Family announces burial arrangement for late Prof. Dora Akunyili | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 31 July 2014

Family announces burial arrangement for late Prof. Dora Akunyili

The burial arrangement for late NAFDAC boss Prof. Dora Akunyili has been announced by her family. The burial arrangement is contained in a statement signed by her husband Dr Chike Akunyili which was posted on her Facebook wall this evening. Find it below...
The family of former Minister of Information and Communications, late Prof. (Mrs.) Dora Nkem Akunyili, has released a week-long programme of activities for her funeral, culminating in her burial on Thursday, August 28, 2014.
The programme, released today in Enugu by Prof. Akunyili’s husband, Dr. Chike Akunyili, starts with a Christian Wake-Keep at No. 2A Bishop Onyeabor St., G.R.A. Enugu, to hold from 4:00 p.m. on Friday, August 22. Continue...
A Night of Tributes is to hold at International Conference Centre Abuja from 5:00 p.m. on Monday, August 25, while a Mass would be held for her at Pro-Cathedral Catholic Church, Abuja, by 10:00 a.m. the next day, August 26.

After the Church Service, Dora’s body would leave for Enugu, where there would be a Mass at KSJ Temple at 4:00 p.m. After a High Requiem Mass at Holy Ghost Cathedral Enugu at 9:00 a.m. the next day (Wednesday, August 27), Dora’s body would be taken to UNCOMA Hall, College of Medicine, Ituku Ozalla, Enugu, for Final College Assembly to start from 11:30 a.m. From there, the body would be taken to Awka for Anambra State Government activities, then to Dora’s father’s house in Nanka, before being returned to her husband’s house at Agulu for a Vigil Mass/Wake-Keep.

On Thursday, August 28, Dora’s body would lie in state at John Chike Akunyili’s Compound before leaving for Agulu Town Hall, then Madonna Catholic Church Agulu for a Requiem Mass to hold by 10:00 a.m. Interment at John Chike Akunyili’s Compound follows at 1:30 p.m.

Dr. Akunyili in a statement expressed gratitude to Nigerians for their outpouring of love and support for his family at this moment of grief. “This has gone a great way in helping us to cope with the monumental loss of our precious gem, my beloved wife, Dora,” he said.

It would be recalled that Prof. (Mrs.) Akunyili, a former Director-General of the National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC), died last Saturday, June 7, after a two-year battle with cancer.

Prof. (Mrs.) Akunyili, who was a delegate to the on-going National Conference in Abuja, would have turned 60 on July 14, 2014.

Signed:
Dr. Chike Akunyili (Husband)
Enugu, Wednesday, July 31, 2014.

74 comments:

A wonderful woman indeed! Role model for many! RIP again! John 10:11. BishopDammy#

Ceeflo said...

So much inspiration to draw from her life, forever ur protege

Ceeflo said...

So much inspiration to draw from her life, forever ur protege,RIP

Bosslady said...

A real amazon,great Icon… death is really so cruel…. Nigeria will surely miss you… sleep on!

Ehya... Like play like play, she's neva gona com bak to us. May her soul continue to rest in peace

CHERRY said...

may her soul RIP!

Gooodnight ma'am! The whole whole marvel at who you were.

May her soul continue to rest in peace.

May her soul continue to RIP. #Glophil

and d news became true at last! Her death prompts so mony questions in my head. What do we really take away from dis world than leaving and indellible mark while alive?

Rest On

Chinyere Ok said...

RIP Prof Dora

RIP Dora
---
Today we buried our 20-year-old son. He was killed instantly in a motorcycle accident on Friday night. How I wish I had known when I talked to him last that it would be the last time... FULL STORY HERE

Robinson said...

May her soul rest in piece. It is very unfortunate that she died of cancer, many believe that cancer is uncurable or it has to be treated by conventional means, which was the option Late Prof. Dora Akunyili took. The cure to cancer simply lies in a change of diet. For more information, Just drop me a line to robdegaulle@gmail.com, with the subject 'CANCER'. I give give you valuable informations on how to prevent cancer and completely recover from it by simply eating right.

May her soul rest in peace...She was a good woman and her legacy will live on...visit my fitness blog iamifuennada.blogspot.com

May her soul rest in peace...She was a good woman and her legacy will live on

MICKY: RIP,strength to her family to bear the loss,my condolences

Paulclays said...

As The Creator, after every night's slumber, wakes the living up to behold a new day, may He, for the sake of His love and infinite mercy, wake your soul from the mysteries of death and welcome you to His promises of eternal life in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ. Rest ye dearly beloved.

May her soul continue to rest in peace.
The body go waka oo; from here to here to there...
My sincere condolence to the family.

Ka chi fonu.

* My R1.50c comment *

Interested in Used and Tokunbo Cars

Visit : http://www.sewaautomobile.blogspot.com/

OLUMZY said...

R.I.P

I have this feelings that they just killed this innocent woman because she really faught with bad people during her regime as NAFDAC boss. RIP madam

May her soul rest in peace.amin

MeenatNigeria said...

Continue to rest in peace mama.......I AM MISS LIBER*MISS MEENAT

franklimzy@gmail.com said...

rip mrs Dora..laa na udo

Julz Cakes said...

A rare gem indeed...RIP mentor

REST IN PEACE PRETTY WOMAN
Moye B

May her soul rest in peace

Ehyaa! RIP ma.
nefertitin8@gmail.com

Hmmmmm! What a burial! Abeg make una allow the body to rest in peace joor!!! Dora RIP

Slimy said...

Continue 2 rest in peace, u ar deeply missed.

RIP To Her(Linda's Man)

May her soul rest in peace,, amen irebisibrown@yahoo.com.sg

bbm 7439955a said...

Big Ant good bye. Finally u will be put to rest body and soul to the Lord of Host. Wish I will come back home to see myself. But will continue from where u stopped. ENGR Emy

R.I.P GREAT woman.

Ify said...

RIP sweet Mumy

Rest. In peace

May she RIP

Adieu Ma. cynthianzeako@yahoo.com

May your gentle soul rest in peace. #OTUoCHA

Enyi Peter said...

Rest in Peace a great icon.u will never be forgotten.u're a woman of integrity,a rare gem,a Lioness...words can neva be enuf 2 describe dis epitome of responsibility.i respect u even in death.u're wif the angels ma

RIP. LIB Princess! Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

RIP Dora. Akunyili Lives on"""""""cuppyjane@yahoo.com

Amen. That was a beautiful prayer for a beautiful woman.

Rip.
Jenniferanthonella@yahoo.com

O di ari noko

Gold said...

Continue to rest in peace

RIP Dora.

umuze ochuko neville said...

It is painful that a woman that made so much impact in Nigeria concerning NAFDAC is no more. I pray that god will give her husband, children and family the fortitude to bear her passing.

umuze ochuko neville said...

It is painful that a woman that made so much impact in Nigeria concerning NAFDAC is no more. I pray that god will give her husband, children and family the fortitude to bear her passing.

Rip mama we luv u bt God knws best

Eyaa! Final farewell to a giant!

Rest In Peace............meetsheno2020@yahoo.com

U r indeed an icon! Ur legacy will not b forgotten particularly in Onisha Market where u forght tooth and nail with fake drugs n Nigeria as a whole. REST ON...A TRUE GEM

Amaka.u.l. said...

Rip mrs dora

uchefaze said...

mama we love u buh GOd loves more,may the souls of faithful departed, through the mercy of GOd rest in peace

uchefaze said...

mama we love u buh GOd loves more,may the souls of faithful departed, through the mercy of GOd rest in peace

Rest ​I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ peace mummy

Rest in Peace
Are you interested in making cool cash? Visit
http://monthlyyouth.com/?ref=204187
trippm9@gmail.com

May your Gentle Soul continue to RIP amen. Nigerians will Surely Miss a kind like you. Goodnyte Great woman of our time. You have surely written your name in the sand of time.

Good night Dora!!

Breezy_p via MTN finest

REST IN PEACE
FACE OF LIB

GOD bless ur soul Dora

in everything lets gives thanks to our creator , who bringeth and who had taketh, MAY THE LORD GRANT YOU ENTERNAL REST OF PEACE & HAPPINESS

Solary said...

Eternal rest grant toher oh Lord, n may the perpetual light shine upon her
Linda, na wa 4 u sha, DG of NAFDAAC ws nt d last post she held na, n neither ws it her highest office, I wonder y u jst chose to ignore d oda offices, besides d oda info abt her passing is "clearly" copy n paste, she didn't die last Saturday naa

May her soul rest in perfect peace. she was truly an Amazon, an icon with a strong heart...

Dora 'Nigeria' Akunyili, great woman, great Nation. Aduei ma'am.

senkuty said...

precious in the sight of the lord is the death of a saint. She is indeed a great woman of valour, and her memories will always remain evergreen in our lives. Rest in peace in the bossom of our lord.

waka waka too much for d body oooo! May her soul find rest.

Yea she Is a great honour to us,agulu people,hope the burial doesn spoil the new yam festival

She ws one in a Million,a virtuous woman,a patriot per-excellence and a role model 4 everyone who aspires to be a true Nigerian.May God grant her family the strenght to bear dis great loss,Amen.

I found prof. Dora worthy as a role model while growing up, I totally lack the words to convey my admiration and fascination towards her whenever her image pops appears on the television or her vocals on d radio.... She is such a blessing and glory to the people of Agulu,Anambra and East as a whole.... Kinda painful knowing dt iconic images like Chinua achebe,Prof Dora are no more while the likes of afrocandy and cossy are just occupying space and wasting nature's air- this goes to show dt "death is wicked".. Adieu mama Dora#cheEzyjayne

Delali said...

So much inspiration she was to our generation. What a blessing. RIP

Delali said...

So much inspiration she was to our generation. What a blessing. RIP