Caleb University releases statement on students' riot on May 14th | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 17 May 2014

Caleb University releases statement on students' riot on May 14th

Find a statement from the school's PRO, Olusola Emiola, below
The protest by male students on campus on Wednesday 14, May 2014 had nothing to do with religion. A certain man, a non student was apprehended by our security personnel for trying to bring prohibited items into the school. After much interrogation, he mentioned the names of the culprits involved. An official went to the male hostel to get the students mentioned, one of whom was praying in the hostel. The students involved along with other students faced with student disciplinary committee cases took advantage of the interruption of prayers to start the protest.
The university properties worth millions were destroyed and this act was carried out by the male students. The students have been sent home on recess to resume back 2nd of June 2014.
Signed: Public Relations Executive, Olushola Emiola.

49 comments:

Trust the school to add the cost of the damaged properties to them in their school fees.
Violence does no one no good.

Anyikwa chinonso said...

Hmm.. Observing them and their riot ish
Hello pals, I would love you guyz to take a stroll on my tech blog, We offer latest on freebrowsing tips, computer tips, mobile tips and other related tips.

DOBY DOBY said...

Definitely d staff of d schl wil av a diff version of d story frm wat d students wil say...

Caleb university should close up the school for a while until the riot is resolve. But I fear for the tution fee next academic section

Well, that's a good excuse

yea yeah.....

Lmao... They thought that his the perfect way to escape frm there crimes.... I hope they are been punished severely....

Ok #bright bravo#

Nife said...

Arrant Nonsense

Nife said...

Arrant Nonsense

Does the P.R.O understand English language at all? U interup a man's prayer and he fights back and u say it's not religious?

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

There is no message passed across on the post as long as am concerned

Ok. Now understand d full story.

I hear

Linda why mixing Bowen riot pics with caleb's

raski zaki said...

das bad of dem

MECURY said...

Linda, take ur time, this is not what we are talking about now. We are talking about US army, Nigerian army and Borno state.

Fox River!! Lol

Students should get ready to pay for damages lol

Students will end up paying more.

Stupid students,na who lose now

Is it not possible to protest without breaking things up?? And people wonder why there is domestic violence in the Nigerian society. When will everybody learn to behave as human being and not an animal?
Yeah, the students will pay for the damages, silly people.

Double wahala for dead body,

Trust you to insult authorities as usual without a single sence of responsibilty.

halimsy said...

What ever

Was Caleb University or Bowen University?

Imagine the press release from a so called university. Sounds like something written by an okada association chairman. The students have been sent
home on recess to "resume back" 2nd of June 2014.
WTF is resume back? I pity the students of that school.

*Resume back* ain't tautology existing no more? Isoryt!
Bilal

makasteve said...

Same story told in 2 version. @least their was a disruption of prayer

makasteve said...

Same story told in another form

Congratulations..boko haram newest recruits..what do u stand to gain with violence..

Endtime rampage...~MR EDDY~says so via www.facebook.com/eddywhiz

That is so not true.. Obviously they won't say the truth but why lie and call yourselves Christians... The school depresses people, one almost committed suicide.. It doesn't matter what they tell the media, we know the truth and also what goes on in the school and we want our voice to be heard...

Up Gunners!!!

Destruction of school properties is uncalled for.. Dat is violence .. They shud pay for it

#Pesty

That wat he would say bt dey wont wanna tell d world d truth. These is y I hate private university. Glorified secondary school

Because of the epileptic academic calendars' of the Nigerian public university, parents send their kids, some individuals sponsor themselves to private universities and some of them may lack a conducive environment for proper learning even with high tutions as considered by the Nigerian standard. TO be specific our institutes need to start training and shaping students with the skills and techniques of piloting a growing economy.

Why attend a private school if u know u wouldn't be able to keep up with their rules. I pity ur parents cos they are definitely going to pay double of whatever was destroyed. Nonsense

But why couldn't they wait for d guy to finish up his prayers before latching on him? Will the police just barge into a church service to arrest a criminal without waiting for the service to be concluded? I think d school authoritiy is culpable here...smacks of some unbridled overzealousness.

Alagbado-ode said...

Maybe subsequent releases from any of d socalled private universities be made to pass through Oby Ekwesili's table for proper vetting so that we can always leave d substances and keep pursueing d shadows of some grammatical or typographical goofments if there is any word like that- sorry I'm not an Englishman and I no go school o!

Anon 4.27... Where is the insult there? Bonario only spoke his mind but u are the one insulting? U don dey beef abi?? Smh. Abeg if u don't have anything better to say just shut up!!

Dante said...

"RESUME BACK" from a university statement??? Nigeria we hail thee

Lanre Daodu said...

Lets read some cheering success stories as well.http://allternativecommunication.net/success-stories.php

WTF are you all saying,money isn't our problem..we can pay double of the fee,all what we need is our freedom...so if you all don't have any thing to say den short the F**K up

Nothing good come out of violence

jefferson jackson said...

Its all lies... Dat idiot is lying mehn, d potter slapped d student

Bless you for this......

Tell them oh....

The riot was as a result of the obnoxious rules and regulations made by the school authority; rules that are not in the handbook, rules we didn’t sign up for. There was a time up to three hundred students were suspended for a week because they didn’t go to church. Many like my roommates took this as an advantage to leave the school even though they were not suspended. No student complained about this. We know it’s a Christian school, that we have to go to church and we know the penalty if we don’t.
But since 2013, the school has been coming up with unbelievable and senseless rules. It all started with the introduction of flare skirts meanwhile the handbook permits straight skirts. This was very hard for us to take in because we have to spend money buying new skirts. It didn’t stop there. Soon enough, we were told not to wear slippers out of the hostel before six pm, to dress corporately to go to the cafeteria to buy food during week days before six pm, the boys not to wear skinny trousers, girls not to put on many bracelets, students being able to leave school only on Tuesdays and Thursdays, girls not to wear armless under their suit, students not to wear jalamia, girls shouldn’t wear crop flare skirts because the registrar doesn’t like the style, the girls should wear skirts covering their knees or tie wrapper in the hostel and so on and so forth. Earlier on the day of the riot, some boys’ hair wear forcefully cut and then many of them were suspended for two week for not cutting their hair, shaving their beard and for putting on palm slippers.
As if these rules were not bad enough, when students disobey them, instead of the school authority following the usual procedure of asking them to fill demerit form, they were beaten and maltreated. The girls have been slapped on several occasions, insulted and their hair forcefully cut by the hall manager. The boys are usually beaten up by the chief security officer, students’ affair officer and security officers. Our parents and even insulted right in our faces. Recently, a girl was punched on the chest and slapped by the chief security officer. All these got the students angry. We complained but the school didn’t listen to us so we had to force it to. Maybe if it had allowed us to form a students union, the riot and great loss on the part of the school could have been prevented.