APC announces Prof. Yemi Osibajo as Gen. Buhari's running mate | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 17 December 2014

APC announces Prof. Yemi Osibajo as Gen. Buhari's running mate

APC Presidential candidate, Gen. Muhammadu Buhari has chosen erudite scholar, former Attorney General of Lagos state, and Pastor with the Redeemed Christian Church of God, Prof. Yemi Osibajo as his running mate for next year's general election.

Professor Yemi Osinbajo is a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, SAN and Senior Partner in the Law firm of Simmons Cooper Partners. Yemi Osibanjo is a professor of law and was the head of department of Public Law at the University of Lagos (1997-1999).

His tertiary education was at the University of Lagos and the London School of Economics and Political Science obtaining the LLB and LLM degrees respectively.
Previously served as the Special Adviser to the Attorney General of Nigeria (1988-1992), he later became the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice of Lagos State in 1999 reappointed for a second term in 2003. During the period of his public service, he commenced the Lagos State justice reform project. A prominent feature of that project was the establishment of the Directorate for Citizens’ Rights (DCR) which provides free legal services and legal representation to indigent citizens of the state. This initiative gave a voice to many who would otherwise not have a way to access their rights.
Prior to that appointment, Osinbajo, a Professor of Law, was the Head of Public Law at the Faculty of Law, University of Lagos.
He is also the Ethics Adviser to the Advisory Board of the African Development Bank and is a non-executive Director of Citibank. He has served in various roles within the United Nations, United Nations Centre on Transnational Corporations, the United Nations African Institute for Crime Prevention, the International Criminal court for Rwanda in Arusha, Tanzania, the department of Peacekeeping operations and the United Nations Peace Operations in Somalia.
Prof. Osibajo is Co-founder & Board Member Convention on Business Integrity and the Justice Research Institute Ltd. In 2007, Prof. and his wife Oludolapo founded “The Orderly Society Trust”, a non-governmental organization that is dedicated to the promotion of Christian ethics and orderliness.
Professor Osibajo has authored, co-authored and edited several books and publications including “The Unification and Reform of the Nigerian Criminal Law and Procedure Codes” ; “Law Development and Administration”; “The Annotated Civil Procedure rules of The Superior Courts in Nigeria”; and “Cross Examination: A Trial Lawyer’s Most Potent Weapon”.
He also pastors at Olive Tree House of Prayer for All Nations, Banana Island, a parish of the Redeemed Christian Church of God and lives in Lagos with his wife and three children.

516 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   401 – 516 of 516

Do you all remember how graduates died in stadiums all over the country because of 500 advertised positions and about 600000 graduates applied to write the test. One thing is for the present govt to feel u guys are still fools and the other is for u all to remain fools and be unwise. Vote wisely and vote for proven change. Talk to others about Buhari and let them know the truth about him.

Now we have the pair and we need to educate those who are ignorant that nigeria is actually sick because we have been intentionally kept in high illiteracy and poverty level for so long so that those in power and their supporters can keep circulating the wealth of the nation while they use N5000 to bribe you during voting. One big politician once said about 9 years ago that if the govt embezzle what the spend on the nation and develop the nation with what the embezzle, nigeria will be close to America or Dubai. This is the debt of corruption we have in the country. I live in one of the top cities in the country and still i pity my vehicle atimes because of the bad road that i do result to trekking till i could get to a fair road and join taxi to work. This is the country that ranks among the first 7 LARGEST PRODUCER OF CRUDE OIL IN THE WORLD BUT THE ONLY ONE THAT REFINES OUTSIDE ITS SHORES. This is basically because of corruption and ways to enrish the political finaciers in multiple folds while the citizens perish in abject poverty. The only country amoung them all where power is still a mojor issue. Nigeria power is equal to what a single airport (HEATHROW) uses in UK. Is this imaginable at all after all the collosal money spent on same power. This is a country where almost 26 billion dollars has been spent on in the last 12 years and still nothing to show for it, instead probes that showed money were embezzled was swept under the carpet. Police pension fund and oil subsidy probes that showed how TRILLIONS were tactically embezzled is still yet to see the light of the day. 225 million was used to buy 2 cars under this regime and still no utterances from the number citizen to show that there is regards for citizen that he claimed voted him in. instead u will see them with scissors up and down in the name of commissioning childish projects. How many times have u seen world leaders on CNN with scissors where there are other issues to brainstorm with stakeholder on health, education, infrastructures ....NIGERIANS, this is the time for u to think very well, either u want an incorruptible leader that will make u not to think of embezzlement because u ve a secured future for urself and future generations, a leader that will lead bu examples, a leader that will make sure that the price of doing the right thing is very low, thereby lots of people will be willing to follow the right path. NIGERIA HAS 10 problems, no1 is LEADERSHIP. no2 to no10 is CORRUPTION. any other one is a subset of the two major ones. And the above mentioned two are even in one which is CORRUPTION. This present govt has encourages and supported in in all its action and deeds, BUHARI from his records and pedigree is the only answer known. Solve corruption and u will see transformation not on the Television but on the street (good roads, transport system and structures) and in ur home (power, light, domestic gas and portable water). BUHARI will do it.

Iphy said...

Were you expecting them to pick him? The yoruba betrayal tactics has not changed!!!

t-pel said...

Pastors should stop getting into politics cos the end has not been good

At last! I think this man is up to it & capable...

beauty said...

Wots ur problem madam ??

Now I will see if na redeemer Christian will vote for or Jonathan. Let just keep our finger cross. This is a good strategy by APC,Pastor Adeboye which side u dey? Na big issue for u now and let see hu Redeemers; candidate will be,either their own person abi another person keep watching the film..............owotheprof@yahoo.com

This Buhari sha!!!!! The last time he brought a Pastor - Tunde Bakare, now he has brought another Pastor. What is his aim though? May the will of God be done in Nigeria in Jesus Name.

Hmmm,strategy

Alagbado-ode said...

Now d change everybody is hoping for is dashed. The APC have just blown the opportunity to beat the ruling party at the coming elections just because they cannot call the bluff of a single dictator. Buhari has proved again he is not politically independently minded enough to take strong decisions irrespective of whose ox is gored. Or is it a case of going along with Tinubu and accepting a political neophyte as a running mate that will later be easy meat to sidestep and manipulate for his religious hidden agenda? Me I just dey luku I dey lafu! Hahaha hahaha. How do u now plan to win votes from the Niger delta and the eastern part of the country?

Smile said...

Hmmm Oje lo je

Please expatiate and give more light as to your comment . I'm dying to be educated

U're mad!!!!!. U're one of d enemies of Nigeria as a state. Vote for change!!!

Stupid boy. U better think abt ur life abd ur generations

I think Buhari made d best choice. See profile ? Up APC...

peter said...

Hia! Iv gone through all the comments and you seem to appear all d damn time. Pls expose what u have to expose and get out!

Seen, really don't know why men of God go into politics

That's why you don't know the difference between lose and loss, it appears as well you have lost your memory

Even if he pick the pope as his running mate,PDP will win

how certain is this, the announcement is supposed to come at 2pm.

Do you all remember how graduates died in stadiums all over the country because of 500 advertised positions and about 600000 graduates applied to write the test. One thing is for the present govt to feel u guys are still fools and the other is for u all to remain fools and be unwise. Vote wisely and vote for proven change. Talk to others about Buhari's integrity and uprightness and let them know the truth about him.

how does that change the price of banger and ina olorun

I think we should remain prayerful and ask God to choose a good leader for us,inrespective of which region or religion the person comes from.as for me a change from pdp to anoda party is worth trying.tnx.
kunumi23@gmail.com

Sai buhari 2015...if no buhari 2015,close down Nigeria...jonathan has failed woefully..security 0/100,poverty 0/100...

nice move on APC

ChincoBee said...

See famzingggggg oooo

Tito fash I hail oooo

Now we have the pair and we need to educate those who are ignorant that nigeria is actually sick because we have been intentionally kept in high illiteracy and poverty level for so long so that those in power and their supporters can keep circulating the wealth of the nation while they use N5000 to bribe you during voting. One big politician once said about 9 years ago that if the govt embezzle what they spend on the nation and develop the nation with what they embezzle, Nigeria will be close to America or Dubai. This is the depth of corruption we have in the country. I live in one of the so called city in the country and still i pity my vehicle atimes because of the extremely bad road that i do result to trekking till i could get to a fair road and join taxi to work. This is the country that ranks among the first 7 LARGEST PRODUCER OF CRUDE OIL IN THE WORLD BUT THE ONLY ONE THAT REFINES OUTSIDE ITS SHORES. This is basically because of corruption and ways to enrich the political financiers in multiple folds while the citizens perish in abject poverty. The only country among them all where power is still a major issue. Nigeria power is equal to what a single airport (HEATHROW) uses in UK. Is this imaginable at all after all the collosal money spent on same power, almost 26 billion dollars has been spent in the last 12 years and still nothing to show for it, instead probes that showed money were embezzled was swept under the carpet. Police pension fund and oil subsidy probes that showed how TRILLIONS were tactically embezzled is still yet to see the light of the day. 225 million naira was used to buy 2 cars by a minister under this regime and still no utterances from the number one citizen to show that there is regards for citizen that he claimed voted him in. instead u will see them with scissors up and down in the name of commissioning childish projects. How many times have u seen world leaders on CNN with scissors where there are other issues to brainstorm with stakeholder on health, education, infrastructures ....NIGERIANS, this is the time for u to think very well, either u want an incorruptible leader that will make u not to think of embezzlement because u ve a secured future for urself and future generations, a leader that will lead by examples, a leader that will make sure that the price of doing the right thing is very low, thereby lots of people will be willing to follow the right path. NIGERIA HAS 10 problems, no.1 is LEADERSHIP. no.2 to no.10 is CORRUPTION. any other one is a subset of the two major ones. And the above mentioned two are even in one which is CORRUPTION. This present govt has encouraged and supported it in all its actions and deeds, BUHARI from his records and pedigree is the only answer known judge by his records. Solve corruption and u will see transformation not on the Television but on the street (good roads, transport system and structures) and in ur home (power, light, domestic gas and portable water). BUHARI will do it.

APC's choice of a vice-presidential candidate and my voting Jonathan out are 2 mutually exclusive things...No matter who APC presents, I am voting out Jonathan

Waohhhh!I'm so happy

Ur father is d thief...MUMU

Nigga who??? Big blunder. It didn't work 4 yrs ago why do it again. Dude just made it harder for us to implement change.
The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result.

Olubunmi Lawal said...

Bros, go and take several seats.

Geeday Dina said...

Moslem/ xtain, let d journey begin. The PDP era has finally come 2 an end. Vote 4 change and APC is d change not dis corrupt. PDP govt.

Black Anchor 2 said...

I was hoping he will go for someone from the South - East, South - South or Mid - west, not south - west. Buhari needs votes badly the south - west he will get most of the vote but not the other states. just saying.

oyekunle bunmi said...

All the best

Buhari really shocked us!..prof has a good profile...smart move I must commend..we have bn complaining that Buhari is a bigot but he has done d right thing by running with a pastor....I badly wanted fashola but it's not possible for 2 Muslims to run together...Nigerians would even criticize poor Buhari...I hope for change n God's will b done in naija!..#peace

Ashawu29@outlook.com

9nice combination indeed.well done APC.we will solely support you guys and chase those drunkard away.

this buhari get sense ooooooooooooo hmmmmmmmmm

Oya na

Of course, cos pdp has d rigging power nt bcos dey cannot win

AGB said...

Ahuuu!!! This looks great and I pray that these 2 win. This VP has got a resumé that I love. Seems like he can help the government on ideas with sanitizing the Nigerian justice system. It's a win-win for Nigerians either way.

Buhari for president2015

God Bless Nigeria.

Can this Val Lala guy shut the hell up? You this loser. You have nothing positive to contribute. Idiot! Wish Buhari all the best, enough of the GEJ & PDP RUBBISH.

K

Yinka said...

we have the winning team in these two. lets hope we get the change we want now. all the best

Ne-Yo said...

Nice Option and hope Linda will Post my comment now.

ColdFlame said...

Great choice. In the end I guess the APC thoughtfully considered where its chances looked the brightest in terms of votes.... General Buhari is bound to clean out excellently in the entire North just as GEJ can count on the South South/South East, The deal maker therefore'll be which way the South West sways. Very interesting elections ahead!

Congrats Prof. good news

........GEJ 2015!! APC KOR!

THANK GOD , APC ALL THE WAY... CHANGE!!!

obiora said...

Loser's?

Great personality with great qualities

Dis APC people tink say we foolish bah! Knowing dat D redeemed christian church of God is one of d most popular churches in Naija nd it's wide spread + plenty membership all ova, dey went to carry GMB running mate from der. E nor go work ooo. We kno dis trick! LIB VISITOR

SIMPLYCOCK is a liberal in all sense of the word. So, there's always a firm philosophical basis for my choices and predilections. I'm cerebral, down-to-earth, urbane, competitive, and take delight in declaring war against hypocrites and hypocrisy. I'm a member of the Nigerian bar. I believe that REASON alone should be the standard by which the validity of any belief system, truth claim or moral statement may be measured...

Henry and Friends said...

Now I think APC has a vision for this country

U being a scholar doesn't make u a good leader, and being a pastor doesn't necessarily mean u have what it takes to lead Nigeria to her promise land. Dis combo is a no no for me.still rooting for my uncle Jonathan.

The professor briefly returned to the Law Faculty in the 2009/2010 session; and I was privileged to have been taught the Law of Evidence by the great scholar..
His erudition is undoubted, unassailable...
But he is not a politician...
He is too much of an academic...even more of an academic than a consummate Bar man...
He will be pocketed by an overbearing Buhari who would likely reduce him to mere appendage if he ever gets into government...
Several Osinbajo can never cure APC of its baggage of negativity, blackmail, subterfuge and cynicism!!!!!
APC can never win the 2015 presidential election...

The professor briefly returned to the Law Faculty in the 2009/2010 session; and I was privileged to have been taught the Law of Evidence by the great scholar..
His erudition is undoubted, unassailable...
But he is not a politician...
He is too much of an academic...even more of an academic than a consummate Bar man...
He will be pocketed by an overbearing Buhari who would likely reduce him to mere appendage if he ever gets into government...
Several Osinbajo can never cure APC of its baggage of negativity, blackmail, subterfuge and cynicism!!!!!
APC can never win the 2015 presidential election...

Gbamest

good for them kizeto4cm@yahoo.com

Now I have no reservations that APc is serious about being in Aso rock 2015 and have decided not to take chances and I must commend the various potential aspirants for the VP for putting the interest of this country first. PDP visited RCCG in 2011 and got their votes based on religion sentiment. what an unimaginable choice. PDP is shaking now. I see intelligence in action....

Good profile

Abuchi said...

See how u are quick to abuse your president, meanwhile u can't even manage yourself. Where were you when your mates were learning how to spell and write good English in school. Yeye fowl.

Super and perfect combo

Formidable force that will push GEJ to exile in Otueke

Often times people as something bad bad wen pastor's go into politics. Their is absolutely nothing bad in that. Moreover we need people that are God fearing in our political offices. @valentinechisom7@gmail.com. Pls try 2 b saying reasonable things.

@ sunadex3@yahoo.com

Often times people as something bad bad wen pastor's go into politics. Their is absolutely nothing bad in that. Moreover we need people that are God fearing in our political offices. @valentinechisom7@gmail.com. Pls try 2 b saying reasonable things.

@ sunadex3@yahoo.com

Crystal said...

Why does he always choose pastors? Ehn?

Hmmmmm. How can a blind man lead a professor of law for naija, Katakata for APC ooh. AMECHI Sorry sha but i pity Rivers state ppl pass. He waste una money no be small. #Amechistronghead

GEJ self na Redeemer too. Their permutation no work. GEJ na u we know!

This combination is impeccable. Now I can vote Buhari

This man is fearless and has a good reputation.

RCCG members would vote for this man . Buhari 2015 for sure

Pls, is voters reg stil on???

Is he even popular in Lag?

Gbammmm

And what did Bakare do to him? Enlighten us my Igbo bro??

Prince Sunny Inedu said...

No matter the trick APC uses to compensate the Christians, GEJ all the way by 2015!

And how do U think that will win the presidency? Like GEJ will subject himself to a debate etc. Abeg the choice of this man is a joke. O ti wa sun mi

lol. ok now this is really funny. so after Amaechi's refusal to pay pensioners in his statr for over four months, and his refusal to pay workers their salaries since last month even with the slashing of the salaries and after spending the entire money of Rivers state campaigning for Buhari, he still did not win or see d position of the vice president under Apc. indeed there is God. May heaven help him.

I don't care what religion these ppl practice. They can be Buddist or worship the moon for all I care. Good governance is the only thing I care abt. What have these so called Christians and Muslims done in the past. It's not like they practice these religions in their everyday actions. Abeg

Rhetoric rise??? What does that mean? Did U mean meteoric rise?

Jokes. It won't make a difference. Watch

Then they can waka far. Silly threats. Geez. We need to get past all this BS. Good leaders regardless of where they're from

U'll be alright. We don't want all Igbo ministers and political appointees. Igbos won't put forward the kind of impartial Igbo person that everyone can trust. U guys empower ppl who will employ not even just Igbo ppl but ppl from their village with no shame or conscience. So before U start you BS, go and soul search.
I'm so mad at myself for getting involved in tribalistic Bs with U. Dang

Hmm, some people are saying good profile, maybe correct but remember no one will write his bad part in a CV.

Being Pastor na politics, a Pastor can still be a bad, corrupt man. Let's see how the blend will go.

Nigerians go and vote and vote well oo. Time to relax at home is gone o.

maureen87 said...

I smell something fishing here

Compensation for xtians......we need fashola.......

AGB said...

Preach brother,preach on.

AGB said...

True words from a patriotic brother. I agree with you.

AGB said...

I totally agree with you. TOTALLY!

Who cares!!! 'sigh' GEJ for 2015 #onelovefromSnow#

You be mad man, I swear. E no go better for u with this useless comment of yours. Anyways your family are ethnic radicals.

What is GMB's qualification? His deputy is a professor of law, who is he?

beewhy said...

You guys are just too hard to please... Nothing feels right to you guys

winniekoko said...

Shut up u don't know anything......lile lie

The Bulletin News said...

PDP claimed that he is a Religious fanatics, yet he picked Chuba Okadigbo a ROMAN CATHOLIC member as Running mate in 2003. They are shouting he is a Religious Bigot, yet Renowned and Respected Pastor Tunde Bakare accepted to be his running mate in 2011. Now he has pick intelligent Professor Yemi Osibajo (SAN) as running mate, a well respected PASTOR of Redeem Christian Church of God. It is a high time Nigerians should understand that PDP deliberately capitalized on the gullibility of Nigerians to paint him black. This they did in order to keep on looting the treasury and ensure that he never gets the opportunity to stop all their atrocities How many Nigerians would hold the appointment of government, minister of petroleum, PTF chairman and head of state yet don’t own a house in Abuja and has NO foreign account?? Vote Competency, Commitment and Good Character. #VoteBUHARI/Osibajo in 2015. #Vote APC. A Combo of INTEGRITY and INTELLIGENT for a Better and Greater Nigeria

Only Igbos hate Buhari why?.
If Ojukwu was still alive and the ticket was Buhari/Ojukwu Ibos will stil hate their Combination.

This man is more than qualified. God's will be done in 2015.

God go help him, make hin no backslide wen he get dere

Vikkyj said...

Nice resume

The best comment so far.
Please Linda, Anonymous 11:40 AM must get ur Christmas gift.
Hgrafix

It breaks my heart to say this, but after a splendid Presidential primaries, APC have ruined it with their choice as Buhari's running mate. GEJ has just won the election again today with this ill-adviced choice. APC completely missed the point. What was needed is a candidate from the south-South or South-East region to at the very least dilute GEJ's votes. APC already has the south-west vote in the bag. What the hell is the point in choosing a South-westerner? Why throw it all away. How does APC expect to garner the south-South and South-East vote now? You should have picked either Oshiomhole or Amaechi. It is so sad that Ashiwaju's blind ambition has eroded all inroads made by APC with this daft decision.

impressive profile. Hope it translate to good governance if at all they won the election.God bless NIGERIA

Wat do u mean by a thief? Do u know him? Pls go and sleep if u don't hv good things to write

Will you stop this rubbish

Infact am voting 4 apc now o... This is ma pastor biko, even tho I dnt knw much abt his political background, I knw abt his spiritual life and am so appy abt this... GEJ, am so sorry, am Voting 4 change now o! Buh no more apc in OYO state biko,oloshi ni ajimobi. INDIGENOUS LIB... V_okunola@yahoo.com

9c one

UMUZE OCHUKO NEVILLE said...

THIS IS LOVELY.CONGRATULATIONS TO HIM.

they are going no where, but why will a man with such qualifications and credibility's wants to mas his himself up with Apc and Buhari in politics my God it all about money and power.

@uwagbale lose not loss. Plus only God knows. Noone knows tomorrow

Good choice

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

@RCCG member....ure Misinformed

Amaechi ko Amaechi ni if I hear

Princess Charming said...

Where is it a sin to be in politics? How will there be change wjen Christians don't rule... my dear it all depends on what you do!

Why are people on about the popularity of buhari's running mate ? Another way you can see it, who would you have take over from the president in the case something happens to him? Sambo???? And what relevant role has sambo played since he got into office ? Please think beyond surface .

Please if you don't know something you should kindly ask, because one of reform this that this man brought to Lagos state judiciary is being used all over our country (front loading) please kindly go and study what this man has done before you make any comment.

Nigerians pls b wise, dis man called buhari want to use ur brain, we all kn dat he did not like Christians he is using all dat to get Christian vote, he is not better of oo pls be wise.

«Oldest ‹Older   401 – 516 of 516   Newer› Newest»