Abuja Conoil filling station engulfed by fire this evening | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 December 2013

Abuja Conoil filling station engulfed by fire this evening

The Conoil filling station opposite NNPC Towers along Herbert Macaulay Way, Abuja, went into flames on Thursday as a tanker discharged the 33,000 litres of petrol it delivered.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the fire started at about 3 p.m., forcing offices around the petrol station to close.

Some of the station attendants told NAN that the cause of the fire was unknown, but that they would not rule out electrical spark or metal scratch within the area when the tanker was discharging.

Samuel Moses, an attendant, said he was at the third pump selling petrol to a customer when he saw smoke bellowing by the side of the tanker, which made people to scamper for safety.

``No one can say the cause but I was selling petrol when I saw the smoke and raised an alarm. In seconds, all of us were running for our dear lives as we know what it means.

``We even forgot about the fire extinguishers and other things put in place to fight fire at the station.

``We thank God that nobody died and all the 16 vehicles, including five other tankers were safely evacuated from the station,’’ Moses said.

No official of the station was available for comments on the incident at the time of this report.

Some sympathisers at the scene, however, said the fire could have been better controlled if the fire service had got to the filling station on time.

Isa James, a civil servant who witnessed the onset of the incident, said the fire service arrived at the scene more than 20 minutes after the fire started.

He said ``look at the distance between the fire service office and the NNPC; but it took the officers over 20 minutes to arrive, this is just unfortunate.

``If they were here earlier, they could have reduced the extent of damage and could have saved cost.’’

NAN reports that there was no fatality recorded though one person sustained head injury when an underground tank also caught fire, while three people slumped due to exhaustion and smoke which they inhaled.

The three people were later taken to hospital for proper medical attention.

NAN also reports that the fire had been successfully contained through the combined efforts of six fire vehicles, consisting one each from the National Assembly and NEMA, and four dispatched from the fire service.

Military, Police and Civil Defence Corps personnel were at the scene to control the crowd and traffic. (NAN)

52 comments:

seany said...

Hmmm, but d fire service will not fly na... Go slow dey so wah do u expect.. !!! All join sha. Hope am first

Thank God there was no casualties! But the Nigerian fire service system is critically dysfunctional! Something would have been done imminently to stop the fire!......we thank God still...."Linda up 2 u"

Thank God no life was lost.

I heard this in my office we all ran for dear life thinking it was BH thank God no life was lost cos the impact was too much

jaybeyblu said...

Took em that long cos they needed to fetch d water first!smh. Thank God no life was lost.

Saw I thick black flame frm wuse and I told ma friend I pray ds thick dark flame is nt somebody's house and lol it's a fuel station

God is indeed a miracle worker

success igbinoba said...

Tank God

Who wan die? Attendants forget extinguisher, firemen waste time come. Nobody wan die! Na december be this and devil can sabi act this knd time

Tnk. God no life was lost.

Princess said...

When is the Nigerian government and Fire Service gonna take fire safety serious??? It's the deadliest accident ever. Anyway, thank God no one died.

Antime I need to fill up and a tanker is discharging at a station, I drive away. Nigerians take safety for granted.

*sıgh of relıeve*.Nobody dıed afterall,bless God!
'If only dey had arrıved on tym'..Fıre servıce shud b more punctual,ıts ımportant!

Hmm and I left that place by 1pm today the Q was long I stayd lyk 40mints bfor it got to me God save us.

God deserves all the praise, no lives were lost. Linda post this pls

Linda na wa for u, na now u dey post this event. If na rubbish story, u for don post am. Mind urself oh.

Am serving in portharcourt, Am frm abia state n graduated from imsu, Am a victim, pple shld be careful in this ember month,I went to pay money into my sis acct bt idecided to eat in a fast food joint, So after eatin I was lookin for a cab man , So I met one guy tht said hello to Me but I didn't respond, he said hello again n I didn't mind him, So he was like can't I just said hi, I now said hi to him, tht was the end of of everytin , I didn't gt mysef again untill this guy took Me to a hotel room, beat Me, took myZ10 BB, samsung tablet, my gold. And my 50 thousand naria I wanted to go n pay into my sis acct, and wanted to reap Me if nt tht I was flowing, all I could remeber was weni told him dat in my village tht they don't penetrate any lady thts flowing or else two of us will die, dat was How he left Me, Am a victim pple shld be careful this Ember month, my name Is chichi

@NewsBlist said...

Too much fuel

Linda na u write this report? Looks too professional to be u. Who help u write am? If u like no post my comment

OMG! Hope the fire didn't touch any body ooo.

So we stil hv fire service in dis country? Am evn surprised dey came dis early.Useless govt!

What a pity!!! Pele

Thank God no life was lost!

What a loss of asset. To Æ“♡D be praised for the safety of humans. *cagey*

Lady G said...

I'm just happy that no one died

Wow this is outrageous

My office is so close to this place .... Scary stuff .. But we Thank God for his protection over everyone .... What I hated was on my way home the way people stood 2ft away and we're taking pics ...haba!

Don't forget to visit my blog people www.fashionnutter.com

beautifulll said...

Thank God no life ws lost cos dt place i̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅ always busy.

Thank GOD no life was lost

Aramide said...

Tank God no life was lost...

Free Makeover wif a photo session 4 juz 2k u can see anoda side of u you av neva seen b4. inbox me if u r intrested Visit www.aralewamakeover.blogspot.com to view samples, offer last till dec 12th. Add 33401840, 08026433942, 081674263942.

Thank God there was no casualties! But the Nigerian fire service system is critically dysfunctional! Somethig would have been done imminently to stop fire!......we thank God still!..

Madewithpassion said...

I thank God!

Adorable Jewel said...

Nawa oooooo***I've neva seen or even heard dat FIRE SERVICE arrived on time to save situations***Dey are always late***NAIJA!!!

young conscience said...

Linda I noticed in ur artucle you said the filling station "went into flames" is it that the flames where there and the filling station ran into it? Lol

what a loss!

Ha! I really thank God no life was lost o. But I tell you that explosion rocked! It shook the walls and windows of my office which is about 10kms from there, twas as if an unusual thunder struck/ bomb explosion. The next thing we all ran out thinking boko is at it again *sign of the cross*

FOA said...

Wow,sorry dear,May God Console you and Replace all you have lost a million folds!

Really I thank God there was no casualties. While I was serving I pass that place to my cds it has always looked unsafe always congested with traffic, fuel tankers parked on the main road and i always said a prayer along that road Thank God prayers do work o

JustPorsh said...

Anty Linda, much respect!
The speed at which u got this gist is applaudable.

I was in central area when it happened I was sooooO scared bt I thank God nothing happened becos this particular filling station is sooo close to road where multitude of cars with lives passes everyday. Thank you Jesus for saving this situation Amen

thank God for saving my life and the life of my colleagues at the \nnpc towers. we ran out through the bush.

ordo said...

wow kawat nyamuk magnet

@young conscience.. you dont seem to understand proper english. The phrase 'went into flames' is very correct. confirm from your english teacher... if you have one.

Mumu,odeh! Is article nt artucle... C idiot wey dey correct person nawa oOo #smh#

thank God for saving my life and the life of my colleagues at the \nnpc towers. we ran out through the bush.

Thank God no casualties, that is what you get when a town is well planned and well built. If is in Lagos now hmmmmmm. thank GOd.

Igor said...

Thank God no life was lost in the inferno.It is hightime the Federal Government made it mandatory that all filling stations,or companies that employ a lot of people acquire fire fighting vehicle so that we do not have the kind of casualties countries like India,Pakistan and Bangladesh experience after such infernoes.Traffic jams,or long distances sometimes make it impossible for firemen not to get to the scene of the fire outbreak on time.

Question is,should they even be discharging and selling to customers @ the same time?
That thing is extremely risky indeed.

God almighty nah your hand we dey

Shade's Files said...

Very unfortunate incident...thank God no life wv lost tho! *sigh*

AaronKore said...

Daumn!thank God lives were not lost.