More details on how civilians staved off Boko Haram attack, killed dozens | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 14 May 2014

More details on how civilians staved off Boko Haram attack, killed dozens

An update by Dr. Peregrino Brimah of ENDS.ng
More details are coming in on how the Civilian-JTF, civilian vigilantes staved off a Boko Haram attack and possible abduction in Kalabalge local government, northeast Borno state, near the Cameroonian border.
The villagers who were prepared for the Boko Haram attack had dug out trenches for the purpose. The Rann village, located in the middle of a Boko Haram strong-hold, had been attacked by Boko Haram in the recent past. In that attack they had allegedly acquired two light-weight armored tanks and some AK47 rifles. They refused to turn in this ammunition to the government in an increasingly common response as more villages in the north are determined to take up arms to defend themselves in the current state of deadly insecurity. Continue...
The invading terrorists who launched an early Tuesday morning attack on Rann, Shuwa and neighboring villages, were met by a strong and determined villager resistance. Over 200 terrorists were killed. The full number of the dead is not yet known as the villagers ran in pursuit of the escaping and injured terrorists into the bushes to continue their extermination.

More than 35 Boko Haram terrorists were captured. One APC and more than four hilux trucks and several motorcycles were captured from the terrorists.

At the time of this report, about 20 villagers were said to have lost their lives in the fierce, brave battle.

Nigerians in the worst affected regions are seeking the formal right to bear arms and defend themselves. The Borno Civilian-JTF sent this request to Nigeria’s President, Goodluck Ebele Jonathan in a meeting with security agents this month. The ENDS civil activist group also sent a formal request for Executive Authorization of the people to bear arms, supported by the government to defend their territory and hunt and eliminate Boko Haram terrorists. The government is yet to officially respond to the open letter delivered to the State secretary on April 25th, 2014.

In related news, there was Mutiny in the military today as soldiers reportedly attacked a General officer commanding (GOC) of the Nigerian army 7th division, Major General Abubakar Mohammed, who was accused of sabotaging the military mission and not reporting to a particular mission he was requested to. He was said to have fled as he was fired upon when he came to his office at the Maimalari barracks. The soldiers went in pursuit of the commander, whose whereabouts are not known as at the time of this report.

Dr. Peregrino Brimah for http://ENDS.ng [Every Nigerian Do Something]

186 comments:

Interesting #bright bravo#

This is good news! Praise to the cosmic host for their intervention

Hmm wahala dey these northerners are not different from iraq,iran,syria n turkey n now I am believing dat APC are strongly behind boko haram we shall how dis shit end

Dis is actually very good.

DOBY DOBY said...

Pls Gej shld compensate dis villagers wit money oo.. bt linda upload d pics of d dead bh plus d cars dey acquired

This is why citizens need to bear arms to protect themselves from an incompetent and inefficient govt. By the way the Military needs to take over this God forsaken country

Yes it's abt that tym o

Wow! I,commend their gallantry effort,nothing equals the spirit of people united.
The earlier they take their destiny in their hands the better for them.

kadi said...

about time..dis deranged terrorist time is up

Just see the small boys in this photograph...the Nigerian government has forced them to become killers at this tender age.

I know exactly wat the problem of this country is......... May God help we civilians.

Action film. In#MI'svoice#
$$k@y$$

Good Goood. Kill them all. R.I.P. The brave fighters

Nice one, May the souls of the innocent departed vilagers Rest in Peace....Amen.

D hunter bcoms d hunted!!!

Let not let Bygones be Bygones anymore, let's buy a gun...

One APC!! One APC!! One APC hmmmmmmm more news plsss

That's brave of the villagers. Bt mehn govt need to do smthing fast cos if BH comes back again for the villagers this time it might be smthing else. And hw I so wish that the soldiers caught that their useles army general. Jst a warning to other generals selling Nigeria out. God help us!

Very good

great alhja said...

Islam religion of peace, BH ALLAH did not send u dis. Don't piece niger 4 us

There has been one too many attacks..let every nigerian rise and fight for their right.well done

Jane said...

Wow! Since d govt can't do anything they r defending themselves. Brave I must say. Govt should seriously do something to protect the lives of the pple who live in and aroind d affected areas....
The Lord is our strenght.

May the souls of the brave villagers RIP

Wow!dats brave of dem,by d time pple take up arms to defend themselves,dis boko nonsense will be extinct in no time#clappg hands in jubilation!#

Damn!.....i was enjoying the newz, not untill i got the area where 20 civilians lost thier lives, May dier soul R.i.p Amen!

pretty pee said...

More grace to there elbow, I love dis.kudos to them.

This is good. We can't continue waiting on the government, cos they are just too slow. If the village hadn't decided to take matters into their hands, more lives would have been lost and their children possibly abducted.

ubi said...

Now I know there's God ooooo only d bokoharam people waka come jam aggressive villagers Hahahaha.....they will hear weannnnn!!waiting for more juicy gist.

interesting.....

God is at work, but bearing amunation individually will be more dangeriouse to this nation. I salute their courage, well done. First time comment

Fews times jungle justice is the answer for a weak and corrupt leadership.

Otush said...

Talk about bravery...

Haba Nigeria, is this the same Boko Haram that the Nigerian Military and special forces are finding difficult to locate and Bring back the Kindnapped Girls??????

All this is one big staged show.....
The politicians behind this mess are now aware that their secrete is about to get busted.
They have just paid this poor villagers to stage this attack... My opinion!!!

This is both good and bad news, Civil War...

Lord have Mercy #Pray For our Dear Nigeria

This doesnt sound gud one bit bcos i can clearly state that nigeria will be observing an evolution if the goverment authorise this bcos if borno civilians are allowed to hold weavon and use it freely then other states will start requesting for authrisation also and by so doing even little kids will start holding weavon. Nw tell me doesnt that look like an evotion, pls goverment should pay the soldiers allowances and provide adequete weavons so that they will do there job whole heartedly.... God bless Nigeria...

What is good news? That the people had to take it upon themselves and lose their lives because the government can't do shit? What is good news here

I can really sense it, the end of boko haram is near....

YES!! Way to go KALBALGES!!! "Why sit we here till we die"? We shall win the war against terrorism IJN! Amen!

MiGhTy N said...

It is about time for us to start burning boko haram yansh

It's a good idea to allow them bear arms to protect themselves, but what happens after they wipe out boko haram, they might turn the gun on themselves. On the other news, I think soldiers should weed out other soldiers who have jeopardized missions and endangered lives.

#sigh of relief# God is in control

Interesting.

Dis sure is how to go. Evil can NEVER rule over good. D govt shld progress in dis light. D end is here for boko

Yes,its hi time we realise to open our eyes and be wise to stand and fight4 our right till we see the light

#bring back our girls#

################GOD###################################################punish###################################################devil############################

Dear lord!, please come and fix ur beloved country by urself please. IJN amen

Glo said...

Hmmmm! We are watching. We will get to know who is behind the bh. Our prayers are working people. Lets keep it up!

The govt now has to tread with caution... Givin arms to civilians is not d problem, but som of dis civilians culd also start usin dem to meet thr own selfish ends (I mean armed robbery and d likes). This are trying times for our beloved country and our president too

Thank U jesUs

Prayer works!

very very good.ALLAH be praised.na God go punish all those boko haram rams!!!!!! GEJ is just looking like a fool everyday,with his housegirl of a wife by his side

k'1 said...

truth b told i know dey nid to defend demselves bt allowin evry to carry gun around would b a disaster in d near future.....pple wud begin to gun each oda dwn in the near jus lik western world all in d name of self defence......i rily pray d govt stands up n equip d army.N i rily dnt undastnd dis man n his advoctn for personal ownership of weapons....

Gud news

God be praise, all dis will soon come to an end...

As much as this is good news, I am afraid it will lead to more violence hence increase loss of lives, so I am happy and Not happy @ d same time...I just hope our "figure head" president will wake up sooner than later, before its too late! Godbless Nigeria...

Linda for the first time in weeks yu have given me a great news that fills my heart with joy. My joy knows no bound right now. Since the govt can't protect them. Let them protect demselves. BRAVO to these young men am impressed

Max said...

Mutiny is not a good development but if Maj. Abubakar Mohammed is actually sabotaging the millitary mission, he shld b investigated n punished accordingly. Then no punishment for d brave soldiers cos he s endangering their lives

OJAI baby said...

Ojai says" good to hear really, and how I wish every civilian in the north can stand up to this type of fight, at least that will put fear in them

paolo rossi said...

Mutiny in the army ! We are getting there gradually. Revolution everywhere in Nigeria will send Boko Haram and other insurgents back to hell where they belong. They won't live to see their young grow. Untimely death is d portion of every terrorist who has decided to trouble Nigeria. Bravo to you civilian JTF

MissBusyBody said...

This has been a long time coming...

Chop Chop said...

Well done. The vehicles and weapons recovered should be used to fight the terrorists.

Praise master Jesus.

Maybe one day, every Nigeria will pick up arms, and defend Nigeria. Bravo Warrirors. May the souls of those civilians fighting to defend themselves eternal rest. My blood is green, we ve no other nation.

Speechless

One thing i know in all these is that God is taking us somewhere.

Gyasi said...

I luv the inclusion of APC though I know what it means in this context maybe this story is a political jamboree to soil the image of their opposition party that is if they have any image at all lol.

----Via Apple(R) Store---

Victor Helen said...

Brave Hearts!

Nice step. We shud all learn to defend ourselves. Let's not wait for d government cos dey wud respond late.
As for me, I've started preparing my ammunitions. My arsenal has already been opened. Make dem come show themselves.

#sirikenna

Yusuf ...Bono said...

please read below what the Nigerian Soldiers said

According to two soldiers who spoke with SR, emotions ran high when they saw the bodies of their colleagues ambushed and killed by Boko Haram men in Chibok, Borno state. The angry soldiers immediately started shooting into the air, complaining that their superior have failed to provide them with adequate weaponry with which to fight the war against the better-armed Boko Haram militants.

“We the soldiers don’t have the kind of arms and ammunition that [Boko Haram] fighters have. So everyday, they kill our men anyhow, but it is never published in the media,” said one source. The other source also complained that the commanding officers “are too busy ‘eating’ money. And they do not pay our allowances on time. And once [a soldier dies], nobody knows what happens to his allowances again.”

and you said that civilians killed about 200 book harams with matchet, knife, and charms....

its either Linda is a clown or the person that sent her this story.......

That was a good start if the story is true

LOL…I Hope Patience Jonathan Doesn’t See This Video...lol..click watch here

Lovely! That's more like it.

Greatest news in a long time! Dis BH ppl need to be thought more lessons! Fight on brave ones

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

It's now a rat race..!!

Why won't him sabotage the mission can't you see his name? He is a sponsor and won't be willing to end BH because if there is no BH his barrack budget will be low so he will not see what to steal from I have said it the problem is no GEj the problem is the north north is their own worst enemy they all should repent and make a resolution to end BH not crying on the pages of newspapers we know them see how God has expose this one now one by one God will expose all of them. Ada Agulu said so

sunny said...

Can't they add some pictures? Anyway they tried..

Nice one, we need more of this bravery! And the Army Major, really? God punish am

Good development. Our lame duck government can go to hell. People are now taking their destiny in their hands. Shame on our leaders.

Plateaupedia said...

Brave! Those are Heroes. Its πσ† about tweeting #BringBackOurGirls and protesting up and down

Kudos to the villagers

Brave People. I salute your Courage.

Goodnews

They should not wait for any fucking authority.

SouthEastern said...

Story teller Dr P, still no photos, no evidence? and it amazes me how people keep on believing this guy simply because he has something different to say about Boko attacks in another village. I refuse to be deceived.

Where are the pictures of the dead bodies,hilux or the motorcycle?

Tank God, seriously lovin dis wow

APC trucks? I don't get it

Boss-Thug said...

I hereby declare Nigeria a country of emergency. The millitary should take over the government. GoodLuck back to Ijaw. Nigeria is supposed to be split into three countries then they will be lasting peace, after all they are countries with less than 2million citizens...........Dig

God help Nigeria

Truetalk said...

Good move!They should keep it up. These insurgents are getting bolder. They had backed the villagers to the wall and they have retaliated back. Enough is enough. The military/ govt is not protecting them, so its high time they do things to protect themselves. RIP to the villagers who lost their lives in this fight.

May the souls of those 20 departed villagers rest in peace and may God be wt their family!!!!!!!..ths is the bestest news of ths year,and xo xo hapi.menh God is xo xo good his name be praised.200 boko haram gone fm the face of ths earth.father I tank u once again for the bravely of ths vilagers,whs I cou just high 5 all of them.

If dat useless clueless badluck jona have any sense best thin for him to do now is go straigth to dat villa and hug ev one involved dat took part in ths attack and tank them for the bravely*useless president*

Very Good

Very good this is what it has come too,if you cannot defend us we will defend ourselves.God is definitely going to fight this battle with us

Ehen finally some news that makes sense.

Show us the graphic photo

God is at work. Expose them A̶̲̥̅̊ℓℓ. Bravo to Rann civilians. RIP to those who lost their lives

If the government will not protect us, we will take up arms. I pray other Nigerians will take up a fight for our rights.

HM! I HOPE ALL THIS DOES NOT TURN INTO A WAR.........

I'm really enjoying ds, God be with u JFT civilians, u guyz shall surely conquer those bloody bastards, cowards that's what they are. Boko bastards, d game is up, ur time of destruction is NOW.

gist said...

the war has just begun

Cum Alloy na wich one b cosmic host again?4 ur info God neva do change of name abi u wan form PC here?take tym.

This is a very interesting news.

Olasunkaneminikan said...

This is a clear political game. I so smell foul play

serves them right

U no 1 tin most of us in d south dnt riily understand hw crious d situatn is.am imagining if my village shld lose 20 pple in 1 day wetin go happen?its tym we al get involved 2 eliminate dis evil called boko haram.let us talk,mobilise,pressurise,fight until d r wiped off our nation.enof is enof!

zizy said...

This is great news! Afteral we provide light for ourselves with generator, provide water by digging wells and bore holes. Security for ourselves is next!

daisy dixon said...

Wow dis is interesting,kill dos aboki men called boko haram.Thank GOD dos prophecies by pastor David Oyedepo,pastor David Ibiyeomie and pastor Tunde Bakare are gradually coming 2 pass.BOKO HARAM abi na BOKO HAGOAT ur end is near.

Oya let the Action continue and R.I.P to the departed souls!!

Cum Alloy na wich one b cosmic host again?4 ur info God neva do change of name abi u wan form PC here?take tym.

Medicine after death. about time you people took matters into your own hands. Your own people have been killed and massacred like fowl for years, all of una sidon dey look like mumu because no be koran dem tear

It is good to fight and die than to live in fears. Bravo. Good effort.

Good to hear that,dis is gettin more interesting

Good news. They should not give away their strategy but forge ahead. What annoys me the most of the the military has been compromised. That AbubÀkar should be butchered

Good to hear dat...is time for civilian to retaliate

Vice president----North
Senate president----North
Speaker house of rep------North
PDP National Chairman---North
Head of Service----------North
Inec Chairman-------North
Inspector Gen. of Police------North
Chief justice of federation-----North
President court of appeal---- North
Efcc chairman----North
President federal high court--- North
National security Adviser ------ North
Chief of defence staff-----North
Controller,custom service----- North
Controller prison service------ North
Richest man in Africa ----- North
85% petroleum marketers -----North
80% of oil block in owners In Nig ---
Northerners
Boko haram ---- North
99% of beggars in Nig -----Northerners
Yet the poorest states in Nigeria and educationally
backwards area in Nigeria are in the north..
Highest number of ghost in da north.
Highest local government ----north
What else do they want?
Una wan add our girls?
# bringbackourgirls

Really interesting.

chika said...

Thank God!This is good news..God help Nigeria.

There is really God ooo. Now you see our prayers have been answered. This is God at work, Nigeria will experience a revolution very soon and all those who say the poor will sleep with hungry stomach will have no place to hide. #newnigeria . God bless Nigeria

hannah said...

Thank God so so happy

Linda stop copying rubbish reports from websites financed by the people who are against this government fight against terror..Go through their stories you will read things for yourself...

Bravo,descendants of the great El- kanemi.Shame on GEJ & his rag-tag Govt.

Since dis money mungers don't wana do tins right in ds country. D bloods of d innocent will fight dem. 4 soldiers 2 pursue dere general mehn I c all d evil men in ds country on dere heels

Wonderful. Great one dear villagers.

Bony bony said...

Good news, God wil help you

War against crime

Better news. Keep it up as you prepare the worst but still pray for the best #bring back our girls and carry the boys#

GREAT NEWS!!!

GOOD....kill them all

MzAdex said...

yes yes yes... rip to the souls they lost....BOKO ....GOD is on your case, and unah never see anything......i swear this is the first good news have heard in days....linpopo grab your gun and meet me in chibok....

EMANMI said...

What more can I say? These people are pushed to the wall. Army army army !!!!!!!

We can do it

LANNISTR said...

WHY ! DID THeY KILL. THOSe BOKO GUYS NW? THAT'S JUNGLe JUSTICe.O.THOSe CIVILLIANS ARe 2 B DISCIPLINeD.CUS IT.... IS SAID THOU.SHALL NT KILL.....THO.

LEEZ said...

Nice one! RIP to the villagers who lost their Live.

LEEZ said...

*lives

I knew this apc are never do well ? They should just have mercy on the citizens.... Apc dont kill us alllllllllll

Those poor villagers are our fallen heroes.Their families should be well taken care of by the govt.I salute their courage

I have my reservations regarding arming the Civilian JTF. But kudos to them for trying to win back their lands from terrorists.

Yes! Yes!! Yes!!! Defend yourselves!

Time has come for us all to defend ourselves.May God help us....... Mama Ella

Chidimma said...

Wow ! How did we get here lord? This is highly unacceptable🙈

joycee said...

Thank God for dat...the civillians ll start d killing then boko haram ll run for their lives.

Dis is gret news..sumthin d military men hav bin unable to.enough is enough

God I thank you Ƒσя Ūя̲̅ work

Good for the civilians, bad look for the government and military. Why can't they protect the people?

Dis is d best news I have heard dis month. Nigerians we all have to wake up nd defend ourselves lest boko haram will take ova dis country as it's very obvious dat d military can't evn help at all.

Good one! Since govt can't do it we will help our selves. Dats a courageous move. Keep it up, guys. @SHoK

I am not in support of releasing arms to the civilians. Let's think of the future and the risk involved in giving civilians guns. As for the Villagers, I commend your boldness and Allah shall continue to give you people the strenght to fight for your land. God Bless Nigeria..#bringbackourgirls......Clip

Shut up!

I have always felt the FG should arm all those villagers, since the military cannot protect them. May the lives of those villagers rest in peace. They fought more gallantly than many Nigerian soldiers ever will.

Shut up!! Olodo. #Bringbackourgirls n take this fool.

Supported

Supported

Linda de mutiny was not successful so we call it attempted mutiny. The GOC will declear those involved shoot aside since they didn't succeed in the mutiny. #ILoveMillitary

BE ENLIGHTENED....An armoured personnel carrier ( APC ) is type of armoured fighting vehicle
designed to transport infantry to the battlefield. APCs are colloquially referred to
as 'battle taxis' or 'battle buses', among other things.

BE ENLIGHTENED...... An armoured personnel carrier ( APC ) is type of armoured fighting vehicle
designed to transport infantry to the battlefield. APCs are colloquially referred to

An armoured personnel carrier ( APC ) is type of armoured fighting vehicle

Walata, which part of this story gives u the impression that APC is behind Boko? I hope u know the APC in the story refers to Armored Personnel Carrier. Olodo.

BE ENLIGHTENED ...... An armoured personnel carrier ( APC ) is type of armoured fighting vehicle

Seconded on both counts! I don't know what they r still waiting for.

Great!

Linda quit fucking deleting people's comments

Fati said...

So, where are the bodies of the alleged killed boko haram dudes?

.......lol...

Biggie blockhead weavon nikan kor...... weapon #maga

Bigeye NG said...

Some Nigerians are funny, how can anyone think APC (amoured personnel carrier) referred in this context is the same thing as All progressive congress? if you dont know what to say just SHUT UP! AND STOP MISLEADING PEOPLE

chemmywalata walata said...
Hmm wahala dey these northerners are not different from iraq,iran,syria n turkey n now I am believing dat APC are strongly behind boko haram we shall how dis shit end
May 14, 2014 at 6:37 PM

Brave heart it shows God is not asleep it is well

If you are not comfortable with the regulations of the school why not opting out instead of rampage. Regulations are meant to streamline bad things and it's for the benefit of everybody.

Choiiii Walata, I no fit laff, so u think say na APC as a party d reporter is talking about???????????? Hahahahahahaha, God o!!, there are people on ds platform sha.

Idiot like u @anon 7;04PM, comments from people like u disgust, cos u are in a safe zone, that is y who think u can write BS like this!!! Fool, ur opinion indeed. Ewu congo.

@edDREAMZ, what is weavon n evotion?? Are u ok @all? Or ur China phone dn begin malfunction??

U re d clown here 7:51PM, David defeated Goliath with jus a stone, there is nothing impossible about this news, so pls shut da fuck up.

That's Very Brave Boko Haram must be eliminated And all who ha ve hand in it

Mr dreamz, your written English continually gives me great cause for alarm. 'Weavon'??????!!!!! Braids nko?!

Nice one there@anon 11:43

Not interested in d lecture. Sabi too much. Nice one villagers. Our military will come for training.

@walata... Real olodo... Lmao

BH mess with the wrong ppl. the major problem in this country is the politicians and if BH were sensible enough, these greedy politicians and their families should be the targets and not poor civilians who are equally the oppressed.. now its the time to fight back since these insensitive and clueless government have refused to protect us. they are rather looking for the next opportunity to steal money from the country... give us guns lets fight BH ourselves

Monkey Face said...

Weavons???

Like seriously?

Armoured Personnel Carrier(APC)and not All Progressive Congress (APC). Please, try and make your reports simply comprehensible enough to the average mind.

Valerie said...

The Labor of our 20 Rann civilian heroes gone shall never be in vain.

At last, the anger of the innocent in all it's righteous venom prevails!

Me said...

@Chemmywatala after you laugh at our own dear Patience Jonathan but you are as uninformed or more illiterate than she is.

You can't even differentiate "Armored Personnel Carrier" from the "APC", the party. You must be a student of Oby Ezekwizili.

I really pity this generation.

BLAJO said...

I love this, we need civilians to take control

@walata see this fool. You won't even think those people that lost their lives because the govt. can't do anything about it. Next target of BH is your family. COW!
it.

ehe!!! afta eradicatin boko wat next..... wat happens to d fire arms ppl will have in their possession..... d will start killim each oda

Was it not the military that spoilt Nigeria , the biggest thieves and dictators to rule Nigeria where generals and they are no other than IBB and Abacha .