New father kills his 5-week-old son by slamming his face into a cot | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 15 May 2014

New father kills his 5-week-old son by slamming his face into a cot

A new father killed his five-week-old son because he felt fatherhood meant 'his life was over', a UK court heard today. Matthew Wickens, 24, lost his temper when he was left alone with baby Riley Gardener at the family home in Paignton, Devon.

He shook his son, before slamming his face into a cot - causing him to suffer severe head injuries.

He then repeatedly lied about what he had done - and even tried to cover up the baby's injuries by putting a hat on him. His lies meant Riley's mother, Gemma Gardener, became a suspect and was forced to give up their other son, Jayden, for 14 months. Continue...

But now, Wickens has been jailed for six years and five months after admitting manslaughter at Exeter Crown Court.

Simon Laws QC, prosecuting, said Wickens and Miss Gardener had had an 'on-off' relationship while she was pregnant with Riley, with the former even having 'a relationship with another woman'.
He said Wickens had initially appeared fine with the idea of having a second son, but then ‘got cold feet and became ambivalent towards fatherhood’.

'He seemed unwilling or unable to commit himself wholeheartedly to domestic life and regarded it as restricting his freedoms,' he said. 

But despite his apparent unwillingness, Wickens eventually moved into Miss Gardener's flat in a bid to 'prove his commitment to their relationship’, the court heard. 

Mr Laws said Wickens had felt Riley's birth two years ago meant ‘his life was over’ - and that he had felt he would ‘just be a father all the time’ and not going out like his friends.

The supermarket worker, who had hoped to join the Army, ‘did not like to be told what I can do and what I cannot do’ by his partner, he said.

But one day, Wickens agreed to look after Riley as Miss Gardener and their older son, Jayden, went out shopping, the court heard. 

He bottle-fed and changed the baby, before losing his temper and assaulting his son - shaking him, before slamming his head face down into a cot.

Despite Riley's severe head injuries, Wickens, who was 22 at the time, then failed to summon any medical help for his son.

And when Riley’s mother returned home with Jayden from shopping, Wickens left her to discover her 'dying or dead son' in his bed, the court heard. He then repeatedly lied about what had happened - and even put a hat on Riley to cover up a mark on his forehead.

At one point, he claimed he had banged his son's head against the metal arm of a baby swing, before dropping him on the bedroom floor.

His lies meant that Miss Gardener fell under the suspicion of the police - and was forced to give up Jayden for 14 months while she battled care proceedings. 

However, a post-mortem examination later revealed that Riley had died from shaking and an impact on November 25, 2012. 

Paul Dunkels QC, defending, told the court: '[Wickens] wishes to express his deep regret and remorse. He lost his temper and shook Riley and slammed his face down on to his cot.'

He said Wickens had showed ‘cowardice and selfishness to not say what had happened straight away’ at the flat in the Winner Street area of Paignton. 

He added that the defendant may have been tired after getting up in the night to see to Riley while working long hours, but that was ‘no excuse’ because parents have to carry on.
Sentencing Wickens, Judge Francis Gilbert QC told him it would remain a 'heavy burden for the rest of your life that you killed your own child'. 

He added that the defendant wished he could turn back the clock and that it had ‘all been a bad dream’.

Culled from UK Daily Mail

55 comments:

Lord have mercy on human being? Some are looking 4 child not even children? D ones dat have are busy killing dem? Wot a world? Things are falling apart

DOBY DOBY said...

Pple ar wicked. He wuld av taken d kid to an orphanage

Man's unending wickedness to a fellow man is just a reflection of who rules this world, wickedness will always continue in this life, and there is little or nothing anybody can do about it, may the soul of the boy rest in peace

may God have mercy on him.....

Chaii! Tinz dey happen ooo

All the legion of demons are in this guy I swear.

OMG! This is ruthless.
He just shouldn't be called a father! He is an animal. I have heard people say they don't like babies/children and i just wonder if they were sent to this world as adult. soooo bad

dudette said...

If he wasn't touched when he saw that baby's innocent face,looking all cute n cuddly.....then he shuld have gotten the death sentence cus he isn't human!!

Dude just effectively permanently opened an unending chapter of grief n misery for himself. He'll continously look back in hindsight n wander what bedeviled his mind to do such I guess.

This dude should not go unpunished abeg... He will forever leave with the thought that he killed his own child and with that in his mind he will never have a rest of mind till death....

Idiot! Ur miserable life is definitely over for sure now!!!! I hope those guys in prison do to u exactly what dey did to dat gay dude dat molested kids nd I hope u dont survive it!!!!!!!!! What??!!!!!!!!!! What were u thinking wud happen when u were having unprotected sex @ 24? Nothing!!!! U are not ready but u already have an older son wit d same woman, U chose to b ready! A big retarded 24yrs old! U wud have killed both kids so as to b free nd not one! The most annoying part is that d Ewu ocha can't even construct a simple convincing lie!

#GozManuel Says#

Mab said...

Evil man

This dude should not go unpunished abeg... He will forever leave with the thought that he killed his own child and with that in his mind he will never have a rest of mind till death....

May the soul of the innocent kid R.I.P....

Adeniyi Adegunwa said...

Mad Dog!!!! 5yrs is very shot for him, they should av sentenced him to life.

oyinbo pple with dia issues. Tufia kwa...ARU.

Dah man or boi shud be taken to the psychiatric as soon as possible....and then shud b taken to the church 4 deliverance...and after that should flogged b4 he face d court...na wa ooo I wonder wah people alwas think.

The dude is nothing but Animal. He must be punish. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Most guys cannot keep deir dicks in the rightful location,wen the baby comes na crime.mctewww

The dude is nothing but Animal. He must be punish. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Monkey Face said...

The heart of man is desperately wicked!

EVIL EVIL EVILLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

OLA LIB

why not abort the baby than murder after labour pains. This guy should be hanged#PICCANTO#

Evil men evrywea

This act is more than TERRIBLE.

Turn back the hands of time ke? Young man go and rot in jail.

whitefalcon said...

All white monkeys are suffering from schizophrenia and hence should be confined to a psychiatric home.
This is my submission.

OMG!! This guy is so wicked... They should find two hefty men and Slam his own head on the wall till he lose his life! Show no mercy to this Devil... God help us.

EXPOSED: See What They Did To These Women For Stealing Palm Oil [PHOTO]

Why this kin thin no happen for 9ja..make we use tier and fuel teach am how to kill...

~AM SEEING THINGS~

SLEEKREEK said...

He is not ready for fatherhood but he was ever ready to have sex with a woman....idiot!!!

Make ogun fire ur brains because ur wicked ur killers will not ve mercy on u as they butcher infact I just feel like biting ur nose off *fashionista LeOnOrA*

omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com said...

Good God! What type of demon is this?? This is one of the major risks of babies having babies? What business does a 22 year old man have being the father of two children?? Greed for council flat and benefits follow dey cause all this rubbish. Why didn't he kill himself instead if he was so frustrated? Why end the life on an innocent child?? Btw 6yrs is too little punishment for what he did....this oyinbo ppl laws dey worry sometimes abeg.
10 Things You Should Never Do When You're Angry-click my name to read more.

He is a mad man

Diamondz said...

Ur name is wickens why will u not be wicked, now u have gotten d freedom u hav always wanted.

sha said...

Oh l cnt see my comment for once so whn will it approve?

We see this in everyday men who can't handle respnsiblity. While they dnt snuf the life outta the kid. The kid is as gud as fatherless. Yup an orphanage beats death anyday----C21

Bbg Eze said...

He's obviously lost it and deserves a 4bedroom flat in hell

Hmmmm, dear God!! Am looking for a child, someone happily killed his own....... Irony of life

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

I cried after reading this and looking at the pix of the cute baby. This is height of wickedness . There are people out there begging God for a child not children so they could be called mother or father. This fool took the life of an innocent child. May you never find joy in your life. You are a real devil incarnate.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Speechless !!!

OH LORD!!!!!

Marriage isn't for everyone and because you cum when you have sex doesn't mean you should have kids! People should know that and stop with all this evil acts of harming little defenseless kids!!!

.J said...

Oyinbo and their kid's gloves...this young man should''ve been shown what it actually means for his life to be over....

5 yrs? Mschetwwww

Declan said...

The sad life of Children born to bad parents...#Tears

I don't understand hw any & i mean any parent can kill dia children!i jst don't get it! Wot a heartless idiot!he deserves a death sentence or life imprisonment & not d joke of a sentence he got!God deliver us from such animals Amen...

Dude work on ur english!!!

Bony bony said...

He z not normal

hmn..wat a wonderful world

Na wa o,a 27 yrs old woman is sentenced to death in Sudan for practising christianity.lord av mercy.

This is too sad, I'm just crying...my daughter is 5 weeks old and I cant imagine this happening to her.

**wonder** hian!

Tell him to remove d thanks too. Even after reading sad news, he still puts thanks. Na debate we de 4 hia?

**wonder** hian!

I thought they said blacks are crazy,I've just seen a mad white.

What is dis world turning into na wa o