many decades back but things have since changed...but has it changed to the extent that it's now okay for a woman to propose to her man? Would you do it? If not, why not?

156 comments:

he no mean... rozay tomjohnn.1@gmail.com

Linda this is serious falling of hand. How desperate can some gals be. Pls this is unAfricanized, iif I should use that word. Dear female Libers pls don't try this at home. I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

tee gal said...

Hmmm, I see noting bad in it#eyerolling

chibaby said...

I can't oooo the man go dey use me at football if he accepted to mary me, common we supose do shakara for d men not d other way around.

is gud but men are sometimes funny

Ceeflo said...

There ain't rules and boundaries to romance, its a magical experience that defies all odds, so yes its ok for a woman to propose ...

Emjay said...

Never! never!! Lindada u re free to propose to ur man ohhhh

######LIB MY BAD HABIT####

is gud but men are sometimes funny oleahbabe@yahoo.co.uk

Well personally I don't support it! Let the man strike ist. U gurls have ur way of making a guy spill his mind now..laffs. Gen 2:28. BishopDammy#. Imahiadammy@gmail.com

There is nothing wrong with that.If your boy friend is delaying to give you a ring or propose to you,propose to him wt no delay.

################GOD punish##############devil

DOBY DOBY said...

Nah wnt cos of our society. . Its stil abnormal for nw nd pple wil laugh at u..

What is there,,is no big deal,infant is even better if the guy is wasting time she will do it. Irebisibrown@yahoo.com.sg

ITS WRONG............MAN SHOULD BE THE ONE TO PROPOSE TO A WOMAN.

danski daniel said...

its possible naw if she really loves the guy and can't Wait

Ceeflo said...

There ain't rules and boundaries to romance, its a magical experience that defies all odds, so yes its ok for a woman to propose ...

Nope,i dont agree

Actually I thinks its not ok for a woman to propose to a man, but I don't see anything wrong in a woman expressing her feelings to a man and telling him he loves him or would like them to date, if after careful study of the man and she founds him matured and wouldn't take her for granted or for a ride, but proposing to a man or asking him to marry you is a No for me

Its very much okay, but wouldn't want to see any of my sisters in such situation.

It's depend on the man condition_ONAHBOY

jenny love said...

Things have to be done the right way and d right way is for a man to propose.if a woman does dat means she will be seen as a desperado!that's my view though

Is very much Okay.

MICKY: n'obodo ndi ebe..it isn't abeg,since when. This question shouldn't b thought of

austine ihechukwu said...

I cnt wait 4 a lady 2 propose 2 me oooo, afterall what a man can do, a woman can do even better

It depends.. Nnaemekabuzo24@gmail

DrealDubem said...

Wateva rocks ur boat. I'm oldskool

Linda you are watching too much of telemundo these days ooo

Omg! Linda wants to propose to a man...

It's never okay.
A woman proposing to a man in my opinion spells : desperation, to settle down. In most cases, she'll definitely be the one with the fatter pay cheque.

* My R1.50c comment *

Rubish. Never in my life

obietrezy said...

I think with the way we have been developing in all aspects of life, i don't really think its a crime anymore for a lady to express her feelings to a man she feels she's compatible with. It's just that most men will take advantage of those ladies which i feel is very bad of such guys. I've always admired babes that are bold to do such because it ain't easy to ask a guy out and for those i've come across in such situations, i always respect them..... ladies do your thing.. jor oh

NaNcY DreW said...

Is not jhor u just give him hints bsides real 9ja men don't propose in d 1st place dey just tell u dat dey re serious and want 2 marry u,now dis deis ladies mk dem do it. Buh I dunno I think I can not publicly tho

Tunrayo said...

This is bizare! Shameless she-goat

Some ladies might be doing it but as for me i believes it bring down ladies value.

guddreamz said...

YES I WILL, IF IT'S SOMEONE LIKE CHIWETEL EJIOFOR. SHARPLY, AFTER 2MONTHS DATING I'LL BUY A RING AND POP TO HIM;
DEAR CHIWETEL,
WILL
U
MARRY
ME?
HE BLUSHES..
mE: SAY YES JOR. U TOO DEY FORM.
THEN WE'LL DECIDE TO KEEP IT A SECRET COS NIGERIANS TOO DEY JUDGE

I wish it can become a woman tin bcos it gets sooo sick waiting for a man to propose

Linda, dis cud be u and I,.. But u refuse to ask me to marry u!.. Noro chebe nwoke, listen leme tell u,. De kingdom of God suffers violence and only de violent take it by force!..#gbam!

Neva eva

Wat i don't understand is who will foot the bill for the wedding? cos normally men propose to their women Wen they feel they're financially stable,and the women in turn help with whatever they can.when the lady proposes,does this mean they're going to switch roles? Secondly,people will think the man didn't love the lady enough to be the one to propose and the lady will be seen as desperate.it's a no no for me MAAME AMA FROM GHANA

It's culturally WRONG!!!

This guy na p***y.. coward!

THATS WAS PLANNED DEAL,IT CAN ONLY HAPPEN IN INDIA AND OTHER COUNTRIES,NOT IN OUR NAIJA.

Miss Incredible said...

Linda, personally o I can. Provided I know dat it's not finances holding us back. If I have a good job and he does too. I can. Some guys r slow!!! And I cannor be looking like biscuit hoping o! U will set him up nicely on his bday wit his family and friends! If I hear say he talk NO! LOL *flipshair* #okbye

Love n understanding says it all! Get shy from what u want or makes u happy! Is sad! People this days goes for it! Notin wrong for me!

CHERRY said...

To me its not okay.

DIARY OF A TEENAGER said...

No o, pls it is never ok

If you allow women, they can propose marriage 10 days after meeting the guy. Every man they date, they think he is the one and starting planning the wedding in their heads..... Its good that the man proposing is the norm instead of the other way around.

Peejay said...

Honestly from my perspective, I don't think the Nigerian society has evolved to the extent of a woman proposing to a man. There is a huge difference between subtle hints left here and there by a woman to encourage him to pop the question (which almost all married women like me have done) and what you have depicted above which is an outright "full blown" proposal.
The man may feel trapped and will find the slightest excuse to leave the marriage claiming his spouse put him under pressure to marry her. He may not value her as a wife because men enjoy "the chase" and the feeling of euphoria that comes with catching "the prey". Then again, he might be really shy and appreciate the gesture.
At the end of the day though, I think I'm sitting on the fence for this one.

If d man is wastin tym 2 ask den u do bt nt ds our local,unciviliz naija men dat wil use t 2 insult d woman sum dai......is cool 2 ask if u ve da liver

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

comfort said...

I don't think is okay and as 4 me I can't do it, what do u want d guy to think of u or what of if d guy is nt yet ready?it will now be as if d lady is forcing herself on him or begging him 2 marry her. As 4 me I don't think is okay

Olubunmi said...

Maybe it's no longer a taboo.. But for me, it's still never okay for the woman to propose to the man. If the man is not man enof to propose, then he isn't man enof to marry me. Or will I continue to play role reversal for him?

Jessica law said...

Why will a woman propose to a man even the bible says he that find a wife not she that find a husband... is the duty and responsibility of the man to propose not the other way round.

MUVA said...

Nope! I won't try it

Hian! No abeg. Cz itz jst wrong...even if itz d chic who desperately wntz d marriage it shld b d guy who gets dwn on one knee n presents d ring

Sha b na una say "wat a MAN can do a WOMAN can do better" so no quamz

Itz a NO NO for me cuz itz not supposed to be so, beside the guy might even have some else in mind, plz girls if u still want to have some dignity left, don't try this indoors or outdoor..

Opelicious Morgann said...

Am not desperate ooo. Am sorry but I can not, will not, propose to any man. He's a man for a reason. Cuz I don't want one man to come and be talking that I tied him or bla bla bla.

Chop Chop said...

Is a man's thing ladies.

To a Nigerian man...no way. Emasculate him before you are married.

Whether its a man or a woman that proposed both will still end living together and yes!!! If The need arises I can do it!! conyekachi@yahoo.com

melvin said...

Dats D Woman to b with.

Hmmmmmm

NOTIN HAS CHANGED SISTA..........

LADIES SHUD BE PATIENT........
Moye B

Only older girls/women nearing their expiry date do that, the younger girls who think they still have some goodyears left in them will never do this.
Till they eventually get older, and nobody wants them, and they get real desperate.
But i see nothing wrong with it.
#JustSaying

Only older girls/women nearing their expiry date do that, the younger girls who think they still have some goodyears left in them will never do this.
Till they eventually get older, and nobody wants them, and they get real desperate.
But i see nothing wrong with it.
#JustSaying

I wont do it if i am a lady bt i will take it if a lady propose 2 me so far i av something gud 4 ha

It is not .Its going against Gods word. The man does the finding. Wrong foundation.

Nadreb said...

I will not do it, no way. It feels right when the man does the proposing.

A man has always and will be d head.... we women cn do oda things to help him buh nt tk his place

MeenatNigeria said...

Well, I see nothing wrong wit it..... Linda better propose to ur man if he doesn't..... Me I wan come dance Ada Ada song o..... Miss Libers*miss Meenat

This is funny

Outside nigeria yes. But in Nigeria No. Bcs a lot of Nigeria men think through their anus. nefertitin8@gmail.com.

I honestly don't see anything wrong with it, I think we should embrace change. On the other hand, I know some deadbeat guys would use it as an excuse to leave a lady stating "after all u proposed, l didn't, girl u were so desperate". I may be wrong, just my 2 cents lol.

Linda love your talking like you don't know this men,hmmmm no be here oooo maybe next world ,because as a woman u propose to a man , u don't have mouth every Little thing en go tell u say na you propose ,en go tell u things u no go like hear. For me is OK if u love and understand each other but get ready to cry almost everyday if u can do thing ,because men's character hmmmm my dear a woman proposing to a man might exist next generation not this one we are IN. CHI

Understanding says it all,the world can bicker for all I care. Fortunedexcel@rediffmail.com

Its okey and well acceptable by me. Linda abeg come propose me and i will accept u now that u are still Young and looking gud. U have being single for many years. Abi u want become Rita Dominic?

It called civilization buh I don't buy the idea coz it morally bad and the lady will never have dignity in her marriage .

Breezy_p reppn MTN finest
Danabiaziem@gmail.com

Ladies Would you do it? If not, why not? #LoL Olawuyijeremiah@gmail.com #kingkay

cherry sharon said...

I can't do it ....kw wat I passed tru wen I told a guy I hv feelings for him.....anyway d gal hv guts...wish her d best

Blessing Njoh said...

She did not propose. It was just a gesture to honor him at their engagement party. Hè had previously proposed to her a few months back 😊

Enorita james said...

I think its spiritually wrong for a woman to propose to a man.it just shows lark of knowledge of her worth as a woman and lark of knowledge as to why God said that It this the man that finds a wife not a woman that finds a husband .if a woman knows how to increase her value,the right man will definitely come along and propose to her.WWW.ready bride.blogspot.com.WWW.digitalisefashiondesign.com

hard body with soft skin said...

go for the one you love

Woman to propose to Man? Let me drink water first DoroLinda, I ll come back to coment later.

Still a taboo

I don't tnk its right for a lady to propose to a guy it makes her look cheap like she's begging him to marry her or she's too desperate ...I can't do dat

NOOOOOOO!! Never.

See how the man is trying to lift her up even, he's ashamed.

If a man hasn't proposed yet, he knows why. But it's his decision to make, so don't make it for him.

Kimmy *****

Wnt do it cos its nt mkn sense.when ure married d guy wil surely wana act lyke d head, u wana spend ur whole life sme1 den u b a man and propose

MZ G

Urgh. That picture is so wrong on so many levels. The (pretty) girl looks so desperate!

Kimmy *****

Hey ladies,keep the comments rolling

yes na, before nko...i nobe fine boy before...chemicalx52003@yahoo.com

The guy been proposed to looks like Uti Nwachukwu.... *run*

One nut must have loosened in my head before I can propose to a man. The man is the one who 'finds' a wife,even according to the bible. Its wrong for a woman to propose,don't care what oyibo people are doing! That's not part of our culture and its biblically wrong.

Wow! I don't see anything wrong with a lady proposing to a guy. It's just that some things are not culturally acceptable. But that was then. I will do same if I have that opportunity. I really love it.

Is it not the 21st century? Anything goes doesn't it?

I dnt see anything wrong with dat ,since its difficult for d guy to propose d girl has helped him out lol.

Hell to the no. The man should propose that's tradition and not only that it makes the woman seem desperate

Dnt think iz really ok 4 a woman to propose to her man cuz God made it know 4rm d beginning dat man shud be d head.......bt we're in a modern world wia everytin can happen...not surprise anywayz...

No,The man should propose because that's tradition and not only that it makes the woman seem desperate. And when he leaves he can always say that he never asked you to marry him.

Sugarbear said...

No,The man should propose because that's tradition and not only that it makes the woman seem desperate. And when he leaves he can always say that he never asked you to marry him.

Abraham Ndu said...

Any guy Dats serious with you will propose to you. For this cause a man will leave his father and mother....not a woman. If he wants u for keeps he wud do anything to keep you. Don't loose your pride oh...

Abraham Ndu said...

Any guy Dats serious with you will propose to you. For this cause a man will leave his father and mother....not a woman. If he wants u for keeps he wud do anything to keep you. Don't loose your pride oh...

Linda for this 9ja ? I don't think so , African men are too proud

Jade said...

Nope! I won't do it. Even when a man proposes to a woman, he has doubts and cold feet, and wait till he sees another hottie, he will throw it in her face that she begged him to marry her. Good for them but not for me.

If she so needs to be proposed to, she could look for a way to make her man do it, but not her doing it herself. Regardless of weda she was d one dat proposed or not, its d husband dat marries d wife, and she culd evn be takin for granted afterwards. I think a man who is doin too much delay wen u both know he has nothin disturbin him from getin married has nothing to do wit you, just move on instead of makin a fool of yourslf. Its true dat it culd work out if d guy realy loves d lady, but wat if d love isnt as deep in d guy as it is in d lady and d proposition pops out from her? I think its a big mess. Better to wait for him to do so

Is okay there's nothing bad there #bright bravo#

At Lip-year, a woman can propose to a man. How ever, it is in appropriate for a woman to propose to a man in Africa. weather lip-year or teeth year...lol.

Very much okay, I dnt even mind if dat my gf propose to me to b second wife. I will say yessssss straight away.

Signed by Orobo.

I wish it was okay for a woman to propose.. Right now I love my bf of 4yrs so much and he calls me hs soulmate n bff but he never propose. I wish I cld just propose to him n get it over with. Who made it a taboo sef?!!

One of a kind

mmike9@yahoo.com

Kind of awkward.
Lily av nt seen d result of d give away winners.

Never!! Comon he will take me for granted. cynthianzeako@yahoo.com

smk said...

if u get man wey u don dey eye since go propose 2 am...no dey use style ask :)

There is notin bad in dat Linda and Islamicaly is allowed...

BABA.T

Dis shudnt b shocking.Anytin is possible dis #injury tym,so wateva comes,shudnt confound any1.

Love doesnt have to be perfect to be extraordinary..lol

â„“oâ„“z, Don'† Even No What To Say. But Ђα̇̇vε Seen Cases Where Ladies Asks A Guy Out Thou, Ђα̇̇vε Been A Victim Of That Like 2times That Was When I Was In †Ñ’ƹ University Actually. Anyways, All Na ♥. I Think I†'s Ok If †Ñ’ƹ Lady Goes Down On Her Knees 4 A Guy Asking Him To Marry Her.

Nnabundo said...

The choice is all yours to make

SVC said...

Lındodo, there is noffın bad in dat. After all anythıng a man can dö, a woman can dö it more and even better.. IT İŞ WELL

LEEZ said...

It's a big NO for me!!

Lol. Linda you're not serious. You can't tell me you don't know a guy you're crazy about to propose to. Go ahead and try it, make guys carry you play. Nigerian guys ain't mature enough to deal with a lady proposing to them. They ain't even mature enough to deal with a lady asking them out on a date.

** Sexy MILF Queen **

Its not Ok and it will never be

Cus its dia culture in india......so chill

Dauda Aliu said...

Literally nothing is wrong with it but kinda weird though.
Come oo. Is DoroLinda tryna propose to that his smelling mouth manfriend? Or is it Banky??

David (dav-gino)

No Linda it is not ok. I am still old fashioned.

Aymii said...

Lol......Just like your name. . .you have an "Overly Vivid" imagination.... .. .#Dream on......

On 2 the Next!

there is nothing wrong about it. Girls can do it, it is cool.

Ahh Where did you get this ond from?! A woman can propose any day of the year. P.s its leap not lip

getting better now
propose to me, unless i wont marry u lol

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

It is very wrong for a woman to propose to a man, in the Bible, it says, "He who finds a wife, finds a good thing, and obtains favour from the Lord", so that in itself is self explanatory!!! whether we are in the 21st or 30th century, the Bible has set a standard, and though it was written over 2000 years ago, we should adhere to what is written in it, so that God would bless us!!! I would not advice my sisters or cousins to propose to their men: if the man is not serious about the relationship, you can discuss with him, to know if he is going to marry you or not, and if he is not, just cut your losses and move on, it wasn't meant to be!!! A woman proposing to a man reeks of desperation, and if the man accepts to marry you, he would not respect you, he would always throw it up in your face, whenever you argue, and he would humiliate you: I know my Nigerian brothers, as some are so immature, irresponsible and they are not husband material smh!!! I am just keeping it real!!! Whizman

Please make una no vex. The ring the lady ιƨ proposing with, who go wear am? This ιƨ a fall to the lady's personality full stop.

It is very wrong for a woman to propose to a man, in the Bible, it says, "He who finds a wife, finds a good thing, and obtains favour from the Lord", so that in itself is self explanatory!!! whether we are in the 21st or 30th century, the Bible has set a standard, and though it was written over 2000 years ago, we should adhere to what is written in it, so that God would bless us!!! I would not advice my sisters or cousins to propose to their men: if the man is not serious about the relationship, you can discuss with him, to know if he is going to marry you or not, and if he is not, just cut your losses and move on, it wasn't meant to be!!! A woman proposing to a man reeks of desperation, and if the man accepts to marry you, he would not respect you, he would always throw it up in your face, whenever you argue, and he would humiliate you: I know my Nigerian brothers, as some are so immature, irresponsible and they are not husband material smh!!! I am just keeping it real!!! Whizman

Erm...it's ok sha. But you see, am a VERY pretty lady, so i can never do it, can't even ask a guy out :-)
I think it's kinda an imbalance in nature actually, people do it, but it's just...somehow

Guys, Do you seek a serious relationship? Try
BV HookUps

Dauda Aliu said...

Literally nothing is wrong with it but kinda weird though.
Come oo. Is DoroLinda tryna propose to that his smelling mouth manfriend? Or is it Banky??

David (dav-gino)

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

You no serious joorrr. Lol

Abeg,is not right for a woman to propose to the man especially here in Africa becos is not our culture,things has to be done in the right way,if is in india where a woman normally pays the bride price of the man that means that a woman can ask propose to the man.

mercy said...

It gives more prestige when a guy does that but at same time when a girl does it, it will help her know who is playing with her and wasting her time. For mua, a guy should propose I don't need to loose my respect...... Africans

Emmanuel Bioseh said...

It's a no no 4 me o.

Big smoke says so

Hahahahaha my bono y NAA? If u say is good for other ladies y not for your sis?

Haba! "Infant" kuma?

Eminado remix! U want him to b ur one n only despiradoo despiradoo

i don't see any thing wrong about that!!!!

Enigma said...

lol. why would one even think of such?the guy wil taunt u wt it for the rest of ur life. its ok to show interest in a guy via ur actions (and dont overdo that while at it). Proposing is a total NO for a lady wt self pride n respect.

Linda na bcos u watched cruel love on Telemundo dats y u post dis thing?! Hehehehehe!!!! Yansh don oPen!!!

But don't forget what the bible says a time will come when you people will be asking to be the 10th wife. Hahahaha chichi

friday said...

why is it always "don't you know what guys are capable of doing" what about what ladies are capable of doing i mean the word is both mate making a hell of rubbish on both parties a guy cheat on his lady and a lady cheat on her man so what is the guy thing here if you can do it does not meant that others cant do what is right to be done, if you are in responsible does not mean others are please stop talking about guys

Desperation tinz...

I can never do it, u are simply taking the responsibility of the man, and trust naija guys, he will definitely cal u cheap

barmmie creamy said...

Tee gal,it is culturally and morally wrong,where's ur pride as an african woman huh?ladies should stop acting desperate and stp dating guys younger than them who isn't ready for marriage,jst pray to God for a gud guy who is older than u!and take evry other thing to prayer.buh for proposing to a guy*tufiakwa*its only a worthless ans passed around lady that can think of such.may ÈŠ̝̊̅ neve find myself in this situation in future amen*lol

Yes yes, it is very roung 4 her 2 have do a thing like dat. even if she is despaired!!!

No waaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyy! No matter how advanced the world goes, it doesnt look nice and it steals some of the woman's pride....

@Bonairo u said its very Ok, yet u wouldn't want 2 find ur sisters in such situation.
What a rhetorical statement.
E get as dis like be oooooo.

Every damn thing is wrong with a woman propsing

FAGBEMI said...

There's no big deal though .

i cant do such a thing cos it unnatural for a woman to propose to a man.........abeg o

mba nu, lai lai, it is not good at all, women shld maintain there dignity.

So who gets to wear the ring?

Una go dey wash women pant be dat na. Just pray say that thing wey dey bible no go dey naija. Una men go smell pepper!

it is very wrong! Leave that for ur man to do.....