Late Christy Essien Igbokwe's husband opens up on new wife | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 2 August 2014

Late Christy Essien Igbokwe's husband opens up on new wife

Three years after he lost his wife, late iconic singer Christy Essien Igbokwe, Chief Edwin Igbokwe secretly married Oluchi Phillips. What many don't know about his new wife is that she's an actress who has featured in the highly watched soap opera, Tinsel, and aparingly in other movies.

The couple knew each other for many years and were good friends, so it was only natural that he would turn to her when he needed a partner to spend the rest of his life with. Mr Igbokwe explains;
"It was a family thing. I knew her father before the war. She is 42 years old. I also knew her mother. Even when my mother died many years ago, they came to pay condolence visit all the way from their place. You know, when people who are close to you are coming from a far place. They come with yam, palm oil and other things. They did that and that was when the mother introduced her to me as her daughter and I, as her son. It was mummy (late Christy Essien) that received them in Awka. So mummy knew her but there was nothing then. Let me tell you, you know mummy was spiritual. It wasn't me who invited her. What would I be proving if it was me who invited her? When mummy passed on, she came to Niteshift and other places where we met again.
You know I was interviewed by a newspaper then and I said 'Look there is no way I can get married again' but it happened as time went on. When I now mentioned to her that I wanted to get married, she said, after what you said in the papers, you still want to get married? I said what I said in the paper was what I said by the time I said it, that was how I felt. After a while. I told her if she knew who I want to marry, she said no. I said it is you! She said how could that be? What would her mother say and all that questions? By then mummy's death wasn't two years. She told me that the mother and herself concluded that if I wanted to get married, I should get married to whoever I wanted. That if mummy's death is not up to two years, nothing for me from her, that they want to give her that respect. So after three years of her death, we got married".

54 comments:

Ceeflo said...

All of a sudden the man is very open and front coming, is he trying to justify his reasons for remarrying?... He should keep his can sealed! Its his personal life after all and in between I think his new wife is cute

He's vindicated. He shouldn't have done it secretly tho! After death u can get married again. The scripture supports it. Rom 7:2. BishopDammy#

Wow...1st to comment karengarber42@yahoo.com

Ok... Trying to promote her acting career, nice.
Goodluck!

*My R1.50c comment*

That's very good idea, life must continue. Mr pls enjoy ur self Jare.

Well, is his business so i wish them all the best of lucks though..... But mehn this dude na baddoo... Eddreamzdreamer@gmail.com

Mschewwwwwww!this man again???why do I have this feeling there's more to all this revelation?anyways that's none of ma business*continues to sip tea*

So he has a thing for actresses? Hmm

gudlawk said...

ΐτ̅ is well,,,,,,#goodluckozomu@gmail

Okay. *I will be call cool if called LIB Sultan*. I just cant laugh.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Awww...death aint a good tin..

Pls vsit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Popman, u realy dnt owe any1 any explanations. U ar a man who lost his wife 3yrs ago, it is only right dat u look for anoda partner so dat u urslf wont die young. God bless both of u

angela said...

Abegi, marry and shut your mouth already!! It's a man's world.. an African woman dares not re-marry until at least 5 years after her husband's demise else she be accused of having a hand in his death. Mtshew!

OMG!WOMAN said...

You owe explanation tovno one oga. If ur hrt is clean, live ur life pplwill always talk.

www.realnaijasexstories.blogspot.com

umu nwoke! tufiakwa! never trust any man... mr igbokwe, so u have been frolicking with dis woman since even when our dear icon was still alive ni? ok o continue....

prettyao...

#king said...

MY ANNOUNCEMENT COMING LATER TODAY...................................#KINGOFKINGS

I think this man is crazy. I swear!

bobbyjukson said...

i wish them well.

Ds man is a bloody liar nd y is he on da news of late sef? Rubbish cookd up story

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

E don do

Nigerian men would always move on....! Buh heaven forbid a Nigerian woman moves on even if it was the hubby dt abandoned her... .Well he has needs and marriage is better than fornication ryt?good for him#cheEzyjayne

Long story!

Blackberry said...

Keep quiet u two...ye be sounding guilty as sin...where u forced? ye got married, fine!! Don't act as if it's an abominable thing..shoving yo marriage down d media's throat.

Well, I wouldn't know if you are telling the truth..
You keep bringing up a woman who's dead to support your claims..
A pity she's not alive to counter this.

NaNcY DreW said...

Don't wanna know

Mouth sealed #bright bravo#

Kai guilty conscience is seriously eating this man up...we don hear abi na we send you go remarry?always shoving reasons why he did it down our throat mtschewwww.

Ok. LIB Princess! Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

All these precise calculations say his wife was barely cold in the grave before he was looking for the next woman. This timeline is to clear himself in the public eye. He didn't waste any time.

Pls be happy again if u think dats what u want

This old man really needs to shut it and keep his private life to himself.

Who cares if he's still shagging at over 60years? I don't understand since when re marrying at old age is something to be boasting about all over the pages of newspapers.

He needs to shut up and stop disrespecting the memory of christian ibgokwe.

just me!!! said...

Men sha!!! Dey ll claim to luv deir wife till eternity and act like dey ll die afta deir spouse passes on but give dem alittle time and dey claim to have fallen in luv wit anoda. Jst like dat? Meanwyl, a woman can stay dat way for d rest of her life mournin her late spouse. D bottom line, let everyone either male or female do wot makes dem happy and let no one criticise any woman for doin same if she pleases. Let it b a free world for all regardless of d gender! #I'm out#

He Has My Support. (Linda's Man)

Baby Oku in the house said...

Asi Asi, he was sleeping with her when Christy was alife that was why he was able to marry her fast fast. Umu nwoke na asi ha...Mtchewww

Aftr dat public declaration of Love and affection for Ur Late Wife U went ahead and got another Lady? Broda R U Kiddin Me? #26247c63

Na waoh for MEN sha!!! So he booked her nd kept since. Hmmmm!!!

Chinma said...

Wish them happy married life. She did not kill "Mummy" and "Daddy" is in love so .....what? They are both free to marry. Men always end up marrying women around them or their late wives after the latter's death. Daddy and Olu baby carry on!

She's Angela Philips' sister.

Linda, we are tired of commenting here. It takes you like forever to approve and upload comments.
You ain't doing anything bout ds ish...

Men don't waste time, for all you know they may have been dating before his wife even died. If nah woman now!

Good for them.

Katikati....they both liked each other tay tay...now talking rubbish.....

I wish them all the best.
Everyone deserves to be happy.

Hmmmm men, i miss her i kept her in d house F̶̲̅õ̳͡я̅ 3month thinking she will wake up" Ŋa̶̲̥̅ dia e end

Beeteewhy said...

He is not making sense to me tho,my apologies if I sounded rude.

phinny said...

He talks too much abeg........ Next please

Just 3years after ke... after saying she's My love,life etc haba

Is this her first marriage at her age?? if yes, soooooooooooo she may have been waiting for you then. Well planned out.

Gbam!

Marvin said...

Chief Chief you don come again, who ask you all this one now. Anyways this lady went to school with my sister, and i know she is not 42 yrs she is 38 yrs. If you can tell a simple lie about her age, you can as well lie about everything else. May God help you. #DarisGodOoo #Marvin

MECURY said...

Mr Igboekwe shame on u. Mind u, your pple said u do not attend Awka General meeting. Ewoo! Akpeno sorry!

why dis man like to lie???? Tinsel ni tinsel ko this Oluchi's battered teeth cant even fetch her a waka pass role. desperate chic.