Onyeka Onwenu expresses reservations on missing girls, calls out Wole Soyinka | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 12 May 2014

Onyeka Onwenu expresses reservations on missing girls, calls out Wole Soyinka

Iconic singer Onyeka Onwenu, who is the current DG of National Centre for Women Development,  was a guest on Channels TV Sunrise programme this morning Monday May 12th where she spoke about the missing Chibok girls. She expressed her reservations about the case and also called out Professor Wole Soyinka for referring to the First Lady as 'that woman' in the interview he had with CNN's Christiane Amanpour. 
What am saying is that, is it at this time we have to vilify the person of the First Lady who did the right thing by inviting these people? A lot of that has gone on and I take offense at this even as a woman. When I hear someone like Wole Soyinka referring to her on CNN as that woman, something in me boils because there is a lack of respect for women. This has happened not just with this first lady but with every single first lady and perhaps its when they have passed away or when they've left office that we suddenly realize the contributions that they've made and these women work very hard and care and love this country so it really offends me to see her vilified and I was at those meetings and at no point did she say Oh I don't believe the girls were taken." Ms Onwenu said.
For those who can't watch the video, I transcribed it. Find the full interview after the cut...

When asked why we had to wait this long before all of this protest, Ms Onwenu replied;
"Well thank God for the protest. The protest has helped us to focus attention on what is going on. Its so saddening what is happening. I find it difficult to talk about it because I would want to cry and there is a great deal of frustration and anger that this has festered, that's for sure and also that some people are politicizing it. This Boko Haram issue has been politicized for a long time and I think we ought to be careful about that. There should be no name calling at this stage. What this should do for us is to bring us together. Yes mistakes were made along the line, no government is perfect, no people are perfect. We are not but this is a time for us to rally support and come together, lets find these girls. We welcome everyone's contribution that is constructive but if it is not constructive please keep it aside. We don't really need it at this stage."
Asked if there has been any zeal to arrest the situation before now, she responded;
"I think so. When all this started, the government did not come out to speak on the efforts it was making but I don't think any government would come out and give you the nitty-gritty of their operation. That would be giving out too much to the enemy and when the first lady gathered a group of women together in her office, it was out of that frustration of "what is the information" because we were not having enough information at that point about these girls. Number 1. Who are these girls? They must have names. They registered for WAEC, they filled forms. Where are the parents? Its not enough to go to the streets to demonstrate, come let us discuss, lets find solution, lets ask questions? and a number of questions did come up. The Principal, where were you? Were there any supervision for the girls? No Headmistress, No Dorm mistress and how come these girls were left in a situation where there was no light, no generator, no security and they were allowed to spend time in that hostel and also there were boys registered to take their exam in that centre, where were the boys? And why were the girls gathered and left in a situation were no security was provided for them and the agencies say they were not aware that the girls were there. Madam Principal, at what point did you know something was going wrong in your domain and wherever you were, who did you contact? You waited until the following day. So many questions were agitating our minds.Who would provide these information. WAEC said they had the list, they brought out the names of the girls. Ok Madam Principal do you have a list? Oh no its in my hotel and when you get it, there are names of over 60year old people who are on that list! What is going on?
Asked if she was sure about the fact that some people on the list were actually 60 years, she said;
"Yes, Yes and there was a letter written by the Minister of Education asking that the girls in remote areas be brought together in Maiduguri for the exams and since security could not be assured, bring them together. Some of the state Governors did not respond and some said we can provide security and that was not the situation. These letters are there in black and white.
Asked how many girls are missing, she said
"I don't know. I don't know. These are the questions we were asking and I think our government needs to investigate this thoroughly and find out where the disconnect happened because this is a matter of calling up the records. You have the pictures besides  the names and you can identify who are those taking these exams and we have to ask those questions and we have to ask not just the FG. We have to ask the state government, we have to ask the Local Government. At what point did you find out that there was these movements? Who did you tell? And if you contacted the Military or the SSS tell us and why did they not do something. These number of young girls that were taken away were taken in lorries. The lorries were parked in a kilometer and a half away from the school and they had to walked a long distance. Who saw them? What did you do? These are the questions that we ought to be asking. I hope that at the end of the day, all this that is happening because I am a firm believer that all things work together for good. I think this is going to help this country to streamline our security operations, to streamline information gathering, to streamline what we do when there is an emergence. Its also going to expose a lot of things because I believe mistakes were made along the line and those mistakes, some were made by the Federal government but certainly by the state and Local government. And instead of pointing fingers, lets put our heads together and say lets not make the mistakes again.
Asked if the state security officers have explained how the girls were moved considering the state is under 24-hour curfew, she said;
"I am in total agreement with you and I think we need to ask all these questions. What am saying is that, is it at this time we have to vilify the person of the First Lady who did the right thing by inviting these people? A lot of that has gone on and I take offence at this even as a woman. When I hear someone like Wole Soyinka referring to her on CNN as that woman, something in me boils because there is a lack of respect for women. This has happened not just with this first lady but with every single first lady and perhaps its when they have passed away or when they've left office that we suddenly realize the contributions that they have made and these women work very hard and care and love this country so it really offends me to see her vilified and I was at those meetings and at no point did she say Oh I don't believe the girls were taken. What we were doing was fact finding and thank God because most of the information that we do have has come from. Why pick on her and start vilifying her because she is a woman? I think that's wrong because she has done very well and  even for me at some point in the meeting, I just wanted to put away the camera and have myself a cry because that was the mood e were in"
The video below...

208 comments:

1 – 200 of 208   Newer›   Newest»

We can tell those collecting government contract

A website for sale at an avoidable price, interested peoples should call me on 08137633156

Onyeka nwanyi ike.... No vex too much but d way u present urself is d way u'll be addressed. U now talk for the 1st lady? Are u d 1st lady ma'am! Anyways na una know. I cnt be bothered. #bringbackourgirls! Or I'll go get them myself.

aboveDfray said...

Okay I have finally lost all respect for Mrs Onwenu. She's blaming everybody else but this incompetent government. She's a shill for this useless Federal Government.

Rita Ora Flashes Side Boob In Topless Selfie

Nwa Aba said...

# BRING BACK OUR GIRLS

I love this woman but I don't like the way she is talking here

Welcome to the club madam. Help us To Tell Them to Bring Back Our Girls. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

I don't expect her to say anything less, in as much as she is directly benefiting from the present government she wouldn't paint the first lady bad and then Onyeka has her feminism strongholds too. On the issue of the noble laureate referring to our Mama as "that woman", maybe it was just a quip, maybe it wasn't.

I love this woman.

Nonsense. It was when protests started that people began to care Ms Onwenu. PDP carrying member. Before then where was First Lady. These are rural people in the north so am sure gen set in a school is luxury. Besides govt should provide electricity not talking gen set. Anyway I lost respect for her during the abacus regime anyway.

I'm not surprised,the goat is only obedient to the man with the palm fronts.
What do you expect from her,since all what she does is to sing for every new president.
"don't call me patience,call me mama peace"

shut ur mouth madam..u're saying all dis cos u're eating out of the national cake, Al Jazeera still referred to the statement made by ur First Lady someday days ago about playing pranks that there's no girl missing and here u are saying rubbish , mama peace lost her respect n dignity for being selfish n stupid cos all she was thinking is politics n not the innocent lives they kidnapped....#bringbackourgirls#

I'm sorry but as an Onyeka fan I disagree here. Wole Soyinka had always had a rigid stand and expresses himself very strongly on matters generally so please don't make this about the fact that he is talking down on her because of her gender. He doesn't mince words period. Also the first lady needs to have some ethics and etiquette as a public figure. It is inconsequential whether english is her first language. "Na only you waka come"? On national television. Despicable!

Patience deserves what she gets. I just lost all respect for Onyeka whatever she calls herself! And Wole Soyinka can call her whatever he wants because he's old enough to be her father!!!!!

Who takes Onyeka serious anyways? Any government in power!

aproko said...

Lindaaa gaaan Check TMZ! SOLANGE AND JAYZ FIGHT

http://lindaikeji.blogspot.co.uk/2014/05/what-is-wrong-with-this-picture.html

Blazing said...

Spoken like someone with an analytical mind. People are just cussing out authorities, no one looking at all the pauses herE and there

She is making sense #bright bravo#

comment reserved. BRING BACK OUR GIRLS

Super Anonymous said...

we all pray there will be a solutions soon

READ MORE HOT GIST

Diz kidnap issue seemz like a poorli actd movie,I'm still waitn to c d pictures of d gals nd I'm still waitn fr d press to gt a hold of a parent of one of d kidnapd galz nd interview dem becos ds boko haram tin is just a political attck on ds govt,imagine d stupid vidoe dey releasd lik we r foolz,dey shld jst releas dos gals dey r usin to act der rubbish.

This woman should take several seats jare! GEJ already setup committee upon committee to ask all dis stupid questions...this is d time act! Not being a mouth piece for first actress Dame Clueless and yarning gibberish...

kofoglitz said...

everyone knows wole soyinka and the first lady has always had an issue...if she wants respect, she should respect the fact that she is the first lady of Nigeria and show humility in her words...with all due respect to mum Onyeka, the issue is a personal thing the sentence "that woman" has nothing to do with other women.. i saw the interview...#myopinion....

Mrs E said...

I listened to the interview this morning dear Linda and took my precious time to read your transcript. Please stop sensationalism! By your headings, some will take it to mean that Onyeka said no girls were missing

tomisyn said...

Woah! Am I supposed to read a whole lotta ds? Jeez! No freaking way

Hmm.. The truth will unveil itself soonest.
The girls were taken, not kidnapped.; some ppl arranged tht with Boko Haram and those same ppl know where they've been all this while, their aim was to put pressure on Gej to resign.

Can't wait to see how this unfolds; as America and others are involved.

*My R1.50c comment *

God bless u richly ma.......
May u continue to soar higher in all areas of life.
I have choose to ignore those of us with different school of thought.

What else do you expect from a woman who has her own share of the National cake already...Chia, chia, dia is God oo

OGONIFOLUWA said...

Ms. Onwenu has been jobless for several years, so she has to say what she said to protect her job. Cheap jobless woman, lol.

Tank uuu ma!!! Intelligence wit passion!!! Tank uuu..and I'll rather b as rich as d 1st lady dan n broke nd hav degrees..

And some fools will cm here n be cursing out Patience Jonathan....

DOBY DOBY said...

Tnx for d clarification. . Pple insult patience lyk dey ar berra off.. wen she tld d woman dat came to protest "na only u waka come nd their is God ooo.. she meant that y didn't oda parents of d gals come too cos of information. . Cos to her the few dat came myt av plannd wat to say. Nd she knew d gals wer kidnapped by borno authorities. . Dats y she said dat deir is God... it didn't mean dat she doubted d abduction. .

Onyeka...kindly SHUT THE FUCK UP and go and siddon somewhere. let the Nigerians who haven't benefited from govt looting talk..not you. Why won't u defend "THAT WOMAN"? Political appointment don blind you! Does that lady qualify to be the 1st lady of oshodi? Not to talk less of Nigeria. Becos u don't chop small pepper u dey talk rubbish #Oloshi

Very disappointed in Onyeka. She made some valid points, but sounds like she has been bought over by Patience Jonathan to be her puppet. For the record Soyinka's comments were not directed at women in general but at Patience in particular and so its very unimpressive to see Onyeka twisting his words. Onyeka I lost respect for you today.

It's well with Nigeria.. conspiracy everywhere. They shld lock d so called principal in a dungeon. I rep FGGC OYO.. and I rem how strict R.O Dawodu was then especially with security...(may her soul RIP)

Well, Onyeka Onwenu, right from the Abacha days exposed herself has someone who is only on the side of money and not the people.

Linda ur heading is misleading, she wasn't implying d girls were nt kidnap, she wanted d security issues in d said state address. Dis questions raised needs answer by d state Govt. After d girls are release if dis security issues are nt address they will still be more kidnap.

Onyeka is going to soil her reputation......very sad!!

If only shekarau has released d video earlier today,this political contractor wud have mechionu!

I dont expect something better from a woman that has been part of a corrupt government.Oshisko!!!

So, Prof. Wole Soyinka should be referin to Patience as madam abi? Or beterstil Mumy? I dnt see anytin wrong in wat he did/said

TWITS said...

Onyeka Onwenu, I have always loved and respected you. You never disappoint. You always make sense. One more negative word form Wole Soyinka, and I write something similar to a masterpiece on his person..'nuf said.

Watch Jay Z Physically Attacked By Beyonce's Sister, Solange Knowles

To everybody who has called d first lady a name at one point or d other...
Karma would get to you one day !!
Northern leaders give condition for Boko haram to release abducted girls..
24hrs later Boko haram gives dsame condition some pple still feel GEJ is d problem of dis nation ??
Dia" Rizz God oo !!

shut the Fuck up you this crazy woman. its always all about you and what you are gaining. you are not qualified to talk on any woman's behalf because i just see you as a real sell out. after what you did with the Abacha's you still have the nerves to talk in this country? Hmmmmm........

I heard her in channel TV today saying rubbish.she indirectly spoke for husband and wife.it's obvious that she wine and dine with them.God will punish your generation.

24hrs later Boko haram gives dsame condition some pple still feel GEJ is d problem of dis nation ??
Dia" Rizz God oo !!
*Linda be chopping my comment since 1724

Madam onyeka! The road to belle is deep,I feel u jare, na workshop be GEJ admin,where you work you chop

Ms Onyeka can swear there is 24hours power in Nigeria. Every Nigerian that move into corridor of power quickly forget where they are coming from. Look at her asking why they left d girls without light and other facilities. Am sure she never knew there is a village called Chibok b4 now. She is among d priviledged few and she does not know or decided to deny d fact that majority of Nigerians live under severe conditions.

Dia" Rizz God oo !!
*Linda be chopping my comment since 1724

Dear Mama Onwenu, so because they have given you a position and money to chop, your conscience has gone too? We grew up listening to and respecting you but seems that's out the window now. Sold your soul for a pot of porridge abi? The good Prof called her that woman not with an aim to be condescending to women in general but to one Nigerian woman only(A joke of a First Lady). Even the uninformed know an act when they see one, and my o my, was that some poor act with an aim to score cheap points which totally collapsed. No wonder the Borno State governors wife did not show up, she was more concerned with looking for the girls rather than cheap theatrics. Kind note, the Nigerian people are not stupid and little by little we are growing more conscious of the power of the internet. Enough said

Onyeka, please take back seat. You are a government contractor. Is there anything like 'first lady' in the constitution?. Nor be only boil, you for burn. Irrelevant woman!

So even madam onyeka too dey inside this season films..#bringbackourgirls. When Igbo join wit money! Na shekarau go put asunder

Tosin said...

This woman has joined them. This is just a very stupid way for her to end up after such a glorious singing carrier. Is she that broke that she cannot reason? Can you see what poverty is doing to her? Very stupid comments indeed.

Ndigbo vs yoroba, let's join hands again and support this our daughter fight prof wole soyinka! They defeated stella oduah,onyeka mustnt go down o.

Well said and eloquently put. Meanwhile Lin Lin ure dulling o there's a video of solange beating d crap out of JayZ on TMZ. I shall charge u for all these my ameabo news heads up ;-)

winniekoko said...

Pls let every body put hand together to bring back these girls on time!

They should hold the principal of that school, in your school and u don't know how many people writing exam, that one na talk i don't trust that man or woman, let her produce the names of the students .CHI.

Blazing said...

Its just so convenient to show us a video of the abducted girls when we haven't seen their pictures. Also convenient to say they easily converted in how many weeks and can recite quran. Also he puts a picture of himself alone but not with the girls. How ironic that while we are crying none of those girls in the video looked distressed. So it means they just easily accepted n there was no torture. Well maybe I'm too analytical. #bring back our girls

This woman should not let me loose my respect for her!! Oh I did already when she sang for the abachas

This woman don fuck up. I've lost respect for her. Why e be say once dem enta power, dem no dey get sense again? Smh!

This woman is a motherfucking bitch. Ass licker oshi. Licking Dame's Ass.

This woman is such an ass licker .. anyway I cant blame her na there she dey chop her daily bread #PresidentialHarlot ... make she no dey talk nonsense reach Prof. Wole Soyinka side sha... dey dey mad?

Lolade said...

The first lady did the right thing by inviting these people? For real?? I can't believe that came from Onyeka. I am still wondering what the first lady's role was.
Unfortunately, when people get to the seat of power, they become sycophants. They can't think properly anymore. What a shame!

Abeg its nt a matter of she's a woman..Not only is she a woman..bt a daft one..madam onyeka shut up, d small change they are giving u has transformed u to an ass kisser................#King

chinero said...

Looks like being in govt makes people stupid.....have lost respect for people like abati and onyeka onwenu.....onyeka is sti of the opinion girls aren't missing...she's speaking from two sides of her mouth...

I am begining to hate this woman, is it because she is eating from the government?

Madam you can like to shut the f*** up.

Silly woman..obviously aint seen the updates via BBC..you really think US..UK would come here for nothing..not as dumb as Jona who cannot handle the blood suckers in PDP sponsoring BH..

This woman is as dumb as a brick wall. How can Mama Peace lead a protest? Against who? Borno Government? Onyeka, you've just shown all Nigerians that you are nothing but a prick. Ashewo oshi.

Who is Wole Soyinka? Aside being a noble laurent, how have he contributed +vely 2 our Nation building? He was one of d 3 dat brought cultism 2 our universities! Dis 2 me distoyed our pride educationally.
He is a coward. Y pick on a woman? Except he is affected by old age, there is no justification 4 such disrespect. Always seeking relevance in politics yet his cowardice won't let him contest any political post or even identify with a party.
He is a fool @ his age.

sii Al said...

Linda this woman is not to speak for women, cause she should not be ascribe as one.....a woman is one who has built her home as a wife and mother, to me she is not and two, we have politicize dis issue too long.we all know she is speaking due to her position and appointment.....and for me onyenka onwenu should shut up and go and look for husband. the 1st lady does not have the right to do what she did. We are not dunmmys....there is God ohhhhh

anonymous said...

bastard onyeka

she should go and sit down ...this woman is too full of herself..bcos they have given her a post and she is now eating out of the national pie...she has been bought

# BringBackOurGir ls. Come to think of it, Is Shekau Afraid?
I watched some parts of the 17-minute video. I saw the girls in a "happy", though feigned, mood. They are all talking to each other. They were saying loudly, in Hausa: "...Prophet Muhammad is the messenger of God, and Prophet Jesus is also a messenger of God; he is not son of God. Then they started reading from the Quran; Surah Fatiha, loudly. One of the girls came forward to tell that they are not harmed by the fighters, and they have all converted to Islam. I saw them some in ash- coloured hijabs and some in black hijabs. Some of them were standing, some were sitting on the ground. Three or so of them were holding the black flag for Jihad. They looked calm and undisturbed. But I think it is just a facade.
I generated some points to show that they are afraid:
1.) In his previous video (before international pressure mounted
on them and the FG; and before prominent Islamic groups and scholars condemned their acts, even Al-Qaeda) Shekau promised to sell the girls because, he claimed, Allah had ordered him to do so In the Quran. So why did he change his mind now? Is he shunning the command of Allah, as he claimed? Or what is it?
2.) The foreign media, international community, movements and the world in general condemned what he has done to the girls;
the slavery and oppression. To clean that out, he, I believe, forced the girls to say they are not been harmed. Why did he need to say this, after he occasionally said that he is working for Allah and don't mind what people may say?
3.) Foreign troops are coming. In most of his videos he dared Obama, Francoise Hollande, Queen Elizabeth etc. He once said: "Nigeria, you are late...We are waiting for America" (emphasis
mine). Now that American soldiers are about to help demolish them, they want "peace. Yes, peace. Why can't they come and
fight, for the sake of Allah?
Conclusion: I believe Boko Haram are afraid of the foreign military. They cannot confront them. That is why they, when the
soldiers are about to strike, made an offer; an alternative that many rebels had used. They want their members in detention to
be released in exchange for the girls. To further show they are afraid, they destroyed two important bridges that will take the
soldiers to where they are cowardly hiding. Why can't they let the soldiers come and face them? Truth is Shekau is afraid And
also don't want their sponsors and the corrupt government officials involved to be exposed And
the deadly mistake the Nigerian government will make is to accept the "offer" and release their members, without agreement
for ceasefire if possible. If they release them, who knows what they are up to? And they would be strengthened morally,
physically and economically. We should find a way out.
And the issue of their "forced" conversion to Islam can bé resolved later for the Quran said "There is no compulsion in religion"; get the girls first, if they chose to be Muslims thereafter, it is for them. Glad that the girls are alive. God bless Nigeria. 2k!

What do you expect, Onyeka Onwenu has joined the Choppers. You cannot defend Mama Chai without being scarred for life.

When a battle is lost, lies become the defence of the loser. Onyeka, your conscience will punish you forever. Your boss, Dame, said no girl were missing. And all you want to talk about is WS' view of your first lady. There is God o!

Onyeka Onwenu may have a point. There is no need to abuse any person. She however needs to realize that constitutionally, the wife of the president is not more than the wife of the president.

The 'First lady' syndrome seems to be doing ore harm than good! This is a security matter, and a major crisis and the wife of the president should let the President do his work and not contradict him!

In this instance, the woman made many goofs. First, she alleged that 'no girl was missing' which could have increased the trauma of the parents. secondly, she was instituting another investigation. That is very out of place.

She actually referred to herself as 'First Lady' giving an impression that she had some 'powers'.

I do think that Mrs Jonathan has been her own enemy generating too many controversies and taking on unnecessary wars. \

Last comment, in Nigeria, particularly in the Yoruba culture, age is observed as important. Mrs Jonathan once referred to WS as a 'national embarrassment' She should not have done so. WS is old enough to father PEJ!

At any rate, it is about time they both admit their wrongs, sheath the sword and join in fighting BH, instead of fighting themselves.

This woman, because she don dey mingle with that woman that calls herself first lady and other people in the corridor of power, she has suddenly stopped being objective.

That's the problem with Nigeria and Nigerians.

Our perspective suddenly changes when we start enjoying some benefits from the people with political power.

Wole soyinka is a typical yoruba man that lacks respect for a woman as a result of his cultural and tribalistic belief.period. With regard to the chibok girls,indeed many things seem unclear to us and the state gov should be held responsible.for crying out out,this kidnap happened right under your nose so don't act disillusioned and confused man.

She is looking for contract. ode.

This woman now has a government position in Abuja and with most, they lose common sense when they get appointments. Her comments are distasteful & despicable. The government goofed on this one, the nyanya bomb blast happened in the same week of the kidnap & the President deemed it fit to go and dance at a rally the next day. Should he not be called out? then his wife conveys a meeting two weeks going on three when there is a lot of international attention to cry crocodile tears.Government musician who has no scruples nor character!

With all due respect maam,pls keep quiet!we all no u only siding with d side dat feeds as is habitual of majority of nigerians so shove ur false sainthood up shit's creek n take several seats behind.is d 1st lady d dg of d sss dat she's interrogating people?is she a military personnel or what exactly is ur point?! U need 2 advice 'dat woman' 2 keep her mouth shut!her husband is d president and she's jus an appendage,d pdp ticket dat got her husband elecetd read goodluck/sambo not goodluck/patience.hers is jus a ceremonial office so she shld act lyk it!not parading herself lyk sum garrison commander ordering pple 2 appear n sayn 'na onli u waka cum' wen dey refuse 2 show up.wat kinda 1st lady says dat on national tv 4 chrissakes!!as 4 u,its obvious u are onli dancing 2 ur employer's tune so we dnt respect ur opinion!

Thank God for Patience Jonathan who called for the stakeholders meeting with Borno state government officials, including the Principal of the school. Shocking revelations about the abducted girls were recorded. As for Wole Soyinka refering to our First lady as "that woman" ,it shows lack of respect to the entire womanhood. A sheer political sentiment displayed by him. Afterall, Rotimi Amechi is now his newest son inlaw. Hmmmmm, "like son in-law, like father in-law.

Hmmmmmmmmm

Thank u ma for saying d truth. Sole Woyinka sounded like an illiterate, a tout and a lunatic all combined wen he made dt statement. He gave a wonderful nd insightful interview only to end it in a very distasteful manner. Nonsense!

The first lady didn't do herself any good by going on air and making a travesty of the whole situation and Wole Soyinka shouldn't have referred to her as that woman; that plain disrespect. She is still the first lady, no matter what. And I don't think Onyeka needs to stoke the fire any further! The main issue is getting the girls back home.

Streamline x3 my foot wtf Dis madam shud park well n shut her mouth why lashing out on wole soyinka aired his opinion so dats her biz juz bcos u r now in gov u ll talk rubbish to ppl nonsense

Wole soyinka is a disgrace, hw cn such a respectd novelist insult d first lady on CNN... If Achebe ws alive, he will neva do such. I av lost ma respect 4 him.

No offense, i believe many Nigerians respect Ms Onyeka more than she thinks she does for Prof Soyinka. There has been a welcoming suggestion that this is not a right time to play defensive game. Talking about 1st lady or what someone says about her person right now will generate another protest if we are to say. Best thing is to focus on securing those girls. At least, we might not have the names of the picture of the girls and, we might not be able to answer each other's questions about how the whole scenario, but for sure, we all have seen the set of girl being line up by d bk in d new vidoe today. Pls ma, do away with defending your oga madam and focus on #bringbackourgirls.
Olumo

Hismajesty said...

Madam i respect you a lot, please don't let me insult you...! 2weeks after the kidnap happened when women are already protesting on the street was when the so called first lady started asking questions and yes she said she didn't believe the girls were kidnapped and she also ask for the arrests of protesting women. Madam Onyeka Ma' please you are now into politics and you are a very close friend to the first lady so whatever you say now is rubbish to me, who else would you support if not your friend. I'm sorry but all we want is how to get those girls back..! If your children were among those girls i am sure you will be the one on CNN calling the first lady names...! All you said here is rubbish is it the business of the first lady to ask all those questions, we have SSS, We have the Military, and many law enforcement agency they should be doing the questioning and the first lady should be putting pressure on her husband to seek help if he can not handle the boko haram.... NT asking stupid question and crying like a mugu on national TV. If you were at that meeting then you most be a mofo to come here and say rubbish. I have a lot to say but i am angry right now..!

Was she not the same person supporting the Abacha regime? Sebi she performed at the 1 million man march on the 3rd of March 1993? This should not be a surprise.

Steph said...

Shameless woman, she kuku sang for Abacha so I'm not surprised.

See how low this foolish woman has sank just for money

Tomi said...

I LOST RESPECT FOR ONYEKA ONWENU A VERY LONG TIME AGO.
SHE AMONGST SOME OTHER MUSICIANS AT THE TIME WENT ALL THE WAY TO ABUJA TO GO AND LEAD THE ONE MILLION MAN WALK IN SUPPORT OF SANI ABACHA.

AFTER THAT SHE WAS RUMORED TO HAVE SHAGGED UP WITH OBJ IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE DEMISE OF STELLA IN THE HOPES OF BEING THE FIRST LADY.

I GREW UP LOVING YOUR POISE MA'AM.I GOT A SLAP IN THE FACE WHEN I LATER GATHERED THAT BENEATH ALL THAT OUTWARD CLASS WAS A WOMAN OF LITTLE OR NO MORALS.

THANK YOU

Mr Wole was so so wrong...

It seems you reason from your anus?? Hide under Anonymous talking shit!

It is "talk more of" not talkless although I'm not supporting onyeka cos she is talking trash

U made a nice point I concur with dat

This woman should shut her mouth joo. You are holding brief for the first lady who called the people to her office and humiliated them. If she wanted to investigate why didnt she go to Chibok? You are wondering about old people on the WAEC list are you just realising how bad your educational system is? Even in Federal universities do they have light. Shameless people only looking for how to steal public funds. This Chibok saga has exposed all of you for what you really are. Onyeka supports every administration. There's no government you wont see her. Elegant Stallion indeed, more like Shameless Pig.

What warrants this kind of insult abeg? Abi u no get home training?

Dike F(xyz) said...

I suppose She's now the Mouth-piece of the First Lady. Why didn't she talk about the instruction given by the 1st Lady to arrest anyone protesting? Did the 1st Lady have to wait for 2weeks+ before inviting those Borno State Beasts? The 1st Lady and her husband know all those behind(sponsoring) Boko-Haram! The President said so by himself about 2years ago so how come no one have been prosecuted?

It's a pity People now want to justify their Incapabilities with the phrase: "No one is perfect".

Intelligent comment

You're a prick, go and headbutt a knife for your stupidity. You're welcome. Igbo jealousy has no area code... Chai Diarisgodoo

Onyeka is talking trashhhhhh....cause she is gaining financially from the corrupt Govt....kmft

Can't believe this,have we become that bitter.she made some valid points. Very valid. You all just read insults and add your own. Bandwagon mentality.

Puuullleeeaassseee!!! Why is it she is nit-picking on a particular word in a statement by Wole Soyinka. There are larger issues that he discussed. And she inherently contradicts herself.. She also has reservations about the missing girls which aligns with Madam Patience's popular belief. (btw.. their bulldong, Asari Dokubo also believes it is a conspiracy and the girls are not missing). What a joke. This what happens when money has clouded your judgement. Onyeka sef don chop clean mouth, now she can open mouth and talk about stuff...

Onyeka, you sold your soul a long time ago. Don't come here and insult our intelligence. Our government is using it's apologists to play politics with this BH issue, whilst the international community keeps showing us that this whole issue is real.

Seriously did u actually listen 2 wat she said? U ppl are jst shoutin"bring back our girls"witout information......pls listen again . Impatience for Naija na wa o

NYC-I says: I did not care to read her responses. All I do know is that this woman lost her credibility during Abacha's reign of terror. Wole Soyinka speaks the truth and is no respecter of anyone. This woman is always looking for cheap recognition - perhaps, she will be given national award before next year, just like 'akin and pawpaw'of Nollywood.

what an idiotic woman! Onyeka is working for her own share of the blood money! Wole Soyinka was actually civil in referring to that national embarrassment as 'that woman'. Shame on you Onyeka!

And what's your name again madam? Errrr....so cat bit your tongue when that woman disrespected a sitting governor openly in public eh? Corrupt hypocrite like you. I've never liked you anyway....always something fake about you. Your whole life is so pretentious even the way you try to sing.

Justice Team said...

I just lost respect for this woman. So disappointed.

Onyeka is a typical igbo woman, its all about the money, nothing else matters

She has been compromised..

She dey find govt money jor

That the First Lady was referred to as that lady does not mean that I as a woman was disrespected. It is solely her doing. Why must she be an embarrassment to us Nigerians? If she is not eloquent, is it by force to run the office of the First Lady? She can still help her husband behind the scenes instead of being in the lime light with her not so good command of the English language

When a couple of months ago patience came out to insult and disrespect the Nobel Laurette in public, where was Onyeka Onwenu to come teach this woman how to respect a man recognised internationally for his intellect. A man who can make Amanpour fidget during an interview isn't by any means unintelligent. Yet she can come out and twist words by saying Prof. Soyinka doesn't respect women. She just became an additional national joker together with Patience Jonathan. It irks me when women demand respect for stupidity. Respect is earned, not demanded and the moment you demand it then you've lost it already. Rightly said, Ezekweseli answered her wella.

Dike F(xyz) said...

Yeah! Boko-Haram, the Borno State Governor, Northern politicians, Islamic caucus of the military as well as the Principal of the school arranged and masterminded the "Kidnap"!
President Goodluck Jonathan know those who are sponsoring Boko-Haram but he's just too weak to prosecute them!

Ms Onyeka is simply talking as a beneficiary of the National cake. She can even swear with her life that there's no single pothole in any Nigerian Road.

What ever our grievances are, Mrs. Patience should be addressed as 'that woman' on an international TV. It's just like washing our dirty linens outside! Call her by her name if you must, but not that woman.

Where is Aboki HAJIA ZAINAB MAINA ? Is she not chopping our national cake too? Our so called minister for women affairs. Hmmmmmm. You idiots are here blaming Onyeka Onwenu for a doing something. Don't u guys realize that this is nothing but sabotage by the notherners to destroy the presidency. Am really sorry for Nigerians...

Cofirm no finky Way

Sultan of Sokoto Blames the North...

I have noticed that the WESTERN PRESS and SOME MORONIC Nigerian politicians are shifting the INHERITED POVERTY OF THE NORTH's culture of TALAKAWA-SARAKUNA which promotes POVERTY, on the current admin of GEJ... which is just 2 years and 11 months old?

Do the Western press know that THE NORTHERN ELITES OWN ALMOST ALL THE OIL BLOCKS IN NIGERIA AND HAVE RULED FOR 39 YEARS OUT OF 50?

Do they know that GEJ is the very first president in 100 years to cater for these neglected youths? Do they know that BOKO HARAM BOMBERS AND MASTERMINDS HAVE BEEN ARRESTED IN NORTHERN POLITICIANS HOMES????

They should please take a tutorial on Nigeria before reporting nonsense and blaming ONE MAN for what a group of people did to themselves...

Onyeka is a beneficiary of patience thats why she is saying all these. What help wld d first lady render?. My own is its not a crime not to speak gd english but a crime to say it infront of d world. She shldnt talk in public again

This Onyeka Has been Handsomely rewarded for the song she sang for Jonathan and has become a Government contractor she also Comes to my state to Collect portfolio contracts So I'm not at all surprised She and Reuben Abati are the same ...Poverty is a bastard sha...

Mischievous said...

Onyeka, where were you when Wole. Soyinka was fighting for power to be handed over to her husband when it became obvious Yar' dua could no longer perform is role as President? I lost respect for you when you went to 'sing' for Abacha. Professor Wole Soyinka put his life on the line for the democracy we enjoy today. So it is okay for you to talk.

all these mumu people saying the girls learned the quran too fast, are you really that dumb? they are only reciting one chapter. they've been there for 3 whole weeks. how long did it take to learn d nysc anthem before the first pop? these guys have most likely been making them recite it 247 for the past 3 weeks. they look untouched, and that sounds good.

Onyeka who?? Is it the one with 5 children from 5 men?? The hungry one or another one??

God bless this woman cuz she jst said it all

U re such a jobless fool! Wot do you knw abt job. U lack home training. I wonder if u read dat at all.

Lisa said...

Onyenka should take two seats!! Patience Jonathan gets what she deserves. Nothing was done until they started to pressure them and only then, did she have the audacity to go talking jive and I did not expect anything different from Onyenka afterall, she is awarded some bs title with very generous salary I am sure so what else would one expect!!

Olaide Davies said...

Anty Onyeka, chai u fuck up ma .

PD said...

Wetin be ur own,Madam Onyeka?U didn't have to talk about that...face ur work madam!

Hmm

Its so sad to read this coming from Onyeka Owenu. This is a repeat performance of her role in the Abacha days. The system has a way of forcing people into disrepute at the twilight of their days. Its sad. So sad.

I am not surprised at Onyenka'S defense of the first lady.She a member of the PDP and she currently hold a political office in the Government. Professor Wole Soyinka has not said anything out of place, it is our so called first lady that has disrespected an elected executive Governor of River state, where was Onyeka to call madam first lady to order then. i beg onyeka keep quiet.

U fall my hand woman

Warri said...

Onyeka, you be area woman. Keep quiet.

I am not surprised at Onyenka'S defense of the first lady.She a member of the PDP and she currently hold a political office in the Government. Professor Wole Soyinka has not said anything out of place, it is our so called first lady that has disrespected an elected executive Governor of River state, where was Onyeka to call madam first lady to order then. i beg onyeka keep quiet.

What do..Asari..Pawpaw..Patience and Onyeka all have in common??…apart from the obvious being bloated and round..all seem to hint at it all being a big fuss over nothing!!..
Well the US and UK are not dumb like some…coming to 9ja for nothing…if there wasn’t something..

Onyeka, the bread and butter woman. Go siddon for ground. Yeye dey smell.

First Alison Madueke and now this one talking about Feminist rights...pleeze what's that got to do with corruption??..both male and female steal with reckless abandon...and you come out to chat rubbish supporting whoever foots the bill TODAY!!

TrustGod said...

I just can't help but cry with d way she respond to question.....I hate her

Good write up...both the UK and US would never negotiate with them...for them this is war against Al Queda..9ja has been given ample time to deal with BH and they haven't been able to...now they here...it's another ball game!!...
Even if the girls are muslims they have no right to kidnap them...the Northern leaders are shaking...very afraid...Jona too would likely step down too when the dust settles...

My tots exactly. Nice analyses.

I don't blame her. Loyalty tends to lie with the stomach.

now we know govt contractors
i said there's something evil in this jona govt
once u march in as a saint u wl march out as a devil
even pope has given up on Nig cause to him it can never get better cause even if he himself waka into that govt huse he wl turn to a mean guy

Na bcos she has got a post from the 1st lady dats y she can talk like that

In Nigeria, 3 things happen when people take government position. First they become too fat. Even the NSA that is meant to be fighting BH is now looking very round. Same as Onyeka.

second, they become surprisingly very liquid.. They have too much cash and we dont know from where..

Lastly, they lose their common sense.

Bonario Nnags, carefully mind your language. Be warned for the last time. Be warned.

Kai ...This woman fuck up as i like her reach.Just like Abati

No mind the shameless grandma. Who she for defend before?

She has collected Ghana Must Go abi... What rubbish is she talking really? Is she so dry now that she is looking for extra time of fame? Na because her Pikin no lost she get mouth to dey talk Nyash talk... Abeg make she park well, before dem nyanya her side commot...

Triple chaiiiii!!! Onyeka, u tooo??!!! Sad so very very sad! See wot money & power will cause. What happened to all ur values? It's a really really big shame, i'm so disappointed! U used to stand for wot is right, u were some1 I used to respect, admire & look up to but obviously u've been bought over. Like Ruben Abati, u v sold out. From classical music u v jumped to rock & roll & now sing a new tune. Truly u never know a person till they have money or power. So so sad... Don't let them use u to spoil ur own good name, from hero to zero.

I strongly believe the governor is involved.

Centenary money working. Very convenient to play the Feminist card. The same woman that insults and disrespects journalists is talking about disrespect. I guess if Reuben Abati and Labaran Maku can turn out to be what they are at the moment no Nigerian can withstand the urge of stoeln money. DG my foot.

Aymii said...

Ah dey tell you......AGIP......Prof Jerry gana tins........you don't talk against the government you serve!

On 2 the Next!

Avoidable?

Aymii said...

This charles Arinze guy....av bin reading your comments and the praises of oga jonah and mama peace never cease to come out your mouth..........
Are you a cook or househelp at the presidential villa????? .....just wondering...

On 2 the Next!

I don lose respect for her long time ago. When she joined the million man march for Abacha back then, that was the last straw. She was singing stupid songs then. Some of us no forget oh.

Aymii said...

Anon 9.10...Lmao @ jonah stepping down after the dust settles...ma guy yaa dreaming in 5D!

That dude is power crazed....he won't let go of that seat easily.....2015 will be darn interesting.

On 2 the Next!

Hmmm,dis Country can neva be gud,all man protecting their pot of soup.thank God av traded my 9ja passport.
Ola Brampton say so

ABI O. THIS WOMAN IS COLLECTING SERIOUS KISHI FROM FED GOVT.

kitchen music said...

Campaign Song for #BringBackOurGirls BY DannyP (@DannyPKME) DL, Share, RT and Join the Campaign http://t.co/XCd7WAqNwb
linda pls post this song

kitchen music said...

Campaign Song for #BringBackOurGirls BY DannyP (@DannyPKME) DL, Share, RT and Join the Campaign http://t.co/XCd7WAqNwb
linda pls post this song tnks

kitchen music said...

linda pls post this song . God go bless you

ONYEKA. UNFORTUNATELY EVEN THO U ARE ABOUT 30 YRS OLDER THAN I AM, I STILL CALL U BY NAME BEOS U HAVE MESSED WITH MY DEAR UNCLE OR DADDY WOLE SOYINKA.

YOU WEY BE EDUCATED WOMAN WITH PEDIGREE, HOW COULD YOU STOOP THIS LOW, AND TRY TO DISTRACT US FROM SAVING OUR GIRLS? I HAVE LOST ALL RESPECT FOR U ONYEKA.

IS IT THAT YOU ARE TOO OLD AND SEEKING DESPERATE ATTENTION? ABEG, TINA TURNER WEY SENIOR U STILL DEY SING, DOLLY PARTON SELF.

MAMA ABEG DONT DO LONG THROAT BECOS U ARE COLLECTING PEANUTS FROM FED GOVT.

RESPECT YOURSELF ONYEKA!

kitchen music said...

linda pls post this song pls post this great song

kunle said...

If you want to soil your name, go and collect govt position from GEJ unless you are ready to influence him rightly. I can't even read further for now. Imagine, the protest has make you ppl to be more focus when the girls were abducted, where were you. Do you all the shout before you can do your job which are relatively important. All is for selfish purpose. I hope my fellow Nigerian wise up and select good leaders with would 1st lady. Not ppl displaying their emotions.

Rewind, Onyeka Onwenu, right from the Abacha days exposed herself has someone who is only on the side of money and not the people.

AssLicker 101

And who is warning him? What has he said "wrong".....I dey smell big nchi for ur side oo.
Jennipukka

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

You are a bigger fool for making such a statement. If everyone is contesting who is going to vote. You have the gut to insult Wole Soyinka. Who the hell are you?

what a disappointment, ONYEKA U insane u fool. i can see u sold ur BIRTH RIGHT for a penny. u don join the Senseless people. YEYE

who does not have a basket won't value one. no wonder u be oloshoooo, yeye yenka

Biko this her talk is too long. #giving me a headache.

Alagbado-ode said...

@Chuks Ogamba, you're stupid and uninformed. How many laureates has evet come out of ur useless village? Do you think d Nobel is like ur useless National honours that ur clueless pressy keeps bestowing on known criminals and drugpushersin Abuja? Some of us are very proud of d confraternity that Papa Wole started in U.I that time.If u have been lucky enough to have been a member u would have knowned following d 4 compass points and 7 rudder blades of d pyrates confraternity would have made a lot differences to ur miserable lubbish life .Ewu lubber with no home training!

Oriental Eye said...

The same Onyeka Onwenu who made a documentary titled 'Squandering of Riches'in the 80's. Now she is part of the 'Squandering Party'.

Clearly, God gave this woman more talent than brains and the small brain power she hitherto possessed was lost to Abacha's 2 million man march.

miss onwenu, abeg park well. before you know it, shes on TV singing campaign songs for jonathan. woman, your time for stardom as passed, you are part of the old nigeria, we dont need you in the new. Besides, the constitution does not regard the office of the first lady, shes just the wife of the president and she shouldnt be accorded presidential respect. shes not an elected leader. Onwenu's feminist world view is why she couldnt have a marital life. SMH

@Ayemii,didn't knw I have a Fan like u,,,,,,,,,,,am so glad u find time to read my craps that I sometimes write.Thanks again.
About my Job,bro,I work in an oil and gas firm,so am far from d Villa.
And abt singing anthems of praise to GEJ and cohorts............He is my elected president.....in whom am well pleased.
@Tomi...........Onyeka Onwenu is not ur problem bro....don't hate her........hate the nature of politics of bitterness and antagonism we play here.
Its not out of place to have a rational thinking ability.

Onyeka ONwenu or whatever you are called you are EATING now and talking RUBBISH. Chop finish and your eye go clear. Mama Peace is going to be the @LAST FIRST LADY'' she has mess in the (desecrated) the office..... my desecrated might be big English for her.

This woman Onyeka you are a SHAME to your admirers God is watching you in 7D. ''who pays the piper .....? so you MUST play the tune you are PAID to sing. A good name is BETTER than RICHES and WEALTH.

You are going the way of Segun Adeniyi, Reuben Abati and many more to come Onyeka be careful or else we go forget you. Pls encourage the Last Lady to attend Adult School and pls don't you EVER call our Prof to order again EVER. Nah who you be sef...... advice Mama peace to read Queen Premier shes a Global DISGRACE and you dey support mumu

A million likes and a hug if u don't mind.

Onyeka you are one of the COURT JESTERS but guess what we are wiser now than before contunu in patience jonathan voice

@Ayemii,didn't knw I have a Fan like u,,,,,,,,,,,am so glad u find time to read my craps that I sometimes write.Thanks again.
About my Job,bro,I work in an oil and gas firm,so am far from d Villa.
And abt singing anthems of praise to GEJ and cohorts............He is my elected president.....in whom am well pleased.
@Tomi...........Onyeka Onwenu is not ur problem bro....don't hate her........hate the nature of politics of bitterness and antagonism we play here.
Its not out of place to have a rational thinking ability.

Gbokus said...

Shame on you ma.

Elizabeth O said...

God pls give me husband this year in Jesus name amen and a set of twins to follow immediately amen.

To all the people castigating Prof. Soyinka for calling Mrs. Dame Patience 'that woman', you have a special place in hell. Now, show me a man that has not openly or secretly hurled insults at the president or his office since this boko haram menace?? how then is the first lady's case any different? You guys should remove the log of wood in your eyes 1st before attempting to remove speck in someone else' eye. The first lady hasn't shown, in a way, that she deserves to be respected, because if as a first lady, she released that unintelligent video to the 'world' in her attempt to find a solution to the current situation, then she is as unserious as Mr. Bean. Thus, it is well justified of Soyinka to address her as he did. As for Mrs. Onwenu, any dumb person, after listening to that interview, would know you are only protecting your personal and selfish political gains, so using Soyinka as an excuse for your vexation or unintelligent responses are uncalled for. Madam, please do yourself a favour by going into hiding till we recover our girls, because if Soyinka decides to reply you on this case, you might be forced to remain mute for life! Nuff said.

Cee said...

Madam Onyeka Onwenu I see you have been bought over. Please don't fight for women. Wole Soyinka spoke well, if I were in his shoes I will say just the same thing.

we on Uncle Wole's side challenge Mama Peace to go on CNN for her own interview ( it will be 15mins of comedy)
As for Onyeka, Soyinka was simple referring to the 1st lady, making the statement to look like he disrespects all women is an exagerration and a misfit. He said that woman which is definite.

I agree with Onyeka, We must still reamin civil even in the present situation. Chistiane Amapour will only be using us to get high ratings for her program. God has put her there as our 1st Lady. We deserve the kind of leaders we get. God does not make mistake. We must respect Authority whether they are good or bad. God Bless Nigeria

PEOPLE WHO READILY USE ABUSIVE WORDS ARE MOST OFTEN THAN NOT NUMSKULLS. WHATEVER ONYEKA SAID IS HER OPINION. MUST YOU USE SUCH ABUSIVE WORDS JUST BECAUSE YOU DON'T BELONG TO THE SAME SCHOOL OF THOUGHT?

@BONARIO: IT'S PALM FROND NOT FRONT...ANON 5:53, IF YOU HAD A MOTHER, I WONDER HOW YOU'D REACT IF SOMEONE CALLED HER #OLOSHI

*VIOLENCE DOESN'T PAY, ABUSIVE WORDS GET YOU NOWHERE*

SPACEY SAYS SO

LINDODO POST MY COMMENT O BIKO

She is just saying women should be respected be it first lady or not.tink of it no matter the situation respect chikena.

linda,there are lot of morons on your blog who jump to conclusions based on your often misleading headlines.these ones don't bother to read full report before posting comments like "i lost my respect",she don national cake, and the stupid proverb bonario made". so becareful how u present your headlines.
only discerning minds and those who reason with their heads will grasp the full import of ms Onwuenu's interview

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 208   Newer› Newest»